Review Round 8 vs St Kilda @ Metricon Stadium (08.05.21 - 1:45pm)

Mar 14, 2014
Gold Coast
Las Vegas Bears
The problem is that win we keep the same 22 for the next week regardless of the opposition make up. I guarantee not everyone played well last week and if someone like Brodie gets 40 possessions in the 2s he has to be at least an emergency. We aren't following a lot of basic footy principals
Brodie has had his chances at AFL level and provided 0. We won 2 games in a row with this best 22 with no real weak links, it was the right call as Zac Smith is still miles off AFL level and we don't have anyone else breaking down the door. This one was on the players poor decisions and the coaching staffs inability to change anything up when the tide turned in the 4th

Camsta

May 12, 2018
Gold Coast
Lose one close game with no ruckman and everyone loses their god damn minds...

fickle flogs, honestly.
It’s a pattern mate

adelaide
Cartlon
Saints
About 5 games last year

they don’t know how to win when the pressure comes

10mins to go ant we’ve got Holman in the middle ant Ainsworth on a wing?!?

Nov 17, 2009
Gold Coast
Gold Coast
Well I walked in today knowing Ryder would give us a bath and he did
If Corbett should have played v Carlton, Smith should have played today- and that's down to selection
Graham was just a witch's hat
That was one of the worst AFL matches I have ever been to btw-just awful
Skills were woeful and zero separation
StKilda have big ugly players and we looked like kids at times
Last week we had a world record uncontested marks-this week we couldn't find a player in space
Sam Collins was huge and Dave Swallow tried his heart out
Why Corbett was passing from 50m out is beyond me

robo_1

Nov 11, 2017
Gold Coast
Will watch the game when I get home but from
The ground out coached when the game was there to be won.. like Carlton like Adelaide when the pressure is applied the skills drop away and play the chip around slow create stoppage game and just end up turning it over.. st kilda fans created good atmosphere for their team..

Jumped in with CanYouFeelTheSunburn after halftime behind the goals and just no atmosphere, club not interested in helping out getting people involved in there

Light tower bar letting anyone in there who had a ticket.. should be if you’re in opposition colours no entry

Disappointing day but was good vibes at the casino amongst the Titans people before I had to leave

robo_1

Nov 11, 2017
Gold Coast
Will watch the game when I get home but from
The ground out coached when the game was there to be won.. like Carlton like Adelaide when the pressure is applied the skills drop away and play the chip around slow create stoppage game and just end up turning it over.. st kilda fans created good atmosphere for their team..

Jumped in with CanYouFeelTheSunburn after halftime behind the goals and just no atmosphere, club not interested in helping out getting people involved in there

Light tower bar letting anyone in there who had a ticket.. should be if you’re in opposition colours no entry

Disappointing day but was good vibes at the casino amongst the Titans people before I had to leave

On the same plane as saints and nmfc vfl team would’ve been better if suns had won

LiveTheDream73

Apr 18, 2019
Gold Coast
Brodie has had his chances at AFL level and provided 0. We won 2 games in a row with this best 22 with no real weak links, it was the right call as Zac Smith is still miles off AFL level and we don't have anyone else breaking down the door. This one was on the players poor decisions and the coaching staffs inability to change anything up when the tide turned in the 4th

Brodie 4 games in 2 years , and round 1 & 2 this year were okay = had his chances. We are praising Touk & Swallow for their games today but sorry we lost the midfield battle today. Steele, Ryder, Billing’s, Jones and Crouch got hold of them today. Not saying Brodie should dislodge those who are in, but can’t agree he offers 0. Agree on coaching staff inability to react.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

Mini GF

May 21, 2017
Southern GC-the beautiful city
Gold Coast
Just watched it now as if live.
Not read anyone’s comments and am not going to.
We were sort of ok for 3 quarters at least in effort but not in execution.
Then at three quarter time out came “The Petals” again just in time for Mother’s Day and they limply gave up the lead.
Then they had a crack again but in the end they wilted.
It’s a 4 quarter game and today we played for 3.5 quarters.
Fail.

