Autopsy Round 7 vs Saints rant thread

Know the feeling brother!!

Had the wife and mother in law on the couch last night commentating during the game and they then wonder why I get a little heated.

I really need to build myself a sound proof man cave.

Thats exactly what i did, I turned my garage into a large man cave, had a mate help plaster the walls, carpet it etc....its my escape and i can go nannas out there without the missus or my oldest daughter, telling me.... get over it,.... its only a game, ....umpires dont cheat (i know they dont, but sometimes i wonder:p ) your a sook etc......i may put a bed in there soon lol

Dont you mean the channel 7 team? I was at the game unfortunately so havent heard or seen the coverage. I have no intention of watching it either.

Yes Channel 7 B Team: Darcy, BT, Richo. Make the Channel 10 team from last year look good, pox face Darcy excepted. I've met plenty of guys like him in the media: heaps of ambition, prepared to do whatever it takes in the way of shafting and sucking, but very little talent.:thumbsd:

Thats exactly what i did, I turned my garage into a large man cave, had a mate help plaster the walls, carpet it etc....its my escape and i can go nannas out there without the missus or my oldest daughter, telling me.... get over it,.... its only a game, ....umpires dont cheat (i know they dont, but sometimes i wonder:p ) your a sook etc......i may put a be in there soon lol

Usually I just head to the Odin to watch the game with the WA blues and I find I can keep myself in check more when I am in public compared to when I am at home.

Unfortunately these thursday night, friday night and bloody monday night games we are fixtured in to play this year has made it a bit hard to get to the pub.

Walker is way, way, way better finisher than Eddie, on a comment like that not even sure what footy club you've been watching.

Walker is so consistently good its not funny, EASILY our best shot on goal, far better run/ carry/kick as he showed last night. Eddies ability lies in being able to work in tight traffic, and good tackler - he was tackling last night and that's it - his traffic work last night went to shit. And that one simple talent is why he is there.

The blues were spending half the game playing rugby in tight traffic in front of goals - everyone around me was wondering if it was Rugby or footy - THIS is Eddies bread and butter, this is EXACTLY what he is meant to do - and he absolutely failed to do it.

Not going to spend time singling out Eddie - but he should not be avoiding scrutiny when in a loss like last night when he absolutely did not do his specialty job which is tight, in traffic goals sneak - did not do it. Claiming he is our best most consistent forward is just ridiculous - Walker kills Eddie about three times over. He's only played three games and has kicked twice Eddies goals in those three, almost as many Marks in TOTAL, and almost as many possessions - again, almost as many possessions and marks and Eddie has played every single game while Walker has played three. That's not just high praise for Walker, that's an indictment on Eddie.

Eddie put in a stunning performance in a losing team against Essendon this year - and that was the moment I said he has shaken his Junk Time Eddie status - he did very well. I was premature. He is a great player, and an excellent performer when on song, he really is - he needs to step up and find a consistency above all else. He needs to work out what it is he can do on a regular basis to find the footy, instead of chasing "Where it Was" -

Im not dismissing Eddie as he has really stepped up from two years ago, I am saying he is in the transition phase and the thing which is missing from his game is consistency. Walker has found it - in SPADES.

May be just me but you only seem to bob up on a rant thread. Is it your sole purpose in life to wait for a loss and then come in all guns blazing complaining about boot colours and hair styles?

Your not dismissing Eddie but in your 4 posts in this thread you have bagged him unmercifully.

So let's look at some stats last night:

Your post #279 "Eddie giving away frees right, left and centre", stat: 1 free against and 1 for.

So let's compare to Milne, who carved us a new one last night, and Walker who has achieved legendary status in your world.

Disp M T G B D/E DT SC

Betts 11 3 6 2 1 82% 75 92

Milne 13 4 2 4 0 62% 79 98

Walker 14 6 3 2 2 50% 81 75

When comparing Milne to Betts you should also allow for the fact that for over half a game Milne was playing on the worst player (AJ) on the ground.

I look forward to your comments when Tex has a bad one in a losing side.

