Ryan Crowley

Surprised no one has mentioned it but they talked to Gaz about crowley last night on On The Couch. Basically said hes clean and likes to have a nice chat, talks to you like your best mates. Was saying stuff like "hows it going up there on the coast?'' and ''I think your doing a good job up there''.

Said he was great at playing angles and can run all day.

It's quite possible that he is only that way with Ablett and no-one else. Maybe he has worked out that being super-friendly and stroking Gaz's ego a little bit is the best way to put him off his game. I assume Crowley loves the mind games and has a very distinct plan for each opponent he is up against.

Surprised no one has mentioned it but they talked to Gaz about crowley last night on On The Couch. Basically said hes clean and likes to have a nice chat, talks to you like your best mates. Was saying stuff like "hows it going up there on the coast?'' and ''I think your doing a good job up there''.

Said he was great at playing angles and can run all day.

No one has mentioned it because it doesn't fit the antagonistic perception of Crowley everyone (the media and a token few sooky players) has already built up.

Because Crowley is the ONLY player to get into someone's face about missing a goal. Crowley is the only player who niggles and sledges. Isn't there always some sort of segment or interview with players about who the best sledgers are in the league? Sledging is part of the game as it is for every sport. Everyone here is a total sook and is acting as if Crowley is the only player who does these things.

Did I say Crowley is the only player to do these things? There are many who do. This is a Crowley thread and I made a comment about Crowley. I think he's a great player and I have no issue with him. I'm just glad that Swans players don't use the same tactics he does.

Kirk is as a good a tagger as there ever was and didn't engage in that stuff once.

Each to their own and good luck to Freo in the GF.

Did I say Crowley is the only player to do these things? There are many who do. This is a Crowley thread and I made a comment about Crowley. I think he's a great player and I have no issue with him. I'm just glad that Swans players don't use the same tactics he does.

Kirk is as a good a tagger as there ever was and didn't engage in that stuff once.

and yet kirk is the one who has been coaching him this year.

Great connection I had no idea until you just told me. I'm sure Crowley only started using said tactics when Kirk took over and told him he has to do it.
yep, pretty much. kirk's the master of the ninja whisper, that displaces the chi from the etheric body, so the physical body of the opponent is never settled. crowley thought he knew all about tagging beforehand, but kirk has tapped him into an awareness that is silent but everywhere. the apprentice has become the master.

It's quite possible that he is only that way with Ablett and no-one else. Maybe he has worked out that being super-friendly and stroking Gaz's ego a little bit is the best way to put him off his game. I assume Crowley loves the mind games and has a very distinct plan for each opponent he is up against.

Gazza definitely sounded like he was wrong footed by the way Crowley was talking to him. that part of the interview was actually hilarious.

Freo fans: Will he win the B+F again? Guessing he probably will

Crowley actually strung together a few poor games in the first half of the year that could hurt him, has been exceptional in the 2nd half
Think it might be Fyfe personally, even with his 2 week suspension

I hope Crowley is inside Hawthorn's heads as much as he is the media's (and bigfooty's).

The Media, AFL and clubs are already ensuring Crowley has already got in the head of every hawthorn player before the game. Crowley has already done most of his job before stepping onto the field this week, and he hasn't had to do anything. :D

He's at worst a cheeky shit, the amount of people making him out to be worse than a serial killer/Hamish McLachlan/Joseph Fritzl is pathetic. I can't remember a tagger that's ever incited more hatred and desire to maim.
Libba wasn't too popular for his last few seasons.

Actually he said that Selwood, or may have been Steve J, called him after they played on him and they were saying the same thing that he was chatting to them like they were best mates and they were like WTF I've never talked to him or caught up so why talk to me like that.
It was a good insight by Ablett and glad they talked to him about it. I have heard from people who have mates who know him and he is a genuinely nice guy and nothing like the perception a lot of people have of him.

He has a job to do and he is an A-grader at that job. There are a lot of other taggers out there that resort to the holding and blocking tactics as they are not up to his standards and they are the one's that annoy the footy public, I don't believe Crowley is one of them.

Toughen up princess.

His parents didn't like basil referring to his nasty streak.

LOL - what mean streak? I dare you to find one person that really knows Crowley off the footy field and thinks he has a mean streak.

Basil is a condescending knob, with no reason to be. He is an 100% eagles supporter and takes every opportunity to try to subtlely attack Freo - he even does it sub-consciously. Everyone in Perth knows that. But due to his work he has to put on the charade saying he wants Freo to do succeed - everyone knows he doesn't.

Basil loves his "lines" - another thing most of Perth know.

Toughen up princess.

Crowley cops heaps every game from opposition players trying to cut him out and prevent him limiting one of their best players - he's used to it, unlike some opposition club players that definitely act like princesses.

Exactly -if opposition players and fans can't take a bit of tagging they might want to stop sooking. He's great -I don't care how he does it-wish he played for us.

LOL - what mean streak? I dare you to find one person that really knows Crowley off the footy field and thinks he has a mean streak.

Basil is a condescending knob, with no reason to be. He is an 100% eagles supporter and takes every opportunity to try to subtlely attack Freo - he even does it sub-consciously. Everyone in Perth knows that. But due to his work he has to put on the charade saying he wants Freo to do succeed - everyone knows he doesn't.

Basil loves his "lines" - another thing most of Perth know.

See, you've reacted the same.

Don't for a minute think that he was referring to off field.

Yep we had Shane Heard in the 80s doing the same job as Crowley does. But Heard did it the quiet way. The silent stalker. These type of players are sent out to do one job, plus win the ball themselves.

Crowley has an ugly mug, has the classic looks of a dirty mongrel, is a smartarse and takes harassing an opponent to a new level. But I bet he spends an enormous amount of time sitting with coaches looking at footage of his opponents and prepares like every other player in the team who has a role to play.

Yep Liam Shiels does a similar quiet role - kept SJ and then Selwood quiet in the PF.

Ryan Crowley