Review Round 6, 2025 - Brisbane Lions vs. Collingwood

Who were your five best players against Collingwood?

It was on the big scoreboard after the match too. Really weird. Is it heritage round or something like that?
A retro look with the Bears logo is one of the only reasons I can think of as to why they haven't announced the Guernsey yet. Especially if we're wearing it at home

The one thing that irked me is when we put on the false bravado act and went after Nick Daicos in the second half. I’ve always hated it and reckon just letting the footy doing the talking is the best way you can counter it. Gave me major Port vibes from a few years ago when they were targeting Neale and we ended up torching them. The Pies just successfully got under our skin and despite some howlers from the boys in yellow that 100% contributed to the frustration, we just need to be better.

In a previous life I was working as a strapper on the side. Our horse, firm favourite in a big race, was going for for four wins in a row. A respected old school punter, a dapper gent, walked up to the trainer and I in the mounting yard and said that it wasn't going to be our day today. Sure enough...

This is what the umpires were telling the Lions players in the first half last night with all those ridiculous calls and non calls.

Knocked the wind right out of our sails.

It's evident how important Joe was to us.
It’s definitely evidence of the structure we are missing. Truth is Sam Day’s presence just isn’t being felt.

It’s not about goals but about competing in the air, bringing the ball to ground and pinch hitting in the ruck.

I’m not fussed if Day scores goals but he needs to be capable of impacting the game better. That goes for Eric too last night.

It’s definitely evidence of the structure we are missing. Truth is Sam Day’s presence just isn’t being felt.

It’s not about goals but about competing in the air, bringing the ball to ground and pinch hitting in the ruck.

I’m not fussed if Day scores goals but he needs to be capable of impacting the game better. That goes for Eric too last night.

Didn’t stop our forwards having one of their best quarters of all time last week

Well. He was a very important player for us . Not just in the dual roles he played but in his size ,athleticism and unpredictability. What he brought to the team has probably been underestimated. He can't be replaced so we need to adjust somehow.

You don't agree ?

We're a worst team for not having him but it's the midfielders who we still have who are responsible for the largest drop in form by quite some way

I think our forwardline has functioned well all season, even last night when we had a very low number of inside 50s, weren't winning clearances or getting the ball in the corridor

We're a worst team for not having him but it's the midfielders who we still have who are responsible for the largest drop in form by quite some way

I think our forwardline has functioned well all season, even last night when we had a very low number of inside 50s, weren't winning clearances or getting the ball in the corridor
That's not what I was intimating. I think his centre square presence , size and leap around the wings and just being a big guy who got in the way in front of packs and still had the athleticism to follow up , took risky kicks that mostly worked out.

They torched us out of the centre and we had no dominant targets once we got possession in the backline.

He's gone so nothing we can do about it and we've gotten away with it until we came up against a disciplined well organised opposition that didn't fold under pressure.

Having said all that we put in a poor lack lustre performance overall , half forgivable because of the schedule ,poor kicking ,poor umpiring and the fact that we were due a shocker.

That result was on the senior players. Thought all the rookies played OK. Marshall in his limited time looked good.

Collingwood played well. We didn't switch as much, looked for the easy options instead. Purely a poor work rate issue. That can be fixed.

Hopefully we can get some of those 70m penalties lol.
As regards 50m penalties, what was the actual distance on the penalty against Berry in the 23GF.

It took Sidebottom from the defensive 50m arc to the attacking 50m arc.

Also, must find out the name of the ump who paid the 77m penalty and buy some land from him.

Jamie Elliott gave a great interview last night about how hard the forwards worked to get up the ground and contest, ours did not do that last night. Ours did not compete in the air. Ours did not present well.

I am absolutely not saying they're the core issue, in fact I think the core issue last night was all 3 major areas were well below par but let's not act like it's only the midfield that wins/loses games.

I thought our defense was really poor last night as well, so many fumbles that led to goals. Yes the midfield got torched but that doesn't exempt the forwardline from criticism.

