Ryan Murphy

• Thread starter Thread starter rooboy_88

Unless we have 2 picks in the top 8 then that will not happen. Really needed them to "tank" the carnival.

Well chances are we will have one top 8 which i think will get us Palmer, not sure it will be early enough to get Masten though.

http://www.prowess.com.au/pro-stats/WAFL/reports/WAFLL74.html

Round 15 of the WAFL (last game)

15 Kicks, 3 Handballs, 6 Marks, 6 Inside 50's, 1 Goal 1 Behind

Didnt see the whole game but looks like he spent more time up the ground than inside the forward 50, especially with 6 inside 50's to his name.

Maybe he wasnt as bad as everyone thinks, just because he didnt kick a bag of goals.

any1s thoughts on matty riggio from north.

a local lad who is rumoured to want to come home.

My thoughts are we already have Drum and Ibbotson who we took higher up in the same draft that currently aren't in our best 22, what has Riggio shown that would suggest he has more ability than either of these guys? What about Duffield, Dunn, Gilmore and Foster would he be better than these guys?

More to the point would it be more valuable having Ryan Murphy in our squad, who at his best is definately in our 22, or Matt Riggio who at his best possibly is in our 22...

My thoughts are we already have Drum and Ibbotson who we took higher up in the same draft that currently aren't in our best 22, what has Riggio shown that would suggest he has more ability than either of these guys? What about Duffield, Dunn, Gilmore and Foster would he be better than these guys?

More to the point would it be more valuable having Ryan Murphy in our squad, who at his best is definately in our 22, or Matt Riggio who at his best possibly is in our 22...

My main motivation for floating matty riggio's name is that he isnt happy in Melbourne and wants to come home to perth. Being unhappy can impact on his motivation as he isnt really looking interested.

A chance 2 come back to perth could be great for the young lad.

My main motivation for floating matty riggio's name is that he isnt happy in Melbourne and wants to come home to perth. Being unhappy can impact on his motivation as he isnt really looking interested.

A chance 2 come back to perth could be great for the young lad.

Yeah i agree it could be good for him, i guess i'm just more of a glass is half empty kind of guy when it comes to freo and trade talk.

nah ur right mate.

I just think his da kinda of player we need at north and young matty was a highly rated kid who was pick 28 at 17.

Will have to wait and see.

nah ur right mate.

I just think his da kinda of player we need at north and young matty was a highly rated kid who was pick 28 at 17.

Will have to wait and see.

I'd be passing. Murphy is a very very talented KPP who has a bit of an attitude problem (hopefully only a maturity thing). He is worth a lot more than a midfielder who is yet to prove anything. Freo is not just here to let the poor WA boys who don't like the cold in Melbourne play at home - if they are good enough we may be interested, but unless they are very good players, it's irrelevant where they come from.

Murphy needs to be played more than one week at a time. Surely his confidence would drop after coming up for a week then back to the WAFL for 3 or 4 then back up... Like Ibbo when he got a gig, would have been lucky to play a quarter of footy.

looked awesome at the end of last year reliable shot on goal better than that Tarrant dud.

Murphy needs to be played more than one week at a time. Surely his confidence would drop after coming up for a week then back to the WAFL for 3 or 4 then back up... Like Ibbo when he got a gig, would have been lucky to play a quarter of footy.

After his pre season and round one shocker he is lucky he is playing at all this year.

At the start of the year it was clear that he was going to be a permanent fixture in the forward line providing he took the opportunity, but he failed to fire at all. At WAFL level he did well when Farmer kept giving him the ball, for short periods of games, such as the last quarter in the derby, but has not played consistently well at AFL level. he still needs to prove himself.

No he didn't. His last few games, especially the finals, were ordinary.

Missed a month before finals with that injury though. Did his bit, against melbourne anyway.

What Murphy needs to do is become a relaible forward who either gets significant possesions as Tarrant does, or doesn't get heaps of possesions, but averages at least 2 goals a game.

I think Taz may actually be quite helpful to Murph. Taz's strength is his ball winning ability and field kicking. Murph's strength is kicking the ball straight through the big sticks - it's getting the ball that is his problem. If Taz isn't star-struck like the rest of the team and can move past Pav and his three opponents, we may see the beginning of a beautiful relationship - I really think these two can work together well if they play to their strengths.

I recently meet ryan murphy. came to victoria and presented me my 100 game medallion. great bloke, was having shots from 50 all over the joint missed 1/15 couldnt believe it. Should be in your starting 22.

He should be, problem is he doesnt deserve to be based on how he's performed this year.