VFL Round 9 v Essendon, Saturday, May 24, 7:10pm AEST, Kinetic Stadium - Dreamtime at Frankston

Because he is played at half forward in the seniors, where he is not plying his craft in the vfl.

We are setting him up to fail at every turn.

It’s embarrassing
I do agree to a point mate, but doesn't mean he can't do the basics in footy stay involved, pressure and tackling and workrate at times bread butter of afl footyno matter where you play.

I’m not suggesting at all that you roll with the status quo. By all means try and find a spark, but find a spark from those players who can adhere to non-negotiables. Your Green’s, Campbell’s, Mansell’s etc.

In that specific game against the Saints, Sonsie did get midfield time. It was a game where he pushed up from the high half forward position to the stoppage following the centre-bounce. Not 100% midfield time, but not devoid of midfield time either.

This all comes back to your original point about the club setting him up to fail. Earning the right to play in your preferred position has to be both ways. The player has to show that they’re willing to do the non-negotiables required for that position, and when they do and an opportunity arises, the club has to pick and play them in that position. To date - in my opinion - Sonsie has been a liability defensively going through the midfield even at VFL level. Last two weeks have been a lot better, but everything before that simply hasn’t been.

If not, what you’re implying is that there are no non-negotiables. If we’re bad enough for long enough you’ll get chance, even if you’re not adhering to the teams requirements.
Some good points there… and going back over Sonsie’s tackle count when playing ones… very few compared to other mids.
Last couple of weeks in the 2’s much better.

What a great venue for football. The lighting is first class, the surface is mint and the amenities are excellent with some old world charm.
The team played very well as the conditions were very challenging with that strong wind.
They were a class above Essendon.
Couple of comments on players:
Tresize the guy was above the level he has great speed and awareness and used it well, line breaking.
Juddy my god he’s quick and skilled. Amazing seeing these 2 up close and the speed they possess.
Alger is a gun. Reminds me of Torney but with upside. Skills are elite.
Mykelti the murderer. Right in front of me he folded some Essendon muppet in an enormous tackle. He was clean and skilled but I swear no taller than 190 he is not 195.
Meatball was a rusty afl player you could tell. Great skills and moved like a lawnmower nice low centre of gravity.
OHB very good game handled the ball really well.
Big boys down back were excellent. Young was encouraging and I listened to him in the huddles and he was very smart in tactics and wasn’t afraid to give the coaches advice.
Kosi and Blight big generals.
Sons miles above the level and skills were superb. He looks like a star at this level.
Liam was terrific he is very quick and loves being in the thick of it. He is coming along very nicely.
Bauer is a peanut.
The vfl lads all good. Sean L is a great looking athlete. I like Harry Scott and Raso.
Mutaz is great.
Saw McArthy in the huddles seemed to have a shiner so maybe that’s why he didn’t play or saving himself for the MSD
Old mate 55 what a great vfl player
Hope we play more there top venue top night for the lads
is it our home ground?

What a great venue for football. The lighting is first class, the surface is mint and the amenities are excellent with some old world charm.
The team played very well as the conditions were very challenging with that strong wind.
They were a class above Essendon.
Couple of comments on players:
Tresize the guy was above the level he has great speed and awareness and used it well, line breaking.
Juddy my god he’s quick and skilled. Amazing seeing these 2 up close and the speed they possess.
Alger is a gun. Reminds me of Torney but with upside. Skills are elite.
Mykelti the murderer. Right in front of me he folded some Essendon muppet in an enormous tackle. He was clean and skilled but I swear no taller than 190 he is not 195.
Meatball was a rusty afl player you could tell. Great skills and moved like a lawnmower nice low centre of gravity.
OHB very good game handled the ball really well.
Big boys down back were excellent. Young was encouraging and I listened to him in the huddles and he was very smart in tactics and wasn’t afraid to give the coaches advice.
Kosi and Blight big generals.
Sons miles above the level and skills were superb. He looks like a star at this level.
Liam was terrific he is very quick and loves being in the thick of it. He is coming along very nicely.
Bauer is a peanut.
The vfl lads all good. Sean L is a great looking athlete. I like Harry Scott and Raso.
Mutaz is great.
Saw McArthy in the huddles seemed to have a shiner so maybe that’s why he didn’t play or saving himself for the MSD
Old mate 55 what a great vfl player
Hope we play more there top venue top night for the lads

Thank you for your report, loved it. Jonno

Jeez El Nour has had a great game there. Over 20 disposals and high efficiency, but 11 intercepts and most impressively of all 12 contested possessions. To win that many contests in defence is a tremendous effort. Love to see him get drafted, though it would be sad to lose him, been a really good player for us these last few years.

So you reckon the midfield was ticking along just fine when we are 82 points down vs the saints and just carry on as is rather than trying a few new bodies in there to see if they can spark something?

I truly can’t understand why we would roll with status quo when getting smashed.

I have to definitely agree with you here Michael’s, I just don’t understand why during games that we are especially losing we don’t throw the magnets around in the midfield. Firstly I am extremely happy with Yze and the teams above expectations performance this year but one area we haven’t really improved is the midfield, I really wish going forward we starting giving others some time in midfield like Sonsie if he gets a game Seth Campbell, Tom Brown and maybe Short again in midfield when he gets back in the side as I don’t see a spot in backline for him. I don’t want to see Kamydn in there anymore and I would like to see Taranto spend some more time forward.

VFL Round 9 v Essendon, Saturday, May 24, 7:10pm AEST, Kinetic Stadium - Dreamtime at Frankston