Sam Day is a worry. Awful in the ruck. When is Joey back ?
Sam Day took some good marks and competed well, but doesn’t appear to know how to move the ball on quickly - though last night as noted Collingwood defended very well.
I’m willing to give him a pass. He was up against Cameron (who’s a better ruckman) or Cox (who is 14cm taller + reach).
Oscar only getting 17 hitouts last night was a bigger worry for me.

All that said, considering Oscar kicked 2 goals - I’m almost onboard with giving the Fort/Oscar combo a run - unless Henry Smith has another cracker today.

Jamie Elliott gave a great interview last night about how hard the forwards worked to get up the ground and contest, ours did not do that last night. Ours did not compete in the air. Ours did not present well.

I am absolutely not saying they're the core issue, in fact I think the core issue last night was all 3 major areas were well below par but let's not act like it's only the midfield that wins/loses games.

I thought our defense was really poor last night as well, so many fumbles that led to goals. Yes the midfield got torched but that doesn't exempt the forwardline from criticism.

Not sure I agree. We didn't win clearances, didn't use the corridor and didn't really kick it long to contests.

I don't recall a significant amount of lost aerial contests. Although once it hit the ground they swarmed us and attacked the ball much harder than we did.

Our forward 50 efficiency would've looked pretty good if we kicked straight

Sam Day took some good marks and competed well, but doesn’t appear to know how to move the ball on quickly - though last night as noted Collingwood defended very well.
I’m willing to give him a pass. He was up against Cameron (who’s a better ruckman) or Cox (who is 14cm taller + reach).

All that said, considering Oscar kicked 2 goals - I’m almost onboard with giving the Fort/Oscar combo a run - unless Henry Smith has another cracker today.

Oscars 2 goals were from running harder than the opposition ruck. Not something we should rely on

That's not what I was intimating. I think his centre square presence , size and leap around the wings and just being a big guy who got in the way in front of packs and still had the athleticism to follow up , took risky kicks that mostly worked out.

They torched us out of the centre and we had no dominant targets once we got possession in the backline.

He's gone so nothing we can do about it and we've gotten away with it until we came up against a disciplined well organised opposition that didn't fold under pressure.

Having said all that we put in a poor lack lustre performance overall , half forgivable because of the schedule ,poor kicking ,poor umpiring and the fact that we were due a shocker.

We've gotten away with it when the midfield doesn't get belted. Even last night we had heaps of marks inside 50 just couldn't kick straight

Their midfield was clean most times they got hold of it . Daicos is a freakish player who had a night out even by his standards.

But I agree we were beaten all over the ground after putting up a good enough fight in the first half.

Our rucking was sub standard but Oscar did kick 2 goals.

Yes I would prefer Oscar deep forward and Fort ruck. Oscar is incredibly hard to match up as deep inside 50. He is going to take a decent defender and if he doesn't mark it he shouldn't be out marked.

Hoping Henry Smith has a good game today and he needs to get a game soon if form warrants it.

I was a bit disappointed with the 5 day break we didn’t bring in fort for Sam Day. Would’ve relieved Oscar a bit and probably allowed him to rest more up forward and allowed fort to run out more. Not the difference in the end. But a few more fresh legs like fort and McKenna maybe would’ve been a little better to end result.

Fagan isn’t one to cut too deep, but today’s reserves game should have a few really cracking in to put their hands up.

Another great game from Smith makes him an inclusion for mine - Saints generally use one ruck so him playing understudy should give us an advantage when Oscar has a rest.

Also keen to see Doedee. I’d also be bringing in McKenna for some creativity and pace on the ball. Not saying he would have done much last night, but would have tried to bite off a few kicks to disrupt their set up I’m sure.

Will be interesting to see where Dev plays today with only really Noah being able to play a lockdown defensive role last night. We were exposed with that and with Starc at least another month+ away I wonder if it’s something we need to look at.

Review Round 6, 2025 - Brisbane Lions vs. Collingwood