AFLW Round 5 Discussion - 2021 AFLW season

All times are local. In addition to the free-to-air television coverage noted below, all matches are broadcast live on Fox Footy and streamed live-and-free on the AFLW website/app.

Geelong (0-4, 13th) v Richmond (0-4, 11th)
Friday 7.10pm, GMHBA Stadium

W. Bulldogs (3-1, 6th) v GWS Giants (2-2, 10th)
Saturday 3.10pm, VU Whitten Oval
7mate (Syd)

Fremantle (4-0, 1st) v Brisbane (3-1, 3rd)
Saturday 2.10pm, Fremantle Oval
Seven (Perth) and 7mate (Bris)

North Melb. (2-2, 7th) v Carlton (2-2, 8th)
Saturday 7.10pm, UTAS Stadium
7mate (Melb/Adel)

Adelaide (3-1, 4th) v St Kilda (2-2, 9th)
Sunday 12.40pm, Norwood Oval
7mate (Syd/Melb/Adel)

C'wood (4-0, 2nd) v Melbourne (3-1, 5th)
Sunday 3.10pm, Victoria Park
7mate (Syd/Melb/Bris/Adel/Perth)

West Coast (0-4, 12th) v Gold Coast (0-4, 14th)
Sunday 2.10pm, Mineral Resources Park
Seven (Perth) and 7mate (Bris)

TEAMS

GEELONG
B:
M.Brown 19 M.McMahon 24
HB: J.Ivey 5 M.McDonald - C 11 S.Van De Heuvel 27
C: D.Taylor 28 R.Webster 21 A.McDonald 3
HF: D.Higgins 2 P.McWilliams 23 R.Garing 12
F: S.Williams 25 R.Cranston 30
Foll: A.O'Connor 14 J.Crockett-Grills 6 O.Purcell 16
I/C: R.Goring 44 M.Keryk 45 N.Garner 22 G.Rankin 10 M.Boyd 26
Emerg: L.Gardiner 18 O.Barber 15
In: M.Brown, R.Goring
Out: O.Barber (omitted), L.Gardiner (omitted)

RICHMOND
B:
R.Miller 15 H.Cordner 23
HB: S.D'Arcy 12 P.Monahan 2 I.Ross 21
C: H.Burchell 9 S.Hosking 7 T.Lavey 37
HF: C.Wakefield 8 E.McKenzie 22 K.Brennan - C 3
F: T.Stahl 24 S.Frederick 14
Foll: G.Seymour 28 K.Jacques 10 M.Conti 4
I/C: A.Makur Chuot 34 K.Dempsey 19 S.Dargan 17 S.Molan 1 M.Brancatisano 5
Emerg: C.Bernardi 6 S.Sansonetti 18
In: A.Makur Chuot
Out: S.Sansonetti (omitted)

WESTERN BULLDOGS
B:
N.Ferres 16 E.Gamble 14
HB: A.Guest 19 K.Lynch 10 E.Brown 9
C: B.Hunt 21 E.Blackburn - C 2 D.Berry 7
HF: E.Georgostathis 17 I.Huntington 4 B.Lochland 1
F: B.Toogood 8 K.McLeod 6
Foll: C.Moody 13 G.Newton 5 K.Lamb 27
I/C: D.Marshall 26 K.Rennie 24 H.Scott 22 S.Hartwig 15 J.Fitzgerald 23
Emerg: I.Pritchard 20 I.Grant 3
In: B.Hunt
Out: I.Grant (omitted)

GWS
B:
T.Evans 18 G.Garnett 17
HB: P.Randall 21 A.Lister 14 L.Stephenson 12
C: N.Barr 8 B.Tully 36 A.Eva - C 2
HF: H.Zreika 24 J.Dal Pos 7 T.Mackrill 32
F: C.Staunton 13 R.Privitelli 19
Foll: E.McKinnon 23 A.Parker 3 E.Goodsir 1
I/C: E.Bennetts 22 J.Allan 39 R.Beeson 6 T.Davies 16 K.Smith 4
Emerg: L.Steane 20 A.Schmidt 11
In: K.Smith
Out: T.Hetherington (injured)

