Autopsy Round 8 vs Adelaide Rant Thread

Disappointing result today.

Although it might be seen as a soft option, now is a good a time as any to play Melbourne. We don't have the cattle outside the 22 right now to be able to drop 4 or 5 guys, to replace our players low on form. The only way forward is for the players low on form, to basically, pick up their shit. Melbourne have been awful so far this year, and we will beat them comfortably. It does present an opportunity for some vital players to get back into form, namely Russell, Duigan, Touhy, Gibbs, Garlett and even Kreuzer.

Although most of you argue that playing Melbourne and Port Adelaide in the next 2 weeks will just 'mask the problems', another way to look at it, is that it gives us the opportunity to start again. Some players down on form get a chance to build some confidence, we can probably grab a few big wins, and get our percentage back up. After that, we should sit 7-3, and we get a chance to effectively, start again. That will leave us with 12 weeks, in which we probably need to, given the evenness of the competition, win 9 of to make the top 4. Laidler, Carrazzo and hopefully Murphy will only be 1-2ish weeks away by then.

We then obviously face Geelong, West Coast and Hawthorn, which will give us a great indication of where we are at, keeping in mind anyone can beat anyone on their day.

As for immediate changes, whilst we would like to be able to make a statement, we don't have the cattle too. Having said that, form needs to be rewarded so I would go:

OUT: Murphy (injury), Thornton and one or two of Curnow, Touhy and Duigan (injury)
IN: McLean, Collins, Waite.

Bootsma ready if MC wants to make 4+ changes.

Lets relax, we will be back on the winners list in 7 days.

It is indeed fortunate that we have a couple of lesser opponents coming up because we have no one to promote.
Was Collins Emerg today? He did not play VFL.
Boots young body only because we are playing Melb
Thornton may be dropped as he is not a fav of coach but there is no way known that he should be with our current lack of tall forwards and Waite's recent form
I really fear we are gone this year (seems a premature call but what else would have possessed me to take some of the Adelaide $13 60+ today) It is a miserable feeling because we are running out of years for Juddy - we will need two 'near guns' to replace him!

Thank God - Ive been excited by Mitchell for a while, we need to get him into the team.

Here's what we are facing till the end of the year :

Melbourne and Port - Should win both of these, Port could beat us based on their win and our shit.

So disappointed with todays effort, more so than the Saints game. .. Its possible that Ratts and co were looking to build into the season but the Dons game has smshed our confidence as well as robbed us of two key personnel. ..

On a hiding to nothing this week but a win will be good and then hopefully a road trip can tie the lads together because its completely mental at the moment. ..

Then we meet Geelong,West Coast, Collingwood, bye, Hawthorn - lose all of these.

So we are looking at, from Saints to Hawks - 2 wins from 9 weeks of footy - If we beat Melbourne and Port.

That is our season right there.

After the last two weeks that period in the middle of the year is going to be important. .. If we can turn this around and get 4 out of the next six, we could kick start the 2nd half of our season. .. However if we don't then it could be a long year. ..

That is 6 potential wins between now and the end of the year - I seriously cant see us beating anyone else on our current form and list.

So the absolute truth is - thats our season right there. So lets get serious and start blooding new players in a new game plan - has to happen.

Too early to pull a Melbourne and pack up shop. .. Two weeks ago we were a win away from Top position, it can still be turned around but must start from next week. ..

We have no confidence, it's like our whole game plan revolved around carrazzo...since the essendon game we,ve capitulated.

Sanderson has injected confidence and belief into adelaide, a vast contrast to our team...

When murphy went off injured the next five minutes they scored like 2 to 3 goals, i think they left. It to long to bring on yarran the game turned then...

Fumbling, marking, ball watching....awful to watch

Adelaide throw the ball heaps and Murphy was constantly being held, umpires completely out of position..

Our season hasn,t gone down the toilet things can turn around quickly, i agree with bib the melbourne game is a great chance toget some confidence back..

The forward is a shambles what is up with walker?

Dunno what,s going on but no one has any confidence, that goes for the coaches box as well

Too many cooks come out when we loose....not seen when we win

If there is any chance of Dangerfield leaving Adelaide & wanting to come home, throw whatever money we have & Gibbs at them. He is skillfull, tough & only just turned 22 years old! I used to be an admirer of Gibbs' but he has lost me this year. Unless he pulls his finger out for the rest of the year, he should be told to pack his bags.

