News Russell Ebert diagnosed with leukemia

There was no better sight in footy than seeing Russell in full flight. Winning possession, brushing aside his opponents and leaving others in his wake as he sprinted away. He put the d in dynamic. And his trademark overhead handballs. He was an innovator as well.

That's the Russell I'll always remember.

Russell Ebert stole my pen.
it was the early 80's, at alberton, celebrating another premiership. my brother and i wanted to get some autographs but we didnt have a pen. so my dad lent us a gold plated engraved pen he had just received as a work gift with strict instructions not to lose it. we pushed through the crowd, got the great man's autograph and he didnt give the pen back. the crowd surged and the pen was gone. we couldnt get close to him for the rest of the night he was so popular.
But, we forgave him for the decades of joy he gave us, certainly the best player i have ever seen. People forget what a strong unit he was in his early playing days. very powerfully built with very strong legs. sad to see him looking so frail now.
Good luck to the GREAT MAN.

There was no better sight in footy than seeing Russell in full flight. Winning possession, brushing aside his opponents and leaving others in his wake as he sprinted away. He put the d in dynamic. And his trademark overhead handballs. He was an innovator as well.

857282-russell-ebert-breaks-away.jpg

Russell Ebert stole my pen.
it the early 80's, at alberton, celebrating another premiership. my brother and i wanted to get some autographs but we didnt have a pen. so my dad lent us a gold plated engraved pen he had just received as a work gift with strict instructions not to lose it. we pushed through the crowd, got the great man's autograph and he didnt give the pen back. the crowd surged and the pen was gone. we couldnt get close to him for the rest of the night he was so popular.
But, we forgave him for the decades of joy he gave us, certainly the best player i have ever seen. People forget what a strong unit he was in his early playing days. very powerfully built with very strong legs. sad to see him looking so frail now.
Good luck to the GREAT MAN.
I know I’m relying on my memory of the great man but I think he only suffered serious injuries in the last year of his playing career. The first serious injury being poked in the eye by an opponent’s finger - I think it cost him some matches.
Being a strong strapping country boy he was able to spend minimal time in the treatment/medical room.

I know I’m relying on my memory of the great man but I think he only suffered serious injuries in the last year of his playing career. The first serious injury being poked in the eye by an opponent’s finger - I think it cost him some matches.
Being a strong strapping country boy he was able to spend minimal time in the treatment/medical room.
1968 to 1978 he played 247 games in 11 seasons inc finals and preseason games so averaged 22 games a year.
1978 plays all 25 games for North as a FIFO footballer
1980-1985 25+27+26+19+28+20 games inc finals and preseason games. Bold years Port didn't play finals.

I think that poke in the eye was by Kevin Bartlett in one of those ye olde mid-season Escort Cup night matches.

I remember stories of Russell in later years at least getting a muscle strain and taking the ultra-sound machine home to self-administer physio so he would be right to play.

As I recall the commentators in the day called it the Hammer of Thor handball.

The umps called it a throw the first couple of times he used it, so he sat down with the umpiring director, asked what was the problem and made the adjustment necessary. Was never pinged for it again.

What an beautiful interview with the absolute gentleman that is Russell Ebert. Russell spoke with such grace and was so detailed and articulate with his recollections and feelings towards the Port Adelaide Football Club and its community of supporters.
His sporting talent asside, Russell truly is an outstanding person for which he has a genuine care in helping others not for personal recognition but because it's the right thing to do. Russell has inspired and will continue to inspire with his amazing perspective on life.

Loved my Dad taking me to Elizabeth oval as a kid and watching Ron Ellaway kicking out from fullback, aiming for the top of Dean Farnham's head.
Russ and Keith Spencer took turns taking hangers sitting on Dean's shoulder.

Another memory is watching a state game on tv. Think it was played in Tassie? The WA umpire Don Blue twice pinged Russ for "in the back" after taking two species on top of the pack near the grandstand wing.

Idiot ump.

Tried to find video of that match but can't.
Maybe my memory is not as good as I thought :rolleyes: :think:

Reggie Beaufoy as well?

On SM-G920I using BigFooty.com mobile app

If the date on Ford's pic of 1971 is correct it can't be Reg Beaufoy because he retired in 1968, plus from memory he was a man mountain and I reckon a fair bit bigger than the bloke in the pic.
My guess is it could be Rod Davies, but he didn't come to the club until 1972.
Another possibility is Alex Hryhorec but he didn't play league for the Maggies until 1974.

It appears to be a game against the peckers and the player on the left looks like it could be Lindsay Heaven, but I don't think he played before the mid 1970's.

He was so strong through the core, his balance and composure over the ball was amazing, he never lost his footing, never fell over in the contest.
younger supporters who never saw him play should watch his highlight reel, his running and bouncing at full pace was a sight to behold. his pin point field passes, amazing accuracy on goal. His marking. he was the complete package, the perfect footballer.
true CHAMPION on and off the field.

Serious question to a biased audience, I feel the oldies in the media think Barry Robran was better. Who was the better player for those that can be impartial?

In addition to the official Port email, I've been sent that video many times, from family and friends. Heck even my ex-wife sent it to me. They know my feelings

But I have a confession to make. I have not watched it. I just can't. Not yet.

That man and what he has meant to me, my family and my club for all my life is as important to me as my first...kiss, my first car, my first home. But on seeing the picture that accompanies it I immediately understood the importance of that video, not just to me but to all true believers.

I need to find myself in the right place and the right frame of mind to give it the time and the energy it deserves to really listen to what Russ has to say and to reflect on how great this brave and selfless man has been to me and my brothers and sisters of the PAFC community.

Serious question to a biased audience, I feel the oldies in the media think Barry Robran was better. Who was the better player for those that can be impartial?

That's a Sophie's Choice kinda question.

Both had and still have a unique blend of courageous brilliance and humble selflessness that is rare of elite sports persons.

They share the same pedestal of greatness in the history of the SANFL. To choose one above the other would be demeaning to both.

The late Natman who saw all of Barrie's career as well as Russell's wrote the following, which made a big impression when I read it in Power freak 2008 Natural Ability vs Hard Work thread 8.5 years ago.