Rumour Thread

Tarrant needs to come back. Still a good defender and has 1-2 seasons left, but maybe he wants to spend more time on other things while he is youngish.... Gonna miss him. Should join the team as health and fitness consultant, like his business but a tie in with the Pies.

He doesn't. When your mind retires your gone.

Wellingham and Sidebottom never start in the middle, they sometimes come off the square. In reality, the centre square contestants are Swan, Pendlebury, Ball, Thomas, Blair and Beams. You're also saying Josh Thomas could come into that mix.

So really, Wellingham is a winger, forward bounce-down opportunist and someone to play a negative role on occassions. On the latter, he may play that role well for all I know. I don't watch him, or anyone, intently in play.

What I really want to know though is if, at all, you have anyone in mind for trade bait? Besides people like Wood or Buckley, who have no currency at all, is there anyone you would trade?

Throughout 2010 and 2011 Wellingham had plenty of time in the centre square. In 2012 Bucks changed his role to play more forward but I still believe his best work is done as a centre square follower.

As for trade bait, I'm quite content at the moment with the state of our list. Obviously we need to target a second ruck role player but most of our improvement will come from what we already have. Our team is stil young - was youngest average age of all top 4 sides this year. I don't think we have to trade anyone out that has currency or players we wish to retain.

Latest rumour doing the rounds re: Q Lynch is he has agreed to go to the Blues for 2 years on about $300,000 a year.
Yeah it is the latest rumor going around which means Cloke is likely to stay. Carlton have given Cloke a 72 hour dead line to make his call, so I guess we will find out soon.

I would be so shattard if he left us.

I'd Trade wellingham sinclair j.thomas while their value is still good

Sinclair is a very fustraiting player, he puts in great effort but his simply not good enough to make it, his foot disposal is not good enough to be a regular AFL player with the current zones and things.

J.Thomas is also fustraiting, i dont think he'll ever be an AFL player but there may be a team willing to take a punt on him and if we can get something decent i'd grab it.

Wellingham is very much over-rated and in a position we have a surplus in, so if we can use him to get something we seriouslly need (a ruckmen) or a future superstar (caddy) i'd again be all over it.

Also try to trade out wood.. highly doubt anything would pay anything though. If they do ill laugh

I don't mind Wellingham being traded, he is a bit aloof at times.

Not sure what we can get for him, maybe a high 2nd rd pick, pick 20-25. I'd love a Wellingham for Caddy trade to GC.

We need to keep our first pick this yr.

Not sure what we can get for him, maybe a high 2nd rd pick, pick 20-25. I'd love a Wellingham for Caddy trade to GC.

We need to keep our first pick this yr.

What do you mean by this?

Ben Sinclair is going to be traded for a slab of VB. win for the pies there.

He had a good year overall. Broke into the side and showed that he can make a contribution. He won't be going anywhere.

But was shown he is not up to it last night

Unlike you TD I don't bin a player after one poor game. You are Captain Obvious with most of you "observations" and very rarely have anything meaningful to say.

I think at the moment all we currently have as part of the rotations are
Swan
Thomas
Pendles
Ball
Beams
Sidebottom
Wellingham
Blair

Thats 8 names. We need to find another 3 or more.

Fasolo needs to build his tank because in 2010 we had Didak having stints but I cannot see Dids repeating this again.

Benny Sinclair is probably another who needs to work on his tank and start demanding some minutes to take some pressure of the above guys.

Josh Thomas is one we hold out high hopes for too.

So we still have plenty of work to do to get to that level again IMO and they don't all need to be full timers, just part timers will do to just keep changing up the combos and batting deep. As you can see, looking at our midfield mix- Wellingham is a must- he is completely different to what we have in there.

I don't know about this. Didak has had 2 horrible years, but I still think we saw glimpses at the end of the year, that if he can have a well managed, injury-free preseason he can still be the player we need him to be. IMagine if we got Alan Didak-2010 back?? That would go a long way to improving both our footksills and our midfield depth. I have a feeling Didak and Johnson still have one more big run left in them. They were both badly hit by injuries this year. I'm not saying we should rely on this happening, but both of them going down again next year would really surprise me.
Over all I do agree that we need more midfield depth, guys who can contribute through there. For me though I would prefer it was 2 young first round draft picks (over Wellingham) who could also spend a lot of time up forward providing pressure, similar to how Sidebottom and Beams got their starts and what is happening with Fasolo now. Wellingham is a good player, I am just not sure his efforts are consistent enough and I know that his field kicking and decision making is horrible.

