Dazman

Liverpool, Pies VFL
Petrenko is killing me. His 50's didn't bother me a whole lot but his 11 was just plain rude.

Have a bit of cash and can afford Ryder at 380k or thereabouts. He's averaging 90, probably the best average around that price range and opportunity will go up massively.

I can see him being a 4th onballer at Essendon.

Is it worth the trade or should I just be patient (and cop the occasional 11) and wait till I can afford a premium.

I reckon I can only justify getting him if I'm going to keep him for the entire season. There's every possibility that I could, but not sure

Thoughts?????????

Everyone seems pretty keen to jump on Ryder after only 1 good round. He's averaged in the 60's the previous 2 seasons so I wouldn't be expecting him to maintain his good form for the rest of the season.

If you want to get rid of Petrenko then I would probably looking at dongrading a midfield rookie that's made some money and then upgrade Petrenko with that cash.

Petrenko is killing me. His 50's didn't bother me a whole lot but his 11 was just plain rude.

Have a bit of cash and can afford Ryder at 380k or thereabouts. He's averaging 90, probably the best average around that price range and opportunity will go up massively.

Is it worth the trade or should I just be patient (and cop the occasional 11) and wait till I can afford a premium.

I reckon I can only justify getting him if I'm going to keep him for the entire season. There's every possibility that I could, but not sure

Thoughts?????????

Mate if I could afford it I would trade Petrenko to Ryder in a heart beat. He has a huge upside, is cheap and has made a definite positive role change because of Hille's injury. I wish I could get on him this week because the boat is leaving this week.

Thoughts?????????

Get on him this week or next. I will be, Malceski out, Ryder in.

I'm going to see how he goes this week I think. I believe he will be another Cox if Essendon continue to play him un the ruck. It's going to be the first time in a long time he has had a free run without having to play on someone.

He's averaged in the 60's the previous 2 seasons so I wouldn't be expecting him to maintain his good form for the rest of the season.

What he's averaged in the past has no relevance whatsoever though.

Ryder has the potential to score HUGE for the rest of the year.

Don't disagree with the premise...[I'm getting him in for Petrenko in DT]...

...but can anyone honestly expect him to have 13 tackles each week??!! :eek:

Still only had 16 possies last week...will rise in value/points av. from here for sure, but I don't think he will will be the saviour some think... :o

Same here. Bit of a risk, but could pay off.

I think if you can afford the extra 30K McPhee is the safer option. Ryder could go either way and despite a downward year or 2 McPhee is a proven SC gun and will return to his Half back role where he racked up big points now Ryder isn't down back!

If you change his tackle total to 3 for last week he still would've scored 93.

He's a good ball user 16 possies will get you good scores and that was just his first game in the ruck. Every chance he can go on to average 20 touches IMO

someone made the point that if he was up against an agro ruckman (not a pussycat like Fraser) he would have had his ribs broken on Anzac Day. Should go well against the lions, who are similarly crippled in the ruck, but beyond that? I would have thought Bellchambers and Laycock would come back in to the side and Paddy will go down back again before long.

On the other hand, if he can survive in the ruck and does stay there he will put up good numbers.

laycock is injured and listed as indefinite and bellchambers is not up to moving from the reserves just yet

Should go well against the lions, who are similarly crippled in the ruck, but beyond that? I would have thought Bellchambers and Laycock would come back in to the side and Paddy will go down back again before long.

Those are exactly my thoughts mate. Also, when he is needed to match up on a forward, such as Franklin, he will play the whole game as a defender. Don't expect him to become Essendon's number 1 ruck for the whole year. He will pinch hit here and there and play his customary defensive roles in others.

On a separate note, he had 13 tackles on the weekend....which went a long way to boosting his score. he only had the 16 possessions. Given that he will nto likely get 13 tackles a game again his scores will more likely be around 70 to 90. Still a great pickup for what he is worth but don't expect a 100+ average.

Those are exactly my thoughts mate. Also, when he is needed to match up on a forward, such as Franklin, he will play the whole game as a defender. Don't expect him to become Essendon's number 1 ruck for the whole year. He will pinch hit here and there and play his customary defensive roles in others.

This information is incorrect.