FREMANTLE
B:
A.Stannett 4 J.Cuthbertson 29
HB: M.Sergeant 23 E.O'Driscoll 3 L.Pugh 32
C: E.Antonio 12 J.Stewart 7 S.Cain 20
HF: K.Antonio - C 15 R.Roux 17 G.O'Sullivan 22
F: G.Houghton 27 S.Duffy 6
Foll: M.Strom 21 K.Bowers 2 H.Miller 19
I/C: B.Webb 26 T.Haynes 33 P.Seth 18 S.Verrier 5 A.Sharp 1
Emerg: M.Hyde 28 K.Grieve 13
In: B.Webb
Out: E.Gooch (managed)

BRISBANE
B:
S.Campbell 20 N.Grider 10
HB: E.Zielke - C 8 K.Lutkins 13 B.Koenen 3
C: J.Ellenger 5 C.Svarc 25 S.Conway 12
HF: G.Bodey 15 D.Davidson 14 C.Hodder 21
F: J.Wardlaw 30 L.Arnell 16
Foll: T.Smith 31 I.Dawes 17 E.Bates 1
I/C: O.O'Dwyer 9 A.Anderson 18 R.Lugg 11 I.Tahau 26 T.Hickie 24
Emerg: J.Wuetschner 23 J.Zanchetta 2
In: N.Grider
Out: L.Postlethwaite (knee)

NORTH MELBOURNE
B:
D.Hardiman 31 N.Bresnehan 12
HB: J.Duffin 27 T.Randall 16 A.Gilroy 8
C: K.Ashmore 10 E.Kearney - C 9 J.Bruton 35
HF: D.Bateman 11 I.Eddey 3 K.Gillespie-Jones 5
F: S.Abbatangelo 1 D.Bannister 2
Foll: E.King 60 J.Garner 25 A.Riddell 7
I/C: E.Gavalas 22 M.King 23 T.Nestor 24 V.Saad 39 G.Campbell 43
Emerg: B.Lynch 20 G.Hammond 44
In: D.Hardiman, J.Duffin, S.Abbatangelo
Out: B.Lynch (omitted), J.Grierson (managed), B.Brown (omitted)

CARLTON
B:
K.Harrington - C 9 C.Wilson 20
HB: V.Laloifi 8 G.Pound 6 M.Guerin 18
C: L.Brazzale 12 A.McKay 5 M.Hill 10
HF: D.Vescio 3 T.Harris 7 G.Gee 19
F: N.Stevens 21 E.O'Dea 46
Foll: B.Moody 16 G.Egan 1 J.Hosking 11
I/C: N.Plane 32 L.McEvoy 13 A.Downie 30 D.Walker 23 S.Gibbs 33
Emerg: J.Edwards 25 C.Hammans 17
In: N.Plane, S.Gibbs
Out: M.Prespakis (suspension), J.Edwards (omitted)

ADELAIDE
B:
N.Gore 7 C.Gould 1
HB: L.Whiteley 22 M.Rajcic 32 S.Thompson 14
C: E.Jones 2 A.Hatchard 33 N.Allen 8
HF: A.Woodland 24 C.Randall 26 J.Mules 23
F: E.Phillips 13 C.Scheer 4
Foll: S.Allan 39 E.Marinoff 10 H.Button 6
I/C: D.Ponter 15 A.Foley 3 T.Charlton 25 J.Sedunary 19 H.Munyard 20
Emerg: C.Biddell 12 A.Considine 16
In: C.Gould, J.Sedunary
Out: R.Metcalfe (managed), R.Forth (injured)

