Prediction Round Five Changes vs. Collingwood

G'day Purple ones, I come in peace, I have a Collingwood youtube channel and I'm looking for a Freo fan to come on my pre game livestream this Thursday. Please DM or contact through my channel if interested. We are small, just 230 odd subs but growing, we can be a cantankerous bunch but it'll be in good faith, we worship Shoota and would love to see Big Maso play in Friday. You guys are looking dangerous and should be contending if all goes well. Cheers

Chances are Naicos won't play????
If his calf were bad enough for a last minute discharge it's not likely to be up within a week.
I hope he plays - I think we have them covered anyway.

It was a corked calf, not a strain. He'll play for sure.

All of those players give us a lot though. What does Worner actually achieve to balance out his clangers? He is a decent defender but having him in the team over Walker means Jordan Clark is having to play more defensively.

We are sacrificing Clark's offensive game so you would want a lot more than what we are getting in return.
When he’s good he puts his body on the line, creates contests, closes spaces, intercept marks, provides drive from D50. Clark seems to live him back there: I was mainly responding to people saying he has a brain fade every game though and my point was just about every player does.

I challenge everyone to watch Worners highlights of each game, the guy does SO much in defensive desperation that you have to appreciate that I don't think get recognised enough here. Definitely worth a cat 5 clanger a game but he's a dog hungry defender imo and wouldn't be in my first 3 out of the team
Agree he is pretty strong in defence , particularly in filling holes and hence why I doubt he will be dropped.

I reckon a lot of his "critical clangers" come from him trying to kick from a standing start where he tries to chip the ball quickly 20m. If he has marked the ball, he could pedal back a bit but I think he (like the rest of defence) are instructed to move the ball on as quickly as possible. I reckon he is not the only one that gets caught out this way; I feel like Chapman also gets caught with the same kind of thing (I recall a week before kicking out of defence he did something like that?). The difficult thing to know is how many times is that little 20m kick useful in moving the ball quickly and setting up goals?

Chances are Naicos won't play????
If his calf were bad enough for a last minute discharge it's not likely to be up within a week.
I hope he plays - I think we have them covered anyway.
Many people don’t realise it is a cork in the calf not a strain. He’ll get up.

I challenge everyone to watch Worners highlights of each game, the guy does SO much in defensive desperation that you have to appreciate that I don't think get recognised enough here. Definitely worth a cat 5 clanger a game but he's a dog hungry defender imo and wouldn't be in my first 3 out of the team
One of the bravest players on the team, never takes a backward step.

You’ll see him go back with the flight to get to the ball knowing he’s going to get crunched on the regular, I just like guys who play like that.

Think it’s always a good idea to have guys like that in the team, I wouldn’t drop him either.

Need a FWD and considering Tom Sparrow. BE of 22, coming off a ton and playing Essendon. Apparently playing in the mids. What could go wrong?

G'day Purple ones, I come in peace, I have a Collingwood youtube channel and I'm looking for a Freo fan to come on my pre game livestream this Thursday. Please DM or contact through my channel if interested. We are small, just 230 odd subs but growing, we can be a cantankerous bunch but it'll be in good faith, we worship Shoota and would love to see Big Maso play in Friday. You guys are looking dangerous and should be contending if all goes well. Cheers

Good luck, I'd ask the mods.
Think we are going well, and it should be a good test

Damn, thought Young was coming back this week.

Going to be fascinating to see how JL plays Bolton when Young returns. Bolton has played his best footy when Young is out and he's played as a mid/forward. When Young is in, Bolton plays forward/mid and struggles to impact with less time on ball.

Freddy back very soon is good though, for all the criticism he cops you'd still play him over Scerri.

Going to be fascinating to see how JL plays Bolton when Young returns. Bolton has played his best footy when Young is out and he's played as a mid/forward. When Young is in, Bolton plays forward/mid and struggles to impact with less time on ball.

Freddy back very soon is good though, for all the criticism he cops you'd still play him over Scerri.
You don't know what you have got until it's not there. Freddy's absence has been very obvious

About what's to be expected.

I would imagine we go into this week unchanged and then the week after it's something like:

IN: Young and Frederick
OUT: Scerri and either of Worner/Wagner
I'd be surprised if it was Wags. JOM or Worner IMO.

Bolton and Young 50/50 sharing a forward and mid spot would work pretty well. Happy to give Bolton 60-70 for a few weeks until Young is up to full fitness

I'd be surprised if it was Wags. JOM or Worner IMO.
As much as I don't think either of O'Meara or Worner deserve to be dropped, it wouldn't surprise me.

Outside of a couple of mistakes I think they both had solid games on the weekend. Worner has been important to our backline and while O'Meara doesn't get much of the ball he does plenty with it when he does (we'll ignore that shot in front of goal on Friday though)

It's tough to have so many guys making an argument for Best 23.

About what's to be expected.

I would imagine we go into this week unchanged and then the week after it's something like:

IN: Young and Frederick
OUT: Scerri and either of Worner/Wagner
Won’t drop Worner or wags. Freddie/Scerri makes sense otherwise it would be JOM for Young.

I don't see O'Meara getting dropped, I may end up being proven wrong, but I can't see it.
O'meara for Young? Get Young off HB and get O'meara back to peel. Hes a good fill in but I dont feel he's best 22.

Throw Raz and Johnson as the wings.

Freddy for Scerri is a no brainer for me.

When he’s good he puts his body on the line, creates contests, closes spaces, intercept marks, provides drive from D50. Clark seems to live him back there: I was mainly responding to people saying he has a brain fade every game though and my point was just about every player does.
I like Worner but he is currently seat warming for Young who has shown his body can't sustain a majority of time in the middle and he is unneeded in the forward line. Young v Worner, there is no comparison and having another sublime kick from half back would be another weapon.

Likewise, we need to decide out of Switta and Scerri who is making way for Freddie. They are identical players so we only need one. They are fast, they pressure, they have quick hands and quick minds, but they don't score. One is good, two instead of a goal kicking forward is too much. Personally I think Scerri should stay in while we play the weaker teams to gain experience. We know what Switta's ceiling is.

People have been sleeping on and disrespecting Frederick all off-season on here, he's one of our most reliable goalscorers and a damn good contested mark.

He's going to suit the new style of footy perfectly.
Well his semi final was horrific and players are judged how they go in big games.

O'meara for Young? Get Young off HB and get O'meara back to peel. Hes a good fill in but I dont feel he's best 22.

Throw Raz and Johnson as the wings.

Freddy for Scerri is a no brainer for me.
O'Meara for Young is probably the most like for like change but I don't see them sending O'Meara to the WAFL, I think it's more likely they drop Worner or Wagner, but again, I could be wrong.

It's tough to have such an abundance of choice.