Ryan Murphy!!

• Thread starter Thread starter The Birch

I know i'm not the only one who thinks spud is carrying a bit. He needs to get a bit streamline.

I agree with the idea of putting him at FF and leave him there. Otherwise he is a log hooked on snag.

It's been tickling my mind that Spud is starting to remind me of someone...and it just clicked.

Daniel Schell :(

That's way harsh dude. Don't let the Bulldogs hear you saying that.

I'm impressed that the club even managed to get a 4th round draft pick when we offloaded Schell to Adelaide. I would've been happy with a dry cleaning coupon and some fake opera tickets printed on crackers.

At one stage he was running next to harvey running across the ground about sixty out and just let him go,Harvey got the handball and ran free through the midfield.Why would you run with someone and let them go when it is clear they are running to create a option for the ball carrier.
Whether we should trade him would depend on his potential and the offers given.Don't forget Harvey(or whoever)will be different in the way things are done so it could be good for him

I can understand that Murphy is out of form, that happens to all players especially young ones. Its the fact that he isnt putting in any second efforts, chasing, shepards or tackels. In my opinion I dont think we will ever see him put on the Dockers jumper again.

Its funny hearing people say he won't go for a 1st round. He wasn't drafted that long ago, and he was a 1st rounder.

He's only 21 years of age and has shown heaps of potential as a key forward. Should easily get a 1st rounder.

I agree he is easily worth a first round draft pick. He will probably be a gun if he goes to the Bulldogs, then people will give the club shit for letting him go.

st kilda gave up a first rd pick for fergus watts a couple of years ago and he had only played one game at that stage

i could see us getting a pick in the 10 -15 range

Its funny hearing people say he won't go for a 1st round. He wasn't drafted that long ago, and he was a 1st rounder.

He's only 21 years of age and has shown heaps of potential as a key forward. Should easily get a 1st rounder.

I agree with you that Murphy is worth a first round pick, but that doesn't mean we'll get one. Polak was worth a first round pick but we didn't get one.

If Murphy's going to be traded it will be to a Victorian club.

Geelong have plenty of young tall forward options.
Richmond are desperate for talls but won't trade pick one or two for Murphy. If we do trade Murphy for a pick it could be to the tigers for pick 18.
Carlton have a lot of young tall options and won't trade a pick in the top 5.
Collingwood probably wouldn't be keen.
Melbourne won't trade a top 5 pick even though they need a replacement for Neitz, Miller and Holland.
Bulldogs are a possibility, but their first choice will probably be around 7 or 8, I doubt they'd part with that for Murphy.
Essendon's talls are aging but I can't see them parting with a first rounder for Murphy.
Kangaroo's have Thompson coming back next year.
Hawthorn have Franklin and Roughead.
St Kilda have Gehrig, Riewoldt and Kosi.

I've gone right off the Murphy for Ray idea that is being talked about. On the Bulldogs board there are a couple of threads about how they need a better midfield, and also about Ray saying how he's too small (weight-wise), not hard enough and makes too many bad decisions. Doesn't sound like someone we need.

They are also after a KPP. I don't think we'll get a first rounder for Murphy in the top 10 - he hasn't shown enough yet. Yes St Kilda gave up a first rounder for Fergus Watts, but his father works at the club, so there's probably more to the story.

I think we'll end up 12th and our first round pick is likely to be #6 (If Essendon beat Richmond - if they don't, we'll end up 11th with pick #7). The Dogs have tough games against Hawthorn and North and if they lose both they will end up 13th with pick #5. I would say we should package our second rounder (#23) + Murphy for their pick 5. They might go for that, because even though it means giving up their first rounder, they don't lose out completely as they will have two high second round picks. They need a KP forward - we have an abundance...

If we could get picks 5 and 6 we might just snare two decent midfielders.

We'd then have picks #39 and #55 as well, plus a 4-5 rookie spots to cover other needs / a project player or two + maybe a mature aged rookie back up ruckman...

I've gone right off the Murphy for Ray idea that is being talked about. On the Bulldogs board there are a couple of threads about how they need a better midfield, and also about Ray saying how he's too small (weight-wise), not hard enough and makes too many bad decisions. Doesn't sound like someone we need.

I think we'll end up 12th and our first round pick is likely to be #6 (If Essendon beat Richmond - if they don't, we'll end up 11th with pick #7). The Dogs have tough games against Hawthorn and North and if they lose both they will end up 13th with pick #5. I would say we should package our second rounder (#23) + Murphy for their pick 5. They might go for that, because even though it means giving up their first rounder, they don't lose out completely as they will have two high second round picks. They need a KP forward - we have an abundance...

If we could get picks 5 and 6 we might just snare two decent midfielders.

We'd then have picks #39 and #55 as well, plus a 4-5 rookie spots to cover other needs / a project player or two + maybe a mature aged rookie back up ruckman...

Agree with you on Ray, he looks a handy player but I can't see him turning into someone who would consistently finish top ten in the B&F. In 2 years time a Murphy for Ray trade would certainly look better from a bulldogs point of view.

I reckon you have your purple glasses on with that trade IP, looks like a terrible deal for the bulldogs. I reckon our best hope is pick 18 from the tigers for Murphy, can't see anyone else parting with a top 20 selection. Maybe the bulldogs could trade for another 2nd rounder, giving us pick 22 and another in the top 30.

