Preview Round 8: Saints vs Crows

Please explain why you think Gwilt will be sent to Lynch?

PS. "New member as of today" with 11 posts and 6 on our board... keep it nice ;)

Gwilt looks like he would handle him best. Yea long time viewer, first time poster today. Give me a warm welcome :D You guys are our opposition this week, so naturally im on your board

Geary on Dangerfield is an obvious match-up. Gears will be able to run with him in the midfield and stop him down back, he's proven at being able to play both positions. the problem saints will have with this game is who will step up to support Riewoldt. with three good tall backs in the Crows line up he is going to need some serious support down there in the height dept.

cant believe so many people are saying bring Jones back in, i thought Monday night showed how much we dont actually need him. geary can take his role and it frees someone else up.

We want him in as an inside mid, not as a tagger.

@jangofett - you don't have infinite right of reply. It's not "natural" that you're on our board - particularly if you want to tell us how it is. We just aren't that interested.

*Updated May 15

Sam Gilbert - Knee - 7-11 weeks

Daniel Markworth - ACL- Season

Adam Schneider - Hamstring - 3-4 weeks

Beau Maister - Wrist - 1-2 weeks

Lenny Hayes - Calf - 2-3 weeks

Darren Minchington - Hamstring - 2-3 weeks

Nathan Wright - Jaw - 1-2 weeks

Tom Simpkin - Quad - 1-2 weeks

Maister still likely out i say

IN: Jones/Dunell/Ledger/Murdoch/Saunders
OUT: Wright (Injured)

Not sure of other changes i'd make, Didn't notice Ray much Monday night. After being an emergency Monday i reckon Jason Blake could be a chance to play maybe on a McKernan/Jenkins and free up Sam Fisher to play loose again.

And your defence is super impressive? Rhys stanley on Jenkins will be fun to watch.
Dont know who you guys are going to play on lynch, he runs a marathon most games, none of your backmen will be able to keep up. Presti mark 2 will wear riewoldt like a glove aswell

good tall forwards can get us, one of those above is tall

I hear this from alot of opposition supporters however the highest bag kicked on GWS until Lynchys 10 was only 7. So I think some credit is due. He was also in very good from for the 3 games before that one anyhow.

Good for you. Credit to Tom. Ten is good in anyone's book. Of course hope that he backs up and kicks none this week.

Just read through the thread, did I really just read that Tom Lynch's ability was mentioned in the same breath as Nick Riewoldt's? Come on give us a spell here mate

lol no thats not what i said. Lynch wouldnt carry riewoldts bags obviously. Just mentioning work rate. Riewoldt is one of the all time greats

Think it's time we upgrade Curren and give him a go

Out: Wright (Inj) Milne (omitted)
In: Curren, Maister/Dunell

Jimmy Webster takes Wrights spot. Curren come in and play as small forward rotating through the midfield and possibly start as sub. Maister if he is fit and ready, if not Dunell come in and start as sub, as dunell has ability to play back/forward and even midfield

Always like coming on other teams boards and reading their views of the AFC. :thumbsu:
Always dislike seeing another Adelaide supporter filling your pre-game thread with absolute tripe. :thumbsdown:

FWIW, I never feel confident against your mob. I'm only confident because this is a home game for us, and we've been in reasonable nick. Most worried your army of small forwards, conditions could suit. I think your toughest match up is Danger when he goes forward. Whoever you have on him in the midfield wont be capable when he's at FF. With no Tex he has to kick more goals for us, so expect to see a lot of him in the forward 50.

Few people on our board talking this up as an easy win, but I'm not so sure. The weather is sh-t here, and will probably continue to be sh-t all week, so a wet track isn't out of the question. We should have you covered if we play well, but I'm far from convinced on our ability to play the consistent brand of footy we were in 2012.

Best of luck...

