Toast Round 7 = Collingwood 107-66 Essendon

I loved our resilience today to fight back after that second quarter, not something we’ve often had to do this year, in contrast to previous ones under fly.

We look to be a really fierce and well rounded team at the moment, and I am stoked to watch our core players in their prime thrive alongside the veterans, uniting to form a genuinely great side.

Anzac Day:

1995 = Draw
1996 = Collingwood won by 12 points
1997 = Collingwood won by 29 points
1998 = Collingwood won by 20 points

1999 = Essendon won by 8 points
2000 = Essendon won by 40 points
2001 = Essendon won by 8 points
2002 = Collingwood won by 33 points
2003 = Essendon won by 66 points
2004 = Essendon won by 33 points
2005 = Essendon won by 14 points
2006 = Collingwood won by 17 points
2007 = Collingwood won by 16 points
2008 = Collingwood won by 73 points

2009 = Essendon won by 5 points
2010 = Collingwood won by 65 points
2011 = Collingwood win by 30 points
2012 = Collingwood won by 1 point

2013 = Essendon won by 46 points
2014 = Collingwood won by 23 points
2015 = Collingwood won by 20 points
2016 = Collingwood won by 69 points

2017 = Essendon won by 18 points
2018 = Collingwood won by 49 points
2019 = Collingwood won by 4 points

2021 = Essendon won by 24 points
2022 = Collingwood won by 11 points
2023 = Collingwood won by 13 points

2024 = Draw
2025 = Collingwood won by 41 points

Record
  • Collingwood = 18
  • Essendon = 10
  • Draw = 2

Anzac Day Medallists:

1995 = Saverio Rocca (Coll)
1996 = Scott Russell (Coll)
1997 = Damien Monkhorst (Coll)
1998 = Saverio Rocca (Coll)
1999 = Mark Mercuri (Ess)
2000 = James Hird (Ess)
2001 = Chris Tarrant (Coll)
2002 = Mark McGough (Coll)
2003 = James Hird (Ess)
2004 = James Hird (Ess)
2005 = Andrew Lovett (Ess)
2006 = Ben Johnson (Coll)
2007 = Heath Shaw (Coll)
2008 = Paul Medhurst (Coll)
2009 = Paddy Ryder (Ess)
2010 = Scott Pendlebury (Coll)
2011 = Scott Pendlebury (Coll)
2012 = Dane Swan (Coll)
2013 = David Zaharakis (Ess)
2014 = Dane Swan (Coll)
2015 = Paul Seedsman (Coll)
2016 = Steele Sidebottom (Coll)
2017 = Joe Daniher (Ess)
2018 = Adam Treloar (Coll)
2019 = Scott Pendlebury (Coll)
2021 = Darcy Parish (Ess)
2022 = Jack Ginnivan (Coll)
2023 = Nick Daicos (Coll)
2024 = Zach Merrett (Ess)
2025 = Steele Sidebottom (Coll)

Record
  • James Hird (Ess) = 3
  • Scott Pendlebury (Coll) = 3
  • Saverio Rocca (Coll) = 2
  • Dane Swan (Coll) = 2
  • Steele Sidebottom (Coll) = 2

Not a very convincing game to watch probably due to the conditions. We just kept cracking in and grinding away, was frustrating at times but then we won by 41 points. This version of Collingwood has some serious clout that is dished out precisely when it is needed. Super tough and experienced Magpie outfit.
Looking forward to the rest of the season.

Howe didn't get any love from the medal voters but i thought he was the Howe of old today brilliant game
I had him BOG, but admittedly Sidey and Elliott were also both elite, not to mention the two Daicos boys and Long as well.

A couple of hours later and I'm still buzzing.

Sidey was a worthy winner of the Anzac medal, but you could have made case that the Daicos boys and Elliott were just as worthy. Just a very even performance from those group of players.

I'm awestruck by how our veterans just keep producing the goods week by week, year by year. Pendles, Sidey and Elliott were all outstanding once again. The consistency and longevity of these players is to be admired.

The 2022-23 teams were very entertaining teams and provided us with so many great memories, but the 2025 side has added a ruthless streak to it that was lacking slightly in 2022-23. It's very refreshing to see us put teams to the sword rather than get dragged into a heart attack inducing finish more often than not :p.

