Training Saints preseason 2026

The Trav discussion is interesting. I think the fact that he generally looks a bit untidy makes it harder to warm to him. His arms flap about a lot and his kicking can let him down at times . Has a lot of good traits though and I think he will play a lot of games.

I remember it took me a very long time to warm to Jarryn Geary - and I wasn’t alone. But ultimately he became a club captain late in his career through sheer determination and work rate. I can see a lot of similarities in Trav.
Some of his hand balls remind me of Clark. He is creative and can finesse the ball on weird angles out to a team mate. From memory Bytel used to be pretty good at it as well. He looks like a pretty anxious guy at times. I reckon once he feels more comfortable at the level and builds out physically we will start to see his strengths come into the mix.

It’s a fair take, but the degree of difficulty of being a stay at home Small forward I don’t think a lot of people realise it’s the hardest gig in the AFL, Higgins consistency over a period of years makes him a better player when you line them both up (Hall has a very big upside)anyone who can continues to improve their goal kicking year after year with scoreboard impact deserves to be in the conversation of one of the best small forwards in the AFL and then to say Hall is a better player (which I respect your opinion)says once again how underrated Jack Higgins is!
I think in this chat youre both actually right.

As a stay at home small/medium forward i think Higgo is better than Hall and always will be.

As a high HF/Midfield rotation Hall is better than Higgo and always will be.

Both have A grade potential (Higgo had 46 goals this year, the most of any non key forward who wasnt Jamie Elliot who really plays as a key forward anyway, id argue Higgo was A grade this year but alot of factors go into that).

Hall has to keep doing it, Higgo has runs on the board so to speak but ultimately you cant directly compare as they are completely different roles.
A few Carlscum mates of mine are trying to hang crap on JSOS's groin issue ... saying they are shot .... but I think its more sour grapes from their side .... here's hoping anyway

Also on the subject of Walsh ... I have held this back however I had a direct conversation with him a month or so back and mentioned to him about coming to the Saints at thr end of next year ... his reaction was a bit of nervous laugh and followed by .... nah nah I am with the Blues ..... he then mentioned that his best mate was with the Saints (Dow) and I said that gave him even more reason to switch across ... cue .... another nervous laugh .... seriously I got the feeling that he is probably likely to stay at the Blues as he could be line to get big pay day out of them with a few gone now and that they will have cap space ... very nice guy was more than happy to have a chat and ask questions back my way.

If our young midfield come on this year then there will be no need for an aging / injury prone Walsh and we would be better off chasing some x-factor like the B Bear
FWIW i was speaking with a mate who has been in AFL S&C for 20 years and he said groin issues are extremely common in guys moving into different training programs, he did note that JSOS has groin issues anyway but he didnt think it was anything to be overly concerned about

I think in this chat youre both actually right.

As a stay at home small/medium forward i think Higgo is better than Hall and always will be.

As a high HF/Midfield rotation Hall is better than Higgo and always will be.

Both have A grade potential (Higgo had 46 goals this year, the most of any non key forward who wasnt Jamie Elliot who really plays as a key forward anyway, id argue Higgo was A grade this year but alot of factors go into that).

Hall has to keep doing it, Higgo has runs on the board so to speak but ultimately you cant directly compare as they are completely different roles.

FWIW i was speaking with a mate who has been in AFL S&C for 20 years and he said groin issues are extremely common in guys moving into different training programs, he did note that JSOS has groin issues anyway but he didnt think it was anything to be overly concerned about

Just for fun, i had a look to see which Saints had the most score involvments. Some from other clubs eclipsed our guys, but i see that as a different thing, in that we aren't so reliant on specific players, we share the score load better. Anyway.

AFL Rankiing / Number of involvements 2025 / Player.
36 / 148 / Marshall
43 / 145 /NAS
64 / 130 / Sharman
75 / 125 / Hall.
81 /122 / Sinclair
92 /118 / Higgins
97 /116 / Macrae
107 / 110 / Wood.

Based on averages its similar but a bit different.
34 /6.4 / Marshall. ( 3rd of rucks behind English and Gawn ).
35 /6.3/NAS ( same as Jamie Elliot ).
44 /6.2/ Sharman ( Same as Taylor Walker ).
76 /5.5/ Macrae ( Same as Papley or Oliver ).
93 /5.4 /Hall ( Same as Sheezel, or Sanders ).
104/5.3 / Owens and Sinclair ( Same as Josh Ward, or Parish ).
111/5.2/ Wood ( Same as Liam Ryan ).
119/5.1/ Higgins ( Same as Sam Flanders ).

Sharman and NAS lead our goal assists.

Inside 50s is interesting, our best were NAS, Macrae, Sinclair, but then, Windhager and Steele. Given that neither Windhager or Steele featured highly in score involvements, were they the biggest culprits in turning it over in our forward line. ?

When we recruited Travaglia we were screaming for midfielders, so year one he was put on a path to being a midfielder. Fast forward a year later and we are much more likely to build him as a half back. He will take time to actually find his role and build into it.

Just for fun, i had a look to see which Saints had the most score involvments. Some from other clubs eclipsed out guys, but i see that as a different thing, in that we aren't so reliant on specific players, we share the score load better. Anyway.

AFL Rankiing / Number of involvements 2025 / Player.
36 / 148 / Marshall
43 / 145 /NAS
64 / 130 / Sharman
75 / 125 / Hall.
81 /122 / Sinclair
92 /118 / Higgins
97 /116 / Macrae
107 / 110 / Wood.