SnusCG

Aug 30, 2016
Gold Coast
fun fact: If we had won every game that we were up at at 3/4 time or during the 4th quarter, we'd be 7 - 1 right now.

I didn't see the game, as I was at the VFL; but sounds like those inaccuate shots at goal in the first quarter came back to bite them in the end.

Inaccuracy will always get you if you don't take your chances. Sides will make you pay otherwise.

A shame. I really was pretty confident the suns should have won this one.

Jul 11, 2006
Chermside
Gold Coast
See Below
fun fact: If we had won every game that we were up at at 3/4 time or during the 4th quarter, we'd be 7 - 1 right now.
Thats actually a great stay that gives me some optimism

We're neck deep in this games just can't find a way to finish... Yet.

Mt Isa Mustang

Dream Team Club Board Winner
Nov 23, 2019
Gold Coast
Well what to say.
Could only listen on radio for second half.

From what commentators were saying the first half seemedlike a tight scramble with neither team playing particularly well

was excited that we kicked a run of goals to gain a potential match winning lead at 3qtr time but still just knew it was one of those giveaway games. And that’s exactly what played out.

sounds like their older heads just steered the ship home in the last.

disappointing.

will watch the replay when I can but not looking forward to it..

Mt Isa Mustang

Dream Team Club Board Winner
Nov 23, 2019
Gold Coast
Haha your team has a lot of ego for a team full of first round draft picks that have done sweet FA.
Both teams had 8 first round draft picks playing today you numpty

Given your list build and the chasm in average age and experience I guess at Kilda we’re hoping to be in these tight games against top 4 teams rather than a team that has achieved sweet FA.

Congrats on sitting in 11th with Geelong and the bulldogs your next 2 games.

0F89830E-B730-4739-AADA-659D6998D193.jpeg
A3AD0A23-6E44-49A0-8AEA-EC4E7C821A43.png

Sep 30, 2010
Katherine, NT
Gold Coast
Tampa Bay Buccaneers, TB Lightning,
Both teams had 8 first round draft picks playing today you numpty

Given your list build and the chasm in average age and experience I guess at Kilda we’re hoping to be in these tight games against top 4 teams rather than a team that has achieved sweet FA.

Congrats on sitting in 11th with Geelong and the bulldogs your next 2 games.

View attachment 1122133View attachment 1122134

Although I agree with everything you said, this was already put to sleep and the warning was put out to not feed the trolls

GC2015

May 27, 2013
Gold Coast
In case anyone was wondering why we lost this game...

Ryder's impact in the Saints' revival has been pronounced, particularly his final quarter against the Suns. With the Saints trailing by 15, Ryder won seven hitouts, leading to a 10-3 advantage at stoppages, and 4-1 in the all-important centre clearances, as well as kicking the go-ahead goal late in the term. As a result, Rowan Marshall could impact more around the ground and St Kilda's midfield dined out.

Let's reduce the chances of this happening again and actually play recognised ruckmen when they're available for selection.

SnusCG

Aug 30, 2016
Gold Coast
Thats actually a great stay that gives me some optimism

We're neck deep in this games just can't find a way to finish... Yet.
I actually don't think it's a stretch to say, with Rowell and Witts both in the team, we very likely would be 6-2 or 7-1 right now.

We lost the game in Adelaide because O'brien had something monsterous like 18 hitouts and 12 touches in the last quarter when Witts went down
We lost against West Coast with Rowell out from the 3rd minute of the game

put both of them in the team I can see us having beaten Carlton and St Kilda too.

robo_1

Nov 11, 2017
Gold Coast
I actually don't think it's a stretch to say, with Rowell and Witts both in the team, we very likely would be 6-2 or 7-1 right now.

We lost the game in Adelaide because O'brien had something monsterous like 18 hitouts and 12 touches in the last quarter when Witts went down
We lost against West Coast with Rowell out from the 3rd minute of the game

put both of them in the team I can see us having beaten Carlton and St Kilda too.

In saying that though at times it seems the coach is reluctant to make changes in game when the pressure comes and hits the panic button and just goes full defensive