VFL Round 6 v Box Hill Hawks, Saturday, May 3, 7:10pm AEST, Kinetic Stadium.

Huge effort from gray

Grays a ****en jet

Gray been huge in the last qtr.

gray again, so good.

Grey really can play. We have to get him in as soon as the next oppo presents. McAuliff was great but am most excited about Grey tbh.
Don’t know if he’ll make it but he’s a class above this level.

Trying to think who he reminds me of; I think it’s the late Cam McCarthy.

McAuliffe BOG. Most pleasing aspect would be the 11 tackles, 7 of which to half time.

Grey also elite. Just the confidence and composure is great. Dear would be in the Hawks best 22 if wasn’t for an injury and whilst I don’t think he nullified him, probably won that duel. Overspoils and gets in teammates way, but rather pull it back than try to ramp it up. Reads it in the air early too. I get a rawer Harris Andrew vibes.

Kaleb Smith also was very very good. Used the ball well, was courageous with some decisions. A few defensive lapses (allowed Butler to get goalside in Q4) but developing nicely.

Thought Clarke looked good too. Disposal a bit rusty, but decision making on point. Went when he had to and still has that burst of speed which is nice. Probably a solid four week block needed to raise his hand for senior selection, but wouldn’t be surprised to see him in the seniors after the bye.

Sonsie was solid. Used it by foot very well. Defensively thought he was okay, but really need that to be at above average level or better to justify re-selection in my eyes.

Alger just a smart footballer. Needs to add more a defensive element to his game, and probably needs a better tank to do that; but really positive tonight.

Sims great in the air, great at ground level. Good to see him get an extended run in the ruck. Got beaten by Reeves positionally, so a bit of work needed there, but will be better for the lesson.

Kosi and Blight solid without being outstanding.

Smillie was also okay. Lacks the spread and still working through what he can’t do at VFL level.

OHB did some nice things in the ruck, but tired towards the end against the better Ned Reeves. Still a few seasons away.

Fawcett I thought competed well. Got up the ground and was pretty good at creating a contest and following up at ground level. Could stamp his authority on a game but hasn’t yet.

Bauer I thought was okay, but my issue with him is that he really needs to do more than just fly for the ball as a third tall. Doesn’t hard lead like you would want to see, nor is exceptionally great at ground level. I look at Mihocek as the blueprint for the third tall like Bauer but you just don’t see many of those intangibles.

Colina was as bad as you’ll see. Would have been interested to see how he would have developed if he didn’t have two years wiped; but unfortunately time likely to run out. Last year on Cat B and can’t see him being elevated to the rookie list.

All in all a great win, and a great response to two poor weeks.

McAuliffe BOG. Most pleasing aspect would be the 11 tackles, 7 of which to half time.

Grey also elite. Just the confidence and composure is great. Dear would be in the Hawks best 22 if wasn’t for an injury and whilst I don’t think he nullified him, probably won that duel. Overspoils and gets in teammates way, but rather pull it back than try to ramp it up. Reads it in the air early too. I get a rawer Harris Andrew vibes.

Kaleb Smith also was very very good. Used the ball well, was courageous with some decisions. A few defensive lapses (allowed Butler to get goalside in Q4) but developing nicely.

Thought Clarke looked good too. Disposal a bit rusty, but decision making on point. Went when he had to and still has that burst of speed which is nice. Probably a solid four week block needed to raise his hand for senior selection, but wouldn’t be surprised to see him in the seniors after the bye.

Sonsie was solid. Used it by foot very well. Defensively thought he was okay, but really need that to be at above average level or better to justify re-selection in my eyes.

Alger just a smart footballer. Needs to add more a defensive element to his game, and probably needs a better tank to do that; but really positive tonight.

Sims great in the air, great at ground level. Good to see him get an extended run in the ruck. Got beaten by Reeves positionally, so a bit of work needed there, but will be better for the lesson.

Kosi and Blight solid without being outstanding.

Smillie was also okay. Lacks the spread and still working through what he can’t do at VFL level.

OHB did some nice things in the ruck, but tired towards the end against the better Ned Reeves. Still a few seasons away.

Fawcett I thought competed well. Got up the ground and was pretty good at creating a contest and following up at ground level. Could stamp his authority on a game but hasn’t yet.

Bauer I thought was okay, but my issue with him is that he really needs to do more than just fly for the ball as a third tall. Doesn’t hard lead like you would want to see, nor is exceptionally great at ground level. I look at Mihocek as the blueprint for the third tall like Bauer but you just don’t see many of those intangibles.

Colina was as bad as you’ll see. Would have been interested to see how he would have developed if he didn’t have two years wiped; but unfortunately time likely to run out. Last year on Cat B and can’t see him being elevated to the rookie list.

All in all a great win, and a great response to two poor weeks.
I watched the entire game and you’ve nailed this summation mate. McCauliffe was fantastic and that team lifting goal won us the game.

We’ve found a ripper in Gray, has AFL traits written all over him, savage competitor and might develop into a great stopper.

I get more impressed by Simms each time I see him play too. Very clean and efficient at what he does for a big man. Not sure he will be a #1 ruck though, looks more a Forward-Ruck at this stage which is fine, we need one!