Ryder will definitely be our number 1 ruck for at least 8 weeks (probably more) until Laycock comes back. Even if Bellchambers plays, Ryder will be the no.1 ruck. Bellchambers is not ready to be a no.1 AFL ruckman, and will simply be used to give paddy a break.

Essendon have Pears, Hurley, Daniher, Fletcher, Hooker and McPhee to cover any KPP issues down back (thats already too many) so they dont need Ryder to fill this role.

Everyone seems pretty keen to jump on Ryder after only 1 good round. He's averaged in the 60's the previous 2 seasons so I wouldn't be expecting him to maintain his good form for the rest of the season.

If you want to get rid of Petrenko then I would probably looking at dongrading a midfield rookie that's made some money and then upgrade Petrenko with that cash.

This guy knows what he's talking about. With his past history he should not be looked at. He may somehow magically become a premium back but I doubt it

Ryder will definitely be our number 1 ruck for at least 8 weeks

Essendon have Pears, Hurley, Daniher, Fletcher, Hooker and McPhee to cover any KPP issues down back (thats already too many) so they dont need Ryder to fill this role.

You probably know better mate. I just don't see how you can afford to put any of those defenders on a player such as Franklin without him tearing you guys a new one. They just don't have the pace or athleticism.

Also, you need to take into account the frame of Ryder. Don't forget that he is only 90kg. He is built like a matchstick and opposition ruckmen who have any size about them will make it their number one priority to smash Ryder at every opportunity. This will take it's toll and I am confident that Knight's will not risk Ryder in such a way. he did magnificently against Fraser but let's face it, Fraser embarrassed himself.

If you come up against teams with decent rucks I have little doubt that you will bring in Bellchambers to shoulder the ruck and allow Ryder to pich hit in the ruck. If you come up against weak ruck sides such as this weekend, you will play Hooker as he gives you more mobility. Bellchambers and Hooker will swap depending on opposition.

You probably know better mate. I just don't see how you can afford to put any of those defenders on a player such as Franklin without him tearing you guys a new one. They just don't have the pace or athleticism.

Also, you need to take into account the frame of Ryder. Don't forget that he is only 90kg. He is built like a matchstick and opposition ruckmen who have any size about them will make it their number one priority to smash Ryder at every opportunity. This will take it's toll and I am confident that Knight's will not risk Ryder in such a way. he did magnificently against Fraser but let's face it, Fraser embarrassed himself.

If you come up against teams with decent rucks I have little doubt that you will bring in Bellchambers to shoulder the ruck and allow Ryder to pich hit in the ruck. If you come up against weak ruck sides such as this weekend, you will play Hooker as he gives you more mobility. Bellchambers and Hooker will swap depending on opposition.

Don't get Ryder then. It will be your loss. But it you want to help yourself out here you go:

1. Ryder was always earmarked to move out of defense once we had other players coming through in the back. Pears has stepped up this year so far, with Hurley promising, and McPhee and NLM are also able to play down there. With Ryder being the only AFL quality ruck option we have left he will not be going down back anytime soon. Only Laycock coming back into the side will put anyone else ahead of him, and even then he's likely to move into a foward/ruck role, not play some kind of defense/ruck one.

2. Ryder is a great user of the ball. Whenever he gets his hands on it a bit he always scores well. He is far far more likely to get possessions playing in the ruck role than in defense, as he won't be spoiling everything and tightly following a man.

Round 1, 14 touches: 99 score. Round 2, 11 touches: 100 score. This without hitouts, tackles, etc.

3. Ryder is a good kick for goal, a good mark, and has good pace. He is likely to get more contested marks, more goals, and more tackles in this new role, as he will not have to play the disciplined thing all the time but can take the game on more. He will likely rest up forward more often when getting a spell in the ruck too, increasing those scoring chances.

4. One of the bigger questions people had on Ryder was his ability to run out a game in a Ruck role. He has shown that he can do this in the last game, and will have support to make sure he doesn't need to run himself into the ground in the same way every time.

5. He might get bumped a bit by bigger guys in the ruck than before, but he's tough enough to manage it. He's played on key forwards of size and can handle it. He's likely to have a big advnatage around the ground agaisnt those rucks who aren't anywhere near as mobile as him.

