Rumour Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Matz

Is it? Couple of days ago his name was thrown around as potential trade bait for Tippet!

Discussion? About what? The club and Dawes both admitted he stayed a Pie after turning down a huge offer from Melbourne last year.

Yes it is.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/dawes-to-explore-trade-options-20121003-26yw8.html

Dawes' manager, Ben Niall, said his client was happy at Collingwood but the dynamic had changed slightly with Lynch's arrival, prompting him to now consider his options.

"Chris had a good discussion with Nathan and he has been happy at Collingwood but the change in circumstances there is such that he needs to look at other options and the club was comfortable with that," Niall said.

That hardly sounds like we are the party instigating any movement on Dawes.

Who was it that threw his name around? All I've read is that Walsh emphatically denied that we had any interest in Tippett. The rest has just been supposition by supporters in online forums as well as the morons from trade week radio!

If you were drawing up a contract for Chris Dawes services in 2012 (the period in which he is actually playing under said contract) what would you be offering? Just so we can get a gauge of what his value is. Footy is now a business and considering we aren't shopping him around and he's not playing to the value of his contract the club has done absolutely nothing wrong by Chris.

He may well have signed on to what was believed to be under's at the time, but he certainly didn't play to that standard in 2012! With this in mind there is no need to molly coddle one player just because it was agreed upon 12 months ago that he signed for under's. A lot can change in 12 months and Dawes' form is testament to that.

FWIW I'm not advocating trading him because I like the prospect of a Cloke, Dawes and Lynch forward line! I just want to put this garbage myth away that the club have somehow mistreated him and that we need to look after him because he signed for under market value when his form indicates otherwise.

Well if we signed Lynch, can't he play the ruck/forward role with Dawes going back to his favored forward position?

This is what i can't understand.

I think Dawes was well aware we would be aiming to find a replacement for Leigh Brown. I doubt he had an issue with that. Hes more likely dissapointed that the club chose to shop him around based on his poor year playing a role which he was not suited to and was thrust upon him. He was forced to sacrifice his game to fill a temporary void.

If he didn't consider leaving when we got Leroy, I don't see how it's an different here. Unless Bucks has actually said it'd be horses for course and that his spot in the side will depend on a weekly basis.

Who in their right mind would want to be traded to Melbourne hahaha
Yeah good luck a shit club that no one turns up to watch and never will taste success ever again.

Who in their right mind would want to be traded to Melbourne hahaha
Yeah good luck a shit club that no one turns up to watch and never will taste success ever again.

"No contested mark" Dawes and "Front runner" Wellingham is who.
Two spuds in a club full of spuds.

Wellingham isnt a supd but not as good as the other we have.

He's had probably 2 good games in his career, the most over-rated player on our list by a mile.

If he didn't consider leaving when we got Leroy, I don't see how it's an different here. Unless Bucks has actually said it'd be horses for course and that his spot in the side will depend on a weekly basis.

So we get a ruck/forward and lose a FF. Where is the gain? Cloke will still have 3 defenders hanging off him.

Nah, what I'm saying is if Dawes was ok and not threatened about his spot when we got Leroy, and you'd think it shouldn't be any different in this case where Dawes goes back to playing his previous role and Lynch takes Brown's role. Unless Buck's has stated otherwise.

Doesn't matter mate, play one defender on Dawes and he still moves like a log.

Hello Kreuger, back to pot the puppet-master Bucks for chasin away Leon and now Dawes? Mick never lost Scotland any good players. I guess the difference here though is that if we don't line ourselves up for a top forward replacement like Tippett or a top draft pick, WE KEEP HIM! He's signed up.

We hold the aces.

Wouldn't mind offloading Wellingham and Dawes.

Firstly on Sharrod, if we were ever going to do trade him the time is now. I'm sorry but he is nothing special he has all the attributes but can't put them together. He simply can't kick and some of his efforts around the packs in recent weeks were disgraceful. Everyone has been slamming out kicking this year, we need to weed out the bad ones and get in some good kicks.

Dawes is interesting, I'm certain that he will return to 2010/11 form next year if he is relieved of the ruck duties. However, how good was that form? Beside a patch in early 2011 he really hasn't done much, and for a key forward he simply cannot mark and doesn't kick enough goals. i'm taking an educated guess here, but the reason he is worried about his place is that Bucks is going to adopt the 2 talls (Lynch and Cloke) not the three that MM employed (Cloke, Dawes and Brown). I like this, it'll give us more versatility.

So what do we want in return? I'd be happy with pick 4 or pick 13+player (Martin?). pick 4 we are going to get a star, we've seen players like Heppell, Greene etc make huge impacts in their first year. Plus with lynch replacing Dawes and Ball in for Wellingham we are really not losing much depth wise.

It's an interesting situation the club is in, i'm sure they want to keep both players, but the temptation of a very high pick and salary cap relief has suddenly become an option.

Hugely disappointed about the way we have treated Chris Dawes, and it has led me to lose a lot of enthusiasm for our club. Don't really understand what they are trying to do. I actually hope Dawes goes to another team and sticks it up the Pies now. Losing a lot of affection for the club.

I want us to win a premiership the right way, not treat people like shit on the way.

I do think the reason he is not certain about his role is because next year we will move to 2 and 2 sub and interchange and that means teams will have to be very confident in their big forwards to play 3 together.

