VFL Round 9 v Essendon, Saturday, May 24, 7:10pm AEST, Kinetic Stadium - Dreamtime at Frankston

big GIF
make it happen Yze
Is that what happens when a Williams and kardadhian breed

Sonsie can never bring that form from vfl to afl though

But we really dont know because he ain't playing mid when he gets his turn in the seniors.

Im not a big Sonz fan but geez he does show that he can play midfield, even if it's at ressies level, as he hasn't been given the opportunity in the seniors yet.

We are way too slow in there now. Taranto needs to play more forward and try Sonsie more so in the midfield, attending center bounces.

My thoughts

- Sonsie - got it a lot but didn’t use it all that well. Credit to him though, felt like he always tried to create and hard to know how much blustery conditions played a part. Most pleasing part was the 7 tackles and intent to keep his opponent accountable more often than not; taking responsibility for Shiel a few times.

- Prestia - played well without being exceptional and was good to see him get through. I’d personally give him a week or so more back in the VFL; but suspect him to come straight back in.

- Clarke - had a huge impact. Ran and carried, use the ball largely well and always tried to create. Yze loves lefty wingers and I hope he gets his chance soon. VFL wing is harder to play than AFL; especially in windy conditions (more corridor, long down the line sorta stuff), but has been consistently good against AFL level competition for the last two weeks.

- Tresize - Just felt composed around the ball. Used it well, played his role. Will play AFL level again this year.

- Blight - had a few poor moments, but was the general down there. Great game repelling attacks and setting us up behind the ball.

- Alger - smart player. Puts himself in the right position, good above his head. Showed a bit more toe I felt. A few selfish moments. Pushing for a senior debut; but probably not there yet.

- Fawcett - had some ‘how in the hell moments’ but moved very well, took some nice grabs and looked fluid. Can see the benefit of him chopping out in the ruck, most likely avenue to get a senior call up.

- LeFau - always felt like something was going to happen when he was around the ball. Lost a few contests I think he’d normally win. Could have ripped the game apart. But, second game back from an ACL so considering that, was very good.

- Hayes - Brown - played well. Developing nicely. Still a season away at least.

- Kosi and Young - good to see Young back. Did some nice things, but could see the rust. Kosi continues to be very solid at this level.

- Bauer - came on in the fourth, but for me it was too little too late. Flies and competes, has passion but he just doesn’t consistently do the other things that you’d expect for a player that has an opportunity to play senior footy.

Lastly thoughts - Tsatas as someone we’ve been linked to I don’t think we need. Yeah had 32, but his disposal is possibly the worst for a midfielder in the league.

Raso I really like, but not to the point where I think we need to force someone onto the Deactivation List or retire someone early for.

All in all, good win and makes you pleased with some of the depth we have coming through.
I thought Blight was incredible, in the wind so many players were dropping marks, he kept clunking them all night. His disposal was generally very good, in the wind everyone missed a few.
We need Lefau in the seniors but he’s a bucket load on confidence short atm. Fully understandable. Hopefully 3 or 4 weeks

Sonsie kills it in the seconds
Comes back to seniors completely spuds it up
Seen it too many times.
Because he is played at half forward in the seniors, where he is not plying his craft in the vfl.

We are setting him up to fail at every turn.

It’s embarrassing

For Sonsie to play midfield, the hard conversation has to be had with Taranto that you are now a half forward (which is his best spot anyway).
But Timmy didn't come here to continue being a half forward flanker.
His mate Hopper is a pure-mid and mid-only and couldn't be hidden anywhere else if we tried.
I've warmed to giving Sonsie five weeks as a mid, but we'll go the predictable path and have Prestia in there as early as next game, if not in two games time.

Because he is played at half forward in the seniors, where he is not plying his craft in the vfl.

We are setting him up to fail at every turn.

It’s embarrassing

Can’t agree with this.

Players need a base level of accountability defensively, especially in the midfield. He hasn’t shown that at any level until the last two weeks.

At AFL level, he still gets rotations through the middle pushing up from a high half forward position to be around the stoppage.

Can’t say the club is setting him up to fail if Sonsie himself isn’t bringing the non-negotiables to the table.

What a great venue for football. The lighting is first class, the surface is mint and the amenities are excellent with some old world charm.
The team played very well as the conditions were very challenging with that strong wind.
They were a class above Essendon.
Couple of comments on players:
Tresize the guy was above the level he has great speed and awareness and used it well, line breaking.
Juddy my god he’s quick and skilled. Amazing seeing these 2 up close and the speed they possess.
Alger is a gun. Reminds me of Torney but with upside. Skills are elite.
Mykelti the murderer. Right in front of me he folded some Essendon muppet in an enormous tackle. He was clean and skilled but I swear no taller than 190 he is not 195.
Meatball was a rusty afl player you could tell. Great skills and moved like a lawnmower nice low centre of gravity.
OHB very good game handled the ball really well.
Big boys down back were excellent. Young was encouraging and I listened to him in the huddles and he was very smart in tactics and wasn’t afraid to give the coaches advice.
Kosi and Blight big generals.
Sons miles above the level and skills were superb. He looks like a star at this level.
Liam was terrific he is very quick and loves being in the thick of it. He is coming along very nicely.
Bauer is a peanut.
The vfl lads all good. Sean L is a great looking athlete. I like Harry Scott and Raso.
Mutaz is great.
Saw McArthy in the huddles seemed to have a shiner so maybe that’s why he didn’t play or saving himself for the MSD
Old mate 55 what a great vfl player
Hope we play more there top venue top night for the lads

Gees I thought Sons was BOG

But happy with this

Hope JB gets a gig next week in the ones…has been solid

I think Blight probably deserving. His intercepting is immense. His kicking was pretty solid

Had family over. Had VFL on in the background but it's considered antisocial for me to fully watch it when nobody else is interested.
Noticed Prestia - appeared as good as I remember. How much did he play? Should he go straight up to AFL or need another VFL run?
Judson Clarke just looked nippy and skillful. Does he have enough match fitness to play AFL?
Blight deserving an opportunity but where does he fit in?