I agree that stats can sometimes be a bit misleading but it seems to me so can your perception of the game.

I'm not sugar coating a loss but, if you're gonna rant, pick players that deserve it. In the case of this game I'd suggest Waite, Garlett, Joseph, Gibbs, Bower etc.

Suggest that next time you take a long haul flight for a game that you come a little earlier to avoid the ravages of jetlag.

That graph looked better when I typed it.

Ratten's presser was on the money: this game was different to the Bummers game, which generally speaking was a tactical win for those bogans from the north.

This game was lost because we didn't get clean hands on the footy - and they did. When they set the ball loose free from the contest they hit their target and away they went. When we did get first hands on the pill, we were very messy: missing targets, lacking overlap and support and some physical pressure to release our players. Curnow has to impose himself more. I think the time has come to take Robbo of the HFF and stick him in the guts.

Our backline struggled. Duigan's lack of pre-season continues to bite. We miss Laidler's common sense and Yarran's skill and pace. Yarran can get opposing forward's thinking about defence. Touhy's form has dropped a bit (which is forgivable, given his trajectory to date). Even an Emu's gotta know their limitations. How could T-Bird be worse given that he's always beaten Kosi and he can be swung forward? I thought Hendo and Jamo were solid, but they weren't really being the general. It didn't really look like there was any one in charge back there. It was all pretty mild. Very ordinary stuff.

Our forward line lacked defensive pressure. Garlett and Waite just looked sloppy - missed tackles or applied poor ones. We struggled to hold the ball inside for periods and apply some serious pressure. Betts and Walker were good though, they were creative and hard working and went and got the ball. I am not sure how we can work Walker, Waite and one of the resting ruckman forward. They seemed to get in each other's way when they were together in the arc.

I liked the games of Judd, Ellard, Walker and Betts. Hampson, Simpson and Gibbs in part. (Not sure why there's some heat on Gibbs - thought he did a good job on Goddard).

Changes:
Out: Bower, Joseph
In: Thornton, Yarran
Sub: Russell

Positional changes:
Robbo from HFF to C
Armfield back to being a defensive HFF

Does anyone think that Andrew Walker will be rubbed out for a few weeks for the hit on Brendan Goddard in the first quarter?

No - the AFL has a long history of ignoring jumper punches. The Ryder flurry of jumper punches a few weeks ago was much worse.

So - all in all, and given the consistency of the MRP, he'll probably get 10 weeks! :rolleyes:

It seems our game plan has been worked out by other teams now. Will have to see what Ratten comes up with to try and get a plan B & C.

St Kilda played us (as Ess did) at our own game. They ran they busted tackles to get it forwrad to two tall options who brought the ball to ground and their small forwards crumbed and kicked goals. A St Kilda player jumped in to grab the ball then a series of quick handballs later they were out while we just seemed to sit back and watch.

3-4 Player jumping to spoil a mark in the opposition forward 50 leaving St Kilda's crumbers alone to crumb and kick goals is basic stupid football.

The amount of time I saw St Kilda player free with a Blues player jogging half ar*ed behind them, hanging off 5-10m waiting for the ball to be kicked so then they could attempt a spoil. They need to work their butts off to get to cover players. At one stage I saw two Blues players standing the mark while a St Kilda player ran forward on his own, They were both pointing to the player I presume telling each other to cover him.

St Kilda came to play, from the very start they had fire in the belly and the very first contest showed this. What Carlton didn't do is step up in the hardness dept when they needed to. They sat back waiting for a little spark so they could all run forward.

I have the feeling that teams will watch the Ess and St Kilda games and will work out how to play us. We are quick, we spread well but I don't think it's a game plan that can't be beaten especially by the better teams.

Professional players who don't get fired up enough for a weekly game is just plain silly. They did it against GWS Ess and now St Kilda. FFS they need to bounce out of the box from the very start and destroy teams. This catch up cr*p will never win a flag.

As a point of interest, has there ever been a better dive in the AFL than Goddard's?

Our Andrew Walker fell down like a rag doll at a slight bump too, right after he kicked a goal I believe. Unnecessary and embarassing.

