Rumours

• Thread starter Thread starter Benny_

What gives with AFLTas making a big fuss about investigating the Lillydale brawl on the weekend, but not showing any interest in the Clarence pub brawl in Launny? Whats the difference? Both incidences are not a good look for footy. Reading the Sunday Muckery it seemed that the Roo officials have it all nicely in hand. Sounds a bit like the 'Boon' broom has been applied (quietly swept under the carpet;))

Was still being mentioned in yesterday's Examiner...Mr Wade said "that incident involving Clarence players in Launceston on May 8th was still being investigated by both the club and the proprietors of Llyods Hotel"...wait that means AFL Tasmania and Mr Wade are doing Nothing, what a surprise. Only last week I was speaking to a GM of another sporting orginastion in Tasmania and when I mentioned Scott Wade's name he just laughed.....

haha - hardly a comparison! Did you see tonight's news? What happened in the Ringarooma V Lilydale match was a disgrace. Then a player getting bashed after the game... Hmmm??? Hardly a comparison to a Clarence player getting king hit on the town and then his mates retaliating! Both cases involve thuggery from nimrods that can't be tolerated.

I don't think it was reported that a Clarence player was king hit. It said Clarence players were involved in a brawl, well thats what read anyway. Were you involved, you seem to know a fair bit about what happened.

A South Launceston player, turned up at training for Scottsdale wanting to join them. This, after he told us all he was planning on sticking with the Bulldogs.

Just on the punch ups in footy theme, I was at the bar at the Kings Meadows on Saturday night after the Youngtown game and was talking to a bloke who congratulated us on beating South etc, and I said I wasn't all that confident going into the game 'cos we'd lost a whole bunch of the team to Hutchins.
He piped up and laughed and said he'd been at the school game and said 'well it was all for nothing 'cos there was a huge punch-up and the game got canned with two minutes to go'. No result apparently :p
That Lilydale mob carrying on reminds me of what Cygnet was like under Wayne Lamb in the late 90's & early 00's. Bunch of absolute d ickheads.
PS: Clarence should've known not go to Lloyds, that's one of the worst places to go to if you're a Southerner, there's some fair ol' space cadets in that place :o
Used to drink in the pub over the road on my travels up there a fair bit though.

He piped up and laughed and said he'd been at the school game and said 'well it was all for nothing 'cos there was a huge punch-up and the game got canned with two minutes to go'. No result apparently :p
There was a result with the game going to Hutchins, which puts St Pats out of the State Final. It was a fiery niggly game which led to the final melee, with both schools taking swift action on the main offenders.

I don't think it was reported that a Clarence player was king hit. It said Clarence players were involved in a brawl, well thats what read anyway. Were you involved, you seem to know a fair bit about what happened.

You're exactly right! Clarence players were involved in a brawl. A player was king hit and his mates stuck up for him. And no, I wasn't involved :)

Sounds like your just going on one side of the story, apparently the publican and bouncers have a different side!

Latest rumour I've heard doing the rounds is the issue of salary caps (this was spoken about at the match last night by people from at least five different club no less).
Rumour has it that a few clubs are about to get a tap on the door in relation to breaching salary caps in not only the TSL but the SFL as well.
The rumours going around suggest that Kingborough are allegedly in a bit of strife for being overly generous in payments and there's a lot of talk that one particular TSL club is being looked at (must say I was surprised at that one because I can think of one club that needs a good looking at before all others and that aint it).
It'll be interesting to see what goes on in relation to that lot. Who knows :confused:

I moved this from another thread:
Duff TV said:
As I cast my eye into the mystery ball I can see Hobart FC relocating to Nth Hobart oval in 2012.

Anything else anyone wants to know?
It'll be earlier than that mate, And it won't be at North Hobart...

I had a look at the new facility at Kingborough and I must say it looks fantastic.

Hobart FC is in strife and had better move quickly otherwise there is little doubt the pressure will be on.