From your list dom, I can see Bulldogs, St kilda, Melbourne and the Roos all being potentially interested. How the negotiation for suitable draft picks happens is a secondary thing. If Melbourne want him they may trade for a slightly lower draft pick and a player for their high draft pick, then pass on that draft pick to us. St kilda will need to replace Gehrig very soon, and neither Reiwoldt or Koz (who looks better out of the forward line) are reliable shots on goal. Thompson will come back, but at the moment Brown is getting a game, and looks like he shouldn't. I think their talls are average. And of course the Bulldogs would be crazy not to trade for tall forwards.

Murphy is in bad form at the moment.
But im one to back him and say that we should keep him.
If other player keep looking for Pavlich and Tarrent what chance does he have.
He has to lead up to the fifty and beyond just to get a possesion.
There was a play against Stk were a player passes the ball to a four on one contest to Pav when Murphy was in the clear right in front of goal 35m out. Im sorry to say that our Midfielders always look for Pavlich and Tarrent when they are in the fifty and are in a 2-1 contest. Simply stupid.
Murphy shouldnt have lead pass the 40m mark to get the ball. Thats why we have CHF's in the team to lead beyond 40m.
Leave Murphy one out in the goal square to the 25m mark and pass to him. Like Freo did in 06 and then the results will start to happen. But if the midfielders alway look for Pav&Taz then Murphy simply doesnt have a chance.

Again most people understand that he is in a form slump and yes he probably doesnt get the delivery that he should but its the fact that he isnt trying that is pissing people off. I dont think I have seen one good defensive effort from Murphy all year, the one time he could have he ran past the ball and got suspended. Tarrant was in a bit of a funk for a while but he would chase 50m just to help out. Murphy has no heart.

don't bowl there - you seem to have an almost personal hatred of the guy (he's in your sig :rolleyes:)

He should definitely be dropped on his current form, and possibly considered as a trade option (if the deal is right), but what has he done to you, seriously? Other than lost all semblance of form and started wandering around the field like a lost soul?:p

don't bowl there - you seem to have an almost personal hatred of the guy (he's in your sig :rolleyes:)

He should definitely be dropped on his current form, and possibly considered as a trade option (if the deal is right), but what has he done to you, seriously? Other than lost all semblance of form and started wandering around the field like a lost soul?:p

He has the worst attitude on the field I have seen from an AFL player. Thats my only problem with him, wouldnt care if he was playing poor but looked like he wanted to be there.

Well, people say the same about Mundy (that he looks disinterested). I have been angry will Murphy too of late, so we are in agreement about that.

But the nagging thought in my mind is that it was less than twelve months ago that Murphy was our most useful forward in our ONE AND ONLY finals win.:) He obviously has talent.

I'm just sick of us letting players go for less than their full value - only for them to star at another club. I have a feeling that he would kick 50+ goals at the Bulldogs.:mad:

Well, people say the same about Mundy (that he looks disinterested). I have been angry will Murphy too of late, so we are in agreement about that.

But the nagging thought in my mind is that it was less than twelve months ago that Murphy was our most useful forward in our ONE AND ONLY finals win.:) He obviously has talent.

I'm just sick of us letting players go for less than their full value - only for them to star at another club. I have a feeling that he would kick 50+ goals at the Bulldogs.:mad:

Mundy is one of those players that looks in second gear, he is the Mark Waugh of our team.

I have no doubt that Murphy will star for a team like the Doggies but there is no point keeping him if he doesnt try. Surely these last two weeks of the season we will see a different Ryan Murphy. Hope he can add to his 1 tackle this year.

Murphy is from Victoria, right?:confused:

Has he ever said or intimated that he actually wants out? Or are people just assuming that this is so?

Murphy is from Victoria, right?:confused:

Has he ever said or intimated that he actually wants out? Or are people just assuming that this is so?

Smokey McPhee and Leroy Brown were contracted and wanted to stay, but we traded them. The fact that Murphy is Victorian means that there is a greater likelyhood of a Melbourne team being interested, and more chance of him being keen to be traded home.

I could easily be wrong about this but in the last year I have heard on several occasions in conversations and on talkback people who say they are close to Murphy carrying on about how hard done by the club he is and how they feel Taz took his place and on and on. It would not be doing Murph's form or attitude any good if the people around him are winding him up all the time. Could be wrong but it all started to add up,and this seems consistant with his form.We know he can play,and we know he can kick goals so matbe the other negative influences need a look at.

I think we should keep him, the coaching staff obviously see more in him than in Kiwi, thats another debate though. We need to play him from the square and tell him to forget about Pav, lead like hes the key forward to where his instincts tell him to. All to often our leading players are all leading to the same position, this makes it easier for defenders to get numbers to a contest. Spread the pain I reckon, we've got forwards who can tear any defence a new one, they need to spread the defence and with some precise delivery from the mids we're on fire. Leading forwards get the frees and are much harder to stop, especially when you have 3 or 4 who are strong on the lead ala Murph, Pav, Taz and even Whiz.
Keep him and have a good hard look at our assistant coaches I reckon!
Every zone was down on form and skill this year!

Did anyone else read in Inside Footy a week or 2 ago that Richmond and Carlton have spoken to Ryan about coming home. Obviously angling for the PSD. Or I may be going mad because I cant remember it clearly.

Smokey McPhee and Leroy Brown were contracted and wanted to stay, but we traded them. The fact that Murphy is Victorian means that there is a greater likelyhood of a Melbourne team being interested, and more chance of him being keen to be traded home.
McPhee was out of contract and wanted a lot more than he deserved and Freo were prepared to pay, he threatened to go into the PSD that"s why a deal was done with the Bombers.