Matt Robran
Matt Liptak
Matt Clarke

(must be the name...)

Worst:
Shaun Rehn
Brett Burton
Peter Vardy

Really? That does suprise me about Burton. I've chatted with him after a couple of games here in Melbourne and found him to be really nice. I also spoke to him and Brian Beinke(at a game where they were both watching as they were injured) and they were really funny together.
I agree with your nicest Crows although I never met Keating so can't really comment on that one. You could throw Peter Caven in there.He is one of the nicest guys I've ever met.After a Hawthorn game once I was talking to him about the game and a kid in Hawthorn colours came up and asked him if he played football. He just smiled and said "Yes I play for Adelaide" the Hawthorn Kid said "Oh.......can I have your autograph anyway?" Cavo smiled and said " Oh course mate. No problems."
Mattie Robran is a true gentleman (just like his old man and uncle!)

I've met a lot of nice people through football, but special mentions go to Barrie Robran and Peter Hudson, easily two of nature's gentlemen.
Biggest idiot I ever met was David Granger from Port Adelaide.
Not sure about the rudest person, I've never really encountered anyone who was rude to me. Graham Cornes has his moments.

Originally posted by Adelaide Hawk
I've met a lot of nice people through football, but special mentions go to Barrie Robran and Peter Hudson, easily two of nature's gentlemen.
Biggest idiot I ever met was David Granger from Port Adelaide.
Not sure about the rudest person, I've never really encountered anyone who was rude to me. Graham Cornes has his moments.
I have met Paul Hudson and Matthew and Jonathon Robran

I'm amazed people seem to think quiet = rude. I'm rather quiet myself, but I'm definently not rude. Just because a young man is a talented footballer, doesn't mean he automatically has the gift of the gab. Over time with media work and public speaking, some players will naturally get the hang of it. But others, well look at Bruce Doull. I've heard he is a top bloke, but good luck trying to get a word out of him!

And the nicest player I can ever remember meeting would have to be Michael "Disco" Roach. He was my absolute hero growing up and I met him a few times at Richmond family days. Nice just isn't the word for Roachy. Still brings back great memories when I look at the photos taken with him.

Rudest, unfortunately would be Darren Crocker. I won't go into details - but he still hasn't apologised.... :mad:

Dean Laidley is one of the nicest coaches I have ever met.

Some ppl might think that Dean is a serious and an intense kind of guy but he's not.

He is just a passionate person.

The one thing is that he never bags his players.

Originally posted by goaldrush
Dean Laidley is one of the nicest coaches I have ever met.

Some ppl might think that Dean is a serious and an intense kind of guy but he's not.

He is just a passionate person.

The one thing is that he never bags his players.

I havent met Laidley but I heard from someone who has met him that he was the foulest tempered person in the league - went off like a snapped twig.

Have met Kevin Murray. Such a nice bloke. Will talk footy to anyone, obviously.

Jason Dunstall impressed me heaps with the way he treated young Hawks supporters, with patience and great humour.

Justin Madden and I had business dealings and I found him to be as pleasant as he appears, and as goofy. The latter is what qualified him to be a politician.

Went to school and played cricket with Peter Bedford. Champion bloke. Have seen him a couple of times in the 40 years since and he still says hello.

Haven't met many sports people I didn't like, but that could just be me.

Mark Jackson, however, is a certifiable lunatic. Not nasty, just crazy.

Originally posted by Nandrolone Stam
...and you know this how? :eek:
I met him at an East Point game during the year.

East Point have a great association with the Kangaroos footy club.

I spoke with him. He certainly wasn't angry when I spoke to him.

He is a top coach and a nice person.

Just don't rile him up.

Best:

Hardwick: Friendliest bloke you could run into. Goaldrush, all I can assume is that he saw straight through you.

Francou: Seems to be being bagged a lot, but I had a good night with him in Players bar cheering on the Power on the big screen.

Tredrea, Paxman, Montgomery and Che all nice guys.

Ben Hart and Andy McLeod: Met both of them at a footy clinic when I was coaching a country school team. Hart was the friendliest and nicest guy you could meet. Totally unaffected. McLeod very nice too that day, but seemed very shy.

Steven Trigg: I had the misfortune to bump into him in Joplins one night - rudest @rsehole I've ever met.

Scotty Cummings: I was pretty pickled in The Circuit one night years ago, and spotted Scotty. I called out "Hey Scotty, great player but ya can't KICK!!" (insert foot actions and hiccups). He just laughed and called back "Yeah thanks BOBBY SKILTON!!" :)

Originally posted by footy_paul
Nicest- Hirdy
and rudest would have to be- Libba
That's funny because I have heard that Libba is actually quite the opposite.

NS,

Why don't you ring East Point up and ask them was Dean Laidley at the under 18.5 match on June 1 2003.

Originally posted by luv_ya_crawf
i was at a hawthorn day, i was getting autographs at the race and there were all these kids. Nick holland snubbed us and said "no autographs" when he came out and he went back in and didnt let anyone get his autograph that is why i call him 'mean dutchy.' :mad:
Dicko is not rude.

I have met Nick a couple of times and always found him to be really friendly and seems like a funny bloke.

Although Wayne Carey was one of the friendliest blokes I ever met when I was about 14 and had my photo taken of me with him and the 1996 premiership cup. I had the photo developed into a lagre print and took it back to training two weeks later, he remembered my name and had a good chat with me.

But I have also heard plenty of storys about Wayne out and about.

Ok firstly I dont remember who the hell it was so this is really a pointles reply ;) but I remember once at the Sandy one night most saints players were there! Troy Schwarze came up and said hi to me.. coz i went to tafe with him.. he is a realllly nice guy :) anyways.. there were the older players at the bar like away from the younger guys. The guy who was rude from memory was an ex player anyway but he was SO rude and it made me sick! he thought he was god! lol
anyway I may have taken it the wrong way since i was so drunk (which i usualy do - i get paranoid when im drinking :p) but im sure he was giving me **** because of my hair! he was a complete arseh*le anyways ;) I also found Steven Baker to be very sleazy...

Not just me. A group of about 10 or so Eagles fans about the age of seven, who obviously idolised him and were nearly in tears when he snobbed them off and kept walking after they had asked for autographs.

Naturally I cut him off, shoved my AFL record under his nose, forced him to sign it and allowed the kids to swamp him. I think I made an enemy! :D

Chris Judd was nice, so was Dean Cox. And I have to agree with dyertribe; Timmy Giniver is a top bloke! Has a nice family, too.
It is very hard when a footballer is painfully shy around a group of supporters. He probably thought you were the rude one.

Rudest/Nicest player you've met?