Rounds 18-23 Trades Mega Thread

Re: Round 19 trades

I think I'm just going to go for broke.

I'm too far back at 50th, but who cares, my cash league is only a pretty small one anyway.

Newman -> Fisher
Iles -> Fyfe (against all my better judgement. His run home sucks, expensive, his shoulder might go at any second, 2nd year player. But he's just a gun, and MPP helps).

Next week Smith -> Mumford

Leaving this fairly imposing squad (if I may say so) with trades to spare:

Goddard, Fisher, Deledio, Enright, Gibbs, Broughton, Suckling (Lower, Talia, Strauss)
Swan, Pendlebury, Boyd, Priddis, Dal Santo, Judd (Fyfe*, Hibberd, Callinan)
Cox, Mumford (Bailey, Tippett)
Franklin, Pavlich, O'Keefe, Chapman, Sylvia, Harvey, Petrie (N. Riewoldt, Mzungu, Richo)

Backline is the weak point, but lower can be pretty handy cover. Normally Riewoldt will play to cover byes.

*Only nominally on the bench, because he will always be on the field to cover midfield or forward emergencies. When all players are in play like in round 24 for the GF, he will be on, and I'll have a decision to make about Sylvia and one other forward assuming no injuries.

edit: When I bring in Sausages Mumford I might make Lower into Birchall or Davis or someone else reasonably priced. I know bringing Fyfe in makes my forward line almost unnecessarily strong, but **** it, I want him!
Looks good and I think your team will be the envy of most others, incredible backup! You can cross off getting Davis into your backline though! ;)

:footy:
I'm not sure if it counts as going for broke if you can make three changes and still have trades, plural. :p

As for the unnecessarily strong forward line, you could always skip Mumford and just switch Petrie over there, play Fyfe permanently and use Riewoldt as your bye cover.

Not a bad idea. It's just this way I get to have all premiums playing in North's bye. The other advantage is strong benches mean strong emergencies if they are ever needed through late withdrawals. Plus the cover means I won't necessarily need to trade if I get a player with a 1-2 week injury.

The only certainty is Newman -> Fisher. Beyond that anything could happen. I like the look of that team I posted before.

Suckling or Birchall?

Which of these 2 do I get for H.Shaw and why?

I can't split them to be honest. :confused:

Birchall no brainer based on the fact that Suckling has missed two to soreness...

He might miss another if it is a recurring thing. Birchall has shown no weakness.

Only thing I can think of to split them.

Good luck jox, hope you do really well over the next couple of weeks :thumbsu:

BTW
How many premium injuries have you suffered from this season? I ask because your trade situation is brilliant and so is your team.

I'm thinking about rolling the dice and double trading, i'm sitting 30th, and realistically too far back but the timing is right to do it.

Newman > Birchall
Higgins > Sylvia

Higgins is a floating bench cover and only really needed this week, crap timing for his injury and Riewoldt's suspension to come in the only round i need them. I think i need to do this now otherwise i'll be dirty that i didn't give it a crack, i think my team is strong enough to do damage in all my leagues even with a few STI's and the bye's.

It will leave me with a final best 22 of:

B: Fisher, Goddard, Deledio, Gibbs, Suckling, Birchall, Broughton
(Lower, Hibberd, Howard)

M: Swan, Pendlebury, Boyd, Priddis, Dal Santo, Ablett
(Sylvia, Jacobs, I.Smith)

R: Cox, Petrie
(Vardy, J.Tippett)

F: Franklin, S.Johnson, Chapman, O'Keefe, Goodes, Pavlich, Fyfe
(N.Riewoldt, Lobbe, GC's T.Lynch)

So from that the only bye's i'll have to cover are

R20: Boyd (Pav to mids, N.Roo/Sylvia to cover)
R21: Petrie (Lobbe/Vardy)
R22: SJ & Chappy (Sylvia and N.Roo)
R23: Gibbs (Lower)

GF week bye free.

Will decide tomorrow after final teams.

edit: i can get through this week with no donuts, it's just that Jacobs and Lynch will have to play so i am basically conceding any overall position.

quality team joxstrap. could go close!

i was top 1000 for most of year but slipped badly (8500ish) last 4-5 rounds due to stupid trades.. getting in didak? wtf. getting in cyril just before injury and trading in h.shaw on a thurs (was going camping on the friday no internet) just before the betting scandle broke.. :eek:

but sitting now with

B. Gibbs, goddard, fisher, deliedio, enright, broughton, bob murphy. b. jacobs, delaney, strauss

M. Pendles, Murphy, Boyd, Ablett, S Thompson, Swan Iles Bewick Callinan

R. Cox, Smith Lobbe Derickz

F. Pav, Harvey, Franklin, Sylvia, Rioli, Goodes, N. Riewoldt Didak, Talia, Richo

Only 2 trades left with $149600 left in the kitty. Obviously upgrade smith is the obvious one but do i wait till finals to do the upgrade or wait it out and see if there are more injuries? And would like to use Iles cash to upgrade to Fyfe?
Any thoughts guys? Was probably looking to upgrade Iles to Fyfe next week to make sure get top 4 in my leagues, just leaving me with one going into finals.