ST KILDA
B:
H.Priest 14 B.Jakobsson 8
HB: J.Van Dyk 36 N.von Bertouch 28 T.White 29
C: C.Phillips 35 R.Dillon 25 T.Meyer 34
HF: D.Guttridge 5 R.Saulitis 13 J.Vogt 10
F: C.Greiser 17 K.Shierlaw 12
Foll: R.Watt 7 G.Patrikios 21 C.Whitfort 4
I/C: T.Luke 22 I.Shannon 11 A.Brown 2 T.Lucas-Rodd 18 T.Smith 6
Emerg: A.Burke 3 R.Ott 20
In: N.von Bertouch, R.Saulitis, A.Brown
Out: K.McCarthy (delayed concussion), R.Ott (omitted), N.Exon (injured)

COLLINGWOOD
B:
L.Butler 23 S.Casey 22
HB: S.Chiocci 17 S.Livingstone 12 J.Allen 6
C: R.Schleicher 18 J.Lambert 13 M.Cann 25
HF: A.Sheridan 14 S.Alexander 24 E.O'Dea 50
F: C.Molloy 2 A.Newman 16
Foll: S.Norder 1 B.Davey 3 B.Bonnici 8
I/C: A.Porter 9 J.Membrey 21 T.Brown 26 J.Lin 20 E.Fowler 15
Emerg: A.Moloney 40 K.Stratton 41
In: A.Newman
Out: S.Rowe (shoulder)

MELBOURNE
B:
G.Colvin 32 L.Birch 9
HB: S.Lampard 8 D.Pearce 6 S.Goldrick 23
C: C.Sherriff 18 M.Gay 3 S.Heath 30
HF: E.Zanker 29 K.Hore 10 S.Scott 12
F: J.Parry 19 L.Mithen 14
Foll: L.Pearce 15 K.Paxman 4 T.Hanks 5
I/C: C.Emonson 11 E.McNamara 22 A.Bannan 16 N.McEvoy 17 T.Cunningham 1
Emerg: B.Tarrant 20 M.Fitzsimon 24
In: S.Goldrick, K.Hore
Out: L.Magee (omitted), B.Tarrant (omitted)

WEST COAST
B:
A.Ward 33 C.Perera 27
HB: M.Collier 8 D.Liddle 23 T.Bresland 20
C: I.Lewis 6 A.McCarthy 11 M.Bowen 1
HF: A.Atkins 9 I.Cameron 19 N.Kelly 12
F: A.Janz 37 G.Kelly 15
Foll: P.Laurie 25 E.Swanson 13 H.Bullas 24
I/C: M.Caulfield 10 K.Pope 29 K.Gibson 2 B.Smith 14 L.Gauci 26
Emerg: K.Orme 32 S.Davison 28
In: D.Liddle, N.Kelly
Out: S.McDonald (omitted), C.Guard (omitted)

GOLD COAST
B:
D.Heslop 25 J.Pregelj 42
HB: E.Keaney 30 L.Ahrens 7 C.Hammond 29
C: S.Watson 14 A.Drennan 33 D.D'Arcy 20
HF: M.Levi 6 J.Stanton 17 P.Parker 1
F: S.Perkins 28 K.Howarth 23
Foll: L.Bella 2 K.Surman 26 H.Dunn 24
I/C: J.Hickey 4 L.Kaslar 11 W.Randell 15 S.Riley 8 L.Single 13
Emerg: G.Bevan 27 S.Virgo 22
In: J.Hickey, W.Randell, S.Riley
Out: B.Perry (omitted), G.Bevan (omitted), M.Ritson (omitted)

Stat courtesy of Alan McConnell: This will be the Giants' first match in Melbourne since R3 2018, when they defeated Collingwood at Olympic Park. GWS have played once in Victoria since then, which was a win in Morwell, also against Collingwood.

Carlton will be sweating on the findings of the Match Review, as Madison Prespakis will certainly face some repercussions for her tackle on Sarah Hosking. I suspect the incident will be classified as a $700 sanction as a second offence, and she'll be able to accept a $400 fine with an early plea. But if it's determined to be worse than what Bowers' was on the previous weekend, that might result in suspension which will then lead to an appeal.

