Event S30 Rookie “Gun of the Year” Award [Rising Star]

Winner: R9
gun r9.jpg

We're now officially into the second half of season 30, and we so far have eight Gun nominees: guero, Bradesmaen, kickthething, rocker_oz33, MC Bad Genius, Supersuns, chelseacarlton & tony. Eight more nominations are up for grabs, and I for one have got some Big Kev energy about seeing who will join them! Time to find out who the ninth nominee is...

round 9b.gif

This week we have a forward, a backman, a midfielder and a pine jockey interchange player vying for the chocolates. Kid Bomber Kilroy is representing the forwards, with a four goal haul from CHF that gave him an ARSE the size of the Hindenburg. Demonette Toump Ass is up for consideration for the first time, as he looked to emulate Bear cub tony by getting a Gun nomination from the half back flank. The best midfielder this round was young Fury Mister M. With 34 disposals, 9 marks and a goal, he was both the wind AND the wings for the team from the hippodrome. Finally there's baby Swamprat projectv who came off the bench to continue his own personal run of seven games for seven wins for the season.

Will we see our third dual Gun/Torch nominee, or will a new name grace the Rising Star nomination board? We had four decent candidates whose ARSEs all raised bats in a welcome return to form from the rookie cohort, but there was one baby in particular who got back this week, so please join me in congratulating Kilroy as this week's nominee!

gun kilroy.jpg

I sat down with Kilroy and his captain Antonio BlueVein to discuss the nomination. First up it was the Bomber Capo Crimini:

Bob: Hey Tony, welcome back. You've had a couple of wins on the trot. You've also managed to unearth a new goalkicker who's earned himself a Gun of the Week nomination. How does it feel?

ABV: Always a pleasure, Bob.

Look mate, like I’ve said time and time again, we will not be defined by wins and losses. Mostly because we have no ******* control over the result, but more to the point it does not make it any less enjoyable for us as a club.

Personally though, I’m used to winning everything and am rather competitive so I’d really love to win a flag as captain of this great club, and go down in the annals of history as one of the greatest individuals performers thus league has ever seen.

This isn’t about me though.

Or is it?

Nah.

Yeah!

Bob: Yeah nah. We're halfway into the season now. How has Kilroy adjusted to the life as a full time qooty player?

ABV: Mate, Kilroy is the quintessential Bomber and an absolute delight to have around the club. His baby #tuberadio is an absolute winner and seems to have opposition posters from all different walks of life popping in and sharing their musical tastes every Friday night. It also serves as another point of banter when people play sh*t music, so that’s always nice.

Bob: Where on the ground have they been playing, and what are your on-field aspirations do you have for them?

ABV: Kilroy has been at CHF, kickthething has been playing as a mobile 3rd tall in a FP but his athleticism and general footy nous (think Adam Goodes but slightly more talented) has forced me to re-think his position this week. Stay tuned for that one.

MITS has been terrorising all and sundry on a wing.

SammaGilberto hasn't lost a one-on-one contest all year (don’t follow this up, cheers) and new recruit Hai_Newman has yet to be unveiled, but is a rather handy utility in the mould of Jeremy McGovern, with more of a dad bod.

Bob: The Bombers have had a few nominations this season. You've already had kickthething, rocker_oz33 and MITS recognised this season, and now Kilroy becomes the third rookie to receive both nominations. How are you inspiring the other rookies in Babylon to be more like Kilroy?

ABV: I think every one of our rookies is unique in their own way, and I’ve just been encouraging them to be themselves and have fun, because ultimately that’s all I care about.

Bob: Fair call too. Now that we're halfway through season 30, have you noticed any other rookies from other teams that go alright at qooty who you didn't mention the last time we spoke?

ABV: I don’t pay a heap of attention to the stats/position side of things, but as far as the banter goes the three amigos from the Bears have been outstanding.

Having said that though, there has obviously been a massive influx of rookies this season due to the successful Tour of Qooty expeditions and failed expansion bids, and there is a fair bit of quality coming through.

