Preview Round 8: Saints vs Crows

It would be very hard to see anyone being dropped after a win. I think Jones will come in and we could do with his work around the stoppages.

I think we need to be wary of Sloane. I've felt that we've been vulnerable to runners so far this season and IMO he is one of the better. Not exactly sure who would go to him.

Can Steven expect a tag in the near future? Last weekend aside he's probably been our most damaging ball winner. Armitage is probably someone I would say needs to lift, didn't seem to have much of an impact apart from his goal.

Is he taggable. If they are behind him they don't do any good.
If someone gets between him and the ball, their just as likely to be chewed up and spat out.

If ( and its a big If ) Jones comes in and plays well, and if Steven and Ross stay even close to their "new standard " and Armo and Joey pick it up a bit, its all looking good. Last year the biggest killer was matching up on Tippet and co. ( Fixed on two counts ).

Mmmm....neither had I. No reports out of the Sandy game at all.

For me - ledger should get a run in the midfield and Webster replaces wright down back. leave Gears to tag. A small forward to sub. I would drop Milne but he is a protected species so I imagine it will be Ray or Ledger as sub. I also would be happy with Dunnell who has been a good sub and can go forward or back depending on need.

I can't have Milne. I said it on the Carlton post - the stats lie about his performance. Roo handed him a goal (literally) and the other was nothing special. He was otherwise appalling.

Minch missed last Sandy game with injury and Simpkin injured himself late in game or at training last week. Was one or other, can't remember.

Mmmm....neither had I. No reports out of the Sandy game at all.

For me - ledger should get a run in the midfield and Webster replaces wright down back. leave Gears to tag. A small forward to sub. I would drop Milne but he is a protected species so I imagine it will be Ray or Ledger as sub. I also would be happy with Dunnell who has been a good sub and can go forward or back depending on need.

I can't have Milne. I said it on the Carlton post - the stats lie about his performance. Roo handed him a goal (literally) and the other was nothing special. He was otherwise appalling.
Agree with this. I'd like to see two of Ledger, Curren, Saunders and Murdoch come in. One for Wright and the other for one of the small forwards. Let's just end this mosquito fleet dream for good.

The only one in your team that has the tank for lynch is riewoldt. Only one that can cover as much ground.

Jenkins had 9 shots on goal against Hawthorn playing on stratton and Lake. Rhys Stanley will get a bath

You guys lost to gold coast, dont get ahead of yourselves.

Ill add that jack steven looks like an A grader, kerridge will probably match him up

Lost in round one to GC. We lost to Port in round one last season. We improved from that last year, and we're improving from GC this year, as our last three weeks would attest. And it's not like GC are playing bad footy this year.

And we know what Lynch's tank is like. We watched him for a few years. Don't get me wrong, he played great on the weekend and pretty well all season, but we'd have a few who can run with him at the very least...

I can verify that it is absolutely bucketing down here in Adelaide, and has been since about Friday, with little reprieve. The weather is going to stay wet until probably Saturday, and even then, it's not going to fine up enough to change a very soggy Football Park.

So there's probably no point in worrying about a third tall - in this kind of weather, having Hickey as ruck/2nd-tall is enough. But there will be TONS of slippery-ball fumbles, leading to diving on the ball, tackles, etc. Consequently, there will be HEAPS of stoppages. It is now imperative that we bring in 1, preferably 2, inside mids, while keeping our small forwards in.

Those that stay in also need to be those with a good set of hands - Ray, Riewoldt, Macca, Sippos, etc -because every contested mark on Sunday is going to be worth gold.

Out: Wright
In: The best inside-mid clearance specialist, out of Jones, Ledger or Curren.

I would not be surprised if another player comes out for another of those, but I have no idea who.

This game is getting more and more fascinating.

Lost in round one to GC. We lost to Port in round one last season. We improved from that last year, and we're improving from GC this year, as our last three weeks would attest. And it's not like GC are playing bad footy this year.

And we know what Lynch's tank is like. We watched him for a few years. Don't get me wrong, he played great on the weekend and pretty well all season, but we'd have a few who can run with him at the very least...

Come to think of it , we could Dempster him. Of course Dempster may not have the tank....( massive waves of sarcasm washing round the loungroom )

Despite the good effort there was only the 41 Inside 50s to Carlton's 51. Maybe just the cost of playing a lot of unseasoned players but we'll get punished by most teams for the second half we served up on Monday. Won't get nearly as many opportunities to steal the win.
David King and Brent Harvey did a good segment on the inside 50's count. Deceiving really.
-StKilda entered into 50 deep, mainly kicking the ball in from around 70M away from goal.
-Carlton entered beyond 70 (from midfield pressure) making it a shallow entry which resulted in turnovers or low % shots.

I wouldn't say the Saints wanted that many inside 50's against but they would be happy that their structure held up to allow shallow entries.

Sounds like the weather is going to play a real part in this game. I hope we don't go in too tall and like some other posters have said make sure we pick players who can get down and dirty so to speak! I wouldn't actually be going for a newbie like Saunders rather someone stronger through the core who can hold their own in the clinches. Lenny would be ideal!

We'll know the squad tomorrow I suppose...

Is he taggable. If they are behind him they don't do any good.
If someone gets between him and the ball, their just as likely to be chewed up and spat out.

If ( and its a big If ) Jones comes in and plays well, and if Steven and Ross stay even close to their "new standard " and Armo and Joey pick it up a bit, its all looking good. Last year the biggest killer was matching up on Tippet and co. ( Fixed on two counts ).
Agree, Armfield and Robbo were on him for the Carlton game and that didn't work out to well for them.

