Preview Round 5 vs Brisbane at the Gabba, Sunday Afternoon, 4:40pm

Saints two home games 19000 against Adelaide & 14000 on Saturday against GWS. 40,000 members?
Hawks & Nth have 115000 members yet only 27000 in perfect conditions.
Membership numbers seem suspect in Melb. Some clubs have pet memberships!
Don’t expect Melb media to place the spotlight on them. Qld clubs are easy click bait targets.

North Melbourne have 37K paid members and Hawthorn close to 80K, but Hawks fans are far less likely to attend games than the big 4 of Melbourne clubs, Richmond, Carlton, Essendon and Collingwood, who have a majority of members attending each game. The Kangas actually have a pretty high member to home crowd ratio, but for a Victorian Club their membership numbers are pitiful. As it is their fans only get to see them in Melbourne for a home game 9 times, but have 7 other Melbourne/Geelong games in addition to the 2 Hobart games. They would do better to play 6 games in Tasmania, with one against the Hawks, a game in each non-Vic State and 12 games in Melbourne with Membership options. It would increase the number of members because their Tassie fans would have much more access to the team, especially with the Tasmania Kangaroos AFLW team coming into the competition next year.

This is a Roy Morgan poll from September 2017. I don't really trust polls and I think the data for the Suns shows that they aren't really gaging the entire country, nor can they really get information from kids. However, as an indicative chart it is quite plain to see where the haves and have-nots of each State are ranked and why the bottom 7 get a larger chunk of the pie from our mate, Gillon.
Screen Shot 2018-04-25 at 2.13.36 pm.png

North Melbourne have 37K paid members and Hawthorn close to 80K, but Hawks fans are far less likely to attend games than the big 4 of Melbourne clubs, Richmond, Carlton, Essendon and Collingwood, who have a majority of members attending each game. The Kangas actually have a pretty high member to home crowd ratio, but for a Victorian Club their membership numbers are pitiful. As it is their fans only get to see them in Melbourne for a home game 9 times, but have 7 other Melbourne/Geelong games in addition to the 2 Hobart games. They would do better to play 6 games in Tasmania, with one against the Hawks, a game in each non-Vic State and 12 games in Melbourne with Membership options. It would increase the number of members because their Tassie fans would have much more access to the team, especially with the Tasmania Kangaroos AFLW team coming into the competition next year.

This is a Roy Morgan poll from September 2017. I don't really trust polls and I think the data for the Suns shows that they aren't really gaging the entire country, nor can they really get information from kids. However, as an indicative chart it is quite plain to see where the haves and have-nots of each State are ranked and why the bottom 7 get a larger chunk of the pie from our mate, Gillon.
View attachment 487969

Carlton haven’t been a big 4 team for a long time now

Highest 15 Home & Away Crowds
87685 Essendon VS Collingwood M.C.G. 2017
85657 Richmond VS Melbourne M.C.G. 2017
85656 Richmond VS Essendon M.C.G. 2017
78294 Essendon VS Hawthorn M.C.G. 2017
73137 Carlton VS Richmond M.C.G. 2017
70926 Melbourne VS Collingwood M.C.G. 2017
70345 Geelong VS Hawthorn M.C.G. 2017
70279 Collingwood VS Carlton M.C.G. 2017
69104 Richmond VS St Kilda M.C.G. 2017
66254 Collingwood VS Western Bulldogs M.C.G. 2017
64448 Richmond VS Carlton M.C.G. 2017
63537 Collingwood VS Essendon M.C.G. 2017
62360 Hawthorn VS Geelong M.C.G. 2017
58721 Richmond VS Sydney M.C.G. 2017
58562 Essendon VS Carlton M.C.G. 2017

Really? This says that the Blues had 4 of the 15 biggest crowds of 2017. Hawthorn is up there, but their crowds are against Geelong which reflects their rivalry. Carlton's rivalry with Richmond elevates them here, but it isn't a coincidence because these two teams have played 6 Grand Finals against each other, which is the same number of GFs Collingwood vs Carlton and a number of iconic Essendon VS Carlton matches (remember 1999 when Carlton and the Bulldogs were lucky losers in the first week of finals under the old McIntyre system and the Blues for some weird reason got an MCG clash against the Eagles despite West Coast finishing higher on the ladder and the Bulldogs had to travel to the Gabba even though they finished higher still, then Carlton played the minor Premier Bombers in the Prelim and WON against a team that had only lost 4 games all year?).