Roys enforcer BLUEALLTHRU and resident sexy man RobR have been fantastic additions along with the other Gold Coast supporter on the entire forum, Supersuns.

VandoHawk and T2B_ have been great and I’m sure there are more that have slipped my mind, but the league is looking very healthy for the future.

Cheers Tony, all the best for the rest of the season to you and yours. Now it's over to the nominee:

Bob: Hello again Kilroy. Congratulations on being the third rookie after guero and Supersuns to receive both a Gun and a Torch of the Season nomination. Remind us again how you made it over to the SFA?

Kilroy: Thanks Bob, but I'm gonna get ribbed again for this, so it's a two-edged sword TBH.

I met guero last week and he'd be valuable in Baghdad with his knowledge of rocks. He's got talent, but he seems quite happy where he is.

Supersuns has been going really well onfield I hear, but I don't know him so well off it.

I came across to Baghdad after doing my work experience at the Saints' Disco. After one big night out I somehow wound up at Abdu Prison with the two Tony's.

I think I must've lost a bet or something. Turned out to be the best thing I ever did. I've started an apprenticeship in event management, but mostly I just make the coffees and do the dishes.

Bob: Some rookies live in dumpsters so you're on a decent wicket I reckon. How has the first half of the season been for you? Are Antonio BlueVein & the Bombers still looking after you?

Kilroy: Antonio's done an enormous job since Wayne left at short notice. He and the whole leadership group are a great resource of ideas and encouragement.

In fact the whole team are lots of fun to be around. It certainly helps when you're winning, especially cos we've done the work. It's reward for effort.

Bob: I'll take your word on that. How do you prepare for a qooty match?

Kilroy: I usually have cereal and toast for breaky, but my preparation's a bit ordinary. Post-game's even worse.

I've always got a tune runnin' round my scone to get me pumped. Tony Lynn 15 always says somethin' cryptic before the game so I write it on my hand and try to work it out when there's a quiet patch.

Bob: What would you like to achieve on the field during your SFA career?

Kilroy: If we can keep on the good side of the sim we'll make the finals. That would make all this hand-washing worth it.

On-field I'd like a few more snags. Off-field too, if I'm honest, and another keg wouldn't hurt after the game. These guys hate a drink.

Bob: Oh the humanity! Anyway, have there been any other teams that have stood out for you on the field, or players that you model your qooty on?

Kilroy: The Bears were fun - Metalcrusher and the Three Amigos (incl tony) kept us entertained and they gave as good as they got. I reckon Muddiemoose is under-rated.

Our thread with the Dragons was epic, like a Greek tragedy. The games against the Swampies, Warriors and Hawks had their moments too.

I've enjoyed the work of Crushy, Genghis Tron, serial_thrilla and moginie.

From the Bombers it's hard to go past Antonio BlueVein and Tony Lynn 15 but the whole LG is solid.

Bob: Who else do you think will win the Gun of the Year, and the overall Rising Star? Reckon you’re a shot?

Kilroy: For the Gun, I'll say guero, Supersuns or MC Bad Genius.

Rising Star, I'll say PMBangers guero or Muddiemoose.

But us three Bombers are an outside chance (incl MITS and kickthething).

Thanks Bob. Love yer work.

gun trophy kilroy.jpg

What a polite young man! Cheers Kilroy, here's your miniature novelty trophy.

The cream is starting to rise to the top now. Stick around to see who the next nominee will be.

round 9e.gif

Field Positions: R10
gun-2-jpg.921354

Round 10 - Field Positions

FB: ---
BP: ---
HBF:
Toump Ass (DEM/N), guero (LVB/Y)
CHB: SammaGilberto (BOM/N)
C: Elmer_Judd (WON/Y), VandoHawk (DRA/Y)
W: MITS (BOM/Y), omgfridge (GUM/Y), Mister M (FUR/Y), Muddiemoose (LVB/Y), FootyGuy13 (CIW/Y), tony (LVB/Y)
HFF: Bradesmaen (DRA/Y), chelseacarlton (CIW/N), J_Chadwick (WON/Y)
CHF: T2B_ (DRA/Y), BLUEALLTHRU (ROY/Y), Kilroy (BOM/Y)
FF: PMBangers (HAW/Y)
FP: 11kgm (HAW/Y), MC Bad Genius (DRA/Y), Hai_Newman (BOM/N)
R: kickthething (BOM/Y)
RR: Supersuns (ROY/Y)
RO: RobR (ROY/Y)
IC: projectv (SCS/Y)