Lost for words on today's effort. Went to the game sat near the bench, blokes coming off totally stuffed after 3 min into the first quarter.
We are getting smashed in the middle of the ground. Im sorry but curnow, russel and 2e duigan, just don't look like it. Our bottom 6 are vfl at best and there totally out of form
Sauce Jacobs killed our rucks and our mids can't get near the ball. Don't even get me started on the forward line.
No frontal pressure, how many easy kicks did they get from kick outs in our back 50. We're has the zone gone. No targets inside 50,no one wants to man the loose player, everyone is an indiviual.
I'm so sick of this team doing this every year! Playing like millionaires one week and street sweepers the next! I'm paid up, very passionate and I'm p***ed off LIFT u bunch over overpaid underachievers!!!!!!!!

I saw a passage today which really disappointed me more than most of the other garbage, and yes it involved Gibbs... so look away now...

He was chasing a Crows player out of our forward line, was about 5-7 metres away from him and was likely not going to catch him. However, instead of at least pressuring him he peeled off and went and stood next to a crows player about 20 metres away who was behind the play... Leaving the ball carrier to do what he wanted until Robbo came charging in from 40 odd metres away and actually put some pressure on him.

I think Gibbs would rather play for the Crows but he doesnt realise you have to be a hard nut to play for them the idiot.

Pretty sure there is something too this - gaining momentum.

He spent a bit of time after the siren smiling away chatting to the Adelaide boys....

Hendo was good up forward. Waite and Hendo should swap as we know Waite can play CHB well and Hendo now seems settled enough to deal with the pressure of playing CHF. Waite is to erratic to be the main tall forward.

Gibbs needs to play head to head against one of the oppositions best mids to force him to be more involved, be in more contests. Also saw him block well for Juddy today, which if he is at more stoppages would be a nice chop out for Juddy. ATM Gibbs floats in and out of the game too much.

With Murphy out it gives some players the chance to stand up, Yarran or maybe Lucas to be given more oppertunity.

Duigan hasnt been great, and Bower needs to improve his disposal and maybe just take the easier option coming out of defence. Touhy I like.

Robbinson goes hard but doesnt have alot of impact on the game, maybe could be used better.

In any case. If we keep playing like we did today Ratts could be in for a shock when its time to discuss a new contract at years end. Needs to tell the boys to bring the mouthguards to training. Cotton wool-ing players is fine if they do the hard stuff on the weekend, but until the do then they have to learn to love it on Tuesdays.

Desperate times when we're forced to start McLean on the ground.. Surely he's due for a half decent game in the ones though?

I think its Bullshit how Mclean isnt given a fair go. Curnow has done jack shit since early last year but is still getting games but when Brock comes in he gets 1 game then he gets dropped no matter how good he goes. You can not tell me Curnow is a better player than Brock.

Heres an idea for the selection panel. How about giving Mclean more than 1 game to prove himself seeing they give everyone else about 3000 friggen games to try and do something.

Lost for words on today's effort. Went to the game sat near the bench, blokes coming off totally stuffed after 3 min into the first quarter.
We are getting smashed in the middle of the ground. Im sorry but curnow, russel and 2e duigan, just don't look like it. Our bottom 6 are vfl at best and there totally out of form
Sauce Jacobs killed our rucks and our mids can't get near the ball. Don't even get me started on the forward line.
No frontal pressure, how many easy kicks did they get from kick outs in our back 50. We're has the zone gone. No targets inside 50,no one wants to man the loose player, everyone is an indiviual.
I'm so sick of this team doing this every year! Playing like millionaires one week and street sweepers the next! I'm paid up, very passionate and I'm p***ed off LIFT u bunch over overpaid underachievers!!!!!!!!

Struggling to fault this except Duigs and 2E should live to fight another day.

- How are we getting so smashed in the clearances with Kreuzer and Hampson as our rucks, with Warnock in the reserves??

- Why the hell was Robinson assigned to a 'forward tag' role when we have been humiliated in the clearances over the last month?

- How is Jordan Russell still playing AFL football?? Surely a career in the meat industry beckons, given how much he butchers the football...

- Three weeks in a row, Murph has copped a hard tag... Now, any normal person would think that 'hey, seeing as he was one of our main ballwinners, let's put some work into his opponent at every opportunity and work him over'... but no, J-Mac, Jones, and now Van Berlo all allowed to walk all over Murph like they owned him. Any wonder we're down in clearances.