I can understand opposition supporters thinking we are out of form for obvious reasons.
But on close observation against Carlton we lost Tex very early and took about a quarter to restructure and 'find a forward line' you could put it. In this time they kicked away to a 5 goals lead at half time. After that we beat them and were a chance to win until that shocking non decision to Thompson, which wouldve put us within 10 points and killed our momentum.
Similar story last week against the Hawks. Had kicked 4 in a row and were in front in the last until that shocking 'push' decision against Thompson and 50 turned into a 12 point turn around killing our momentum and we went on to lose by 11 points.
So our form has been on the improve over the last 3 weeks.

I also think you guys are a much better side then most people think. Riewoldt has been fantastic and Steven looked really good monday night.
Should be a good game.

Put a quick and easy preview together, Might not make much sense as it isn't detailed much. Just a bit of information with my thoughts, I'm sure you'll find a much more detailed preview around. :)

796126-jack-steven.jpg

Adelaide v St Kilda, Round 8 Preview:
When: Sunday 19th of May
Where: AMMI Stadium
Time: 4:10pm (ACST)

Last time they met:
AMMI Stadium, June 15 2012.
Adelaide: 17.13 (117) Def St Kilda: 16.15 (111)

Major ball winners:
Adelaide: Scott Thompson 39, Patrick Dangerfield 28, Rory Sloane 24, Brodie Martin 21
St Kilda: Nick Dal Santo 34, Leigh Montagna 29, Jack Steven 24, Lenny Hayes 24

Goal kickers:
Adelaide: Kurt Tippett 5, Jason Porplyzia 3, Ian Callinan, Taylor Walker, Matthew Wright 2, Scott Thompson, Sam Jacobs, David Mackay 1

St Kilda: Stephen Milne 3, Nick Dal Santo, Leigh Montagna, Nick Riewoldt, Adam Schneider, Arryn Siposs 2, Jack Steven, David Armitage, Brendon Goddard 1

Adelaide:
Last 3 weeks: L, L, W

Adelaide hit good form last weekend against GWS after a rather poor start to 2013 after having a cracking season in 2012 almost making the grand final. They gave GWS a bath last weekend with former saint Tom Lynch kicking a bag of 10 goals, many have been saying “It was only against GWS” but he has averaged well in disposal count before that game. Can he back up that performance again this week against St Kilda?

Patrick Dangerfield has really hit his best form in the last two weeks as well which is good from the Adelaide point of view after a slow start to the season, He’ll play a key factor again this weekend if they are to beat the saints who would be full of belief after a strong win against an in form Carlton side on Monday night.

Adelaide will need Shaun McKernan or Josh Jenkins to lift again this week with Taylor Walker out for the year and if they can fire they could cause the St Kilda back line a bit of grief but the saints back line was pretty solid last weekend against Carlton but if they can lift again they could cause trouble for the saints back line.

Brenton Sanderson has said today that Andy Otten, Daniel Talia and Ben Rutten will more than likely rotate through the in-form Nick Riewoldt rating him as the AFL’s most influential player stating it’ll take those three guys mentioned to shut down the St Kilda skipper. Adelaide are unlikely to make any changes to the side that gave GWS a flogging last Sunday according to Brenton Sanderson.

St Kilda:
Last 3 weeks: L, L, W
It was a cracking win last Monday against an in form Carlton side. Not many backed in St Kilda to win we have been very good and competitive against some quality opposition in recent weeks and finally pulled off a brilliant victory with such a young side on Monday. Fair enough the Blues had some injury worries but a lot of our players really stood up and were amazing with players like Ben McEvoy outstanding, Sebastian Ross played his best game for the club so far I thought, Jarryn Geary did a good job on Marc Murphy, Jack Steven massive 39 possessions in one of his best games I thought as well. It was great to see Nick Dal Santo hit good form as well after a few poor performances in recent weeks.