Outside of Opening Round, we've been flawless with our results. 6-1 and sitting a game clear on top is very exciting.

Big tests still to come, but we're banking the wins and building nicely for the year ahead.

A couple of hours later and I'm still buzzing.

Sidey was a worthy winner of the Anzac medal, but you could have made case that the Daicos boys and Elliott were just as worthy. Just a very even performance from those group of players.

I'm awestruck by how our veterans just keep producing the goods week by week, year by year. Pendles, Sidey and Elliott were all outstanding once again. The consistency and longevity of these players is to be admired.

The 2022-23 teams were very entertaining teams and provided us with so many great memories, but the 2025 side has added a ruthless streak to it that was lacking slightly in 2022-23. It's very refreshing to see us put teams to the sword rather than get dragged into a heart attack inducing finish more often than not :p.

Outside of Opening Round, we've been flawless with our results. 6-1 and sitting a game clear on top is very exciting.

Big tests still to come, but we're banking the wins and building nicely for the year ahead.
I keep anticipating the heart attack finish and then kinda going… oh? We’ve actually won easily here in the end. Even today. The 41 point lead kinda snuck up on me!

Excellent win. Challenged a few times and still came through.

Given our tough draw, being 6 -1 is a phenomenal result.

Our next 5 games are a mixed bag, the following 6 are ridiculously easy then a tough run home. Setting ourselves up nicely.

That is a really strange attitude to have, given that Membrey is his teammate giving his all in the black and white.
Every week players are fighting for positions. Did you think perhaps Tim was thrilled to see Coxy omitted and himself named in the side this week? I find your attitude quite strange. Every day people are citing who they think should be dropped and who they think should replace them. I have no idea what your problem is.

if you told me last year Steele would win a anzac medal i would ask you what drugs you were on he was that far gone at times last year the turnaround has been sensational
Yeah and if you told me it would be essentially playing as a bonafide midfielder I would’ve probably thought you’d slipped something into my drink.

I loved it when he said post match that he was relishing the physicality of playing inside.

A lot of pundits focused on the age of our senior players ignoring the fact that all of them are smart, classy and highly skilled. Huge credit to Fly and co as well as they all seem to be relishing the changes in their roles.

Yeah and if you told me it would be essentially playing as a bonafide midfielder I would’ve probably thought you’d slipped something into my drink.

I loved it when he said post match that he was relishing the physicality of playing inside.

A lot of pundits focused on the age of our senior players ignoring the fact that all of them are smart, classy and highly skilled. Huge credit to Fly and co as well as they all seem to be relishing the changes in their roles.
Our average age today was 28 years 11 months, the whole team is pulling a Sidebottom.

Suprised we won by so much as I thought we did not play that well

We started well but Goal Kicking after 1st 3 Goals was poor goal Kicking

Then we had a Shocking 2nd Qtr and Early 3rd qtr

Our Forward line outside of Elliot was very poor

Midfield got back on top in 3rd Qtr and we finished better in front of Goal even with Scumps trying to help Dons in last qtr

We need to play better to beat Geelong next Saturday Night
Dave, How about some positivity mate.
What did you enjoy?

Fly's presser (excluding the Sidey's questions and answers).