In what is the introduction of Indigenous Round to AFLW, no games are scheduled to be played in the Northern Territory this weekend. Nor were there any such games in the entire original nine-round fixture. That's despite Melbourne agreeing to play an AFLW game in Alice Springs every year from 2020 to 2023.

Kchamp

Feb 21, 2021
You can rule Madison Prespakis out. It could have been worse considering she dumped Sarah Hosking twice, but the match review panel has slapped her with a one-match ban.

I can't see any possibility of Carlton toppling North Melbourne. The reliance on Prespakis is too heavy in the midfield. With her out, the Kangaroo's can push Jasmine Garner forward. Ash Riddell, Emma Kearney, Ellie Gavalas, Jenna Bruton should be more than enough in the centre of the ground. Then there is Grace Campbell to consider.

bluebagger95

Rookie
Apr 4, 2017
You can rule Madison Prespakis out. It could have been worse considering she dumped Sarah Hosking twice, but the match review panel has slapped her with a one-match ban.

I can't see any possibility of Carlton toppling North Melbourne. The reliance on Prespakis is too heavy in the midfield. With her out, the Kangaroo's can push Jasmine Garner forward. Ash Riddell, Ellie Blackburn, Ellie Gavalas, Jenna Bruton should be more than enough in the centre of the ground. Then there is Grace Campbell to consider.
so now you are relying on bulldogs players to get you over the line, maddy will appeal and get off and rightly so,she tackled around the waist and momentum of hosking pusher her forward into the turf

so now you are relying on bulldogs players to get you over the line
Who isn't? This one got Carlton over the line on the weekend:

DVescioBulldogthroughandthrough.jpg

And yes, the Collingwood supporter you quoted probably does think a former Bulldogs player like Brianna Davey is rather influential in deciding the outcome of games.

But anyway. Kearney. Blackburn. Prespakis. So many of these Melbourne Uni players look alike. I don't blame anybody for getting them mixed up once in a while.

Kchamp

Feb 21, 2021
so now you are relying on bulldogs players to get you over the line, maddy will appeal and get off and rightly so,she tackled around the waist and momentum of hosking pusher her forward into the turf

I'm neutral in this one. But if you watch the second quarter where Maddison Prespakis dumps Hosking not once but twice, I can't see her getting off. A mate of mine told me about Hosking driving Prespakis into the turf (Carlton fan, of course). But Prepakis' tackle looked more like a piledriver.

But you're a hardcore Blue fan. Tell me how do you tackle a midfield like North?

bluebagger95

Rookie
Apr 4, 2017
Who isn't? This one got Carlton over the line on the weekend:

View attachment 1063213

And yes, the Collingwood supporter you quoted probably does think a former Bulldogs player like Brianna Davey is rather influential in deciding the outcome of games.

But anyway. Kearney. Blackburn. Prespakis. So many of these Melbourne Uni players look alike. I don't blame anybody for getting them mixed up once in a while.
Jasmine Garner forward. Ash Riddell, Ellie Blackburn, Ellie Gavalas, Jenna Bruton should be more than enough in the centre of the ground. Then there is Grace Campbell to consider. can you spot the odd one out ,here's a clue,she is a bulldogs player

bluebagger95

Rookie
Apr 4, 2017
But you're a hardcore Blue fan. Tell me how do you tackle a midfield like North?
show them videos of how chelsea randall bumps someone,hits them head high,forces them to leave the field without any repercussions,but hey,you can always say they dont know how to protect themselves,its their own fault,works like a charm every time and you get to play the next week just to do it again

Hopefully Hore is back for the Dees and we don't run with 6 tallish players down there like last game. We locked the ball in our forward line well but didn't have anyone who could really capitalise on the ground level chances made. Better leading and kicking would help though.

Not sure if Goldrick will be right but would swap someone like Heath or maybe Mithen to HBF for run and carry rather than Magee who was lost last weekend and could be punished for it more against the Pies.

