Rumours

• Thread starter Thread starter Benny_

Was mentioned on Adelaide radio this evening that Central District in the SANFL have signed a midfielder from Clarence who is apparently 'as good' as Ian Callinan???

Anyone got any names or heard anything themselves?

Was mentioned on Adelaide radio this evening that Central District in the SANFL have signed a midfielder from Clarence who is apparently 'as good' as Ian Callinan???

Anyone got any names or heard anything themselves?

Not anyone playing in the state as good as Callinan. Best small man in the country not on an AFL list.

Oh yeah, being a Central man myself, I couldn't agree more about Nutta...

Their loss is certainly our gain !!!

One name I have heard is Jackson O'Brien ???

How good is he ?

There are a few rumours floating round the north of the state:

Marjak Miar from South Launceston to Launceston

Geoff & Tim Mohr form Launceston/Werribee(?) to North Launceston

Mitch Thorpe to South Launceston in some type of development role for AFL TAS/South L'ton (if he isn't picked up again).
There also seams to be a few others heading to south.

Last of all Adam Derbyshire has signed at Launceston and will play.

Can anyone confirm these? As I said just rumours.

Sorry

Northhawker, I appologise for my "slightly" over the top remark.

Seems a few too many beers at the Granda got the better of me.

Beer and internet/bigfooty not a good mix.

Found this article from a mainland newspaper. It would appear Jason is going to play for a few clubs this year.
http://www.bordermail.com.au/news/local/news/general/milawa-secures-akermanis-comeback/1981800.aspx
Also found this today on Aker

An interstate newspaper has reported Akermanis has signed a one-game deal with country club Milawa, which is in the Ovens and King league.

No date has been set, but Milawa is hoping to have Akermanis available for a Sunday home match against arch rival Tarrawingee.

"We feel that the investment will raise the profile of our club, and of the Ovens and King Football League," new Milawa coach Luke Sims said

http://www.themercury.com.au/article/2010/11/02/183361_sport-news.html

He could always sign for 22 different teams to play 1 game...:p

I'm not expecting Aker to play for the Pies next season though, but it would be good if he does....but, unless the league changes the cap it might be a bit difficult.

Oh yeah, being a Central man myself, I couldn't agree more about Nutta...

Their loss is certainly our gain !!!

One name I have heard is Jackson O'Brien ???

How good is he ?

Any rumours in Adelaide about him maybe going onto a list? Every bit as good as Krakour who's going to Collingwood.

Nah, I haven't Big H, the talk seems to be that he has already had a few opportunities to train with AFL clubs and it would have happened by now if it was meant to be.

The last few seasons, he's had hammy issues from carrying some extra weight but after getting super fit and getting the body right, he has been sensational for the Dogs mate, it's a pleasure to watch him play.

Nutta is a top bloke off the field as well, AFL's loss is our gain !!!

Look forward to seeing how Jackson O'Brien goes with the Dogs next year.

Nah, I haven't Big H, the talk seems to be that he has already had a few opportunities to train with AFL clubs and it would have happened by now if it was meant to be.

The last few seasons, he's had hammy issues from carrying some extra weight but after getting super fit and getting the body right, he has been sensational for the Dogs mate, it's a pleasure to watch him play.

Nutta is a top bloke off the field as well, AFL's loss is our gain !!!

Look forward to seeing how Jackson O'Brien goes with the Dogs next year.

That's it, more mainland clubs ripping the guts out of Tassie footy. & what we get in return is SFA:eek:.

apparently at lauderdale training last night another strong turn out with 50 odd hopefuls and 7 new faces including mark cusick amoungst them..

Lauderdale won't be bottom 2. Cusick is a young player from Dodges with a bag of potential. He's got quite a few clubs chasing him.

LDale have had quite a few talented Dodges boys at training.

Ldale will finish bottom 2 or 3. I was told all the Dodges boys trained their and then hated it so left.

South Launny will finish below them and so will a club like Hobart.

Windy has some recruits lined up and a few other blokes will be coming off injury. I think they'll go alright...7-9 wins I am predicting.

Agree with you JS#35

hobart are rubbish, wouldnt surprise me if l'dale finished above them.
As for l'dale gaining recruits from dodges ferry, it will not help them one little bit!

Why wouldn't it help? Kane Waller will be a fantastic pick up for anyone in the TSL. He's likely to finish up at Lauderdale next season. Jack Siggins was a good get from Dodges too. There's several blokes from Shark Park who could come into the Lauderdale side to play a role.

it may help them against sides like south launy and hobart mate, the weaker teams of the TSL but lets be honest it wont help them one little bit against big clubs such as clarence,north hobart and launy.

True, but they need to upgrade on some of the blokes they've got now. Dodges have some players that would be in Lauderdales top 8-10 players, IMO.

LDale obviously need to recruit some quality players from other TSL clubs to improve. They have good juniors which will also help them in future.