Sounds like the weather is going to play a real part in this game. I hope we don't go in too tall and like some other posters have said make sure we pick players who can get down and dirty so to speak! I wouldn't actually be going for a newbie like Saunders rather someone stronger through the core who can hold their own in the clinches. Lenny would be ideal!

We'll know the squad tomorrow I suppose...
I'd like to see CJ in the side as a pure clearance midfielder, he actually plays really well when he doesn't have to worry about a tag.

Just remember last year against arguably a better Adelaide side we lost by around 12 points (i know joey kicked on after the serien to make in around 6)

yes, I remember that one well

3134159_CreateAgif.gif

Pardon the intrusion.

Think it should be a cracker of a game. Lets be honest - both teams have had less than an ideal start to 2013. Saints 2-5 and Adelaide 3-4. Our 5 wins combined have come against teams with a combined 6-22 record.

The two sides will be completely from Rd12 in 2012 with the Crows to be without Walker, Tippett, Callinan, Martin, Petrenko, Doughty, Shaw, Jaensch, Knights and the Saints to be without Goddard, Hayes, Kosi, Blake, Gram, Gilbert, Schnieder.

For me the key for us will be Dangerfield. When he has been on song this year, we have looked very good. When he has been off (Essendon/Port games) we looked sluggish and got smashed in the clearances. He is our #1 player by a mile and has really lifted his game over the past 2 weeks. Forget Thompson (has learnt how to deal with the tag) and Sloane (more of a gut runner who will only get 20-25 possies) you need to shut down Danger. He can win the game by himself. Would think you would bring in Clinton Jones - purely so that if Dangerfield gets on top of Geary - you have a quality second option.

The Saints fans questioning where our goals are going to come from are 100% on the money. We realistically have two forwards in our team Jenkins and the out of form Porps (who spends 40% of his time in the middle). Jenkins is still raw. Has lots of potential if you ask me, but his kicking for goal leaves a little to be desired. He will have a couple of games this year where he will kick a bag and make people take notice, but is still pretty far off being a dominant forward. Our other tall forward McKernan hasn't set the world on fire so far in his career. Lynch kicked 9 goals in his first 9 games with us - so really think we need to take his 10 against GWS with a pinch of salt. The rest of our forwards will comprise of resting midfielders.

For me the three biggest concerns are:

1. McEvoy against Sauce. You guys have a genuine superstar in McEvoy. What he has shown as a 200cm ruckman at 23 is pretty special. Hasn't gotten the attention (IMO) of Danger,Cotchin,Rioli from that 2007 draft but could end up as good as the other 3 if he keeps improving. This battle will be huge, especially since Sauce has been so out of touch this year. If Sauce can negate McEvoy I think we will win the midfield battle comfortably however if McEvoy gets on top you will come out ahead in the middle.

2. Sam Fisher. With our dysfunctional forward line, Fishers rebound off half back could really hurt us. Andrew Walker killed us in our loss to Carlton (32 possies). For me - I would like to see Lynch go to him as a defensive forward.

3. Small forwards - I think we have enough options to negate Roo (Rutten/Talia/Otten are all in good form). What worries me are Milne/Saad/Milera. We had Garlett/Yarran/Betts kick 8 between them in our loss to Carlton. We have a couple of small Defenders - Laird & Brown. Both have been playing well considering they have a massive 13 games of AFL experience between them. Hopefully for our chances they can keep your smalls quiet.

It should be a pretty even contest. I think we should win by about 12-18 points, based purely because I feel we have a bit more talent in the middle.

Maister still likely out i say

IN: Jones/Dunell/Ledger/Murdoch/Saunders
OUT: Wright (Injured)

Not sure of other changes i'd make, Didn't notice Ray much Monday night. After being an emergency Monday i reckon Jason Blake could be a chance to play maybe on a McKernan/Jenkins and free up Sam Fisher to play loose again.

I hope not, don't get me wrong, Jason has been a great servant of the club. But this year he should be a glass case labeled "break only in case of emergency. Every game he plays is another game a much younger player does not play.

David King and Brent Harvey did a good segment on the inside 50's count. Deceiving really.
-StKilda entered into 50 deep, mainly kicking the ball in from around 70M away from goal.
-Carlton entered beyond 70 (from midfield pressure) making it a shallow entry which resulted in turnovers or low % shots.

I wouldn't say the Saints wanted that many inside 50's against but they would be happy that their structure held up to allow shallow entries.

I think most of our goals come from Carlton bombs into the 50 and our rebound. If Carlton had bombed it in for another 30 inside 50's, we may well have won by 10 goals. A shallow bomb into the 50 is dumb football, even dumber with Maca and Fisher waiting to mark it.

Pardon the intrusion.

Think it should be a cracker of a game. Lets be honest - both teams have had less than an ideal start to 2013. Saints 2-5 and Adelaide 3-4. Our 5 wins combined have come against teams with a combined 6-22 record...

It's absolutely no intrusion with analysis like that, man! Great stuff. Feel welcome. :)

Dude, it is wet AS here! Will that effect your selections in any way, do you think?

Don't actually mind who plays this week, as long as we kick the living day lights out of them. The pain still lingers from the '97 Grand Final, so I despise them almost as much as the 'pies. :mad: Carn Saints help mend my broken heart. ;)

Preview Round 8: Saints vs Crows