How did you rate the Umpiring?

• Bad on both sides

• Very much favoured Adelaide

• Worst umpired game of the season

• Worst umpired game ever

• Didn’t notice the umpiring really

Results are only viewable after voting.

I was at the game - there were plenty of calls that went Collingwood's way too. Keays handballing perfectly to Rankine in the forward pocket, umpire was blindsided but called it a throw. Given how many throws are ignored each game tis was ridiculous. And then a 50 m penalty cos Rankine played on.
Butts copped a huge elbow to the head in a contest, Framptons goal was from a soft as butter ruck infringement. Sure - crows got the better of it but don't pretend it was just one way. This is only news cos it happened to the Pies and at the end of the last qtr in a close game.

I was at the game - there were plenty of calls that went Collingwood's way too. Keays handballing perfectly to Rankine in the forward pocket, umpire was blindsided but called it a throw. Given how many throws are ignored each game tis was ridiculous. And then a 50 m penalty cos Rankine played on.
Butts copped a huge elbow to the head in a contest, Framptons goal was from a soft as butter ruck infringement. Sure - crows got the better of it but don't pretend it was just one way. This is only news cos it happened to the Pies and at the end of the last qtr in a close game.
After a game like this where every neutral, most Crows fans, and the AFL themselves have admitted that you got the rub, the classy action here would be to let this one go.

Secretly you probably think we got the rub of the green.

The only way the AFL will start to take it seriously is if it affects game day attendance and ratings.

I'm sure they're receiving emails and calls but that'll do little.

After a game like this where every neutral, most Crows fans, and the AFL themselves have admitted that you got the rub, the classy action here would be to let this one go.

To an extent yes but also the classy thing to do when you win is to not go all emotional about it which there generally seems to be.

There were only two absolutely shocking calls which were the Murphy and Johnson ones. The De Goey one I wouldn't waste a breath on, if he could've taken clean possession he was gone. The issue there was the original call not to call time off which favours neither side.

I think the Keays handball is the third worst decision and people seem to forget that his handball went to Rankine who kicked the goal giving away the 50. One could argue he would've had more pressure on him but he eats those round the corner ones for brekky.

Of the moderate to marginal bad calls you can find a few for both sides.

I think you need to understand that some Crows fans will bite back because this feels like a bit of a double whammy - we are being told we got an absolute ride AND we lost. That isn't going to encourage a classy response at the best of times.

Long story short Collingwood copped some rough ones, Adelaide copped one or two and they ****ed up not calling play dead. Submit your feedback to the AFL and let's move on.

My biggest worry is that because of this uproar from the Vic media there will be a total overcorrection this weekend and we will see perfectly good contests being whistled. Incidents like that don't need an overreaction, it needs a bit of a coaching session to those involved but with extra scrutiny every umpire will now be on watch.

It’s admirable that the AFL backs the umpires in so fiercely, but the last few seasons they’ve been appalling. This round just gone in particular was very poor. It’s ok to admit they make mistakes.

To an extent yes but also the classy thing to do when you win is to not go all emotional about it which there generally seems to be.

There were only two absolutely shocking calls which were the Murphy and Johnson ones. The De Goey one I wouldn't waste a breath on, if he could've taken clean possession he was gone. The issue there was the original call not to call time off which favours neither side.

I think the Keays handball is the third worst decision and people seem to forget that his handball went to Rankine who kicked the goal giving away the 50. One could argue he would've had more pressure on him but he eats those round the corner ones for brekky.

I think you need to understand that some Crows fans will bite back because this feels like a bit of a double whammy - we are being told we got an absolute ride AND we lost. That isn't going to encourage a classy response at the best of times.

Long story short Collingwood copped some rough ones, Adelaide copped one or two and they ****ed up not calling play dead. Submit your feedback to the AFL and let's move on.

My biggest worry is that because of this uproar from the Vic media there will be a total overcorrection this weekend and we will see perfectly good contests being whistled. Incidents like that don't need an overreaction, it needs a bit of a coaching session to those involved but with extra scrutiny every umpire will now be on watch.
Winning actually gives us a better platform because we aren’t sooking because we lost, anyway I think it’s clear as day the 4 umpire thing was a bad idea, the umpiring this year is at an all time low IMO, when you think about it where did these extra 9 umpires come from? Normally they would be umpiring the reserve comps, I think that might be part of the problem.

It was very bad, almost as bad as the 1997 semi final between Adelaide and Geelong at Football Park (not paid Leigh Colbert mark)

Most annoying part of it was that it actually made me happy/pleased Collingwood win.

Thanks for nothing umpires, I never want to feel like that again 🤬
1997??

So you want to go back in history…

Why don’t we go back to the 93 prelim?

Despite being 7 goals down at half time, Essendon were awarded 16 frees to Adelaide’s 14….

The frees at the end of the game….Essendon 32, Adelaide 16.