EM: rocker_oz33 (BOM/N), OhhhhhCyril (BOM/N)

---

By line: BK (3), MF (11), FW (10), IC (1), EM (2)

Nominees: R10
1601881479542.png

ROUND 10
THE NOMINEES

"Week of the Hawks"

With the clocks going forward, you may be wondering if this means one less hour of training. Here at Chipmunk Enterprises I'm here to say NO!

Let's see who's put themselves in the running for Round 10, and you may spot the theme running through the nominees.

VandoHawk - DRA (130.20 ARSE)

The question the committee has to ask themselves is, is it time for a Hawk to win this again? Not Eastside Hawks of course, but VandoHawk. With a 32 disposal, 11 mark performance from the guts, this young gun has done everything he can, and to boot won the bout with Elton Johns Wig with a resume-material performance. The sim's words, not mine. This is his 3rd nomination as well, so he ticks all of the boxes.

J_Chadwick - WON (119.00 ARSE)

Well well well. The Wonders v Hawks game produces two nominees. We'll go onto the Hawks nominee later, but in the first half it was all J_Chadwick , who has been an excellent pickup for the basement dwellers. With 20 disposals and a 2.1 performance, he has shown an impact early which has pleased this Captain and team greatly. Drunkgoliath certainly won't forget the matchup. This is his first nomination.

FootyGuy13 - CIW (113.40 ARSE)

"What a performance, this guy must get a nom" was heard at the end of the match. It was probably from his opponent on the wing, Paddles_ , who had been watching him like a hawk all game. Needless to say, with a huge 13 marks and 23 disposals, he clearly made himself known to the Warriors faithful. We in the committee don't mind his 4 FA, as it shows a willingness to get angry for the cause. This is his 2nd nomination.

11kgm - HAW (111.00 ARSE)

And finally, to the Eastside Hawks. He has continued to be a forward pocket specialist and do what the fans love to see, which has resulted in his 3rd nomination,. He sat there. And waited. And waited some more. Then exploded in the 2nd half to be a massive factor in the Hawks victory. Only 6 kicks, but those resulted in 3.3. This opponents in Elmer_Judd and Jack The Godfather must have been watching in appreciation.

1601882763807.png

---

WHO IS GOING TO BE THIS WEEK'S “GUN”?

View attachment 978085

ROUND 10
THE NOMINEES

"Week of the Hawks"

With the clocks going back, you may be wondering what to do with your extra hour. Here at Chipmunk Enterprises I'm here to say get training!

Let's see who's put themselves in the running for Round 10, and you may spot the theme running through the nominees.

The question the committee has to ask themselves is, is it time for a Hawk to win this again? Not Eastside Hawks of course, but VandoHawk. With a 32 disposal, 11 mark performance from the guts, this young gun has done everything he can, and to boot won the bout with Elton Johns Wig with a resume-material performance. The sim's words, not mine. This is his 3rd nomination as well, so he ticks all of the boxes.

Well well well. The Wonders v Hawks game produces two nominees. We'll go onto the Hawks nominee later, but in the first half it was all J_Chadwick , who has been an excellent pickup for the basement dwellers. With 20 disposals and a 2.1 performance, he has shown an impact early which has pleased this Captain and team greatly. Drunkgoliath certainly won't forget the matchup. This is his first nomination.