As expected. Presumably it will rest on the Medium Impact grading?
Jasmine Garner forward. Ash Riddell, Ellie Blackburn, Ellie Gavalas, Jenna Bruton should be more than enough in the centre of the ground. Then there is Grace Campbell to consider. can you spot the odd one out ,here's a clue,she is a bulldogs player
Everybody knows who he meant, so pipe down already.

bluebagger95

Rookie
Apr 4, 2017

As expected. Presumably it will rest on the Medium Impact grading?

Everybody knows who he meant, so pipe down already.

consider this nerd,you only have one ellie on your list,gavalas and as she is mentioned,who exactly does he mean then?
have you ever played footy nerd? or are you one of these gerard whately type flogs who spruiks all these know it all bullshit theories upon us when really you dont have much of a clue,oh but you watch every game twice though,rightpffffft,how about you pipe down,flog, know your place

Kchamp

Feb 21, 2021
Hopefully Hore is back for the Dees and we don't run with 6 tallish players down there like last game. We locked the ball in our forward line well but didn't have anyone who could really capitalise on the ground level chances made. Better leading and kicking would help though.

Not sure if Goldrick will be right but would swap someone like Heath or maybe Mithen to HBF for run and carry rather than Magee who was lost last weekend and could be punished for it more against the Pies.

Losing Hore to illness sucked but you need her this weekend. As for your Tall forward line, it's been working against most teams. The only reason it didn't work against the Bulldogs, is because Ellyce Gamble and Katie Lynch are both 180cm. Collingwood defenders are around that 175cm, your forwards will have the height advantage with Eden Zanker and Teaghan Cunningham.

If Goldrick is injured you lose your perfect match up for Chloe Molloy. Goldrick was insanely good against Katie Brennan, but I do like the idea of Daisy Pearce and Molloy going head to head.

I'm not confident of Collingwood on this one. Melbourne has an outside game very similar to the pies and they've had the wood over Collingwood in the past. I just hope Lambert, Davey, and Bonnici can pull off another demolition job like they did last week. But you never underestimate the skill of Maddie Gay, Lily Mithen, or Karen Paxman.

Should be a cracker.

One almost gets the impression that David King, somebody who has played footy at the highest level, thinks the AFL should make an example of Prespakis.

If it was up to a nerd like me, she might've got away with just a fine. Ah well.

Kchamp

Feb 21, 2021
If it was up to a nerd like me, she might've got away with just a fine. Ah well.
[/QUOTE]

Can she be slammed with two weeks if her tribunal challenge fails?

The statement from the Match Review indicated there was no incentive to take an early plea. Might be a different story if the challenge fails and Carlton appeals.

Kchamp

Feb 21, 2021
The statement from the Match Review indicated there was no incentive to take an early plea. Might be a different story if the challenge fails and Carlton appeals.

I guess we'll have to wait and see. Either way, I doubt North will be nervous considering they were almost beaten by Richmond. What do you think, does Garner finally return to the forward line this week?

What do you think, does Garner finally return to the forward line this week?
Hard to say without knowing if Duffin and/or Abbatangelo are going to be inclusions. But I don't think it's North's main cause for concern. Defensive structure should be the easiest part of the game and, a month into their third season, they still haven't got it right. Until they do, no chance of seriously contending for the flag.

bluebagger95

Rookie
Apr 4, 2017
One almost gets the impression that David King, somebody who has played footy at the highest level, thinks the AFL should make an example of Prespakis.

so david king comes out with this just before his ex club is about to play the team prespakis plays for,no surprise there from king,he has form and since when has he been an advocate for anything aflw?