St Kilda will need to stop Patrick Dangerfield this weekend along with Scott Thompson and Rory Sloane in the Adelaide midfield if we are to get the win in Adelaide with those guys hitting some good form over the past few weeks. If we can get first use in the midfield and use the ball well going forward and improve our goal kicking I think we are a big chance in this game without a doubt, If the team that played Monday shows up on Sunday I think we can get the win for sure.

Unfortunately St Kilda will be forced to make a change with Nathan Wright out for 1-2 weeks with a fractured jaw after a bump from Eddie Betts. Really does suck he is out for 1-2 weeks after looking right at home at AFL level. Hopefully he is back ASAP. Who comes in for him? Will it be a like for like or another player? Many deserve a spot including Jason Blake, Brodie Murdoch, Josh Saunders, Sam Dunell, Tom Ledger, Clinton Jones or could we elevate a rookie and look at a Jackson Ferguson or Tom Curren?
After a good solid performance last week against Marc Murphy will Jarryn Geary get the job on Patrick Dangerfield this week? If he does it’ll be a solid test for him with Paddy is some really good form. If he can limit Dangers influence on the game that’ll be a massive bonus for the St Kilda side. Who’ll match up on Paddy when he is up forward? I think we have some solid options including Sean Dempster, Dylan Roberton and James Gwilt.

I would be trying to free up Sam Fisher again this week as that is when he plays his best football and he showed that against Carlton. Not sure I’d be playing him in a lock down role again this weekend against the Crows.

For St Kilda to win it'll take a good long 4 quarter game of football after falling off a bit against Carlton which was more due to the fact of a young side with tired body's.

Match Ups (My thoughts):
Rhys Stanley V Josh Jenkins
James Gwilt V Shaun McKernan
Jarryn Geary V Patrick Dangerfield
Sean Dempster/Dylan Roberton V Tom Lynch
Nick Dal Santo V Scott Thompson
Farren Ray/Clinton Jones (If he is named) V Rory Sloane

Prediction:
I think it’ll be a close good game of football, Adelaide will need to shut down the inform Nick Riewoldt as he is in good damaging form at the moment while St Kilda will need to shut down a few of the Crows boys as well in Dangerfield, Sloane and Lynch as his confidence would be high after kicking 10 last week.

I hope that St Kilda will win but I think recent record at AMMI Stadium isn’t that flash and the home advantage will play a factor in the Crows snatching the win. Adelaide by 10-15 Points.

Yeah, Ross reminded me at times of Harvey, with the whole "Matrix" thing going for him. You're sure he's holding on too long, and there's opposition players all around him, but for some reason, he just seems to always get the kick out - to the right person - every time. Give him another pre-season for his tank, and he'll be pretty damn exciting.

Lets get him some shades, and nickname him "Neo"

*Updated May 15

Sam Gilbert - Knee - 7-11 weeks

Daniel Markworth - ACL- Season

Adam Schneider - Hamstring - 3-4 weeks

Beau Maister - Wrist - 1-2 weeks

Lenny Hayes - Calf - 2-3 weeks

Darren Minchington - Hamstring - 2-3 weeks

Nathan Wright - Jaw - 1-2 weeks

Tom Simpkin - Quad - 1-2 weeks

a few new injuries this week. had not heard minchington nor Simpkin being injured.

Just got beaten by the Hawks. Were in the game against essendon. Ill admit the showdown was a dark day
We just got done by Sydney (still two goals the diff in the last 5 mins, after we missed a few gettable goals in the last quarter) on a small ground in slippery conditions that suit their game style and with us having 5 in our team who had played 2 AFL games or less, then with a similarly inexperienced team (apparently 9 who had played 112 games between them) we took it right up to Collingwood for the whole night, leading them early, only for Cloke to eventually get on top of Stanley and take the game away from us, so we've also been highly competitive in the past few weeks, after our only really terrible performance of the year, against Essendon, so it ought to be an interesting and competitive game of footy.

Preview Round 8: Saints vs Crows