"What a performance, this guy must get a nom" was heard at the end of the match. It was probably from his opponent on the wing, Paddles_ , who had been watching him like a hawk all game. Needless to say, with a huge 13 marks and 23 disposals, he clearly made himself known to the Warriors faithful. We in the committee don't mind his 4 FA, as it shows a willingness to get angry for the cause. This is his 2nd nomination.

And finally, to the Eastside Hawks. He has continued to be a forward pocket specialist and do what the fans love to see, which has resulted in his 3rd nomination,. He sat there. And waited. And waited some more. Then exploded in the 2nd half to be a massive factor in the Hawks victory. Only 6 kicks, but those resulted in 3.3. This opponents in Elmer_Judd and Jack The Godfather must have been watching in appreciation.

View attachment 978098

---

I was applauding FootyGuy13’s performance from my hammock.

View attachment 978085

ROUND 10
THE NOMINEES

"Week of the Hawks"

With the clocks going back, you may be wondering what to do with your extra hour. Here at Chipmunk Enterprises I'm here to say get training!

View attachment 978098

---

:think: i thought the clocks went forward on the weekend ?

Y'know, I honestly thought I had chance this week. Didn't realise VandoHawk was still going for one...

I'm gonna end up the greatest rookie to not get a nom in their rookie season at this rate.

Winner: R10
1602152849607.png

"Hey, Chipmunk ! I'm still on my hammock. Be a mate and do the Round 10 interview."

Okay then, here goes...

So we had 4 nominees this week; 2 mids and 2 forwards all going for the coveted Gun noms.

That said, for this week, there was one clear standout. He looks like a Horse, is named after a Hawk and plays for the Dragons, this week's nominee is none other than VandoHawk !

I sat down with the winner and his Captain AceAndy to have a chat.

1602153224599.png

Firstly, to the beaming AceAndy:

Thanks for coming. As I mentioned in the writeup, we at the committee were amazed that VandoHawk hadn't snaffled a nom in this category already. How did you find him and what has his impact been around the ground?

Somewhat surprising as i recall he played the best debut game in round 1 i have ever seen [Chip: Calm down Kanye]. Very surprised the Rising Star committee elected to look the other way.

At the end of last season we sent a couple of our top talent scouts , serial_thrilla and Knifey Spoony , out to the expansion team training sessions and the feedback was this bloke would have gone number one if we had an SFA Draft. A mid-fielder ready to go which he proved with a sensational debut game against the Wonders. He has also had a couple of good games up forward but the centre line looks his natural home.

He does seem to have found his natural position.

As DJ Khaled said once or twice, "Another One". This is the third Dragon to get a Gun nom, after Bradesmaen in R2 and MC Bad Genius in R5. How does it feel to now be the most represented club in all the Gun noms?

The Dragons have always been a club with a history of developing rookies and i would expect the Dragon rookies to feature prominently in this season's EKA and Rising Star awards. Anyone with any spare cash put it on a Dragon win in the EKA and Rising Star , a sure fire winner.

I shall look forward to receiving those bets.

VandoHawk seems to have established himself as a gun mid. What plans do you have for him in the future?

Competition for prime spots is pretty hot at the Dragons but VandoHawk is doing everything right and i cant see him giving up his mid-field role. Look for him to play a huge part of the Dragons final campaign.

Definitely. Are there any plans for a Dragons Gun celebration?

Each Dragon who sangs a Rising Star nom gets an all you can eat pass to the Dragon Island Sizzler. No better way to celebrate. I am sure the Gun recipients will also get a shout out at the club Awards night as well.

And what a celebration it looks to be. Congratulations again!

And then I turned to the winner VandoHawk :

Congratulations on the Nom. It's been long overdue, with this your 3rd nom and you tearing up the track most weeks. How does it feel to finally get the Gun?

It feels good. I’ve been close a few times now but fallen slightly short. The best thing is probably the bragging rights – now I have something to shoot back at Mister M when he tells me about his torch nomination three times per day.

How have enjoyed the first half of the season and how do you prepare for a qooty game?