Smillie needs to work on his fitness and improve that like 200%, he wins a decent share of inside ball , traps the ball well . I reckon he literally won one uncontested ball late on wing . Why isn’t he running into space for a receive , coz he’s gassed that’s why . Still a fair way off a senior debut ,kmac miles in front , sonz pretty good too

Was a great win by the lads v a good team who was always gonna come hard and we responded

Had the pleasure of meeting and talking to most of the afl listed players after the game.
Credit to them and the club they were all very nice young men and my daughter was able to get photos and signatures.
All of them pulled up ok but plenty of bruises and Fawcett was lucky to survive that huge hit he copped but he said he was fine.
Smillie had his hand\wrist in an ice bag. Sonsie was talking to batch the coach about a lower leg issue.
These boys play hard. Up close the hits were huge. Sims is an animal in the air he flies along with Fawcett, Gray, Kosi and Blight.
Judson my goodness that speed and McAullife that boot of his amazing.
All round a great night at Franga except for the bugs. Great win for the lads

Was out and about and missed the game sadly. Will check out the replay at some point but was obviously a much better performance than last week👍
Question though. Who was the holdover player for the seniors this week that would have been taken off at 3/4 time?

Hate to be harsh but tonight has exposed the players that need to off our list asap. To be honest it was a blessing for us tonight because it showed those players that must go and it also showed which players might have trade value. For mine Kozitski was easily BOG for us. Really starting to find his rhythm as a Defender. I am really concerned about the fitness of our AFL listed VFL players or theirwork rate?? There was some really lazy efforts at times. Our VFL listed players seemed to have more in the tank...
I don’t think we were lazy (AFL boys).
McAullife and Smith both ran out the game.
The backline talls all stood up in the last quarter when were under the pump. Gray, Blight and Kosi were excellent at ground level as well as in the air. They saved the game for us.
Clarke ( who was so impressive) is being eased back into it.
Smillie looked underdone, but managed important clearances in the last Q.
It was mentioned that Sonsie was being time managed (cover for today’s game)
Sims and Fawcett ran out the game well for big guys.

The big issue was team balance. Probably need to rectify that for the remainder of the season.

Happy with the win despite losing our way in the 3rd and earthy 4th

Jasper stood up when it mattered…this was his best game and deserves a seniors spot

Garner our captain was huge

Kano and Kaleb were also very good…worked hard in the last…and were best of the mids

I don’t think we were lazy (AFL boys).
McAullife and Smith both ran out the game.
The backline talls all stood up in the last quarter when were under the pump. Gray, Blight and Kosi were excellent at ground level as well as in the air. They saved the game for us.
Clarke ( who was so impressive) is being eased back into it.
Smillie looked underdone, but managed important clearances in the last Q.
It was mentioned that Sonsie was being time managed (cover for today’s game)
Sims and Fawcett ran out the game well for big guys.

The big issue was team balance. Probably need to rectify that for the remainder of the season.

We need a ruck in the msd if we can get a pick.

Almost up to halftime on the replay.
Just thinking Gray looks like he's miles ahead of Bauer. Has that mobility that would make him a good third forward - or on a wing - or a versatile back/forward swingman.
Blight & Kozi both solid backmen and ready to go as adequate call up replacements as needed.
Gray just shows something different and I'd like us to get creative with his possibilities.

I feel like Blight has gone backwards since being dropped back to VFL level. Maybe lost a bit of confidence with Gray going past him?

Even Kosi (who had his best game for the year imo) is performing better than him.
Not sure whats up with Blight but prior to his AFL stint he was genuinely dominating this level.
Has shown signs before of cracking the shits when things dont go his way.

Almost up to halftime on the replay.
Just thinking Gray looks like he's miles ahead of Bauer. Has that mobility that would make him a good third forward - or on a wing - or a versatile back/forward swingman.
Blight & Kozi both solid backmen and ready to go as adequate call up replacements as needed.
Gray just shows something different and I'd like us to get creative with his possibilities.
Just need Gray playing 1s, we have a gun player here who needs the experience.
Still has a lot of physical maturing to do as well which means his upside is off the charts.

Not sure whats up with Blight but prior to his AFL stint he was genuinely dominating this level.
Has shown signs before of cracking the shits when things dont go his way.
It's only going to get harder for him with Tylar Young also not far away.

Hate to be harsh but tonight has exposed the players that need to off our list asap. To be honest it was a blessing for us tonight because it showed those players that must go and it also showed which players might have trade value. For mine Kozitski was easily BOG for us. Really starting to find his rhythm as a Defender. I am really concerned about the fitness of our AFL listed VFL players or theirwork rate?? There was some really lazy efforts at times. Our VFL listed players seemed to have more in the tank...
good call on Kozi..he is finding his space down back and was very good last nite.
yet elevation to the seniors would be more of a if injury crisis hits our defence.
Really was a awesome win last nite.
love that we got wobbly in the forth, settled and then ran the game out.
Great reversal from last week's round.

I watched the entire game and you’ve nailed this summation mate. McCauliffe was fantastic and that team lifting goal won us the game.

We’ve found a ripper in Gray, has AFL traits written all over him, savage competitor and might develop into a great stopper.

I get more impressed by Simms each time I see him play too. Very clean and efficient at what he does for a big man. Not sure he will be a #1 ruck though, looks more a Forward-Ruck at this stage which is fine, we need one!
Just an observation that may be completely off track, but is Sonsie a bit on the outside with the other players? Didn't seem to be included in the celebration after a goal with the same enthusiasm as others. I am just trying to understand why he get such a bad run with the coaches. I would be interested in your opinion.

VFL Round 6 v Box Hill Hawks, Saturday, May 3, 7:10pm AEST, Kinetic Stadium.