2011 review

Senior games: 16
Dreamteam: 916
Supercoach: 974
Goals: 0
Club Best and Fairest: 6.5

6693866787_59a0b33977_z.jpg

Image (2012 preseason) courtesy of Mr Ripper

Pick No. 47 in the 2009 ND, having been an AA in the Under 18 Nationals in that year.

Listed at 184cm and 79kg in the Record.

Nickname: Rhino. For once a nickname that says it all.

Played 6 senior games in 2010, 7 in 2011, and 16 in 2012. So the trend is in the right direction.

Season 2012 began where Ryan left off, in the reserves at least, displaying superior form that culminated in his elevation in Round 3, subsequent to which, after a bit of to and froing, he played every senior game from Round 12.

To this observer, Harwood's 2012 season was defined by his remake as a HBF. Indeed, I can clearly recall one game [forget which to be honest, but it may well have been his first in this new role] where I had to refer to my Record to identify who this bloke actually was, so unlike his previous persona was he. Bursting quickly and forcefully out of the backline, running hard, running off his man when necessary, delivering with some precison, confident. not just banging away. This was a side to Harwood that had not been at all evident beforehand, at least not to me, even with my Tassie goggles on. A bit of a revelation really, certainly kicking and pace-wise. On the other hand, let's be realistic, a Daniel Rich he ain't, but even so, a man's gotta know his limitations, and that's fine by me.

Harwood's opportunity to establish himself in a new role as a defender was probably afforded by Mitch Golby's long-term injury, and so therefore he might be seen as only warming Mitch's seat. Even if this is the case, Ryan has opened up new possibilities for himself, a new dimension for which the coaches are to be congratulated as I for one never once considered the backline as even a remote chance. Maybe this is down to Harvey's influence as surely Ryan is a man after Harvey's heart, playing style-wise.

Prior to Harwood's remake, his role had been limited almost solely to bursts of inside grunt, and inside grunt alone. Not much finesse there, and probably none required really, and at least you knew what you were getting. Bore in, head over the pill no matter the consequences, mostly handball out. I must admit to occasional thoughts of "cannon fodder" and even to some feelings that Ryan might be being unfairly shortchanged- know what I mean? Maybe not then, but we've moved on at any rate.

To expand on this "cannon fodder" thought [such as it is], prior to Harwood's relocation, in my mind [even allowing for my ever-Tassie focus] it would probably be fair to say that he had not fully cut the deal as a cemented-in senior player, even though his reserves performances clearly showed that he was a cut above at this level.

If I might be permitted a somewhat oblique comparison, Harwood is a bit like Beams in the sense that it wasn't until well into the season that the penny dropped, ability-wise, but again like Beams, it seems times have changed and both may well be destined for greater things. In my mind, certainly in Beam's case. But I digress.

Harwood's season highlights were a career high 29 disposals v the Demons in Round 14, a performance that placed him as a HBF'er in the AFL Team of the Week. Ryan also tallied 22 disposals in our Round 15 loss to the Swans- seriously impressive stats. A rich vein of form which although not fully maintained thereafter meant that Ryan was there and abouts at senior level for the rest of the season.

It remains to be seen whether Harwood can build on a good year, as he has in previous seasons. He will need to make every 2013 post a winner, as not only will be up against a returning Golby and possibly McGrath [if rumours prove untrue] and he will also have pressure from, inter alia: Clarke, Docherty, Michael [my personal pick], Wrigley, and not forgetting Yeo who will have a full preseason under the belt to develop his slender frame. Still- Ryan is there and they [Yeo excepted] ain't.

My hunch is that a more mature Harwood, displaying a broader and more diverse range of skill-sets, will make himself a solid team member of a slowly maturing team.

Great write up. I agree entirely except that I think that Golby performed as well if not better until he was injured as Harwood. I think it would be brilliant to have them as hbf on opposite wings and release Hanley and Mcgrath up the ground.

Docherty would have to be the biggest threat to Harwood next year...Id expect McGrath to be kept in the forward line, as he should rightfully be.

Expecting Doc to replace Polkinghorne in the middle. He has shown signs late this season in reserves, when played in the middle. Or Vossy would do the usual and make this board go on a melt down. In Doc, out Beams. :)

Harwood has found his place in the back line. Hopefully they let him settle.

EDIT: throwing the harwood line to make the post relevant. realised after posting that it was wrong thread :p

Expecting Doc to replace Polkinghorne in the middle. He has shown signs late this season in reserves, when played in the middle. Or Vossy would do the usual and make this board go on a melt down. In Doc, out Beams. :)

Harwood has found his place in the back line. Hopefully they let him settle.

EDIT: throwing the harwood line to make the post relevant. realised after posting that it was wrong thread :p
How many times must it be said Post is not relevant! :D

Great write up by the way Tassie, really enjoyed it.
On another Harwood note. Am I the only one that thinks there is a likeness between Kerr and Harwood from the photo featured in the article with Kerr entitled Rob Kerr Q&A.
(So the photo doesnt transfer with the article) check it out on the lions website.

