Rumour Thread

haha i know ricky pettard now, and no thanks.
parts of me wants dawes to stay, think he can have a massive pre season and be a beast next year.

Why would we trade Dawes in the 1st Place?

hello I'm new. I really hope we keep wellingham, he is important as he can be a really effective clearance player. I think pearce should be at the top of our list or salopek as they can both deliver out of the back half.
G'day mate , I'm with you on Wellingham , some people think he's soft but i think he's as hard as a cats head .

Sport news first are reporting that Walsh said there will be involved in the trade period this year and Dawes and Wellingham are two that are talked about being traded and both have attracted interest from Melbourne. I don't want Dawes to go.
Gee I hope not. Cannot afford to loose Dawes. He played out of position all year. Big pre season and back in forward line all year and can become the 2nd forward we have need this year.
Dont want wellers to go as well but, seems more expendable with the midfield we have. KEEP THEM BOTH:thumbsu:

Sport news first are reporting that Walsh said there will be involved in the trade period this year and Dawes and Wellingham are two that are talked about being traded and both have attracted interest from Melbourne. I don't want Dawes to go.

The reports is here. Nothing is stated explicitly in regard to players, but you never get that in case things don't work out as hoped.

http://www.sportsnewsfirst.com.au/articles/2012/09/26/collingwood-in-talks-as-cloke-waits/

Walsh does state “We go to trade week in a few weeks time where things may develop there, in terms of other clubs having some interest in our players or vice versa, where we can get a stage where we will finalise that process”.

Adding “It was pleasing to maintain our position in the upper echelon of teams, but disappointing and gave us a strong indication of where we need to improve and clearly the two sides that are playing on the (grand final) weekend in Hawthorn and Sydney are the two benchmark teams," he said.

To me that means they will put some players with some currency out there to meet list issues, and you don't do that with Rounds or Wood.

Well Dees need to pay Way Overs for Dawes to even to get Started talking about.

Plus Dawes won't leave anyway.

SportNewsFirst is good at just writing what ever they think

If, for example, Melbourne wanted both Wellingham and Dawes and we got Martin, compo pick and later pick swap ontraded for Caddy, what would people think?

I don't think we can make a deal with Melbourne for Dawes which will leave us happy. He is very important to our structure and if we lose him then we would need to get two tall forwards, one that will replace Dawes and one that can play the Leigh Brown like, 3rd tall who helps out in the ruck.

I hope Dawseyy stays, he has just had 1 poor season, another preseason under his belt and he might be back to his best in 2013.

If, for example, Melbourne wanted both Wellingham and Dawes and we got Martin, compo pick and later pick swap ontraded for Caddy, what would people think?

I personally would say do it - as bizarre as it seems I think Martin can reach a higher level than Dawes, and in 2 or so years time we are going to need a yound midfielder to replace Swan, Caddy and or a good draft pick could provide this. I love Sharrod and Dawes but it is not just about next year, we need to be planning for next 5-10 years.

I hate the 3 week trade scenario - seriously dedicate a week to it, 9am - 9pm for 5 days - just get it sorted!

I'd say we didn't lose or didn't win...but were probably better to just stick with what we had

We'd be getting rid of 2 premierhsip players for 2 guys who have promise but not a lot to back it up at AFL level, and a pick that will take years to come on. Our premiership window is now.

Dawes is ultimately still better than Martin. Caddy will probably be better than Wellingham but its an unknown.

I just think it would be a mistake to trade out players from a proven premiership formula and who got us to a prelim despite playing poorly for guys that wouldn't be a huge upgrade.

I'd trade both out if we were re-building or could get a star player onto our list. But i don't think Martin + Caddy would bring us closer to a flag than Dawes + Wellingham next year.

The reports is here. Nothing is stated explicitly in regard to players, but you never get that in case things don't work out as hoped.

http://www.sportsnewsfirst.com.au/articles/2012/09/26/collingwood-in-talks-as-cloke-waits/

Walsh does state “We go to trade week in a few weeks time where things may develop there, in terms of other clubs having some interest in our players or vice versa, where we can get a stage where we will finalise that process”.

Adding “It was pleasing to maintain our position in the upper echelon of teams, but disappointing and gave us a strong indication of where we need to improve and clearly the two sides that are playing on the (grand final) weekend in Hawthorn and Sydney are the two benchmark teams," he said.

To me that means they will put some players with some currency out there to meet list issues, and you don't do that with Rounds or Wood.

That was Walshy being quoted from his segment on "The Club".
Some selective quoting. Walsh was in fact talking of the 'fringe' players being told the clubs thoughts on their positions with the club next year. Ie likely to be delisted, however that trade week may bring further opportunities for them, or the club to explore.

That was Walshy being quoted from his segment on "The Club".
Some selective quoting. Walsh was in fact talking of the 'fringe' players being told the clubs thoughts on their positions with the club next year. Ie likely to be delisted, however that trade week may bring further opportunities for them, or the club to explore.

He's not going to name players, let's be frank.

And we also know that Wellingham and Dawes names were bandied around a few years back as potential trade bait. You may be correct in that maybe we think we can address our needs with late picks, but I don't imagine we are going to be able to address much by throwing up names like Rounds, Buckley or Wood.

I would think you don't let Power Forwards go for runners and ruckmen

Dawes is not a power forward. His hands have never been clean overhead. He may play better if we get a decent mobile ruck, but could be better to just get that mobile ruck/forward in Martin and play Paine.

Wellers for Caddy? Not certain, but wouldn't be surprised if we went for Caddy and used Williams as a winger with some toe. Swan and Ball only have 2 years of footy left. I don't know if we can cover that without forward planning.

Rumour Thread