The first half of the season has been a really enjoyable experience. I started off strongly but my form has dwindled recently with life getting in the way. The SFA is really fun when you can give it your full attention. To prepare for Qooty games I usually rub my hamstrings for good luck. They haven't gone ping so far so something must be working.

Magic hamstrings, interesting. The crop of Dragons rookies have been well-documented. What's it like training and playing with them?

I try to survive training with this bunch. T2B_ is super fun to post with. We used to rock up to training in bat costumes before recent events made that awkward [awkward silence]. MC Bad Genius has really flourished the last few threads and games but training is rough because I can't get near the ball when he's in the forward 50. And Bradesmaen keeps asking me for free rides. They're a great group of posters that I'm happy to have as my teammates.

You have all certainly made an impact. Are there any players or teams which have impressed you so far?

From other teams Antonio BlueVein impressed me with some cracking posts in both match and media threads. Rookie Mister M drove a lot of the banter at the Furies and straddled the line between antagonism and playfulness well. I'm slightly bias but I think serial_thrilla has also been rocking it this season.

As a unit the Bombers were incredibly fun to post against. That thread had a lot of junk but there were also some real gems, some witty banter and a lot of fun interactions. I'm looking forward to playing them again so I can get my revenge on Santoz for beating me so badly I was sent to fullback.

I'm sure the Bombers are happy to hear that. Who else do you think will win the Gun of the Year, and the overall Rising Star? Reckon you’re a shot?

I honestly can't predict who'll win the Gun due to the wacky way this sim works. But let's say FootyGuy13 since I stole his spot this week.

There are a number of quality rookies who would be worthy winners of the Torch. Aside from my Dragon teammates Mister M and Supersuns have had great seasons with their clubs and were real quality in our match threads. guero also somehow managed to make talking about rocks interesting which deserves its own reward.

I don't think I have any chance of winning and that isn't really my goal. There are far more active, dedicated and deserving rookies than me. I'm just trying to find my rhythm in the SFA and develop the character I want to be.

Well you never know, and you certainly deserve to be here, so congratulations! Here's your award:

1602161507947.png

So there we have it, our Round 10 nominee. Those without the award must be nervous, there's only 6 to go after this. In fact, one might say that time is running out. Until next time!

View attachment 980658

"Hey, Chipmunk ! I'm still on my hammock. Be a mate and do the Round 10 interview."

Okay then, here goes...

So we had 4 nominees this week; 2 mids and 2 forwards all going for the coveted Gun noms.

That said, for this week, there was one clear standout. He looks like a Horse, is named after a Hawk and plays for the Dragons, this week's nominee is none other than VandoHawk !

I sat down with the winner and his Captain AceAndy to have a chat.

View attachment 980663

Firstly, to the beaming AceAndy:

Thanks for coming. As I mentioned in the writeup, we at the committee were amazed that VandoHawk hadn't snaffled a nom in this category already. How did you find him and what has his impact been around the ground?

Somewhat surprising as i recall he played the best debut game in round 1 i have ever seen [Chip: Calm down Kanye]. Very surprised the Rising Star committee elected to look the other way.

At the end of last season we sent a couple of our top talent scouts , serial_thrilla and Knifey Spoony , out to the expansion team training sessions and the feedback was this bloke would have gone number one if we had an SFA Draft. A mid-fielder ready to go which he proved with a sensational debut game against the Wonders. He has also had a couple of good games up forward but the centre line looks his natural home.

He does seem to have found his natural position.

As DJ Khaled said once or twice, "Another One". This is the third Dragon to get a Gun nom, after Bradesmaen in R2 and MC Bad Genius in R5. How does it feel to now be the most represented club in all the Gun noms?

The Dragons have always been a club with a history of developing rookies and i would expect the Dragon rookies to feature prominently in this season's EKA and Rising Star awards. Anyone with any spare cash put it on a Dragon win in the EKA and Rising Star , a sure fire winner.

I shall look forward to receiving those bets.

VandoHawk seems to have established himself as a gun mid. What plans do you have for him in the future?