Nov 7, 2017
GWS
Manchester City, Collingwood AFLW
Prior to last round I was very confident of a Cats win for any match up against Richmond, but the Tigers have been improving and stringing together more consistency each week, although I still think Cats best this season has been better than Richmonds best. I'll put in Geelong for the win but with little confidence

Dogs should beat us in what will be a relative non-contest, Parker and Beeson will cause issues with Dogs usual smooth ball movement through the midfield but I'm not exactly expecting a close game here

Freo just look unstoppable, as usual, although I think the Lions will get closer than Crows did

So if at the start of the season you told me these two would be 2-2 each and not have looked to crash hot in the games that weren't against bottom 2 sides I'd laugh at you, I didn't think blues were premiership contenders but I also didn't have them pegged as the 3rd worst vic team. Norths stars should shine here, especially if Prespakis suspension remains

Crows should beat St Kilda quite comfortably

It's difficult for this game, because I still don't think the pies have looked that good across any stretch of 4 quarters, they always have 1 or 2 a game where you really don't know why they're currently 4-0, but when they're at their best they look really good, but the same can be said of the Dees as well. I think the Pies experience down back and through the midfield will see them get over the line here, just

West Coast should enjoy their first win of the season here, Gold Coast haven't looked like challenging at any stage of any of their games, Eagles have looked better and better each week

so david king comes out with this just before his ex club is about to play the team prespakis plays for,no surprise there from king,he has form and since when has he been an advocate for anything aflw?

She deserves a week though imo, has been doing a few dangerous tackles most weeks that was eventually going to end up missing a week if she didn't adjust, which she didn't. She likes to be agressive and that is fine but you have to be careful.

drunkill

May 16, 2017
Charge upheld, one week suspension stands

The MRO has changed their ruling now, the outcome doesn't effect the suspension anymore, if a player is concussed or not no longer factors into the decision.

After years of saying the outcome of the dangerous action is vital in the ruling.

GEELONG
B:
M.Brown 19 M.McMahon 24
HB: J.Ivey 5 M.McDonald - C 11 S.Van De Heuvel 27
C: D.Taylor 28 R.Webster 21 A.McDonald 3
HF: D.Higgins 2 P.McWilliams 23 R.Garing 12
F: S.Williams 25 R.Cranston 30
Foll: A.O'Connor 14 J.Crockett-Grills 6 O.Purcell 16
I/C: R.Goring 44 M.Keryk 45 N.Garner 22 G.Rankin 10 M.Boyd 26
Emerg: L.Gardiner 18 O.Barber 15
In: M.Brown, R.Goring
Out: O.Barber (omitted), L.Gardiner (omitted)

RICHMOND
B:
R.Miller 15 H.Cordner 23
HB: S.D'Arcy 12 P.Monahan 2 I.Ross 21
C: H.Burchell 9 S.Hosking 7 T.Lavey 37
HF: C.Wakefield 8 E.McKenzie 22 K.Brennan - C 3
F: T.Stahl 24 S.Frederick 14
Foll: G.Seymour 28 K.Jacques 10 M.Conti 4
I/C: A.Makur Chuot 34 K.Dempsey 19 S.Dargan 17 S.Molan 1 M.Brancatisano 5
Emerg: C.Bernardi 6 S.Sansonetti 18
In: A.Makur Chuot
Out: S.Sansonetti (omitted)

Tips
Tigers by 12 - Not the first time I've tipped Richmond to win.

Giants by 1 - All four of the Bulldogs' games have been played on a knife edge, one would think that'd take a toll at some point.

Freo by 24

Roos by 9
- Would've tipped Carlton if Prespakis was available.

Crows by 18 - Interested to see if anything is done about an epic jumper clash ahead of time.

Dees by 3 - Collingwood face the only team that emphatically defeated them in 2020. Not a great deal of sense in assuming Melbourne will repeat that 14% accuracy in front of goal from the weekend, especially if Hore returns (which would've sounded like a strange statement early last season when she had a career tally of 9.15, but she has since kicked 8.0 in her next seven games).

Suns by 6 - Have to stick with what I've said about the Eagles' injuries for the past few weeks.

Saturday teams:

Regarding Sunday, not great news for Sarah Rowe with more shoulder issues, but a relatively good time to sit a few games out in the context of Collingwood's season. Presumably means Aliesha Newman comes back in, even though she's started the year poorly (my fault, cursed her as a Coleman prediction).