Prediction Round 7, 2025: Changes vs Hawthorn

My toxic trait (among others) is that I think we are a chance against a down on form Hawks if we bring the same as in the Bombers game.

Were Essendon really bad or was our pressure actually good? They were coming in off a pair of wins and we were right in the game. Like could we?

Yeah nah mate

Weird take. He did nothing different before he got dropped.

Season high pressure acts and most tackles since round 1, both of which are significant given he was likely dropped to work on defense.

Harry Edwards dropped , roundabout parade with Brock in, Tomlinson might be called upon in MSD .
Brock might do well / better with McGovern playing , Bazzo might Trump them soon .

Centre bounce attendances last week

Main inside mids: Kelly (22), Hutchinson (19), Hewett (15), Reid (10)
Chop-outs: Graham (8), Gross (1)
Not used: Baker, Duggan, Ryan, Hough

Still used a different main four every round

GC: Kelly/Graham/Reid/Duggan
BRI: Kelly/Hall/Reid/Baker
FRE: Kelly/Graham/Reid/Baker
GWS: Kelly/Hall/Gross/Baker
CAR: Hutchinson/Hall/Gross/Baker
ESS: Kelly/Hutch/Reid/Hewett
Coach said he's still trying to find the right mix. So yes, need Graham through there this week, with preferably Baker over Duggan?

Archer Reid named on field, Jilliams on the bench. If they drop Jilliams for Allen I won’t be happy.

Cole also named on field so guessing he’s in for edwards and we’re planning to go small, but have Brock in the squad if we change our minds.

Brock, Long and Brockman on the extended bench with Hewett (!), Davis, Jilliams, Gross and Dewar.

No Billiams so he’s not named at any level, interesting.

Tom cole and the land of the giants

No mid into the side. Kinda feel like Harley will go back into the middle this week
Gross into the 22 with Long/Brockman/Cole to sub I reckon

But also agree that Harley will slowly build his CBA's as the year goes on.

Out: Kelly (toe), AReid (rested)
In: Allen, Long

Backs: Edwards, Gov, Ginbey, Hough, Maric, Duggan, Baker
Mids: Reid, Hutchinson, Hewett, Gross, Hunt, Davis
Rucks: Flynn, Williams
Forwards: Waterman, Allen, Ryan, Cripps, Owies, Long, Graham
Sub: Dewar
Emergencies: Grego, AReid (traveling), Cole

Gross into the middle for Kelly, Davis to a wing for Dewar, Long back into the forward line, Dewar to sub. Graham to take some centre bounces because otherwise that’s a young looking unit.

Grego to get a chance to travel with the team and see his family, Archer to also get a trip home but get a rest from playing.

I reckon Kelly only playing home games atm.

Id like to go with 1 less tall in defense and just go with

IN : Allen, Cole
OUT: HEdwards, Kelly

Give Hough some CBA. If things go bad, move Allen to defense. Dewar to be the sub
We are going to need a tall to take Chol or Gunston …. Brock on Gunston? Maybe better matchup with Chol….

Interesting the four umpires doing tonight’s game are the same doing our game Sunday….. including Elani..

I reckon they will go with the 4 forwards and not include Brock. They can then swing someone back if they need to.
Think so too. I don't mind going in with the one tall def as I think ginbey can fill in the holes. But even with that I think given hawks run and carry it would be a huge mistake to stick with the 4 talls in the fwd line.

At least put one as sub.