Autopsy Round 7, 2025: Hawks pluck the Eagles

Watch the games don’t look at stats. One looks more assured with ball in hand, looks to step through tackles, run out of stoppage and genuinely looks more assured.

The other one still looks rushed with ball in hand, makes a lot of poor errors with the ball near congestion and has way too many dinky little kicks in his game.

He still has time to improve and fingers crossed he will. He isn’t playing awfully by any stretch, he just seems very much still the same player. But I don’t care what the stats say, Mackenzie is looking much better at present.
We don't turn the TV on and proceed to stare at the ****ing ceiling! I watched the game just before I went to bed and the one making mistakes in congestion was Mackenzie! Again, he had 7 turnovers to Ward's 1. At one point, Mackenzie had an errant handball that went straight to an Eagles player on the edge of their 50. If they were a better side, that would have ended in a shot on goal. You would have crucified Ward if he did that. Mackenzie looks better to you because you ignore his mistakes.

Mackenzie had a solid game, but Ward's last quarter was better than anything Mackenzie did. You clearly have a bias here and again, are proving hawkman's point by judging them differently.

I've said before, but I'm perfectly happy with how they're both progressing, but it is very clear that some people judge Ward harsher.

Don't know if it's been mentioned here but I was sitting in the pocket we were attacking in the fourth- TB started with a limp but slowly worked back into running without worry.
I partially think he was parked FF because he was clearly not mobile- but also iirc people saying he was working on his goal kicking at training?
Yes, TB did during the Captain’s run in which some watchers are imagining he will play Full Forward in the game.
Scrim also did extensive goalkicking practice but didn’t come into fruition because his game was cut short.

Mate - please.

We are 5-2 and sitting 4th. Chol’s our main key target, and doing a fine job at it. No different to Mihocek in my view.

He ain’t going to miss out when/if we are deep in September.

That’s crazy talk.

He will be even better when Dear and/or Lewis return. Suddenly defences have another tall to focus on.

You say have a stroke in jest but that exact guy round 1 2022 was doing that thing all day, then in the 3rd qtr wound one up so hard he passed out in his seat. Had to go sit in the shade 5 rows back (was a hot day from memory)
He took a few off after passing out and others lead it and then he came back in a blaze of glory about 4-5 goals later from memory. A few people brought water bottles down to his row, was actually all pretty wholesome.

Also switched it up to 'Gun-Ston' and held the sign up to the bay so everyone knew what was coming, after he kicked a couple in his 250th.

We were aisle 31 last night (a few bays to the right of the great man) and my mrs popped her head up like a meerkat and said "HE'S HERE!" after the first goal and subsequent "eeeeeeeevveerrrrrryyyyyboddyyyy"

Surely he posts here. If you do, cheers for the rev ups mate I appreciate them. You are loved amongst my family.

Going to say this once and once only

If you were in the group of fans above the Hawks race during the game today on ground floor

Bin your membership
Look at yourselves in the mirror
Be better

Despicable supporters

Weren’t on their own.

I was on the other side of the ground and the amount of dribble coming from some supporters who act like we should go undefeated all season winning every game by over 150 points was putrid.

Yes, TB did during the Captain’s run in which some watchers are imagining he will play Full Forward in the game.
Scrim also did extensive goalkicking practice but didn’t come into fruition because his game was cut short.
Sam mentioned it in his post game presser. He wants TB and JB both to have stints at Full Forward to get a 'feel' for it and build more Tall options. Para phrasing but... "if you have played 100 games or more we need you to have versatility."
Maybe Battle gets a go next week if we can afford the luxury by being in a comfortable place to do it in the 4th quarter. Mind you Battle went forward v's us last year and kick 3 for memory.
Its a good plan, if lost both Chol and Gunston mid game we'd be a bit heck'd.

He took a few off after passing out and others lead it and then he came back in a blaze of glory about 4-5 goals later from memory. A few people brought water bottles down to his row, was actually all pretty wholesome.

Also switched it up to 'Gun-Ston' and held the sign up to the bay so everyone knew what was coming, after he kicked a couple in his 250th.

We were aisle 31 last night (a few bays to the right of the great man) and my mrs popped her head up like a meerkat and said "HE'S HERE!" after the first goal and subsequent "eeeeeeeevveerrrrrryyyyyboddyyyy"

Surely he posts here. If you do, cheers for the rev ups mate I appreciate them. You are loved amongst my family.

Attachments

• IMG_4441.jpeg
    IMG_4441.jpeg
    464.3 KB · Views: 18
I think our major issues to why we have lost our quick ball movement from the back half.
We have lost the Frosty from last year and Scrimm has been in and out due to injury and suspension.
Replaced by Barrass and Battle which we thought would be the answer?