Hugely disappointed about the way we have treated Chris Dawes, and it has led me to lose a lot of enthusiasm for our club. Don't really understand what they are trying to do. I actually hope Dawes goes to another team and sticks it up the Pies now. Losing a lot of affection for the club.

I want us to win a premiership the right way, not treat people like shit on the way.

I do think the reason he is not certain about his role is because next year we will move to 2 and 2 sub and interchange and that means teams will have to be very confident in their big forwards to play 3 together.
i know what you are saying but i dont think you can blame the club, im sure bucks just told him that he may not be in the starting 22 and will have to fight for a spot. Dawes probs wants to have more opportunity and a guarantee and lets face it Chris hasnt done anything to help his cause. This is a business.....its was clear this year that change was needed.

How have we treated him exactly? Been up-front and said maybe Lynch is a better 2nd forward option and we'd like to retain him as the ruck relief and 3rd forward, or possibly that Paine may be the 2nd forward sometimes (depending on form) and that Lynch might be the mobile ruck?

I've no malice toward either the club or Dawes. The club is doing what they can to improve the list and Dawes may see himself being crowded out or at risk. He may prefer the stability of being a permanent 2nd forward elsewhere and now have the chance to earn more money. That's a f*cking favour!

Perhaps we should wait until the trade is completed before judging the final result?

How have we treated him exactly? Been up-front and said maybe Lynch is a better 2nd forward option and we'd like to retain him as the ruck relief and 3rd forward, or possibly that Paine may be the 2nd forward sometimes (depending on form) and that Lynch might be the mobile ruck?

I've no malice toward either the club or Dawes. The club is doing what they can to improve the list and Dawes may see himself being crowded out or at risk. He may prefer the stability of being a permanent 2nd forward elsewhere and now have the chance to earn more money. That's a f*cking favour!

Not to mention the faith that was showed in him during the entire season. Dawes has no right to be angry.

Dawes is 24, played in the ruck for the first time ever this season and because he had a poor season in this new role we now see him as not an important part of our future?
Dawes is a smart guy who probably overthinks things, it would've been very rough on him the way he was treated by our crowds and supporters during the year and I would think he is a guy who needs his confidence. Now, when he could refresh and look forward to becoming a solid key forward again, we start throwing his name around for a trade.
I don't doubt there is a possibility we could get something good for him. But shouldn't we trust that the guy can become the player we envisioned him to be 12 months ago?

Not to mention the faith that was showed in him during the entire season. Dawes has no right to be angry.

Maybe he is not a ruckman? Maybe he is just a better key forward??

Dawes has every right to be angry, the way some of our supporters jeered him during the year was absolutely disgusting. The guy plays on confidence, and we as supporters did nothing to help that confidence.

He took big unders to stay with the club because of loyalty when his value was high, and now after an ordinary year where clearly the second ruck role didn't suit him, we decide we will get rid of him. That is a horrible way to treat any person and I will not support it.

Maybe he is not a ruckman? Maybe he is just a better key forward??

Dawes has every right to be angry, the way some of our supporters jeered him during the year was absolutely disgusting. The guy plays on confidence, and we as supporters did nothing to help that confidence.

He took big unders to stay with the club because of loyalty when his value was high, and now after an ordinary year where clearly the second ruck role didn't suit him, we decide we will get rid of him. That is a horrible way to treat any person and I will not support it.

It is a big assumption to say that we have decided to get rid of him. The accounts suggest that Dawes has decided to pursue options elsewhere. The club has every right to let Chris know that he may not be in he best 22 next year. Rather than sook about it he should have resolved to prove them wrong. In my opinion he is taking the easy road and we don't need guys like that.

Agree with Tempest here
Wellingham is ok but seems to be a knucklehead. Could be way better but is more interested in his relationship with Buddy and the mirror. Dawes will never be what we want him to be. Bux knows this too.

Hine and Rendell want the picks in exchange for a certain player or after some serious young talent.

i'm happy to see both of them go provided we are well compensated. Footy/Sport is ruthless..

Our mighty club has done nothing wrong..

It is a big assumption to say that we have decided to get rid of him. The accounts suggest that Dawes has decided to pursue options elsewhere. The club has every right to let Chris know that he may not be in he best 22 next year. Rather than sook about it he should have resolved to prove them wrong. In my opinion he is taking the easy road and we don't need guys like that.

What if he has been told if the move is to 2 and 2 then we wont be playing 3 tall forwards and it will be a battle between him and Lynch for the ruck/forward position? Or him and Cloke for the forward position? He knows he cant play the ruck/forward role as well as Lynch and he knows he cant play forward as well as CLoke.

Boo ******* hoo Chris.

If you play to your potential, like you did 2 years ago, you're a walk up starter.

Play like a chump, then we will shop you to cellar dweller like Melbourne and the Dogs.
Be handy if he was played in position and not trying to turn into a ruckman.
For what it's worth I hope he stays.
Big forwards are at a premium and any team which gets him is better for it.
Lynch in the Anvil role seems perfect for Dawes, so I'm taking the current talk about moving with a grain of salt...

What if he has been told if the move is to 2 and 2 then we wont be playing 3 tall forwards and it will be a battle between him and Lynch for the ruck/forward position? Or him and Cloke for the forward position? He knows he cant play the ruck/forward role as well as Lynch and he knows he cant play forward as well as CLoke.

Could well be. If Bucks were the Don of a mafia clan then Dawes would be wearing concrete slippers by now.