Saints cap squeeze.

JeffDunne said:
You do care morgoth or you wouldn't be posting in this thread.

It does give me a chuckle to read some of the crap posted on BF about player movements. Most are fantasyland. There are only two clubs that could possibly get one of StKilda's young guns this year, and they are the Tigers and the Hawks. Forget the bullddogs they'd be priced out. So any attempt by Collingwood or Essendon, just to name two that keep dropping these rumors, to jack up the asking price, is easily seen as tripe if they aren't naming players/picks. Some previous administrations at StKilda may have been that stupid - this one aint.

What makes you think the first two picks will involve a St Kilda player.

If the Dogs pass due to money with number three, that leaves Collingwood to pounce at number 4.

MarkT said:
In all seriousness I was less than 2 in Sept. 1966 and while I was growing up St. Kilda couldn't beat Collingwood at Moorabin after water the ground all week before hand and with Jeff Dunne getting votes.

That's the funny thing though, my best mate is a Pies supporter, I constantly hear how his power club can ignore the likes of the Saints because they've got their eyes on bigger fish etc, and I'm happy to admit we are a crap club, hey we won a wooden spoon the first 3-4 years I started following them so it's all been gravy since.

But since my first awareness of VFL footy in 1982 the Pies bar 1990 have been crap and have been living on past glories, and to be honest it amuses me no end.

Finals since 1982

Bombers 18
Hawks 16
Blues 14
Kangas 13
Dees 10
Lions 10
Swans 9
Cats 9
Doggies 8
Pies 8
Saints 5
Tigers 3

Yeah they've got a lot of supporters, successful? not in my lifetime.

JeffDunne said:
No wonder I normally don't read his articles. His level of dislike for the Saints had me thinking he was a Carlton fan, but thinking about it, I'm sure I've heard him say he was a Collingwood fan. But I guess morgoth just goes to show that obsessive levels of hatred aren't just reserved for Carlton fans.
The only one obsessed here is you...OBSESSED with the Carlton footy club.

Most Blues supporters hate the Pies and the Dons which makes the Saints one of 13 clubs that we only think about when we're about to play them.

Falchoon said:
That's the funny thing though, my best mate is a Pies supporter, I constantly hear how his power club can ignore the likes of the Saints because they've got their eyes on bigger fish etc, and I'm happy to admit we are a crap club, hey we won a wooden spoon the first 3-4 years I started following them so it's all been gravy since.

But since my first awareness of VFL footy in 1982 the Pies bar 1990 have been crap and have been living on past glories, and to be honest it amuses me no end.

Finals since 1982

Bombers 18
Hawks 16
Blues 14
Kangas 13
Dees 10
Lions 10
Swans 9
Cats 9
Doggies 8
Pies 8
Saints 5
Tigers 3

Yeah they've got a lot of supporters, successful? not in my lifetime.

Agree with your sentiments, but not your numbers. The Roos, for example, have been in about a dozen finals since 1996, let alone since 1982.

I think he means finals series - not individual games.

Back end Ball's contract. 4 year deal with the bulk of the money to come in the latter couple of years when Harvey, maybe Gehrig are gone. A lot can happen to their playing list in that time but they can't afford to let Ball go.

It's a strange world when $4000 a week isn't enough for a 20yo.

Deej said:
Stkilda strewth i dislike stkilda no more than i dislike geelong, hawthorn, melbourne, north melbourne, footscray, fitzroy or thesedays even richmond. I can't believe you think so highly of yourselves to think we actually hate you guys! I would say, with regard to the saints, i feel mostly indifference.
Deej, you hate everyone other than the Blues. You might pat yourself on the back when you beat of those second rate teams you consider "traditional" foes, but I reckon you like the rest of Carlton will enjoy the win when you finally breakthrough against the Saints.

(Hamill is another matter of course!)
Obsessive levels of hatred :rolleyes:

Falchoon said:
That's the funny thing though, my best mate is a Pies supporter, I constantly hear how his power club can ignore the likes of the Saints because they've got their eyes on bigger fish etc,
You missed my point. We don't have much of a history as rivals. Nothing sinister.

MarkT said:
You missed my point. We don't have much of a history as rivals. Nothing sinister.
There's no doubt that any rivalry StKilda have had in the past has been short lived. Unfortunately we've usually failed to live up to our end of the bargin.

