Rumour Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Matz

Yeah, Judd's shoulder was rooted also and we know how that turned out!

Exactly.

Our list is in very good shape in terms of talent and from an age demographic point of view.

We are at a stage where we can take a risk or roll the dice in the draft on a "risky" selection.

Now, I'm not suggesting taking on risky propositions who are rank outsiders but for someone who is rated on talent alone inside the top 10- if he is available at our selections, it would be an absolute no brainer to take him.

I'm certain Rendell would rate Menzel very highly.

The reality of this is that we are not going to get a first round pick for Wellingham or Dawes, if they end up in the PSD, they will get to their club of choice as per with the Luke Ball situation.
Didn't take long for you to be proven a twit instead of reasonably assumed one.

Lets not get greedy! We have 18 & 19....keep Dawes because KPF don't grow on Trees and I doubt we'll replace him with pick 20/21.
KPF's like Dawes are actually quite plentiful. Most KPF in the AFL can avg 1.2 goals per game. Avg KPF like Westhoff, Koschitzke and our very own Lynch avg more (who we've easily been able to acquire through FA if you are trying to say they are hard to come by), and shit ones like Brad Miller have avg that in recent seasons. All have also managed individual seasons far superior to anything Dawes has done, bar possibly Miller who's had a season or two where he's been at least as good.

Dawes is not worth anywhere near a first rounder based on performance. His 2010 performance isn't even first round worthy IMO. I'm happy if we get anything above a 3rd round pick.

Very happy with Pick 17 but I'm very sad to see Wellingham leave. Hopefully we can keep Dawes or at least get something really good for him. Pick 20 and a player would be good. Really hoping we can secure Young as well, i think he'd be a really hand player for us.

I'd entertain that and probably do the deal.

Pick 20 would be the absolute minimum though I'd accept for Dawes.
yeah same, considering they were possibily going to offer 13 straight swap and now have traded that pick, i think pick 20 + gysberts(who melbourne is being offered a 2nd or 3 round pick for from geelong for) would be a good pick up and has a lot of potential. he could take over luke balls role when he retires, 190 odd cm inside mid and was pretty good at getting his hands on the footy in his first year on a terrible team. could be anything, too soon to judge though.

Very happy with Pick 17 but I'm very sad to see Wellingham leave. Hopefully we can keep Dawes or at least get something really good for him. Pick 20 and a player would be good. Really hoping we can secure Young as well, i think he'd be a really hand player for us.
Would be very happy if we end up getting young.

Just reading on the Freo board and they do seem to rate Dylan Roberton. He has a career DE of 79% and has played 40 games, so he should be immediately competing for a spot on the half-back line. His video that was posted earlier showed a lot of handball receives so he might be one to replace BJ in a year or so. Not as quick as Seedsman but obviously a better decision maker than S Buckley.

Agreed RS but that same video seemed to show he missed a fair few targets - not by much, but missed. Seems to miss long when he misses.

Roberton would surely be an upgrade over Buckley?

if Roberton means delisting Buckley im on board.
Roberton would be a great get for a third rounder. Has pace to burn and would be a handy HBF/HFF next season. Dare I say, reminds me of a skinnier, younger Alan Toovey. He'll bulk up with our facilities and could become a very good player for us.

Keen.

They rate him but I fear they are overrating his value. He was very much on the peripherals for them this season. It's not as if he was entrenched in their best side.

Also, the one query I do have on him is his pace on the times I';ve seen him play.

I'd also like to know what he is like in defensive situations? Can he actually defend when he has to? Is he strong overhead for a player his size?

So many questions.

Agreed RS but that same video seemed to show he missed a fair few targets - not by much, but missed. Seems to miss long when he misses.
I had the same takeaway from the video, actually. A very J-Mac (rest his soul) ability to kick over the head of his target.

The leading medicos have given his knees the all clear.

Remember Stevie J failing his medical?

Remember Joel Selwood's knee scare pre-draft that caused him to drift?

On talent alone, he is worth the risk at pick 17/18.

Don't forget Juddy'd shoulders. Let's face facts they have to have been good to carry Carlscum all these years.

We are at a stage where we can take a risk or roll the dice in the draft on a "risky" selection.

Still think we need an inside Mid, need a second ruckman (upgraded Wood/established Ruck), need Shannon Hurn and or Leon Davis type kick in player.

Don't think Lynch really replaces C.Wood.

Still think we need an inside Mid, need a second ruckman (upgraded Wood/established Ruck), need Shannon Hurn and or Leon Davis type kick in player.

Josh Thomas is on our list as to is Luke Ball for the inside mid role.

Jarrod Witts also on our list to replace Cam Wood. Lynch was not recruited to replace Wood.

A kick in type player would be handy but none are really out there.

Clinton Young would be handy though as a free agent.

In the draft however, I do hope for Troy Menzel at one of our selections.

No, he definitely doesn't, Lynch will play #2 ruck not backup #1 ruck. I'm not sure we need to replace Wood though, I want to get exposure for Witts and Ceglar in 2013 as backup #1 rucks and that won't happen if we have another list clogger in that spot. Our main candidate in development as a successor to Lynch as a backup #2 ruck would be Gault, assuming of course that Dawes is lost to us.

I think our main needs are a replacement for Ben Johnson, Didak and Krakouer. Dylan Roberton *might* be a suitable replacement for Johnson, possibly Young too for that matter, and we may also be able to work Seedsman into that role. The replacements for Didak and Krakouer will likely have to come through the draft, as there simply aren't players of that calibre or with those skillsets falling into our laps.

i think with gault richmond and ceglar we have enough promising young 2nd rucks on our list, for pick 17 and 18 id go for best inside mid and best defender with a sharp kick in.. however if a star falls to pick 17 then obviouslly you take them as those needs arn't HUGE

He has nice size, but he cant kick the footy.

Do not want.
Runs around like a headless chook. We already have Buckley for that.

Jarrod Witts also on our list to replace Cam Wood. Lynch was not recruited to replace Wood.

Yes, pretty sure I mentioned Lynch wasn't recruited to replace Wood, Wood painfully enough would be better than Witts at the moment at AFL level, obviously won't be like that in the future.

Just think, if Jolly goes down to an ACL or something as terrible next year for a stretch....? It doesn't look good.

Good point about Josh, haven't seen him play but heard about him.

I think our main needs are a replacement for Ben Johnson, Didak and Krakouer. Dylan Roberton *might* be a suitable replacement for Johnson, possibly Young too for that matter, and we may also be able to work Seedsman into that role. The replacements for Didak and Krakouer will likely have to come through the draft, as there simply aren't players of that calibre or with those skillsets falling into our laps.

Always thought Fas would suit Did's role perfectly. Elliot might be a medhurst more than a Krak but he looks the goods I think.