The only time last year a big forward really took us to the cleaners was GWS with Hogan.

I think it is hopefully just a teething issue we are having at the moment.

Barrass so far is not quite the player I presumed him to be.

My second issue is our forward line,we are so much slower with Hardwick,Ginnivan and Gunners
Also with Sicily floating through there and we are missing Calshers ground ball pressure, in which we have lost a lot of our perceived pressure.

Chol with Calsher were such a weapon once the ball hit the ground last year.
Also the whole league have gone to town on the Hawks. Shutting down D’Ambrosio and no Will Day are not helping.
Thirdly I am really concerned with the drop off of Sicily, Impey and Hardwick in the last few weeks.
But I am sure Sam has a plan and hopefully something up his sleeve to get Hokball going and the boys smiling again.

Ahahahhahaha I’m so glad someone else here witnessed it. When he came back I thought for sure he was gonna end up on his ass again. Has a real crack every week that guy

Frenchy was cramping mid way in the third quarter. He's still a ways off fitness wise from being a bonafide AFL level mid. He was everywhere in the first half but dropped off quickly after.

When he gets there though he is going to be a star.

The atmosphere was flat yesterday.
I thought we would really dominate the centre square so to their credit WC kept plugging away.
I hope we iron out the kinks before we play Richmond as we should easily account for them.

Ahahahhahaha I’m so glad someone else here witnessed it. When he came back I thought for sure he was gonna end up on his ass again. Has a real crack every week that guy
Doesn't pick and choose either. I remember a game vs GWS, Sunday 3:20 on a Mother's day. (Some research has pointed me to R8 2019).

Would have been more seagulls than people there that day I reckon, but our man held firm and led the line all afternoon. I like to think he was directly responsible for the win.

Also I can't quote you directly for some reason but thank you Cyril says for photo evidence of the Gunston sign. I hope we get some more special edition signs over the years to come.

West Coast has shown that they can be competitive this year, so the expectation of just showing up and walking away with a 100+ point victory is unrealistic.

Sure, we weren't at our best, but we aren't expected to peak at this point of the season. The application is there, we just need to be cleaner with our skills and goalkicking. Plenty of improvement left, which is a good thing.

He did fade out of the game a little but is anyone else excited of the prospect of Wedds as an old fashioned roaming Centre Half Forward?

He took some absolutely ripping overhead marks in the first half and geez can he bang a goal from 50m or what?

To me he has all the tools to be one of the best CHFs in the league
  • Great overhead contested mark
  • Massive tank
  • Knows where the goals are

He did fade out of the game a little but is anyone else excited of the prospect of Wedds as an old fashioned roaming Centre Half Forward?

He took some absolutely ripping overhead marks in the first half and geez can he bang a goal from 50m or what?

To me he has all the tools to be one of the best CHFs in the league
  • Great overhead contested mark
  • Massive tank
  • Knows where the goals are
felt a bit sorry for him yesterday one minute was FB nek minute was FF nek minute back to FB

A win is a win and sometimes you need to play yourself into form.

If we get to see a wirey Gunston wind the clock back for another season or two it would be a thing of beauty, he still has the fire and I think more then ever teams really need that old senior head. It creates a lot more then we realise.

This team now just seems like it’s going through the motions but we don’t seem to create easy ball enough, but we are young side. Would love to see a game where it all clicks, I think the only thing that is going to be an ongoing issues is needing more midfield options. Mackenzie and ward are building but newk needs more support for a long year ahead.

More of Chol into the ruck is great and should see more of it once Dear is back, think it helps get him moving around the ball and tackling, when his up and firing all the team lifts.

Just read that West Coast have only won 2 out of the 28 quarters they have played this year 😯

I said previously but watching them live it was pretty eye opening to see how bad they actually are.

Their midfield in particular is basically non existsant.

Saw this which was pretty cool ….. draft buddies!

View attachment 2297915
Anyone else notice that up to their shoulders Wedds and Henry are (pardon the pun) "neck to neck" in height.

And then Henry "extends" his height dominance on Josh by a good inch or two 😂

Puns aside I thought Henry was pretty good yesterday. A few mistakes from adjusting to the speed of the game but he can certainly find the footy.

yeah I willl take the points but am so embarrassed. we were nearly beaten by a winless team..
We never looked like losing. We just didn't take advantage of the opportunity - which we had most of the game - to absolutely thrash them. Just too inaccurate in front of goal.

Sicily has to be injured.

He's gone from our best three to bottom six in a blink of an eye.
Yep, something is definitely wrong. It's a bit complicated given he's our captain and we've relied on him to be so good for so long but I'm almost inclined to give him a rest.