I think however that the Saints 2004, for whatever reason, seem to have stirred a level of hatred not normally associated with the Saints. The number of threads about the Saints salary cap or players to be poached, probably indicates that envy of our list has something to do with it.

I have to admit I am enjoying the attention the Saints are getting at the moment by posters here, thread upon thread outlining the Saints ability or lack of to retain our champs and an equal amount of threads regarding poaching said champs, this clearly indicates to me that the Saints are now a hot commodity and causing some concerns, it is certainly giving me confidence for the future, keep em coming guys and much apreciated.

The Fireman said:
I have to admit I am enjoying the attention the Saints are getting at the moment by posters here, thread upon thread outlining the Saints ability or lack of to retain our champs and an equal amount of threads regarding poaching said champs, this clearly indicates to me that the Saints are now a hot commodity and causing some concerns, it is certainly giving me confidence for the future, keep em coming guys and much apreciated.
I believe anyone who barrack for the Saints have every right to feel confident for the future as they have a lot of quality players coming through and could be a force in the coming seasons. They have proven beyond doubt that they have a premier side and could have quiet easily been playing off for the premiership this year.
My only reservation is that, in my opinion Grant Thomas is not a top coach and that if they had stuck with Blight or had one of the top experienced coaches St. Kilda would had made the 8 in 2003 and would had been favourite to win the 2004 AFL Premiership.
St. Kilda will have problems with the salary cap (if not now) and would be a worry for any team with quality young players making a name for themselves and I was surprised with the generous payment to Hamill which appeared out of proportion considering the wealth of their players which will deservingly require top dollar in the ensueing years.

Phantom4 said:
My only reservation is that, in my opinion Grant Thomas is not a top coach and that if they had stuck with Blight or had one of the top experienced coaches St. Kilda would had made the 8 in 2003 and would had been favourite to win the 2004 AFL Premiership.
the only reservations about GT are coming from outside our club, once again thankyou for your concerns but please don't worry about GT we are extremely happy with,regarding Blight by all means you chase him, I believe he is between jobs at the moment.
Phantom4 said:
St. Kilda will have problems with the salary cap (if not now) and would be a worry for any team with quality young players making a name for themselves and I was surprised with the generous payment to Hamill which appeared out of proportion considering the wealth of their players which will deservingly require top dollar in the ensueing years.
Re my post.

The Fireman said:
the only reservations about GT are coming from outside our club, once again thankyou for your concerns but please don't worry about GT we are extremely happy with,regarding Blight by all means you chase him, I believe he is between jobs at the moment.
Re my post.

What other clubs supporters are having trouble coming to terms with about GT's style is that I feel it is very different, and somewhat refreshing, to the "old school" style of coaches.

GT is a people manager and a fantastic motivator...Maybe his actual skills at coaching can fall short in certain areas BUT he has, and uses, three assistants extremely well.

Not too long ago, Ric Charlesworth was considered a serious candidate for The Dockers job...People manager and motivator.

Dave said:
Don't confuse dislike of a team with dislike of it's supporters ;)

Exactly. I used to have a soft spot for the Saints and considered them my 2nd team but some of their supporters have turned me off them (a previous employer being the worst).
When you've got people like JeffDunne saying stuff like "but I reckon you like the rest of Carlton will enjoy the win when you finally breakthrough against the Saints" it's hard to keep being supportive of their club. St Kilda's win/loss ratio against every club is woeful yet they have a good year and their supporters start to lord it over other clubs.

Phantom4 said:

Paul Roos and Mark Williams may beg to differ.

You are kidding with Blight. Was a huge mistake to get him in the first place and he didn't want to put in the time. GT has built this team from scratch and the club is reaping the benefits in on field performance and financial success.

Please quote me how much Hamill is being paid, or are you like the numbskulls here who believe everything they read in the paper?

I suppose Riewoldt is on a million because Mark Robinson said so as well.

What about Chris Judd? Craig Hutdhinson said he was worth $750k a year.

Dont, Dont, Dont, Dont, Dont.....Dont believe the Hype.