Ben Sinclair is going to be traded for a slab of VB. win for the pies there.

oh my god. It was his first final in his first year,he is just a kid and has a lot to learn.Give him a chance,i saw glimpses of what him and elliott can do and they will be very good players.Those finals gave them a little bit of experience which is good for their development. I hate people picking out certain players.They were all as bad as eachother last night,there were only a handful that actually were any good.

One thing is for certain: I'm bloody glad none of you cretins have any say in running the club.

And that sucking2whatever - stop attempting to troll. You'd be lucky to know your ass from your tit.

Collingwood have the last day on Cloke. He'll be staying as a required player.

Leon Davis was on the verge of being traded or sacked after the 2010 GF. Why not do the same with Wellingham and turn him in to a back pocket instead of trading him? Has the pace and mung to shut down the small forward which we failed to do against Carlton Hawthorn and Sydney. (Betts Rioli Jetta.)

oh my god. It was his first final in his first year,he is just a kid and has a lot to learn.Give him a chance,i saw glimpses of what him and elliott can do and they will be very good players.Those finals gave them a little bit of experience which is good for their development. I hate people picking out certain players.They were all as bad as eachother last night,there were only a handful that actually were any good.
Would you say the same about St Kilda's four worst players when they lost against us in 2010 or Carlton's last picked players? Did everyone play at much the same leve lof intensity?

Sinclair gave us nothing in the game against the Swans. His disposal is a liability much of the time. He will get some games but is depth at best and will never be the subject of a trade rumour. It is actually Sinclair's second AFL year as he got a few games last year.

Its hard to ignore the Fev to Collingwood thing after hearing more and more evidence. Suckling could just be on to something......

http://www.footballnation.com.au/af...ers-whos-set-to-join-your-club-in-trade-week/

"UPDATE 19/9/12: WE’VE heard from a good source that there’s more substance to the rumour of Brendan Fevola being looked at by both Collingwood and Port Adelaide.
Port Adelaide is understood to have flagged interest in Fevola over the past three days and is likely to meet with Fevola before the upcoming draft.
Fevola has been training to keep his fitness at an elite level despite playing local footy this season.
It was initially rumoured that Fevola may well be of interest as a mature age rookie for the Pies and was understood to just be a supporters’ fantasy but this has apparently grown legs this week."

It does say down the bottom this may well just be a supporters fantasy... but who knows. Though i did hear that inverview with Mark Fine and Fev... makes for interesting reading at least.

Yeah, not sure we base our list management on how "aloof" someone is.
Not sure I'd get rid of Pendles either, although he does have poor etiquette.

Its hard to ignore the Fev to Collingwood thing after hearing more and more evidence. Suckling could just be on to something......

http://www.footballnation.com.au/af...ers-whos-set-to-join-your-club-in-trade-week/

"UPDATE 19/9/12: WE’VE heard from a good source that there’s more substance to the rumour of Brendan Fevola being looked at by both Collingwood and Port Adelaide.
Port Adelaide is understood to have flagged interest in Fevola over the past three days and is likely to meet with Fevola before the upcoming draft.
Fevola has been training to keep his fitness at an elite level despite playing local footy this season.
It was initially rumoured that Fevola may well be of interest as a mature age rookie for the Pies and was understood to just be a supporters’ fantasy but this has apparently grown legs this week."

It does say down the bottom this may well just be a supporters fantasy... but who knows. Though i did hear that inverview with Mark Fine and Fev... makes for interesting reading at least.
Yep you are right mate and he will meet with Port this week but his preferred option is Collingwood and that would be with a rookie pick I suspect.

It's his third year. The second in which he has played AFL games. Also it was his second final.

He has played in big games prior such as ANZAC day, vs Geelong, Sydney @ ANZ etc.

He didn't have a good year. He had a couple of games where he wasn't completely hopeless vs Melbourne and the Gold Coast. He kicked multiple goals only against those teams plus Brisbane and Footscray. Looked outclassed against the other teams.

Elliot however looks a talent.

Mmmm be surprised he is 20 kgs over weight and has done his pcl

im like most people on here im not sure if clokes staying or not but i will be gutted if he goes but on the upside we should have some spare cash floating around which could be handy to get a few key position players. fev,stef martin ,pedo maybe even throw some cash at tippet?
i just reckon the club left it a little late to go soft on the fifth year for cloke as think he may have already made his decision.

Rumour Thread