- Bret Thornton... must you get in everyone's way when you play forward? The amount of times this year he has gotten in front of a Walker, or Hampson/Kreuzer instead of dragging his man away from the contest... Stupidity at its best. Be a bit more selfless and peel away from a contest every now and then. It's bad enough that we are kicking to Betts and Walker to begin with but creating a 6-7 man pack doesn't help their chances.

- Jeff and Eddie... did the new boots take away their ability to put FORWARD PRESSURE on the opposition??? How come this year we just can't lock the ball in our forward line.. it's come out so easily

- Following from the above, I'd love to see how many coast to coast goals / scores we have conceded this year. Forward line pressure has been awful, zoning has been awful, and teams have taken advantage of this with a long kick over the top of our zone, with their small forwards running onto it resulting in a goal...

- Is there an attitude problem at Carlton? Is it arrogance? I got the feeling over the last month the boys just think they deserve it this year and it's all just going to magically happen. Keep the players out of the media and all the footy shows, flog the shit out of them on the training track and those who aren't up to scratch send them to Preston.

And issue bog standard boots and shorts. And no, I am not joking. There is no I in team. Teams where uniforms. Uniform means "the same". If you are part of the team you wear the team uniform, you do the team things, you muck in like everybody else or you hit the pavement. Its time we became a team again.

I think its Bullshit how Mclean isnt given a fair go. Curnow has done jack shit since early last year but is still getting games but when Brock comes in he gets 1 game then he gets dropped no matter how good he goes. You can not tell me Curnow is a better player than Brock.

Heres an idea for the selection panel. How about giving Mclean more than 1 game to prove himself seeing they give everyone else about 3000 friggen games to try and do something.

I'd love to see him go well, and he shows he can play well with best on grounds in the twos every week. But he is almost always caught out and looks a gear slower than everyone else in the ones - pace wise and decision making.

Would love nothing more for him to replace Murphy and come out with a 30 possession game though.

And issue bog standard boots and shorts. And no, I am not joking. There is no I in team. Teams where uniforms. Uniform means "the same". If you are part of the team you wear the team uniform, you do the team things, you muck in like everybody else or you hit the pavement. Its time we became a team again.
they dont get paid the same for starters so that philosophy is shot

well said mate i totally agree

Struggling to fault this except Duigs and 2E should live to fight another day.

Not sold on duigs, hope he's injured cause if he's not then he isn't half the player he was last year. He just looks unfit and slow. Back 6 has no confidence, did I mention bower? Pleeeeeeeease! I would of killed for a fit and hungry setanta today. At least he would have been a target I50

The lack of physicality is really the most disappointing thing....

Why nobody gave Murphy a chop out is unbelievable! Surely a solid fair bump when the tagger least expects it would be enough to shake him up and think twice about following Murphy blindly.....

I know Kreuzer is a kind-hearted bloke but he had a few opportunities today to absolutely flatten a bloke fairly while running at the ball! He hesitated and now they know he won't barge through them like a train.....

This game is very mental, if you show that you are not going to be physical early the opposition will run all over you freely...

I'm sure if Jordan Lewis or Josh Kennedy had the opportunity to flatten a bloke fairly they would not hesitate...

Why are you acting as if McLean comes into the seniors and dominates? He's been sub-par in all of his senior appearances since the first couple of games he played for Carlton, so his exclusion from the side is entirely justified.

In McLean's case, good VFL form means **** all as he is simply far too slow for the top level.

they dont get paid the same for starters so that philosophy is shot

So you think a colonel and a corporal get the same pay? They all wear the same uniform, the one issued to them by the quartermaster, they cant wear different colored boots because they like them, or wear baggy trousers low slung because its a shout out to their peeps. They all salute a superior and they are drilled to work as a team.

well fair enough when you put it that way

Why are you acting as if McLean comes into the seniors and dominates? He's been sub-par in all of his senior appearances since the first couple of games he played for Carlton, so his exclusion from the side is entirely justified.

In McLean's case, good VFL form means **** all as he is simply far too slow for the top level.
i wish i could bag him as nicely as that

Pretty sure there is something too this - gaining momentum.

He spent a bit of time after the siren smiling away chatting to the Adelaide boys....

I didn't see it today, but that's standard practice for Gibbs. I understand they're not robots, but it stings a bit when we're all bleeding and he's having a laugh. And 9 touches to 3/4 time is code for '**** I'm nowhere atm, should do something about that.'

Autopsy Round 8 vs Adelaide Rant Thread