Wojee said:
Exactly. I used to have a soft spot for the Saints and considered them my 2nd team but some of their supporters have turned me off them (a previous employer being the worst).
When you've got people like JeffDunne saying stuff like "but I reckon you like the rest of Carlton will enjoy the win when you finally breakthrough against the Saints" it's hard to keep being supportive of their club. St Kilda's win/loss ratio against every club is woeful yet they have a good year and their supporters start to lord it over other clubs.

How rich coming from the chief of clubs who "lord it over other clubs".

JD was refering to the fact that you arrogant Carlton fans get all uppity becaus the Saints are having a run of success against the Blues ATM. Because historically we have been your whipping boys, you dont like the fact that the Saints have won the past five encounters in a row, the last two by 91 and 108 points respectively.

Dont know about you Wojee, but there have been so many Blues fans on these forums making excuses about why the Blues no longer are a successful club, and disrespecting the team currently enjoying some on field success that the natural response is these same supporters point to recidivist SC rorting, disrespectful remarks coming from Carlton officials over the years (rabble, let them rot etc), and delight in the fact that carlton got their fair whack in losing draft picks.

Most Saints fans couldn't care less about Carlton. They wont be challenging the Saints in the forseeable future. Geelong, Port, WCE, and probably Brisbane are the clubs I look to as rivals over the next few years.

As for lording it over clubs. Well that comment could only come from the arrogance of success (although that seems long in the past now). The Saints dont lord it over anyone, we enjoy our wins over clubs like Essendon, Collingwood, and Carlton, because it doesn't happen in the one season too often, but dont confuse it with Carltonesque arrogance and overconfidence. Thats your domain.

Wojee said:
Everyone seemed to have a "soft spot" for us when we were on the bottom. The level of vitriol on BF would suggest to me this is no longer the case. Thread after thread prophesising, or should I say cheering for, our demise. Carlton fans seem to be the most hate filled and bitter towards any improvement by the Saints – just my observation.

Now I can understand the whole Hamill thing, and I can even see (but not understand) why the obsession with Goddard, but Carlton fans in the main seem to have become a little obsessive about wanting to see the Saints fail. Probably in part due to the glee experienced by the Saints fans with the demise of Elliott/Carlton post his famous “rabble” remark.

But if you really don’t hate us yet, just wait a couple of years, cause you’re really going to hate us then. We won’t forget how the vast majority of Carlton fans used to snicker whenever John made one of his famous quotes about the Saints as we continue to kick your butt as we have for a couple of years now. We will also laugh as you fawn over our playing list. See you at the Dome next year.

JeffDunne said:
Deej, you hate everyone other than the Blues.
Rubbish JD, hate's far too strong a word.

I get most fired up when we play essendon or collingwood, the other teams are much of a muchness.

What's with this everyone-hates-us crusade? If it weren't for idiots like you and joffaboy i'd hardly give stkilda a second thought other than game day. Hamill is a personal thing has nothing to do with the saints, and Goddard is more an AFL issue. The fact they're both saints is incidental. And i'm hardly obsessed by hamill, it's just i hold grudges against individuals who sell out colours purely for more coin.

I personally had a soft spot for the Saints, because a lot of ex Carlton players seemed to up there in the early 80's, and a couple of my best friends in primary school were Saints fans. When the Saints made the GF I would've been much happier for them had I not had a boss who proclaimed to all and sundry that they were going to start a dynasty and that the rest of the league was envious of their young talent. Seems that he's not the only Saints fan to embrace that doctrine.

JeffDunne said:
But if you really don’t hate us yet, just wait a couple of years, cause you’re really going to hate us then. We won’t forget how the vast majority of Carlton fans used to snicker whenever John made one of his famous quotes about the Saints as we continue to kick your butt as we have for a couple of years now. We will also laugh as you fawn over our playing list. See you at the Dome next year.

You've just helped prove my point, thank you.

Orangewhip said:
If anyone is living in the past on this thread it's edgy Jeffy Dunne. Mate, you need a holiday. You're funnier the more irrational you get.
Funny you should say that. A couple of hours and I'm off to Byron for a long weekend.

Living in the past? LOL - I bet no. 17 never felt so far away. Go on, tell me how you had a great year because you beat a couple of traditional rivals. :D

See you at the Dome next year!

Saints cap squeeze.