Assuming changes for next week:
Nank IN, Ryan OUT
Lynch IN, Lalor OUT (since Lalor FF - this is a sort of like for like)
Prestia/Sonsie IN, Dow OUT
J Clarke IN, MRJ/Green OUT
Could also have Sonsie/Alger IN, MRJ/Green OUT
Not sure on game time/venue but Balta / Gray will be swapping as needed. Wouldn't mind Blight being the Balta tag team partner instead and Gray developed as a forward/back/wing swingman.

Can’t agree with this.

Players need a base level of accountability defensively, especially in the midfield. He hasn’t shown that at any level until the last two weeks.

At AFL level, he still gets rotations through the middle pushing up from a high half forward position to be around the stoppage.

Can’t say the club is setting him up to fail if Sonsie himself isn’t bringing the non-negotiables to the table.
So let me ask you this.

In the AFL games he has played in we have been getting absolutely smoked in all areas by 3 quarter time and down by 50 points with the midfield playing dreadful with zero pressure or accountability.

Would we have been any worse off in those times if we rolled him through the midfield for a quarter instead to see if he can find the footy ?

So let me ask you this.

In the AFL games he has played in we have been getting absolutely smoked in all areas by 3 quarter time and down by 50 points with the midfield playing dreadful with zero pressure or accountability.

Would we have been any worse off in those times if we rolled him through the midfield for a quarter instead to see if he can find the footy ?

Well firstly I think it’s disingenuous to say that the midfield has had zero pressure or accountability, even in games we are getting belted by. I’m not fan of our midfield structure, and I’m also not saying it’s a defensive juggernaut, but it’s never been totality devoid of defensive accountability.

But even if it were true, putting a player who hasn’t showed any defensive accountability into a midfield that isn’t showing any defensive accountability because why not seems like flawed logic to me, and not the way to enforce standards in a developing team.

Can’t say we need these as non-negotiables except when we are getting belted we will make an exception.

I can’t believe Essendon used Pick 5 on Tsatas. He genuinely can’t kick the footy. Makes Garthwaite look like Leon Cameron.

But we really dont know because he ain't playing mid when he gets his turn in the seniors.

Im not a big Sonz fan but geez he does show that he can play midfield, even if it's at ressies level, as he hasn't been given the opportunity in the seniors yet.

We are way too slow in there now. Taranto needs to play more forward and try Sonsie more so in the midfield, attending center bounces.
He’s elite above the level at VFL , not a lot in that category at his age , give him a flipping go in the right role . Sure if we had Judd Kerr and cuzz going thru the middle that’d be hard to budge we don’t and we’re third bottom ,,,,hellooooooooooooo

Maybe Lefau is the guy, but I feel that one of Miller, Blight & Kozitshke need to play a bit forward so that they can cover for Lynch in the AFL when he misses. Someone with a bigger frame that can play the Lynch role so that whoever of Armstrong, Faull, Simms, Fawcett is in the team can play their usual role. For the next couple of years at least.

Well firstly I think it’s disingenuous to say that the midfield has had zero pressure or accountability, even in games we are getting belted by. I’m not fan of our midfield structure, and I’m also not saying it’s a defensive juggernaut, but it’s never been totality devoid of defensive accountability.

But even if it were true, putting a player who hasn’t showed any defensive accountability into a midfield that isn’t showing any defensive accountability because why not seems like flawed logic to me, and not the way to enforce standards in a developing team.

Can’t say we need these as non-negotiables except when we are getting belted we will make an exception.
So you reckon the midfield was ticking along just fine when we are 82 points down vs the saints and just carry on as is rather than trying a few new bodies in there to see if they can spark something?

I truly can’t understand why we would roll with status quo when getting smashed.

So you reckon the midfield was ticking along just fine when we are 82 points down vs the saints and just carry on as is rather than trying a few new bodies in there to see if they can spark something?

I truly can’t understand why we would roll with status quo when getting smashed.

I’m not suggesting at all that you roll with the status quo. By all means try and find a spark, but find a spark from those players who can adhere to non-negotiables. Your Green’s, Campbell’s, Mansell’s etc.

In that specific game against the Saints, Sonsie did get midfield time. It was a game where he pushed up from the high half forward position to the stoppage following the centre-bounce. Not 100% midfield time, but not devoid of midfield time either.

This all comes back to your original point about the club setting him up to fail. Earning the right to play in your preferred position has to be both ways. The player has to show that they’re willing to do the non-negotiables required for that position, and when they do and an opportunity arises, the club has to pick and play them in that position. To date - in my opinion - Sonsie has been a liability defensively going through the midfield even at VFL level. Last two weeks have been a lot better, but everything before that simply hasn’t been.

If not, what you’re implying is that there are no non-negotiables. If we’re bad enough for long enough you’ll get chance, even if you’re not adhering to the teams requirements.

VFL Round 9 v Essendon, Saturday, May 24, 7:10pm AEST, Kinetic Stadium - Dreamtime at Frankston