Round one 2010

• Thread starter Thread starter peejay

Groundhog-Day-groundhog-day-709544_380_553.jpg

That's a bloody ridiculous statement. Everyone knows Caddyshack was his best performance. ;)

Not really out of context, comparing the careers of McLeod and Tambling is ridiculous. McLeod was already an established champion after five years, Tambling has only just win a regular spot in a poor team.

The comparison was more in reference stats, well atleast that's how I took it.

Cheap shot Sin!

With all of this Richmond round 1 talk, I might very well watch the round 1 game from 2009 again in the next few days.

:thumbsu:

Not only is Foley unlikely to play, I have heard from a mate who has some contacts within the RFC that Cotchin is unlikely to play as well.

I have been drawn to track Tamblings development along the same lines as Andrew McLeod...

The comparison was more in reference stats, well atleast that's how I took it.

Cheap shot Sin!

Seems from this quote it was their development that was being compared, this is what I'm pointing out. By this stage McLeod had developed into a two time Norm Smith Medalist, two time premiership player, All Australian, B&F winner while Tambling has only just cemented a position in a poor team.

By the way, Stephen Browne (13.3 disposals per game) at this stage of his career is statistically speaking more advanced than Gary Ablett Jnr (12.56) and Alan Didak (9.38). Do I need to go on?

Seems from this quote it was their development that was being compared, this is what I'm pointing out. By this stage McLeod had developed into a two time Norm Smith Medalist, two time premiership player, All Australian, B&F winner while Tambling has only just cemented a position in a poor team.

By the way, Stephen Browne (13.3 disposals per game) at this stage of his career is statistically speaking more advanced than Gary Ablett Jnr (12.56) and Alan Didak (9.38). Do I need to go on?

You still didnt quote the part in brackets where he highlighted he was referring to a stats comparison.

I reckon you have seen enough of my posts to know I personally dont rely on stats to tell a story, but in this case it was an innocent comparison.

Another cheap shot with selective quoting.

You know what he meant Sin, I know you do, because you are smarter than that :D

I really hope we don't have to play Bleakmond again Round 1 2011. This game should be the end of it. Playing the AFL's 15th ranked team is hardly inspiring.

:)

So now Richmond supporters are saying Tambling has Mcleod covered. This pre-season is entering it's bizarro phase now. Whats next "Jake King has Judd covered?" Last year it was Putt has Kruezer covered. The year before Shulz will be as good a FF as Fev. One Tiges supporter even said Tuck was one of the best midfielders in the AFL. Another one said their "back 6 is as good as any in the comp". It's all a little sad.

:)

Correct me if I'm wrong, but within Mcleod's first five years of being in the league, he had already snagged 2 Norm Smith and Premiership medals ...

What kind of acid trip was that Richmond fan on saying that Tambling has had Andrew Mac covered in that same time period ...

Seriously, he should quit his jibba jabba whilst he's behind ...
It's also interesting to note that two Tiger players that they got rid of, Rodan and Ottens, have been far more successful in pastures new ...

Tigers mirror '04 Hawks: Hardwick
Hardwick said his preference was also to build a team around key position players, although Dustin Martin was added to a strong midfield with the Tigers' first selection in November.

The coach's philosophy was evident in the approach to the next two selections: Ben Griffiths, a 199cm key forward, and David Astbury, a 195cm key position player.

"The way I see it, you've got to develop your keys first," he said.

"If you look at the drafting system, it’s a lot harder to get a key position guy.

"Obviously we took Dustin at pick three, but that’s why we targeted Astbury and Griffiths.

"For where we're at, we need those key position guys, and we tried to draft accordingly."
Tigers mirror '04 Hawks: Hardwick

Did Hardwick just have a subtle dig at Deledio and Tambling?

I think he might have.

Yet Hardwick contradicted himself after they drafted Martin first up.

Does Hardwick post on Big Footy as amcre?
To be honest I think Carlton supporters ovverrate their midfield.

3 A graders in Murphy, Judd and Gibbs.

McLean, Simpson are honest B graders but after that the talent runs thin. Kane Lucas should also be a decent B grader.

IMO we also have 3 A graders: Deledio, Cousins, Cotchin

I also think Martin will be an A grader with a Daniel Rich impact
. Then we also have foley who is along the same lines as Simpson and Mclean.

Your ruck division is clearly better as you have depth. Once Vickery has developed he will battle with Kruezer and Graham looks like he will provide an adequte back up.

I think our backlines are very similar, however I think our forwards trump yours.