Competition for prime spots is pretty hot at the Dragons but VandoHawk is doing everything right and i cant see him giving up his mid-field role. Look for him to play a huge part of the Dragons final campaign.

Definitely. Are there any plans for a Dragons Gun celebration?

Each Dragon who sangs a Rising Star nom gets an all you can eat pass to the Dragon Island Sizzler. No better way to celebrate. I am sure the Gun recipients will also get a shout out at the club Awards night as well.

And what a celebration it looks to be. Congratulations again!

And then I turned to the winner VandoHawk :

Congratulations on the Nom. It's been long overdue, with this your 3rd nom and you tearing up the track most weeks. How does it feel to finally get the Gun?

It feels good. I’ve been close a few times now but fallen slightly short. The best thing is probably the bragging rights – now I have something to shoot back at Mister M when he tells me about his torch nomination three times per day.

How have enjoyed the first half of the season and how do you prepare for a qooty game?

The first half of the season has been a really enjoyable experience. I started off strongly but my form has dwindled recently with life getting in the way. The SFA is really fun when you can give it your full attention. To prepare for Qooty games I usually rub my hamstrings for good luck. They haven't gone ping so far so something must be working.

Magic hamstrings, interesting. The crop of Dragons rookies have been well-documented. What's it like training and playing with them?

I try to survive training with this bunch. T2B_ is super fun to post with. We used to rock up to training in bat costumes before recent events made that awkward [awkward silence]. MC Bad Genius has really flourished the last few threads and games but training is rough because I can't get near the ball when he's in the forward 50. And Bradesmaen keeps asking me for free rides. They're a great group of posters that I'm happy to have as my teammates.

You have all certainly made an impact. Are there any players or teams which have impressed you so far?

From other teams Antonio BlueVein impressed me with some cracking posts in both match and media threads. Rookie Mister M drove a lot of the banter at the Furies and straddled the line between antagonism and playfulness well. I'm slightly bias but I think serial_thrilla has also been rocking it this season.

As a unit the Bombers were incredibly fun to post against. That thread had a lot of junk but there were also some real gems, some witty banter and a lot of fun interactions. I'm looking forward to playing them again so I can get my revenge on Santoz for beating me so badly I was sent to fullback.

I'm sure the Bombers are happy to hear that. Who else do you think will win the Gun of the Year, and the overall Rising Star? Reckon you’re a shot?

I honestly can't predict who'll win the Gun due to the wacky way this sim works. But let's say FootyGuy13 since I stole his spot this week.

There are a number of quality rookies who would be worthy winners of the Torch. Aside from my Dragon teammates Mister M and Supersuns have had great seasons with their clubs and were real quality in our match threads. guero also somehow managed to make talking about rocks interesting which deserves its own reward.

I don't think I have any chance of winning and that isn't really my goal. There are far more active, dedicated and deserving rookies than me. I'm just trying to find my rhythm in the SFA and develop the character I want to be.

Well you never know, and you certainly deserve to be here, so congratulations!

So there we have it, our Round 10 nominee. Those without the award must be nervous, there's only 6 to go after this. In fact, one might say that time is running out. Until next time!

Congratulations VandoHawk.

We know your Qooty ability is great (as demonstrated this week), but I think you're underestimating your banter skills. I suspect that you'll be joining the Torch guard before the seasons out.

I can't say the same however with my Qooty skills getting me a Gun nom. Maybe I need to talk to tony about helping me out with bribing the committee.

Congratulations VandoHawk.

We know your Qooty ability is great (as demonstrated this week), but I think you're underestimating your banter skills. I suspect that you'll be joining the Torch guard before the seasons out.

I can't say the same however with my Qooty skills getting me a Gun nom. Maybe I need to talk to tony about helping me out with bribing the committee.
I would suggest paying for a holiday for someone on the committee, similar to the one Tonga Bob is currently on ;)

How dare you accuse me of being paid off!!

hey VandoHawk, pass me another coconut full of Tonga Island Iced Tea will ya?

Sent from my hammock using BigBribe.com