Ryan Crowley

Crowley is a thug who doesn't play within the rules, but he isn't going away anytime soon.

Considering he is a limited athlete, players should be looking to expose his weaknesses.
Dangerfield was on the right track, take him forward into deep waters and drown him.

If I was Mitchell I'd either do that or just king hit him, make it a good one.
Mitchell knows the importance of Grand Finals and the Hawks need to do all they can to win.

So, which rules does Crowley break? You seem to be utterly certain that he's breaking them, so you should have no problem identifying those rules that get broken.

You might want to read his opponents comments first though as most will readily state that he plays firmly within the rules. Most, with the exception of a couple of known sooks.

Another observation, you get all hot and bothered because 'Crowley plays outside the rules' yet you advocate 'king hitting' him. I'm assuming this is 'king hitting' within the rules, right? It seems a little hypocritical that your solution to an effective tagger is a cowardly response that is generally treated with disdain by most supporters of the game

Just don't engage him. Run off him and don't stop running. You'll blow him up by quarter time.

This is farcical.

All of his opponents acknowledge he is an elite runner who can run with any opponent all day. If you try to 'blow him up' you'll be handing him a cheap win as he will outlast almost all opponents.

You should try watching him instead of getting all your information from ignorant BF heroes.

Woah there is some whingey dockers fans... Bit different when the shoe is on the other foot hey?

I do not advocate violence against Crowley, his job is to do what he does and he does it well and he is the best if not close to the best in the comp at it. I do however, advocate violence against Ballantyne.

Woah there is some whingey dockers fans... Bit different when the shoe is on the other foot hey?

I do not advocate violence against Crowley, his job is to do what he does and he does it well and he is the best if not close to the best in the comp at it. I do however, advocate violence against Ballantyne.

We learn from the best mate :)

PS You wish you had Ballas...

Ahh yes, nothing quite like comparing players from different eras that played entirely different positions :rolleyes:

Considering much of the talk in here is about how in the 'good old days' someone would have snotted Crowley for daring to scrag his man, I'd say it's quite relevant.

How many times did SOS leave the field on a stretcher thanks to all his scragging?

Here's the thing the many dumb bogans on this website don't get. If the old rules of football applied Crowley wouldn't be the one getting king hit or cleaned up off the ball. He also wouldn't waste his time running 15km in a game following another bloke around.

No, instead he'd be the player somewhere on the scale between Jim O'Dea, Alastair Clarkson, Mark Yeates, Dean Wallis and John Worsfold.

Considering much of the talk in here is about how in the 'good old days' someone would have snotted Crowley for daring to scrag his man, I'd say it's quite relevant.

How many times did SOS leave the field on a stretcher thanks to all his scragging?
Again, completely different position and he wasn't the only defender doing it in the league.

I have no issue with Crowley whatsoever but trying to compare him to SOS is just laughable in every sense.

Again, completely different position and he wasn't the only defender doing it in the league.

And Crowley is? Who's that guy I've seen hanging off Stephen Hill every week since he was 19 years old?

The positions aren't that different. Crowley is a negating defender who happens to play on midfielders.

The fact people are advocating violence just proves how scared Hawthorn really are...
This. For Hawthorns sake I hope their players are not as scared of Crowley as their fans are because they advocating not playing footy and fighting in a way that only the worst kind of coward would do.
King hitting crowley would be about as brave as waitin till cyril, bruest, hill hodge and buddy were at the bottom of packs and breaking thier arms, hand or fingers by stomping on them. Jeez that would be brave!! A top way to win a gf.Maybe sandilands should sit on them while Pav chickenwings their arms til their shoulders pop out.

Or just maybe they should beat us fairly as we all know they have the ability to do.

Re violence, there's obviously no need to king hit him or anything. GFs are just more interesting because the player being tagged can actually respond in kind without worry of suspension.
King hitting is not in kind, nor is running through a player with the head down front on risking broken necks. Both these are no better than stomping someones head in a pack.

And Crowley is? Who's that guy I've seen hanging off Stephen Hill every week since he was 19 years old?

The positions aren't that different. Crowley is a negating defender who happens to play on midfielders.
Are you seriously trying to tell me that Crowley and Silvagni played similar roles? o_O

Freo fans should just accept that he won't be liked by opposition supporters. The guy goes out of his way to be the most antagonistic player in the modern age. Never stops chirping, grabbing, poking, prodding... I'm not saying these things are bad or illegal but nobody else does it like him. He's like a pantomime villain and if you're going to play like that, you're not going to be liked by anyone but your own supporters. I don't get why that's so hard to understand?

I wouldn't advocate king-hitting him but if he ever dared go for the ball in a pack (hah) I'd hope someone like Lewis or Mitchell or Hodge ran right through the middle of him with a severe shirt-front. Don't take the head, just make sure he earns his spot around the clearances.

Pretty sure we couldn't give a toss what opposition supporters think of Crowls. The issue is the tools who think it's necessary to advocate violence toward him just because he's so good at what he does.

It still appears that its always different for the Dockers supporters when the shoe is on the other foot...

Pretty sure we couldn't give a toss what opposition supporters think of Crowls. The issue is the tools who think it's necessary to advocate violence toward him just because he's so good at what he does.
That's my point though... "Man who dedicates career to getting under people's skins eventually gets under people's skins - Dockers SHOCKED. News at 11."

This thread is great. You can tell which posters are absolute f*ckwits. Any poster that states that Crowley
a. Crowley is a below average player with few skills
b. Crowley plays outside the rules and is a thug
Or
c. Crowley should be king hit behind play in the gf. ( maybe Freo should do that to every Hawthorn player; they are all dangerous)

is a moron with no ability to think for themselves and watch a game objectively. Nothing they have to say is worth reading.

Lock in C. Final answer.

King hitting is not in kind, nor is running through a player with the head down front on risking broken necks. Both these are no better than stomping someones head in a pack.

Hence why I said there's no need for it.

It's more about being able to throw a fist or an elbow back without worry when he's holding you at stoppages.
Can be a little bit easier to shake a tag in a GF.

That's my point though... "Man who dedicates career to getting under people's skins eventually gets under people's skins - Dockers SHOCKED. News at 11."

Actually, no. The issue this week has always been media personalities eg Luke Darcy saying Hawks players should run through him.

Ryan Crowley