Good players want to play on good grounds. It's a simple theory.

lol Kingborough. Won't even go close to winning the SFL grand final let alone one day playing in the TSL and having any success. Is their ground still the biggest piece of shit in Tasmania? Hobart will be fine.

I had a look at the new facility at Kingborough and I must say it looks fantastic.
I saw it on the news the other night. Looks like a good playing surface but the facilities?
What facilities? Are there going to be any?
Tassie's version of Casey Fields or that one in the WAFL that Peel Thunder play at (Arena Joondalup).
At least it's better than that disgrace they call Kingston Beach Oval, the Kingborough Council should hang their heads in shame over that ground.
Duff TV said:
Hobart FC is in strife and had better move quickly otherwise there is little doubt the pressure will be on.
Strife? In what regard? Not financially.
There is a problem with getting players to fill three teams yes, but I feel that this stuff-arseing about with the reserves is only exacerbating the whole thing, people dunno their arse from their elbow at the moment.
Most clubs are in the same boat a bit in that regard because bits and pieces are up in the air.
I tell ya, the biggest strife Hobart'll face - moreso than playing on a ground that won't get lights and that leading players don't like to play on - is being eaten away and infiltrated from within and losing its identity.
It's already been done over the past several years, it's a totally different club to ten years ago and it certainly doesn't have the same feel to it that it once did.

Hobart FC in strife?

• Won four out of their last five games
  • Had one player over the age of 25 playing in their latest win against 2nd place North Hobart
  • Have more mariners and state under 16 players involved in those programs than they have ever had
  • Richest club in the TSL, with the financials indicating that they are in an even better position than expected
  • A good coaching staff including the former Devils caretaker coach, and one of the best young coaches going around.
  • Interest already being shown by a number of good regional players to play with the HFC next year, including a number of juniors from a certain regional club that do not want to play at their affiliated state wide league club.

Obviously not everything is perfect at the club, with the performance and lack of numbers of the underage and 2’s being a highlight of this but in the last 5 weeks the underage has lost 9 players to the Hutchins school/Mariners (hopefully see them back either this week or in the next couple) and there has been a number of injuries to senior players which when they filter back through hopefully will make the 2’s more competitive.

Things can improve at board/administrative levels but that is probably the case at most clubs.

Hobart will not move to North Hobart from what I’m told it’s not even on the radar. They may look at playing a few games at Kingborough’s new facility over the next couple of years (as it is in there zone) but even that isn’t certain and will depend on a number of factors.

well did you hear about Luke Crane???? His coming back to Tassie from SANFL club Sturt to finish the year with his local club George Town. He will be playing statewide next year so which lonnie club will it be????? Who has the most coin... South i reckon he has a connection with chuggy!

Why just a Launy club? Hobart have a lazy 1/2 mill in the bank plus get some largess from AFL tas, admin costs or a car or somesuch I'm told!!

because he will be living in the north of the state.... Im pretty sure he wont travel to hobart and train old mate. He will be the best player in the state next year by a country mile!!!!

Very good player and probably should have been drafted except for his size. Another Ian Callinan like story really. Is he really going to play with George Town for the rest of the year?? Nobody will be able to stop him.

he is not coming to play in tas. fact. if he ever did come back which isnt out of the question, he would play with north where he is very good mates with some of there core players.

FACT. yes he is playing with George Town..... His father is ass coach there and his brother is playing there. he will be playing there in 2 weeks. so sorry to upset you bigboy! he wants to spend the rest of the year at his old stamping ground with old mates then he will play statewide next year. simple as that... He wont go to North! he went to school with o'sign yes, and is good mates with viney yes, but he prefer to play with chuggy. plus on a shit load of coin apparently they have lined him a job up and house and car. so he wont be playing with north big fella. George Town have been struggling this year but when he plays they will have the flag won.

well his brother doesnt play atm, cos of complications with his previous broken leg. yes he is very close to O'Sign and co, but never the less he aint coming back anytime soon. we'll just wait and see hey?

Well seems like nobody really knows the answer i guess. Anyone want to reveal there source of why he will or wont be coming back??