YOu have Henderson who has proved as much as our latest FF recruit Ben Griffiths. We have Jack Riewoldt and Mitch Morton who IMO are better than any Carlton forward and hence why I think we will win round 1.
Cotchin and Cousins are A graders.

And Henderson has shown just as much Ben 'breakdown again' Griffiths.

LOL.

Looking forward to seeing a Juddless Blues, and show the footy world what the rest of the boys can do
Blues by 7 goals

937:thumbsu:

Originally Posted by amcre
To be honest I think Carlton supporters ovverrate their midfield.

3 A graders in Murphy, Judd and Gibbs.

McLean, Simpson are honest B graders but after that the talent runs thin. Kane Lucas should also be a decent B grader.

IMO we also have 3 A graders: Deledio, Cousins, Cotchin

I also think Martin will be an A grader with a Daniel Rich impact. Then we also have foley who is along the same lines as Simpson and Mclean.

Your ruck division is clearly better as you have depth. Once Vickery has developed he will battle with Kruezer and Graham looks like he will provide an adequte back up.

I think our backlines are very similar, however I think our forwards trump yours.

YOu have Henderson who has proved as much as our latest FF recruit Ben Griffiths. We have Jack Riewoldt and Mitch Morton who IMO are better than any Carlton forward and hence why I think we will win round 1.

Didn't his mother ever tell him you can't just eat any old mushroom. :rolleyes:

You still didnt quote the part in brackets where he highlighted he was referring to a stats comparison.

Post 43 in this thread, the first time I quoted him. You will find it there :rolleyes:
Short memory you have :p

You know what he meant Sin, I know you do, because you are smarter than that

Yes, he meant to over rate a player on the team he supports by comparing him to a guy who at the same stage had pretty well done it all. Ridiculous. As I pointed out we could do the same thing with B-R-O-W-N-E and probably anyone else but it's a stupid, pointless thing to do.

Hardwick on the forward line

we’ve tried Dean Polo down there this year with great success,
:confused:

I don’t want to have one guy kicking 80 goals and the next one 20, I’d rather have three guys kicking 50 goals

so what we’re after is a greater spread of goalkickers from a system, not so much a focal point.

Tiger fans seem to think everything Hardwick says is gospel, they may want to take note of this before they make a stupid argument about Carlton not being able to kick goals now Fevola is gone.

Not really out of context, comparing the careers of McLeod and Tambling is ridiculous. McLeod was already an established champion after five years, Tambling has only just win a regular spot in a poor team.

Good Morning Sin,

I hope you are well...

(Gee you leave the computer for a few hours and people talk about you! & thanks Morro for trying to clarify Sin's piece of mischief)

Sin you did totally place your quoted lines from my post in a different context.

The thread I posted in is in relation to a typical off-season 'pad piece' in The HUN which once again discusses Tambling and his career to date.

Nothing new in it & really just filling up some sports copy.

Those who read my whole post will see that I was shitty about yet another article on Tambling and that all it does is spark off another round of needless internet forum debate about how he is tracking.
DONE TO DEATH!

The reference to McLeod was by way of pointing out the sort of player that Bling should be aspiring to be and perhaps compared to instead of a 6 foot 5, very talented and athletic key forward.

The reference to the first 5 years of their careers was to point out that to just focus on stats (as most do around BF) is very dangerous. (McLeod trails Tambling on pure stats in their first 5 years.)

Clearly however Andrew McLeod's first 5 years FAR exceed Tamblings & Bling will never have the career that McLeod has had.

I never said he would... but never let the truth get in the way of a bit of cheap internet forum point scoring eh Sin?

Have a good day... :cool:

^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^

Cute...

For the record, here is the whole post:

This sort of article shits me.

I mean I know it is an off-season 'pad piece' but there is nothing new in there of any great interest.
All it does is again focus readers on how he is going and how some think he should be going... been done plenty of times before!

For the record, I place Bling in the same boat as Lids and a few other Tigers... players who's whole AFL career has been played under TW and in poorly performing teams.

Again no surprise to me that Blings better form last year came once a change in coach was underway and some footballing & mental blankets were lifted.

Put Shane Edwards in this catagory as well.

I have been drawn to track Tamblings development along the same lines as Andrew McLeod... (Yes they are both indigenous but they are also of similar build and IMO will play their careers in similar positions)

Most agree that McLeod has been a champion player but Tambling has him covered (statistically anyway) over the first 5 years of their respective careers.

Does this prove anything? Perhaps not but I'm sure if the stats went the other way they would be used to slap Richie.

(Wasn't planning to go on about this but hey... there you go)

Cheers...