Ryan Murphy Rumour

• Thread starter Thread starter pistol17

My favorite journalist in the whole world reckons Murphy will be used as a way to get Farren Ray from the Doggies to the Dockers. My guess would be a straight swap. Fremantle think Ray would benefit alot playing at Subiaco Oval and will improve over time and Ray wants a move away from the Bullies if Fremantle can offer him a more longer term contract. Its probably rubbish but may aswell pass it on.

Fair deal I reckon.

For the kind of players we need its a good deal. Subi suits runners. 14 midfielders, 2 rucks, 3 key backs and 3 key forwards.

McPhee is what we don't need. Panics under pressure and is undisciplined. We've got plenty of those types as it is.

Fair deal I reckon.

For the kind of players we need its a good deal. Subi suits runners. 14 midfielders, 2 rucks, 3 key backs and 3 key forwards.

McPhee is what we don't need. Panics under pressure and is undisciplined. We've got plenty of those types as it is.

It came from a H.A.C.K journalist though. Might of got this right though we will wait and see. It does make sense when you step back and look at it. Ray would suit your team I feel.

Wouldn't it be funny if the journalist got it from this thread. Creating our own snowball.

Too specific for Bigfooty mumbo jumbo. Its never been a secret that Fremantle like and want Farren Ray though. The chase has been on for a while now. With Murph + the salary he would leave behind they may now have the bait

Farren Ray isn't even in the bulldogs best 22 at present. A full forward playing in th WAFL is worth more than an outside receiver playing VFL IMO.

If they want Charlie Murphy they'll have to part with their first round pick, we don't want Ray unless he comes cheaply.

Please come to Melbourne Ryan.
What would Freo realistically want for him?
Benny Holland will probably retire soon and Murphy would be an ideal replacement. I think he is more talented than Holland. whether you can get that out of him.

What I'd like is Brent Maloney. He's hardly been available for Melbourne. We've had a lot of success with OP injuries. If we could get him right he'd be ideal for us.

There is also the Mathew Moody rumour. Would we want both?

Farren Ray would have to improve a lot to make our 22. He's one of those players like we have already, where as the team has got better, he doesn't and loses his place. We have Walker and Cook like that.

I'd still rather like IP's idea of targetting Ash McGrath.

And if Essendon want Murphy badly enough we'll take Jetta. Seeing the two mates -- Collard and Jetta -- under the Wiz's wing has a touch of romance about it.

Farren Ray isn't even in the bulldogs best 22 at present. A full forward playing in th WAFL is worth more than an outside receiver playing VFL IMO.

If they want Charlie Murphy they'll have to part with their first round pick, we don't want Ray unless he comes cheaply.
The bullies have heaps of runners, we have heaps of KPP's.

That is why the respective players are in the VFL/WAFL.

I think with their current lists Freo and the bulldogs could trade 4 players each and make both sides better.

I think Ray would be in your best 22. Problem is though apparantly he wants a long term deal (something like 3 or 4 years). Itd be interesting to see how this plays out

The bullies have heaps of runners, we have heaps of KPP's.

That is why the respective players are in the VFL/WAFL.

I think with their current lists Freo and the bulldogs could trade 4 players each and make both sides better.

I'd rather a draft pick and select the best available midfielder than pick up Ray, who is handy but will never be a match winner.

Murphy for Ray is much more likely to bite us on the bum than the bulldogs. Ray will probably go on to become a 150+ game run of the mill midfielder, but Murphy has the potential to be a regular 50+ goal kicker.

Over twelve seasons the Fremantle Footy Club has shown that trading for the quick fix doesn't work. Forget recruiting experienced players, load up in the draft like we should have last year.

I'd rather a draft pick and select the best available midfielder than pick up Ray, who is handy but will never be a match winner.

Murphy for Ray is much more likely to bite us on the bum than the bulldogs. Ray will probably go on to become a 150+ game run of the mill midfielder, but Murphy has the potential to be a regular 50+ goal kicker.

Over twelve seasons the Fremantle Footy Club has shown that trading for the quick fix doesn't work. Forget recruiting experienced players, load up in the draft like we should have last year.

In any draft, how many players do you think;
• become classed as "match winners"
• play 150+ games

- 5, most from the first round
- 15-20

And most of those 5 matchwinners would come from the top 10 picks. Sounds to me like Ray would be a reasonable return for Murphy rather than the lottery of a mid-late first rounder. I run hot and cold about Ray. Will he be another Walker? In the end I suspect so. His disposal seems a bit better. But I have not been overwhelmed with Murphy yet either.

Murphy has a lot more upside. Ray might not get any better than he is now, where as Murphy is still 3 or 4 years from his best footy. Murphy was very good in the second half of last season until he got injured (don't have the stats but he would have kicked about 20 goals in a 7-8 week stretch), but like most 21 year old key forwards consistency is an issue.

It will be a massive decision for the club to choose between Murphy and Campbell if they decide to get rid of one of them for a midfielder. Murphy will probably go home if he spends most of this year and next at the bulldogs, but IMO Murphy will be better than Campbell. Kiwi has a bit of Leigh Brown about him, who is a good handy player but is very rarely a match winner. Unfortunately with the benefit of hindsight we should have loaded up in the draft last year, which would have prevented us considering making a decision between Campbell and Murphy.

Unfortunately with the benefit of hindsight we should have loaded up in the draft last year, which would have prevented us considering making a decision between Campbell and Murphy.

After having bitten my tounge for so long I hate to come into this now but there's no hindsight needed about that decision.

At the time even blind fredy was saying "don't Freo already have enough key forwards and don't they need more pacy mids?"

After having bitten my tounge for so long I hate to come into this now but there's no hindsight needed about that decision.

At the time even blind fredy was saying "don't Freo already have enough key forwards and don't they need more pacy mids?"

We have the same midfield as the one that finished 3rd after 22 rounds last year, the only difference is that we have a fit Hasleby this year. The problem isn't that we lack pace, it is that for whatever reason many of our players aren't performing to the level that the did in the second half of 2006.

Because they are older and slower, the comp has moved on pace and running wise and our young mids (do we really have any) have not come on.