Carlton, Essendon, Richmond and Collingwood are, always have been and always will be the Big 4 in Melbourne. Hawks and Cats fans can please themselves and the rest have always known they are there to make up the numbers. In terms of home attendances in 2017, Carlton had the 4th highest average in Victorian teams with only Adelaide drawing more from Interstate. In terms of overall crowds, Carlton drew the 4th highest cumulative crowds figures in the AFL behind Essendon, Collingwood and Richmond. Big 4 for a reason.

Yeah sure. IF he wanted to come to the gold coast. Petracca is good player but isnt setting games on fire. Is doing the same job as weller but with a little more skill and class. Weller is easily in the top 5 mids from 2014 draft and he wanted to come to gold coast. Will be here for the next decade and has plenty of improvement.

We overvalue draft picks these days. Just look at our top 10 draft pick recruiting since we came into the comp.
2010 - swallow, bennell, day, caddy, prestia 1/5 (none have set the world on fire)
2011- omeara
2012- martin (best pickup to date)
2013- kolodjashnij
2014- wright
2015- ah chee
2016- ainsworth, scrimshaw, brodie, bowes

Too early to tell but our 2016 crop all look like stars
2015 ah chee is ok but body is questionable
2014 wright is looking great
2013 kk is looking to be a fail unfortunately concussion is a huge issue for him
2012 martin =success
2011 omeara = flog
2010 swallow (hard as nails) bennell = idiot, Day = inconsistent but serviceable,
Caddy = cry baby, prestia = mommas boy.
If i was to rate weller between all of those players at this stage he is 5/15
Swallow, martin, wright, bowes all better.
Pretty good use of pick 2 when you think about it that way.

Another way to look at it:

Swallow: gun
O'meara: injuries hurt. looking good now.
Caddy: very good player. key piece of a premiership side
Prestia: very good player. key piece of premiership side
Martin: gun
KK: looked like a star and then concussions started, can't predict injury
Wright: when fit looks like a star
Harley: looked a gun, GC culture/injuries impacted.

too early to tell with the 2016 crop.

So from a talent standpoint, you got some great players with those picks. can't account for injuries. they can happen to anyone. your clubs handling of injuries came under scrutiny leading to an overhaul of the medical department. hopefully that is all sorted now.

pick 2 for Weller is a horrible trade no matter how you slice and dice it. pick 2 should net a potential star and at worst a good player. you got Weller who at best is a solid player.

So from a talent standpoint, you got some great players with those picks. can't account for injuries. they can happen to anyone. your clubs handling of injuries came under scrutiny leading to an overhaul of the medical department. hopefully that is all sorted now.

pick 2 for Weller is a horrible trade no matter how you slice and dice it. pick 2 should net a potential star and at worst a good player. you got Weller who at best is a solid player.
Certainly have to acknowledge the creds of a poster from a Club expert in dud trades who should know them inside out
A million a year for 7 years for a guy playing VFL?
I think I know who I'd rather be

Hows tom boyd? Pick 6 and griffen (27yo captain) is bloody close to pick 2.

Certainly have to acknowledge the creds of a poster from a Club expert in dud trades who should know them inside out
A million a year for 7 years for a guy playing VFL?
I think I know who I'd rather be

you mean the guy that was BOG in the GF, helping us win a Premiership?

hes been s**t since then though. no question.

You paid a similar amount for Hunt. Still paying a fair chunk of GAJ salary.......etc etc

No apparently thr Afl payed those blokes.

Gee here I was sure JJ got the Norm Smith medal for that game. Or isn't the Norm Smith medal for bog on grand final day?

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app