6. Get him or don't get him. But he's got a huge upside and not much of a downside.

I watched the replay of the Collingwood match last night and I thought that bigger ruckmen banging him up is a bit of a fallacy. The reason being that the ruck duels are not the same as they used to be with the ruck circle now in place. If anything, this benefits Ryders because he can outleap the bigger bodies.

It's pretty risky imo, but if you already have plenty of premiums in the backs, it might be a good ploy.

He could be great for his price OR he could just have had one great game in his first ruckman role this year, and is no goinng to get 70's while heaps of dipshits claimed he was teh new gablett incarnate

Mate if you're going to just hang it on people and not contribute to the thread, atleast get some grammar lessons before posting your bs everywhere.

Spudwick, did you even watch the game on Saturday? There is no way I can see Ryder repeating that again in the near future. Sure, he could get over 100 again, but i can't see him averaging anywhere near that in the next few rounds. So, all I'm saying is that I don't think ryder will be able to play that well in the ruck in terms of SC.

Everyone seems to be thinking he is a great pickup. But if you think about it, he is neither keeper or cashcow and right now, there are several cheap players, Gilbee in the back, Riewoldt (who isn't cheap, but will get alot more expensive) in the fwd's and gablett in the middle.

If you can honestly say at this crucial point in the game, you would be thinking about picking up a middle of the road player who will not rise THAT much and isn't a keeper when you could be using that money and 2 trades to get cheap keepers in, then you haven't looked hard enough of your team.

To get him.

Cash Cow > Him... would work, but most cash cows are still going, and the 200k you'd need could easily get a mid players to a prem.

other mind > him... most other mid cashcows are doing what they shouoldbe doing, being cash cows. No point, use the trade elsewhere. And it's too sideways.

Prem > him.. useless.

So how about your stop spouting your 2 months of knowledge around and telling others there posting BS or posting with bad grammar AND ACTUALLY START POSTING SOMETHING.

Seriously, atleast one person posting there opinion in a discussion thread about the topic is better than another posting something nothing to do with the topic.

Grow up buddy. Becase you've just become the biggest stereotype; the hawks supporter who joined just before the season and has now decided to try and police the world with his big ego because HIS team has won the premiership (and less than half your games this year).

@ un_oc
What does following Hawthorn have to do with anything?
I've read these boards for years although decided to join this year to have some input and HELP others, not to listen to people like you spurt verbal sewage.
If you read the r6 trades board you might find that i HAVE posted in regards to this topic too.
There is no reason why Ryder may not become a keeper in time. I'm not expecting him to set the world on fire, and avg 150, but he can easily avg around 100 (91 atm) .
So maybe do some research on the player himself, and realise a change of role can largely effect how many sc points he may score.
UNOC = FAIL

@ un_oc
What does following Hawthorn have to do with anything?
I've read these boards for years although decided to join this year to have some input and HELP others, not to listen to people like you spurt verbal sewage.
If you read the r6 trades board you might find that i HAVE posted in regards to this topic too.
There is no reason why Ryder may not become a keeper in time. I'm not expecting him to set the world on fire, and avg 150, but he can easily avg around 100 (91 atm) .
So maybe do some research on the player himself, and realise a change of role can largely effect how many sc points he may score.
UNOC = FAIL

Wow, verbal sewage, blah blah blah... I'm sorry buddy, but as much as you'd like to come in and call bs when someone posts an opinion other than your own, then claim that it wasn't researched.

This is an open board. You are free to post your thoughts. Others can read and make opinions and thoughts based on others thoughts, or they can elave them. THAT IS HOW A FORUM WORKS.

I have done research, wathed the gfame with him in his new role and i came to teh opinion that he wont be a keeper even when playing his ruck role. I posted that.

You have decided that I have sinned horribly because of sayiong that and called bs, said I haven't done research and then gone and commented on grammar (which while I must admit is bad seeing as i don't proof read my posts), but seriously. This is a topic on ryder. Several opinions will be discussed and discussed they shall be.

You can add your ideas, but not attack others for there thoughts.

I have made it clear, he is no keeper or cash cow in my mind. I have made this opinion in this thread as i saw fit and so Good day to you sir. :)

That's the beauty about SC. Everyone has a different opinion. Don't need to jump down someone's throat for not sharing your opinion.

For what it's worth I agree with Un_OC. But that is my and his opinion. Don't need to agree. You can have a constructive disagreement without being childish. Just ruins the thread.