Round 5: Geelong @ Fremantle

Originally posted by Sammy D
WTF?! Normally id be :D, but after his performances over the past two weeks im left wondering why :confused:.
Harsh by Thompson

Fear not Sammy. I predict an iminant late change will occur and no doubt DJ or Moloney will be the ones called up...late withdrawals have somewhat become a trend down at the club.

Originally posted by GeeCat
Fear not Sammy. I predict an iminant late change will occur and no doubt DJ or Moloney will be the ones called up...late withdrawals have somewhat become a trend down at the club.

Yeah, I was thinking the same thing. Maybe Milburn or Ablett. Im questionable over whether Ablett is fit or not. I can see him playing a few weeks then OP coming back.

Oh I feel for you on derby days :rolleyes:
I bet you hope for a really fair contest, no injuries, no reports. Hell i bet you dont even like it when they tackle each other.

Don't get me wrong here. I am a 70% fremantle man and 30% west coast.
Come derby day i want fremantle to win, but more importantly i am a west aussie and barrack for the west aussie teams.

Geelong on paper aren't very strong, and in alot of people's opinion geelong are a bottom 3 side this year. I believe in 3 years the cats young players will have improved heaps to the point they are a top 7 side.

The fact richmond got smashed last night and are playing like a bunch of amatuers really counts out your win last week. So in my mind geelong are still winless.

There are a number of freo supporters that think this is gonna be a big win, and i am sticking with the 97 point win, sorry cats fans, your day will come again!

Originally posted by auste1234
Don't get me wrong here. I am a 70% fremantle man and 30% west coast.

Your profile says 51% - 49%.

Change with the wind, does it?

Come derby day i want fremantle to win, but more importantly i am a west aussie and barrack for the west aussie teams.

Perhaps you should simply follow the WAFL, that way you can support every team in the league.

The fact richmond got smashed last night and are playing like a bunch of amatuers really counts out your win last week. So in my mind geelong are still winless.

With logic like that, you should marry Suzi Olsen.

quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So therefore our 6 pt loss in sydney would count as win then?????
What a silly comment

It's good to see you cats fans are passionate about your football. I admit some of what i said was a **** stur, I apologise about that:(

Geelong have a very young list and i truly believe will be a force within 4 years. But right now don't have the personal to get any higher than about 12th.

G.A. junior is already a quality player and has huge potential but is relied on a little too much I think.

Since richmond and playing so poorly then thats 2 points, and because you got so close to sydney at the SCG then there is another 2 points which makes it one win, yer, yer, stupid i know but the tigers couldn't beat the local U 12's right now.

This could have certainly possed as a danger game if this game was not on ANZAC day as the players might have taken the cats a little litely, but fremantle always get themselves up for this match, outside the derbies and finals its next.

Good luck cats fans but i dont think you can kick a winning score

Mate heard from the sunday footy show that Hunt is out with a pinched nerve and guess who has come in....
as predicted by GeeCat & myself

David Johnson

For once I didn't want to be right...:(

we're in a bit of trouble just before half time, down be five goals. Although I am only listening to the game sounds like their midfield and forwards are killing us.

Their getting alot of run from their midfield. Their transistions from half back to half forward is simply much smoother and quicker than ours. I really like the look of Mackie so far. Has delivered some good kicks into the forward 50, mostly to Riccardi. Shame he looks like he's hurt he's shoulder.

Halftime score:

Fremantle 11.2 (68)
Geelong 8.3 (51)

Just a few straight kicks out of it.

It's a funny little game in that every time Freo look like they're about to pull away, we get a bit of a run. So we have a bit of hope, yet.

The players in the forward line are doing pretty well, just need a bit more consistency from the middle of the ground, though.

Originally posted by you_idiot
Only two points adrift, with five minutes to play... nice comeback, Geelong.

If it gets any closer than this, save me a hospital bed, folks! :eek:

Bugger... no sooner than I say that, then do Simmonds and Schammer and Farmer give Freo some breathing room. :(

So close, guys.... so damn close.

WEll done Geelong. We really took it to them!!!!!!!!!!!

Just a few Questions........

Graham how come he didnt play after 1/2 time??

How Good Is Tenace!!!!

Any other Major Injuries

Really good performance overall, if only we could have got that last goal with five minutes to go!

Would like to know the Graham story though.

Kane Tenace showed excitement as did Moloney at times. Good return for Gary Ablett Junior as well.

Looking forward to Adelaide next week with a bit of confidence.

Quite proud of the boys today.

Elsewhere i've seen people calling for blood, but realistically, we couldn't expect any better.

A win over there, against a quality Fremantle team, would have been the best performance of the Thompson era.

Rapt with the form of Tweek, Mackie, Chappy, Dash (when on the field) and a few others.

Graham disappointed yet again. As was said during the week, we need quality performances from him every week, not once a year.

Good effort by the boys today. The terrible footy early in the first quarter and late in the last quarter really killed us. But there were many positives to come out of the match, unlike previous losses. Hats off to Moloney, Mooney, Riccardi, Harley, Tenace, Chapman, and Scarlett. Great performances. Let's hope we can keep our heads up for the next few matches and get some points on the board.

Great performances. Let's hope we can keep our heads up for the next few matches and get some points on the board.
The effort was good today, just a shame we fell away in the last 10 minutes and let the margin blow out to 26 points.

Bad luck today guys. As I said on the Freo board, very impressive display from the Cats. The early goals probably got us over the line.

Moloney was awesome running through the midfield, Chapman and Riccardi looked dangerous up forward, Sanderson beat Medhurst, Tenace was very impressive, and although Ablett didn't get a whole lot, some of what he did just showed how much of a class player he will become.

Originally posted by ScouseCat
The effort was good today, just a shame we fell away in the last 10 minutes and let the margin blow out to 26 points.

Takes away alot of respectibility that margin does.

Considering we allowed Fremantle to score the first 4 goals and the last 4 goals of the game, it was nothing short of what we deserved, despite the conditions favouring the Dockers.

I was watching Chapman work today and I tell you he never stopped working for a minute. Lead after lead ...I was quite impressed.

Ricarrdi and Tenace were both classy and Mooney worked extremely hard.

Bad luck - keep that form and you'll be pushing top 8.