Ryan Murphy

When spud shows at least some potential to kick 9 goals you may have a point.

Sure, just pointing out that young players have their flaws. There would be very few 21/22 year old full forwards currently in the competition who have had more of an impact than Murphy. He's had a bad year and people seem to be writing him off. I think we do need to trade him to balance our list, but I expect him to play well next season and end up being one of those players who we cop shit for down the track if we don't get the right deal.

Already has 4 goals for South's 20 minutes into the 2nd quarter.

I am happy to persist with Spud if he wants to stay but his chances might be limited if Harv's chooses to normally play Pav and Taz with McPharlap pinch hitting up forward depending on match ups particularly at Subiaco which suits three talls. Games at TD and the SCG should never have more than two (Pav and Taz) key forwards. Also depends on how the club rates Kiwi versus Spud - and I read once that Harvs is a big fan of Kiwi's attack on the ball/player with the ball.

If a trade is done then WB probably would be keen, Farren Ray being an obvious choice.

With Judd today another option might be a three way trade:

Carlton get our pick 7 we get Carlton's pick 3 and probably pick 20 as well. We can make sure we get Masten, Palmer or any other WA boy we want for our midfield with pick 3.

Judd to Carlton.

West Coast get our pick 7 ontraded and Murphy goes to WC. WC who need another ready made KPP forward.

Seems like a reasonable deal to me ....

I am happy to persist with Spud if he wants to stay but his chances might be limited if Harv's chooses to normally play Pav and Taz with McPharlap pinch hitting up forward depending on match ups particularly at Subiaco which suits three talls. Games at TD and the SCG should never have more than two (Pav and Taz) key forwards. Also depends on how the club rates Kiwi versus Spud - and I read once that Harvs is a big fan of Kiwi's attack on the ball/player with the ball.

If a trade is done then WB probably would be keen, Farren Ray being an obvious choice.

Carlton get our pick 7 we get Carlton's pick 3 and probably pick 20 as well. We can make sure we get Masten, Palmer or any other WA boy we want for our midfield with pick 3.

Judd to Carlton.

West Coast get our pick 7 ontraded and Murphy goes to WC. WC who need another ready made KPP forward.

mate if we could get that deal I would be very happy..... :thumbsu:

Judd to Carlton.

So ....

Carlton get Judd for Pick 3 and 20

Freo get Pick 3 and 20 for Murphy and Pick 7

West Coast get Murphy and Pick 7 for Judd.

No wonder you like it :

Move up 4 spots in the first round plus a high second round pick for a promising but still unproven undersized FF.

We get said forward plus 7th pick in a weak draft for one of the best players in the competition.:eek:

Carlton would be happy.

No thanks.

So ....

Carlton get Judd for Pick 3 and 20

Freo get Pick 3 and 20 for Murphy and Pick 7

West Coast get Murphy and Pick 7 for Judd.

No wonder you like it :

Move up 4 spots in the first round plus a high second round pick for a promising but still unproven undersized FF.

We get said forward plus 7th pick in a weak draft for one of the best players in the competition.:eek:

Carlton would be happy.

No thanks.

Carlton do not have a key forward - other than say Cameron Cloke they would be willing to trade and that is what WC need. Can Carlton trade their number #1 priority pick? Unless Judd comes out and says he does not want to go to Carlton, they are in the box seat. If Judd was still contracted then it would be different but he is not and Carlton have money to burn and pick #2 in the PSD. Richmond (#1) may not even make a bid for Judd. WC fans can talk tough now but something like Carlton's pick 3 and 20 (or ontrades of them like for Murphy above) will be what happens at the end of the day.

Murphy was a top ten pick and is still developing, him for an upgrade and pick 20 might be a bit much for Freo.... if so shuffle that 2nd round pick with ours.

No. Your weakness is a lack of midfielders who can run fast.

Ray's disposal is fine on his right foot but he sprays them on his left.

I reckon he'd use he's left foot 50% of the time. I don't know he does that. I honestly think in about 2 years he'll be just as good on the left. I'd hate to lose him.

No. Your weakness is a lack of midfielders who can run fast.

Ray's disposal is fine on his right foot but he sprays them on his left.

Well, if it's only poor on one foot, maybe we could trade Murphy to you for the games on Sundays? :rolleyes:

Ray is not what we need. He is not going to fix our midfield problems. If we want someone who can't kick, we could stick with Paul Duffield.

Well, if it's only poor on one foot, maybe we could trade Murphy to you for the games on Sundays? :rolleyes:

Ray is not what we need. He is not going to fix our midfield problems. If we want someone who can't kick, we could stick with Paul Duffield.

Ray is only going to get better. He was drafted about 18 months after playing his first game of footy. He is what 21 or 22 and can use both feet, needs work on his left foot but at least he has the ability to kick 50m on both feet. Also is a very good mark and tackler.

Duffield is no where near Ray.