quality team joxstrap. could go close!

i was top 1000 for most of year but slipped badly (8500ish) last 4-5 rounds due to stupid trades.. getting in didak? wtf. getting in cyril just before injury and trading in h.shaw on a thurs (was going camping on the friday no internet) just before the betting scandle broke.. :eek:

but sitting now with

B. Gibbs, goddard, fisher, deliedio, enright, broughton, bob murphy. b. jacobs, delaney, strauss

M. Pendles, Murphy, Boyd, Ablett, S Thompson, Swan Iles Bewick Callinan

R. Cox, Smith Lobbe Derickz

F. Pav, Harvey, Franklin, Sylvia, Rioli, Goodes, N. Riewoldt Didak, Talia, Richo

Only 2 trades left with $149600 left in the kitty. Obviously upgrade smith is the obvious one but do i wait till finals to do the upgrade or wait it out and see if there are more injuries? And would like to use Iles cash to upgrade to Fyfe?
Any thoughts guys? Was probably looking to upgrade Iles to Fyfe next week to make sure get top 4 in my leagues, just leaving me with one going into finals.
With only 2 trades left I would hold onto them a little longer. The last few weeks are proof of what can happen, especially with players who aren't going to be playing finals.

Good luck jox, hope you do really well over the next couple of weeks :thumbsu:

BTW
How many premium injuries have you suffered from this season? I ask because your trade situation is brilliant and so is your team.

Had a dream early run, but have recently had Shaw and Newman. I had Selwood who I held while he was injured early, but traded him when he was suspended, and Grimes. I had Sandilands who I traded as soon as he was injured, which was a risk and against the general philosophy of SC, but it worked given he was out for so long.

So: Shaw, Newman, Grimes, Sandilands, Selwood

I can't really think of any other premiums I've traded, although I've had a couple of rookies get injured, but generally the timing was right to move them along anyway.

My starting side for those who are interested:

Goddard, Deledio, Enright, Grimes, Heppell, Lower, Otten, (Duigan, Toy, Puopolo)
Pendlebury, Swan, Gibbs*, Selwood, Harris, Liberatore, (Conca, Atley, D. Swallow)
Cox, Sandilands (Z Smith, Tippett)
Franklin, Pavlich, Harvey, N Riewoldt, Krakeour, Petrie, Darling (Matera, Knights, Richo)

The most obvious thing looking back at that starting side is how little work I've had to do on my forward line. I've held Riewoldt, and the rest of the premiums have been solid, and was 1/1 for mid pricers, which Knights a failure. It was fairly easy to bring in Sylvia, Chapman, ROK for Darling, Matera and Knights because each rookie gained a fair bit just as the others were dropping.

*Gibbs starting in the center was a plan to always move him to the backline on the theory that there was a wider range of premiums in the midfield I'd be happy with and so at any given stage there is more likely to be a fallen premium mid than back, and so in effect went with one less mid premium and one more mid - but Gibbs allowed the MPP link to be open, which helped early. What I'm trying to say is, I thought mids would be easier to complete than backs and went one short there knowing I could pick them up later on. Priddis, Dal Santo and Judd were all pretty cheap at various stages.

I'll shut up now.

The lack of news on Newman is a bit frustrating, but I think he needs to be traded as there is a risk of Richmond just mothballing him for season 2012.

Chris Newman ---> Grant Birchall or Stefan Martin?

Wow, never thought I'd be considering big Stef. But you can't deny that he is scoring well, and the Demons have a nice run during the Sueprcoach Finals.

The lack of news on Newman is a bit frustrating, but I think he needs to be traded as there is a risk of Richmond just mothballing him for season 2012.

Chris Newman ---> Grant Birchall or Stefan Martin?

Wow, never thought I'd be considering big Stef. But you can't deny that he is scoring well, and the Demons have a nice run during the Sueprcoach Finals.
I'm in a similar situation to you. Both are good options with Martin averaging 104 over his last 10 weeks and being able to maintain it while Jamar has come back into the side, but with news of Davey returning soon it's hard to say whether that will effect him or not.

Birchall has been solid and the Hawks have an easy run of games coming up. His last 10 games have been really good with really only one low score, the game against the Pies.

Looking into it and comparing the two Birchall looks the better option IMO.

