Autopsy Round 8, 2025: Positives and Negatives vs Melbourne

What a bunch of sooks you two are, least he offers something in the box instead of the absolute dribble that comes out of pav and Schofields mouth. I reckon he’s great combats the hatred from pav and puts him in his place occasionally.
They're not the only two sooks, there are a shit load of people who don't want to hear him mate, so settle down.

Don't be so precious - he provides unique insight into our team and players, and clearly is on our side wanting the boys to succeed and at the very least applies balanced criticism valuing every player, and then just going - and these are the elements they need to work on.

It's easy to be angry at Simmo and blame him for our shitness, but as we are seeing now he's gone we are worse than ever. Wasn't his fault, he's not the list manager and didn't have control over AFL houses rorted system.
Like I said before, some people don't wanna hear him. Stop trying to tell people what they like/don't like. It's a bit like trying to tell everyone "Kelli Underwood is really good to listen to commentating".

Brockman had a low football IQ? Serious? His footy IQ was a standout! Compare his deft touches with Hough who lacks penetration in his kicking and makes average decisions!
Hough needs to stay in defence.
Praise for Maric?? He was awful!! What game were some people watching!
Bo Allan terrible? Really? I thought he tried hard with some good efforts.
Hough,Ginbey and Bo should be the core of our defence going forward!

They're not the only two sooks, there are a shit load of people who don't want to hear him mate, so settle down.

I’d say it would be a minority, most eagles fans respect him and are grateful for his contributions to the club and more then likely enjoy his insights considering he knows and has coached a lot of the players.

Just as aside...

I'd be really interested to see the stats on how many times a dump kick ends up straight back in our forward 50. Duggan seems to be the number one culprit. He does it so often, I'm assuming it's a specific strategy. And it hardly ever seems to work. Pretty much all the teams manage to set up their defence against us, and either take the mark, or muscle the ball back into the F50.

I reckon we should consider putting Liam Ryan in defence. He played a game there under Simmon and looked pretty damn good. I know we'd miss him in the forward line. But right now, I reckon the transition out of the back line is a bigger issue.

Brockman had a low football IQ? Serious? His footy IQ was a standout! Compare his deft touches with Hough who lacks penetration in his kicking and makes average decisions!
Praise for Maric?? He was awful!! What game were some people watching!
Bo Allan terrible? Really? I thought he tried hard with some good efforts.
Hough,Ginbey and Bo should be the core of our defence going forward!
Brockman has potential.
Maric was ok.
Allan. A bit too early to judge. But if he can't kick straight, I don't want him on the HBF.
I suspect Ginbey will end up back in the midfield. Otherwise, a very good HBF. Right now, with Hough and Ginbey, Cole and Duggo are surplus to need.

Brockman has potential.
Maric was ok.
Allan. A bit too early to judge. But if he can't kick straight, I don't want him on the HBF.
I suspect Ginbey will end up back in the midfield. Otherwise, a very good HBF. Right now, with Hough and Ginbey, Cole and Duggo are surplus to need.

No chance Ginbey will be back in the middle , specially just as he’s starting to come good as a defender. We need to draft mids and give hall, gross, grego an extended run at to see what we got.

Was at game and like most was really flat, everything's we touch seems to turn to shit at moment.
I will remember these days and months when we next win a quarter, game and the ultimate prize. It will make it so much sweeter.
Keep the faith everyone, could be worse having never won a premiership or been waiting over 60years since the last one.
Also wonder how the 5 day v the 9 day break effected our performance and helped Big Max's game. Last year that would have turned into a 70+ loss.

Keep the faith everyone, could be worse having never won a premiership or been waiting over 60years since the last one.
WCE: founded 1987 - four premierships.

St Kilda: founded 1897 - one premiership (in 1966).
At the current rate
premiership #2: 2035
premiership #3: 2104
premiership #4: 2173

Always good for a laugh that.

Maric was bang average. He’s been a bit like Baker (except last night) where he has so many stupid turnover it takes the gloss really off. His defensive acts and 1v1 are quite poor. That said I rather him learning and improving it at this level. He’s only 8 games into this role and hopefully as the year progresses he starts to produce more well rounded games

Whole thing is pretty absurd. When has a coach ever been sacked and then rocked up the following season to exclusively commentate games for his old club? I don't believe he does any other teams does he?
He commentates Thursday night football for SEN most weeks.

It’s just the juxtaposition with the doubts of him wanting to be at the eagles that makes it sting for fans I think.
That's a good point.

When we think about it, most people have the idea that he doesn't want to be here, but I was thinking about it recently.... when has he ever indicated that since being drafted?

All the conjecture about Harley leaving came from Vic-based and social media.

According to reputable media (eg, Twomey, etc), Harley has not been looking around; his management has not been looking around. Harley has not officially said he wants to leave. He has said he wants to take his time before focusing on his next contract.

Autopsy Round 8, 2025: Positives and Negatives vs Melbourne