Based on averages its similar but a bit different.
34 /6.4 / Marshall. ( 3rd of rucks behind English and Gawn ).
35 /6.3/NAS ( same as Jamie Elliot ).
44 /6.2/ Sharman ( Same as Taylor Walker ).
76 /5.5/ Macrae ( Same as Papley or Oliver ).
93 /5.4 /Hall ( Same as Sheezel, or Sanders ).
104/5.3 / Owens and Sinclair ( Same as Josh Ward, or Parish ).
111/5.2/ Wood ( Same as Liam Ryan ).
119/5.1/ Higgins ( Same as Sam Flanders ).

Sharman and NAS lead our goal assists.

Inside 50s is interesting, our best were NAS, Macrae, Sinclair, but then, Windhager and Steele. Given that neither Windhager or Steele featured highly in score involvements, were they the biggest culprits in turning it over in our forward line. ?
That doesn’t surprise me because Steele turned into a terrible kick and Windhager is just a blaster. They’re both get it and bomb it types which is why Windhager is always in and out of the midfield. Doesn’t mean he can’t be a good player but his disposal really limits his ceiling.

His marking is very good too. As is his closing speed to spoil or mark where he gets to contests that many cannot.

But yes agree that he needs to work on his kicking both in terms of where he kicks it. As well as how how kicks it.
He don’t shy away from the physical stuff either. The baby faced assassin.

Hall had Higgins covered for everything apart from goals where he averages 1 goal a game to Higgo's 2. Playing as a high half forward and must have been extremely high for setting up goals, inside 50s and general score assists.

I think Hall would be close to the best high half forward in footy or at least in the conversation. When he went into the centre he looked a class above too.

Garcia looks very likely to step up quickly as does Wilson. Owens and Windhager are both at the right age and experience to move fast into a higher bracket.
I really rate Hall but this is comparing apples and oranges - and a really good example why stats can be useless.

One is a stay at home small forward target, the other is creative half-forward flank - who spent time in the midfield.

Hall should be leading in most metrics except goals with the roles both players play.

Hall was awesome but he’s only done it for one season as a mature ager. We need a bigger sample size to put him above Higgins who has been doing this for years now IMO.

Higgins had his best most consistent year at 26. Hall is still only 23. He needs to back it up obviously but Hall would have been in our top 4 or 5 players in his first season IMO.

I'm notifying to down play Higgins because he is great player but I reckon he taps out just below A grade this year. Hall had an absolutely insane season in one of the hardest positions in footy. One that doesn't look impressive on the stats sheet but wins you matches. Him and Nas kicking inside 50 made a very ordinary attack look quite potent.

I really rate Hall but this is comparing apples and oranges - and a really good example why stats can be useless.

One is a stay at home small forward target, the other is creative half-forward flank - who spent time in the midfield.

Hall should be leading in most metrics except goals with the roles both players play.

I agree stats are a load of shit but Hall was probably in the conversation for the best high half forward in footy in his first year. I reckon he's criminally underrated.

Higgins reminds me of Papley, he's real energy driver and he plays exciting footy but he's a bit prone to being a scoring only threat. If he isn't kicking his 2+ goals he's not adding a massive amount more. Both can go quiet for long patches too.

He was better at pressuring without the ball in 2025 but to be absolutely elite or A grade he probably has to average over the 2 goals or become a better pressure player.

A few Carlscum mates of mine are trying to hang crap on JSOS's groin issue ... saying they are shot .... but I think its more sour grapes from their side .... here's hoping anyway

Also on the subject of Walsh ... I have held this back however I had a direct conversation with him a month or so back and mentioned to him about coming to the Saints at thr end of next year ... his reaction was a bit of nervous laugh and followed by .... nah nah I am with the Blues ..... he then mentioned that his best mate was with the Saints (Dow) and I said that gave him even more reason to switch across ... cue .... another nervous laugh .... seriously I got the feeling that he is probably likely to stay at the Blues as he could be line to get big pay day out of them with a few gone now and that they will have cap space ... very nice guy was more than happy to have a chat and ask questions back my way.

If our young midfield come on this year then there will be no need for an aging / injury prone Walsh and we would be better off chasing some x-factor like the B Bear

He's surprisingly young still. Just turned 25. Feels like he's been around for about 15 years.

I agree stats are a load of shit but Hall was probably in the conversation for the best high half forward in footy in his first year. I reckon he's criminally underrated.

Higgins reminds me of Papley, he's real energy driver and he plays exciting footy but he's a bit prone to being a scoring only threat. If he isn't kicking his 2+ goals he's not adding a massive amount more. Both can go quiet for long patches too.

He was better at pressuring without the ball in 2025 but to be absolutely elite or A grade he probably has to average over the 2 goals or become a better pressure player.

Nearly one in 5 of Higgins disposals end up being a goal. ( Similar stat to Jamie Elliott ).
Around 2 in 7 of his disposals ends up being a score.
Around 2 in 7 of his disposals is a goal or a goal assist.

Worth getting the ball to him.

The Trav discussion is interesting. I think the fact that he generally looks a bit untidy makes it harder to warm to him. His arms flap about a lot and his kicking can let him down at times . Has a lot of good traits though and I think he will play a lot of games.

I remember it took me a very long time to warm to Jarryn Geary - and I wasn’t alone. But ultimately he became a club captain late in his career through sheer determination and work rate. I can see a lot of similarities in Trav.

He's lot less of a battler than Gears. He's just finished his first season and barely run in. Considering guys like Sinclair were mid 20s before coming on he's got time on his side.

These blokes make the so-called happy clapper brigade look like negative nancys 😂

That should be what we expect with this recruitment drive. Fortress Marvel isn't unachievable. The Dogs are the only side I actually feel like we have some psychological barrier with ATM. Adelaide got hold of us too but feel like the reinforcements might bring us back in a bit. For whatever reason we couldn't get moving against the Dogs system. Cats, Pies, Carlton, Dons, Port could all be worse this coming season. Get a run going and who know how far we can go.

Training Saints preseason 2026