What a woeful effort.

We seriously get sucked in by the hype.

-smashed in the centre, and around the contests.
-small and med defenders were smashed
-terrible field kicking
-lack of team orientated play (defensive running, taking poor shots at goal)
-no mids had a good game
-the most undisciplined tackling I have seen in a long time

I HATE singling out players for bad performance, but JR and AJ were worst on ground. They shouldn't be getting near our seniors in their current form.

Positives:
-pushed hard late to make it a contest
-ellard excellent when coming on

Not many positives.

Dont misunderstand how poor this performance is. The Saints will struggle to make finals.

How many players can hold their head up and say they put in a four quarter effort?

We constantly choke when there is something on the line. There is along way to go if we are going to challenge this year, something I think is still possible.

We need to keep a fit list. Our players after our best 22 will not win us a flag. That part is luck.

We need to be able to step it up in big games. Of all the recent big games, we beat a vastly undermanned pies, got smashed by essendon, lost a big final last year, and now with a chance to go top, we seriously drop the ball.

I really do not want the reputation as being bottlers. Very frustrating.

Really want to see a lift in intensity, determination, discipline and team play next week. Two losses in a row and we all of a sudden are fighting for top 4, rather than fighting for position within the top 4.

What do you people think needs to happen?

Make no mistake, this is a terrible and worrying result

Thats exactly what i did, I turned my garage into a large man cave, had a mate help plaster the walls, carpet it etc....its my escape and i can go nannas out there without the missus or my oldest daughter, telling me.... get over it,.... its only a game, ....umpires dont cheat (i know they dont, but sometimes i wonder:p ) your a sook etc......i may put a bed in there soon lol

Mate i think we are twins :)

Another point id like to make.

We looked soft and not hard at it.

Why didn't Ratten at the end of the 3rd quater when Robbo was knocked out get his players in, single out Robbo and tell them, that this was how they need to play the last qtr.
Make it animated, get the players excited, get the crowd up.

All he did was walk near Robbo and pat his head and what looked like he asked him if he was alright. If a player puts his body on the line like that especially when the team is playing like they were, you should use that to fire them up.

Walker did much more, and since moving forward, is three times the forward Eddie is, unfortunately Eddie always has been, without a SINGLE DOUBT a cameo player, comes and goes.

Eddie was giving away frees left right and center - And which part of 3 goals in three games is escaping you ? That is absolutely unacceptable and proves my point entirely. Eddie was running around like a headless chicken last night, I was five rows from him and I see it all the time with Eddie, when things aren't being handed to him on a platter from the gift shop ready wrapped he runs around in circles not knowing where to run to or what to do - just NO IDEA - its almost comical to watch if it wasn't so sad.

This isn't something new for Eddie - I don't want to concentrate the on him, but this was his entire modus operandi for YEARS and the old Eddie was back last night in SPADES and has been for three weeks. PERIOD.

Like it or lump it - but there is absolutely no denying it. And saying Eddie is ever better than Walker is just ridiculous.

Quite an axe to grind you have there...

Eddie played an average game last night...not great, not bad, just average. Created a couple of goals at important times from half chances, and at very least provided some energy...which you obviously equate to running around like a headless chook. Might add that his goals also came from set plays and putting himself in the right place at the right time. You don't kick the amount of goals he has without knowing where you need to be.

The nature of a small forward is a little feast and famine, and three goals in three games is by no means a famine. Unacceptable? Let go of it. Your revelation that a small forward may in fact be a cameo player also falls a little short of jaw dropping. For the year to date he is well up on career average.

Walker's game last night was also average...has played with a streak of petulance this year that I don't particularly admire.

Not sure what you are setting out to achieve here but you are not coming across as a particularly keen student of the game.

Can't say that I have read the entire thread here, in fact I have only read this current page, so I don't know if this player has been held to account or not.

Jarrad Waite - to say he had a bad night at the office is an understatement. The worrying trend with Waite is that the gap between his best and worst is widening at a rapid rate. I appreciate he has missed a serious amount of footy over the past few seasons, but really as a senior footballer he needs to put in a better performance than what we have seen from him lately.

