Preview Round 8: Saints vs Crows

OUT: Wright IN: Jones

not sure having all of hickey, maister and roo in the one fwd line is a great idea

would be good to give saunders a run but i'm not sure you can pull any of milne, saad, milera yet if one is going to be dropped i'd go with milne on age alone.

OUT: Milne IN: Saunders

Yeah, while Geary played a sucessful role last week I think with Wright out he's best to move back there, and bring Jones back into the midfield.
With Sippo up forward we didn't look too bad at all, though another Marking target would have been handy. Yeah I think Hickey, Maister, Roo and Sippo is a bit much.
It would be interesting to see Minch go in instead of Milne, but maybe a bit early.

Just remember last year against arguably a better Adelaide side we lost by around 12 points (i know joey kicked on after the serien to make in around 6) and they don't have Tippett and Walker so we have a chance, we just need to get our mid field sorted, stop dangerfield, focus on turning this game into a slog.

So having said all of that i think we will lose by 20 to 30 points :(

Any Crows Supporters Who are your forwards apart from Lynch, Porps and Jenkins?

Just remember last year against arguably a better Adelaide side we lost by around 12 points (i know joey kicked on after the serien to make in around 6) and they don't have Tippett and Walker so we have a chance, we just need to get our mid field sorted, stop dangerfield, focus on turning this game into a slog.

So having said all of that i think we will lose by 20 to 30 points :(

Any Crows Supporters Who are your forwards apart from Lynch, Porps and Jenkins?
We rotate heaps through the forward line mate.
Vince, Douglas, Wright, Kerridge, Thomo etc.

To my mind there is not much between the sides. The travel factor and playing in Adelaide may push things in Adelaides favour but I think we will match up well against the especially if it is wet

I can understand opposition supporters thinking we are out of form for obvious reasons.
But on close observation against Carlton we lost Tex very early and took about a quarter to restructure and 'find a forward line' you could put it. In this time they kicked away to a 5 goals lead at half time. After that we beat them and were a chance to win until that shocking non decision to Thompson, which wouldve put us within 10 points and killed our momentum.
Similar story last week against the Hawks. Had kicked 4 in a row and were in front in the last until that shocking 'push' decision against Thompson and 50 turned into a 12 point turn around killing our momentum and we went on to lose by 11 points.
So our form has been on the improve over the last 3 weeks.

I also think you guys are a much better side then most people think. Riewoldt has been fantastic and Steven looked really good monday night.
Should be a good game.

Great to see Crows supporters on here.

Adelaide were very good last year. Losing Tippett and then Tex has been a blow, but still strong through mid field and around ground. Never confident playing Adelaide (or Port) irrespective of our place on the ladder.

Thought Razor Rays trigger happy umpiring decision last week robbed you of momentum when things were going your way. Sometimes that is all it takes to stop and run and your ability to overrun your opponent.

Should be a great match.

Just noticed if all goes well this weekend, Jimmy Gwilt will play his 100th next weekend against the Dogs!! 200th for Joey in Round 10 if he doesn't get injured/suspension.

Round 10 will be an interesting game, North have Harvey's 350th and Wells 200th in that game. (Went off topic, Now back onto this round :p)

For those of us who don't follow a lot of the Crows, might I suggest you could fill us in, as to who you would expect your goals will come from?

Despite the good effort there was only the 41 Inside 50s to Carlton's 51. Maybe just the cost of playing a lot of unseasoned players but we'll get punished by most teams for the second half we served up on Monday. Won't get nearly as many opportunities to steal the win.

Lenny still being out hurts us this week. He is the perfect player to go head-to-head with Scott Thompson & his clearance work would be invaluable

I hope a lot of focus of training this week has been on centre clearances. We were smashed on Monday night, especially the last quarter where it was 0 - 6 in favour of Carlton

I see us having to do a hell of a lot of sharking of Sam Jacobs taps for us to have any chance of winning. IMO we have to go with the 2 ruckmen again, but I have a feeling that will change if its wet on Sunday arvo

a few new injuries this week. had not heard minchington nor Simpkin being injured.

Mmmm....neither had I. No reports out of the Sandy game at all.

For me - ledger should get a run in the midfield and Webster replaces wright down back. leave Gears to tag. A small forward to sub. I would drop Milne but he is a protected species so I imagine it will be Ray or Ledger as sub. I also would be happy with Dunnell who has been a good sub and can go forward or back depending on need.

I can't have Milne. I said it on the Carlton post - the stats lie about his performance. Roo handed him a goal (literally) and the other was nothing special. He was otherwise appalling.

It would be very hard to see anyone being dropped after a win. I think Jones will come in and we could do with his work around the stoppages.

I think we need to be wary of Sloane. I've felt that we've been vulnerable to runners so far this season and IMO he is one of the better. Not exactly sure who would go to him.

Can Steven expect a tag in the near future? Last weekend aside he's probably been our most damaging ball winner. Armitage is probably someone I would say needs to lift, didn't seem to have much of an impact apart from his goal.

Hopefully Scotty throws the challenge at Armo this week, He did with Jack and it worked with 39 Disposals. Hopefully Armo can have a big one this weekend and Jack can back up his performance.

It would be very hard to see anyone being dropped after a win. I think Jones will come in and we could do with his work around the stoppages.

I think we need to be wary of Sloane. I've felt that we've been vulnerable to runners so far this season and IMO he is one of the better. Not exactly sure who would go to him.

Can Steven expect a tag in the near future? Last weekend aside he's probably been our most damaging ball winner. Armitage is probably someone I would say needs to lift, didn't seem to have much of an impact apart from his goal.

Army wasn't 100%. I was at the game and he was hobbled - maybe a corky or something. He played thru it but def wasn't fully right....

He played down forward a bit too I think because he wasn't 100%....

Preview Round 8: Saints vs Crows