A few words on the man (Steele Sidebottom) next to you.
"I said to him in third quarter, 'god Steele, you're going well today' and he had about 13 clearances at that stage. He's had a terrific season to date, he's in high performance right now. Training really well and put a lot of time in his fundamentals as I've said previously. He's playing really good footy right now".
How pleasing was the response in the third quarter after Essendon hit the front?
"We just mentioned it inside, the Bombers showed a lot of grit. In front of 92,000 and thanks for all our Magpie Army for turning up again and huge noise when we needed it. Bombers showed some real grit and it was a loss of territory. The game when when it was pouring down in rain becomes a different game. You can't transition so you got to get territory. Teams had it and then lost it. I just said after the game I don't reckon this group I've been a part of and it's a new group, those games probably end up being maybe a one goal win in the past and maybe hang on for a little bit more than that potentially. We're showing we've some got gears at the moment which is exciting".
Do you feel like you're playing a similar style to 2023?
"No, we've evolved. You have to evolve, the game changes".
How is it different?
"I can't tell you all of that, the opposition will know. There's subtleties. I think everybody wants to put good pressure on and get territory and set up behind. That's what everyone is trying to do. We've changed personnel, we've changed system. I think we're defending the ground differently than what we once did. I showed during the week actually the growth between what we were this time last year against the Bombers in terms of how we defend the ground now. There's significant changes and we want to reward that behaviour and like I said we're growing".
Have those changes been in response to the rest of the competition or is it you trying to get ahead of the competition?
"I think it's a natural evolution of every team has to keep growing. You can't be what you were. You can't hang onto the past. You can use it, but this is a new version. This is live in the moment and be present to it. We're a different team".
Jamie Elliott almost seems to thrive on Anzac Day. Takes the hanger last year and 5 goals today which is pretty special.
"Yeah, again it's just guys playing their role and some days it comes in your area and sometimes it doesn't. We've got a system that we think can kick an x amount of goals. I think most weeks we've had 10 or 11 goal scorers so we don't rely heavily; I can't remember the last time someone kicked 5 [goals] to be honest. It just hasn't been our way, but pleasing for Jamie to back it up after last week. A lot of emotion in last week for Jamie with family up there and to get back to work and go and do it again is really pleasing and we're happy for him".
We heard comms went down between the box and bench in the third quarter, how did that affect you?
"I just said ‘be calm’. When you’ve got a group that’s performing, you’ve got to get out of the way sometimes. I know the great Leigh Matthews taught me that way back. There’s a big ‘snowball’, he used to call it, going down the hill and picking up more momentum – well get out of the way of it. I’ve certainly been trusting these guys, they know what to do in the moments. So quite often when that happened, I said: ‘Just relax, we’re OK, we’ve got this, let the players be. We give them the keys, they drive the car really well at the moment".
Do you feel like your experience was the difference in the result, which is the impression Brad Scott gave in his press conference?
"It’s nice to speak of our experience as a good thing, it certainly helps, it’s Pendles’ 18th Anzac Day, that’s got to help somewhere, doesn’t it? We had six that hadn’t played, so it’s all good new experiences and we’re looking for more shared experiences. We’re on a journey here and those guys are still playing a role".
You noted the irony that if you lose "you're too old" and if you win "you're too experienced.
"I know how it works. The pleasing part is what Steele said. I know you come to training, these guys train unbelievable so you set yourself up to get to today with confidence because you've got belief in the way we've prepared. You just got to go out because every game is uncertain, and the Bombers are hard to beat at the moment and the version of that today was in particular. In tough conditions where you can't transition the ball, so you have to win a different way. We went into the game thinking they might be high transition and high uncontested marks. You can't do that in the wet, so again you have to evolve and find ways to win".
Do you have an update on Dan McStay's injury?
"Dan's got an MCL of some degree. We don't know until we get the scan. I'll give you some context, Howie did that and played the next week or he could be out for 4 to 6 weeks, we don't know. We'll know more tomorrow. I don't want to crystal ball it or guess".
No knee injury is good, but was there a sense of relief it's not more serious with McStay?
"We're hoping it's on the minor side. That's what we're getting told at the moment. Again, we'll know more in the coming days".
How do you feel the game is going? Do you think you have it in good order?
"I think whatever you see now, it has to be better. It just has to because the game changes. You go back 12 months [ago] and Sydney were dominating the competition and the game changes late because they find ways to beat you and the same if you go back 12 months for us. You've got to keep evolving. There is certain parts of the game that you need to be good at. You've got to win contest, we won it today. Ideally, you win inside 50s; I think we won by that by +16 so you've got to get territory and you've got to be able to put pressure when you don't have it [the ball] and stop the opposition from scoring. There's a lot in that, but that's pretty common practice".
Is it always better or just different?
"I think you got to keep growing".
I mean is the game overall better now than in 2023?
"The spectacle of the game? I'm enjoy watching it. I nearly watch every game. I'm a footy nuffie; can we hurry up I want to go home and watch the Fremantle game. I think the game is in good shape. I like to think we're going to play an exciting brand of footy and today we kicked 100 points in the wet. That's hard to do. We'll keep trying to be exciting for our fans".
How's Darcy Moore?
"My last report is he's improving. Still getting some vertigo signs and he's on antibiotics. It's a day to day at the moment. I think he's improving, but still not enough to train though so hopefully that improves over the next couple of days".

Toast Round 7 = Collingwood 107-66 Essendon