Adelaide got 2 free kicks in the 2nd half…what’s your opinion on that?

The majority of all supporters (including Crows supporters) agree that Collingwood got the rough end of the pineapple…

But it has also happened to us dozens of times playing in Victoria….

On one hand, I thought Adelaide got a very good run in the last 5-8 minutes of the game. On the other

1682954527290.png

I watched about 90% of the game, thought Adelaide got the rub somewhere in the order of 2ish goals. Aside from the one in the goal square (where I doubt anyone got a good view) most were not howlers like people are saying. Friday night we're getting holding frees paid against 20m out dead in front where nothing happened meanwhile players that never had possession are getting slung, there's a freeze frame of Finlayson having his arm held and his jumper is visibly being pulled down his neck with an umpire <10m away with a perfect view. We have been hit as bad or worse than Collingwood were 5 times out of 7 this year and it's only been raised now that Hinkley has finally called it out. There is always the thought in the head 'what would happen if this were Collingwood'. Apparently, this is it.

Not the other De Goey deliberate at the start of the quarter when we needed to kick goals and he was pushed as he kicked trying to clear the ball forward? Or Murphy with the ball in your forward pocket, doesn't move off his line at all and is called to play on within 3 seconds? Dreaming lad

Those happen every single week. Laird got his arm held and dumped without ever being in possession and nothing called. We could all go through the game and find those missed ones. There are many in each game.

Wouldn't even be spoken about if the Murphy one didn't happen. Even as bad as the Johnson one was I think it would've been a simple footnote. You are conflating the seriously poor with the regularly missed in some sort of tantrum.

They will fix the Murphy one (hopefully not as an overreaction) and the rest will always have a slightly different interpretation each week.

You need to move on.

Those happen every single week. Laird got his arm held and dumped without ever being in possession and nothing called. We could all go through the game and find those missed ones. There are many in each game.

Wouldn't even be spoken about if the Murphy one didn't happen. Even as bad as the Johnson one was I think it would've been a simple footnote. You are conflating the seriously poor with the regularly missed in some sort of tantrum.

They will fix the Murphy one (hopefully not as an overreaction) and the rest will always have a slightly different interpretation each week.

You need to move on.

Even Eddie Mcguire admitted the Johnson one was because the umpire was out of position. These guys are really used to getting their way aren't they?

I largely agree mate. This match had plenty of the usual umpiring errors (many of which favoured the pies) but the Murphy situation was an unusual trio of errors in my opinion (missing the free for high contact, missing a fairly obvious blood rule at a stoppage, then not noticing the context of the JDG insufficient intent).

The Johnson goal square missed free and others would've temporarily pissed me off had the Pies lost, but s**t happens and every close game can be broken down to have such individual decisions blamed.

I just rewatched the Murphy incident:
  • That’s a mark
  • That’s also high contact
  • Maybe front on contact too as he didn’t make contact with the ball, but hard to say he was looking at the ball
Either way, he deserved to take the kick. At worst, play needed to be stopped when he had:
  1. Blood pouring from his nose
  2. Doctors escorting him from the field
I know umpires need to adjudicate based on rules but a degree of common sense and intuitive decision making should be required to umpire at the elite level. Imagine JDG took the ball and gets tackled by the oppo player chasing him, barrelling into the doctors and the likely concussed Murphy.
View attachment 1675150

I don’t think it was “blatant cheating” but I do wonder if the umpire was influenced by the crowd and didn’t want to blow the whistle. Which is obviously inexcusable. I wonder what the AFL are going to say about this.
The AFL will say *-all, as usual!

Umpire 19 should not be umpiring Collingwood games in my opinion.

Remember Round 2 the dangerous tackle on Elliot? He was the controlling umpire who called "play on". The other ump had to call the free kick.

He's probably a great guy but just hasn't been able to put his bias aside for his umpiring gig. I think the AFL will be risking a riot at this stage if he's named for another Collingwood game... unless he is named but feels subconsciously compelled to even things up, in which case I encourage his selection!
The AFL will say *-all, as usual!
TBF the AFL have accepted that they got this one wrong.

You need to move on.
Oh okay, those ones never happen though. A throw that was a throw and a tackle you think hurt little Lairdy.

I have moved on.. 4 points clear at the top

Oh okay, those ones never happen though. A throw that was a throw and a tackle you think hurt little Lairdy.

I have moved on.. 4 points clear at the top

No they do happen that's my whole point. Whinge during the game sure but get over it after the whistle. Don't have a tantrum for 3 days.

It also speaks volumes that other people can admit a wrong decision that went their way but you still want to beliece the Keays one wasn't a handball. Incredible

So it took Collingwood getting shafted by the umpires for it to become a story.

Nearly every game of the entire year has seen one team unfairly benefiting from poor decisions.

The quality of umpiring with 4 umpires has decreased. If the 4th umpire is simply not up to standard then of course they are going to make mistakes.