We have a history of buying high and selling low unfortunately.
Dom, I'd be really interested if you could got through the trade/drafting history of another AFL club and show us how the do it so much better. Maybe the Eagles but outside of that I reckon we stack up really well. I'm tired of these comments that we are poor traders. So I'd appreciate some evidence of who have done it better.

Surely my buy high sell low comment is accurate in a high percentage of our trades though? A lot of players come here after having a very good year and the players who leave have usually had a poor season.

Peter Bell - Had just won a B&F at North, 12 months after winning a premiership.

Trent Croad - A big name player who had a very good season in 2001, with 3 years experience who looked ready to dominate the competition.

Jeff Farmer - Had kicked 70+ goals 12 moths earlier.

Troy Simmonds - A good player to target as many knew little about him.

Des Headland - Earnt 16 Brownlow votes in an 8 week period at the end of 2002, and entered his first season at Fremantle as Brownlow favourite.

Adam McPhee - Struggled with OP in his final year at Freo.

Trent Croad - Sent back after a disappointing season.

Steven Koops - A great trade for Fremantle.

Josh Carr - Had just played a pivotal role in winning a premiership and was a vice captain.

Toy Simmonds - Played at full forward with mixed results in his final season here.

Heath Black - A great pick up considering his relationship with the golden boy of Moorabbin.

Graham Polak - Went off the rails in his final years at Fremantle and his value plummeted.

Paul Medhurst - Spent most of 2006 in the WAFL.

Chris Tarrant - Didn't have a great 2006 but that was blamed on injury and he was still a big name.

Dean Solomon - The fact that Essendon were only offering a one year deal guaranteed we'd get him cheaply. Good pick up.

Ryan Murphy - His trade value would be much, much less than it was 12 months ago.

Surely my buy high sell low comment is accurate in a high percentage of our trades though? A lot of players come here after having a very good year and the players who leave have usually had a poor season.

Peter Bell - Had just won a B&F at North, 12 months after winning a premiership.

Trent Croad - A big name player who had a very good season in 2001, with 3 years experience who looked ready to dominate the competition.

Jeff Farmer - Had kicked 70+ goals 12 moths earlier.

Troy Simmonds - A good player to target as many knew little about him.

Des Headland - Earnt 16 Brownlow votes in an 8 week period at the end of 2002, and entered his first season at Fremantle as Brownlow favourite.

Adam McPhee - Struggled with OP in his final year at Freo.

Trent Croad - Sent back after a disappointing season.

Steven Koops - A great trade for Fremantle.

Josh Carr - Had just played a pivotal role in winning a premiership and was a vice captain.

Toy Simmonds - Played at full forward with mixed results in his final season here.

Heath Black - A great pick up considering his relationship with the golden boy of Moorabbin.

Graham Polak - Went off the rails in his final years at Fremantle and his value plummeted.

Paul Medhurst - Spent most of 2006 in the WAFL.

Chris Tarrant - Didn't have a great 2006 but that was blamed on injury and he was still a big name.

Dean Solomon - The fact that Essendon were only offering a one year deal guaranteed we'd get him cheaply. Good pick up.

Ryan Murphy - His trade value would be much, much less than it was 12 months ago.

Very simplistic view of our trading. The value of player is not simply a matter of how many Brownlow votes they had the previous year, or whether they were AA.

Sometimes the players we traded had become superfluous to our needs ie Polak and Brown (who you missed) and they were attractive to other clubs because they met their own needs.

All of the players we traded for were targetted because they fit a particular role that we needed to fill.

To say we buy high and trade low ignores the fact that trades are made primarily on our needs. The alternative is to buy low and trade high regardless of our needs, in which case we would be trading for the "best value" players this trading period regardless of whether they were mids/forwards/ruckman/defenders, when we really should be trading for midfielders if anything.

The timing of a players contract expiry also has more of a bearing on when trades take place than their previous years performance.

murphy for richards

No chance. We may be a little short on quality ruck back-ups, but I'd rather see us take a youngster and make do with Gilmore/Johnson if required. Sandilands and Warnock will make a very formidable ruck duo over the next 2-3 years. Richards wouldn't get a game most weeks.

Freo want pick 18. Tiges not willing to deal that. Might end up being pick 34. Doesnt sound like much but Aker went for pick 23 so its not that bad.

That would be a shocking deal. Aker is 30 and a d1ckhead. Tigers can get stuffed, they already gave up bugger all to get Polak and Simmonds from us. They don't have the PSD as leverage this time. :thumbsu:

Agreed dom, you'd have to wonder why we'd be keen to deal with Richmond given they've tried their best to screw us over twice in the last 3 years. And really, what is pick 18 going to get you in this draft anyway? Surely if we are looking to get picks, we need something higher than that - it's not like it's going to snare us a Palmer or Masten.

Actually... Richmond do have the first pick in the PSD.... Priority picks arent carried into that.