Great write up. I agree entirely except that I think that Golby performed as well if not better until he was injured as Harwood. I think it would be brilliant to have them as hbf on opposite wings and release Hanley and Mcgrath up the ground.

I thought Harwood's best was better than Golby's best, but Golby was more consistent. Harwood fell away a bit, late in the season, which took a bit of the shine off the progress he had made.

Brisbane Lion Ryan Harwood to appear in court
April 10, 2013
Harry Brumpton

BRISBANE Lions player Ryan Harwood is due to appear in a Brisbane magistrates court next week after he was allegedly caught driving with a suspended licence.

The 21-year-old from Camp Hill was intercepted by police on March 24 at Yeronga.

The South-East Advertiser is waiting for a response from the Lions media department.

It is understood Harwood told police he was not aware his licence was suspended.

Syd Guilford Trophy Winner Round 3: Ryan Harwood
Shae Killey

Ex-Tasmanian Ryan Harwood looks set to become an important part of the Lions' 2013 midfield brigade after earning a round three Syd Guildford nomination.
Harwood has played 29 games for the Brisbane Lions, grew up playing for Tasmanian club Glenorchy and represented his State in the U18 National Championships in 2010.
“I think he’s really come along in the last month across half back and has shown his ability to shut down, as well as create of half-back,” Harding said.
“His competitiveness, hardness at the footy and tackling pressure with the footy is a real asset of his.”

92f5a9021c.jpg

Recall a conversation I once had years ago with a Tasmanian welder, in the front bar of the Darwin Hotel [commonly known as the Zoo bar for reasons a genteel person such as myself couldn't possibly delve into].

His assertion, which I have never felt any reason to challenge, is that having worked all over the country and meeting all shapes and sizes: Tasmanians are always Tasmanians, and Queenslanders are always Queenslanders.

Ryan most definitely fits this definition, from my personal experience.

Imaginary words on a map.

I tend to find people who define themselves primarily by where they evacuated their mother have little else of interest to talk about.

Unless they are born in Timbuktu or the fjords of Scandinavia or something... worst part of living in London was being on the end of a "Oh man, you're from Brisbane!!!! Me too! I went to BBC. What school did you go to...." conversation.

Anyway, would love to see Rhino in the seniors this week but that driving transgression may put paid to that.

I tend to find people who define themselves primarily by where they evacuated their mother have little else of interest to talk about.

Unless they are born in Timbuktu or the fjords of Scandinavia or something... worst part of living in London was being on the end of a "Oh man, you're from Brisbane!!!! Me too! I went to BBC. What school did you go to...." conversation.

Anyway, would love to see Rhino in the seniors this week but that driving transgression may put paid to that.

Does Harwood have the engine, mental capacity, tackling ability to replace Raines as our tagger?

Voss doesn't see Harwood as a midfielder full stop. If he plays, it will be down back.

Haha, I alllllways annoy Queenslanders about stuff like this. They seem very picky about being asked questions about it, like it's some sort of secret shame (it's especially fun when they're from Brisbane, because I grew up on the Sunny Coast and basically never went there so I'm extra annoying). Just found it funny you posted that as it seems to be a recurring thing with Brisbaneites.

On topic, I wonder if Voss will punish him for the transgression like you said. It's nothing serious but you still don't want to hear a player is fronting up to court. I also think our backline is pretty settled in terms of blokes Harwood's size, and like you said Voss definitely sees him as a defender.

We did recruit him as an inside mid didn't we? Maybe we could see bursts later on in his career, but he was performing his role very admirably so I'm happy to keep him as a backman and think of him as such permanently.

How is Harwood's tank in general? I haven't seen him have many issues running out games, but I haven't seen any signs of anything extraordinary either. Anybody know more?

Ryan Harwood Statement

The Brisbane Lions can confirm Ryan Harwood will appear in the Brisbane Magistrates Court next week after being fined by Queensland Police for driving with a suspended license.

Harwood, 21, informed the Club that he was not aware his license had been suspended at the time. He has since had his license reinstated.

The Club’s Behavioural and Standards Committee has dealt with the matter internally.

As the matter is now before the Courts the Club will not be making any further comment on the matter.

Strange that it was only cancelled for a short time then, which may lend credence to the fact he was unaware it was suspended? Hopefully it is cleared up quickly.

Ryan Harwood Statement

Strange that it was only cancelled for a short time then, which may lend credence to the fact he was unaware it was suspended? Hopefully it is cleared up quickly.

Mandatory 30 day cancellation after the magistrates court appearance. It's considered a hooning offence though, so you are stuck on a probationary licence for 12 months after.

Delisted Ryan Harwood (2009-2017)