Was going to trade Duffield out, but then thought I'd upgrade lower instead and make duffield the permanent bench warmer. Reasoning is that lower is priced higher, duff and lower are both up and down, and if duffield improves he could come in for gibbs in round 23 for carlton bye.

Thoughts?

Higgins > Ablett

I have no faith in Higgins recovering even if he does he'll probably be shelved again at the worst possible time besides that I don't think Ablett will be any cheaper.

I'll hold off with Newman for now.

I have three trades & $10,000 left and have yet to upgrade Lower who is currnetly D7. All other primary positions are upgraded. Do you think it is worth doing Lower > Hurn? Or should I save trades fro LTI 7 bye cover. Going for league win.

save the trade - plenty will go in for early surgery or be rested in the next 6 weeks

Please Help !
I Can't decide between Broughton and Birchall. Will probably end up with both but need to make the right choice in terms of their price. Will Broughton go down in price and Birchall up in which case i get Birchall now? Or will Birchall go down/stay the same and Broughton go up in which case I get Broughton now?
Wish I the balls to get Adcock if Merret was still there I would!
Already have Goddard, Fisher, Enright, Gibbs, Deledio :confused:

lower or heppell on the field this week??

tough one toxic. i'd lean towards lower simply because essendon are likely to get smashed.

I Smith or Mzungu to start? Both capable of good solid scores, but both also capable of being subbed!

Thoughts?

EDIT: Sh*t, sorry I thought this was the X vs Y thread. my bad

tough one toxic. i'd lean towards lower simply because essendon are likely to get smashed.

I Smith or Mzungu to start? Both capable of good solid scores, but both also capable of being subbed!

Thoughts?

EDIT: Sh*t, sorry I thought this was the X vs Y thread. my bad

I reckon both will score similarly. But I would go Smith as he is in midfield and less likely to be subbed as he was sub last week. I'll have to start both.

Would someone please help me on my previous question - Broughton or Birchall in for Shaw ?

I reckon both will score similarly. But I would go Smith as he is in midfield and less likely to be subbed as he was sub last week. I'll have to start both.

Would someone please help me on my previous question - Broughton or Birchall in for Shaw ?

Geez that is a tough one. I went Broughton a couple of weeks ago, but that was because Birchall had a bye.

TBH I don't know a whole lot about Birchall, and with Broughtons recent move into the midfield I'd find him pretty hard to resist

Geez that is a tough one. I went Broughton a couple of weeks ago, but that was because Birchall had a bye.

TBH I don't know a whole lot about Birchall, and with Broughtons recent move into the midfield I'd find him pretty hard to resist

Thanks for your reply. I'm just worried Broughton may drop off due to Barlow and soon Mundy taking his midfeild role. Will he score well back in defence? Freo have a tough run home will that help or harm ? arghhh
Still considering Adcock as well someone please talk me in or out of that one ?

I think I'm just going to go for broke.

I'm too far back at 50th, but who cares, my cash league is only a pretty small one anyway.

Newman -> Fisher
Iles -> Fyfe (against all my better judgement. His run home sucks, expensive, his shoulder might go at any second, 2nd year player. But he's just a gun, and MPP helps).

Next week Smith -> Mumford

Leaving this fairly imposing squad (if I may say so) with trades to spare:

Goddard, Fisher, Deledio, Enright, Gibbs, Broughton, Suckling (Lower, Talia, Strauss)
Swan, Pendlebury, Boyd, Priddis, Dal Santo, Judd (Fyfe*, Hibberd, Callinan)
Cox, Mumford (Bailey, Tippett)
Franklin, Pavlich, O'Keefe, Chapman, Sylvia, Harvey, Petrie (N. Riewoldt, Mzungu, Richo)

Backline is the weak point, but lower can be pretty handy cover. Normally Riewoldt will play to cover byes.

*Only nominally on the bench, because he will always be on the field to cover midfield or forward emergencies. When all players are in play like in round 24 for the GF, he will be on, and I'll have a decision to make about Sylvia and one other forward assuming no injuries.

edit: When I bring in Sausages Mumford I might make Lower into Birchall or Davis or someone else reasonably priced. I know bringing Fyfe in makes my forward line almost unnecessarily strong, but **** it, I want him!

Good depth mate. However, if one of your final's opponents has Ablett as captain and he puts in a blinder it may cost you a league win!

Thanks for your reply. I'm just worried Broughton may drop off due to Barlow and soon Mundy taking his midfeild role. Will he score well back in defence? Freo have a tough run home will that help or harm ? arghhh
Still considering Adcock as well someone please talk me in or out of that one ?

Freo's tuff run home is a bonus - i reckon it means they have to play at full strength to ensure they make finals. I chose Suckling over Birchall at the start. Check who your main league comp has and go the opposite as a POD