What was also frustrating last night was our matchups on St.Kilda's small forwards, and the fact that we started Ellard as sub. We have been smashed in the clearances leading into the game, and we start a bloke who's prepared to put his nose over the footy during the 3rd quarter.

We'll need to improve big time if we're going to get anywhere near Adelaide this Sunday.

Disturbing trends emerging: Carlton not up for a fight. It all started with the Essendon game and they established the blueprint- GWS did it for three quarters and Stkilda followed suit last night .
Crowd around the ball we can't get it out and can't spread. We need more hard bodied midfielders e.g. like watson and Hayes-who always destroy us.
We are over-reliant on Judd and too many others are not prepared to do the grunt work. Waite and Gibbs really annoyed me last night.

Coahing panel the challenge lies fairly and squarely with you. Prove you are visionaries and come up with a solution in game style or personnel or both.

What the hell has happened to us defending kick outs and always going into pockets when kicking inside 50?

We don't seem to able to dig ourselves out of a hole and are front runners. We should demand more from certain players.

Can't say that I have read the entire thread here, in fact I have only read this current page, so I don't know if this player has been held to account or not.

Jarrad Waite - to say he had a bad night at the office is an understatement. The worrying trend with Waite is that the gap between his best and worst is widening at a rapid rate. I appreciate he has missed a serious amount of footy over the past few seasons, but really as a senior footballer he needs to put in a better performance than what we have seen from him lately.

What was also frustrating last night was our matchups on St.Kilda's small forwards, and the fact that we started Ellard as sub. We have been smashed in the clearances leading into the game, and we start a bloke who's prepared to put his nose over the footy during the 3rd quarter.

We'll need to improve big time if we're going to get anywhere near Adelaide this Sunday.
Yep, He really needs to make every effort and take his opportunities considering the fact he held out for a longer term (3 years) when the club were concerned about how much he gets on the park etc.

Extremely disappointing last night, but in reality he is not a KPF and would be far more effective as the 2nd banana!

Old age, HBF. ;)

Can't expect a 29yo in the twilight in his career to shoulder the burden, week in, week out as he's been forced to do since we dispatched Brendan Fevola, Brad Fisher, Cam Cloke and Adam Hartlett.

We really haven't performed very well since we flogged the Pies. I am not sure what is wrong with us but all of a sudden we look like a bottom 8 side. could it be bringing Walker and others back into the side has unbalanced us ?? We definitely don't look the same since the Collingwood game. We was outclassed by a struggling Saints side last night.. Unbelievable. Why was Thornton dropped from the Carlton side.. I thought Ratts gained some experience from the last couple seasons but it looks like he has gone back to his old ways. Playing his mates over talent.

It is clear when you see the players interviewed they are all happy with what they are doing and think it is just going to happen for them without having to put 100%. Muprh is the big in this he needs a rocket up the arse.

Walker did much more, and since moving forward, is three times the forward Eddie is, unfortunately Eddie always has been, without a SINGLE DOUBT a cameo player, comes and goes.

Eddie was giving away frees left right and center - And which part of 3 goals in three games is escaping you ? That is absolutely unacceptable and proves my point entirely. Eddie was running around like a headless chicken last night, I was five rows from him and I see it all the time with Eddie, when things aren't being handed to him on a platter from the gift shop ready wrapped he runs around in circles not knowing where to run to or what to do - just NO IDEA - its almost comical to watch if it wasn't so sad.

This isn't something new for Eddie - I don't want to concentrate the on him, but this was his entire modus operandi for YEARS and the old Eddie was back last night in SPADES and has been for three weeks. PERIOD.

Like it or lump it - but there is absolutely no denying it. And saying Eddie is ever better than Walker is just ridiculous.

Betts probably provided more contests than Waite and Walker :thumbsd:.

Can't remember being as angry after a game as last night.

Totally lost it.........which is saying something. ;)

I was dumbfounded, have a bit of a drive home, then i got pissed off...really filthy

We were out coached.