Training Saints preseason 2026

AFL players can never complain about the amount of annual leave they get.
it's rare they get a weekend off during the season, though.

Don't get why some compare sports ppl to a regular job

S&C News

Hi all

I've become aware that the Club has very recently added a new strength and conditioning trainer to team, who not only has a boxing and physical fitness background, but has been the personal trainer of one of our players during the past few years.

They were invited down for a chat, took the players for a session and after being so impressed, they offered him a role, which was accepted.

He has also trained a player from another Club the year they won a Norm Smith and Premiership.

I'm not aware of any Club announcement yet, but it may be on a trial basis for the time being.

Anyhow, let's hope it works out and he can help add a more resilient and harder edge to the group overall.

I thought I'd post this, as a few here have talked about the s&c department.

Almost as bad as bloody teachers
Mate, my partner is a teacher and she deservers all the holidays she gets.
Works till past seven at school most nights,
Brings school work home working past midnight at times, works on the weekends (marking, curriculum planning, excursion planning, report writing) she spent over $1900 of her own money this year on things you and I would assume the school and education department would provide to their staff.
Not to mention some of the parents and students she has to deal with....give teachers a break mate!

Brings school work home working past midnight at times, works on the weekends (marking, curriculum planning, excursion planning, report writing) she spent over $1900 of her own money this year on things you and I would assume the school and education department would provide to their staff.
Not to mention some of the parents and students she has to deal with....give teachers a break mate!
Half my circle are teachers, it’s a pisstake old mate 😉

My GF worked in prep in 2025

A prep kid got suspended for 3 weeks in September.

Some people really should not be parents.

100% this Mate, wife is a school teacher and works bloody hard running classes before school in her own time and the amount of lunches and school books for kids out of her own money. Some of the parents shouldn't be allowed to breed

You wouldn't get me back in front of a (non-adult) classroom for a million a year, a solid-gold Ferrari, and a PM-grade pension plan ... certainly not for the so called "holidays" ... it's hard enough to train co-workers whose ongoing career survival relies on learning what I have to teach them ...

... on another, very much Saints-related topic ... how good was it to see the work Hugo was putting in on NYE? Reckon the league is going to need to be on notice if he keeps his mongrel streak AND goes up a level in footy prowess ...

Teachers are up there with social workers and counsellor's for burning out...the job description is only a fraction of what's actually involved. It 'ain't an easy job at all. Especially if you happen to be good at what you do.
Cheers to you & your partner mate.

Half my circle are teachers, it’s a pisstake old mate 😉
Oh dear
Oh No Bob GIF

It will be interesting to see how Wilson goes next season.

First year he started quite well, faded and many were saying he should have an extended run in the VFL before finishing quite well in the seniors.

Then he looked amazing on the track and everyone was sure that his running ability meant that he would be immune to second year blues. He has a pretty poor season before eventually being dropped, but then comes back and plays his best game ever in the final round.

So will he carry on that form or will he continue to struggle like he did for most of the season? I expect the answer is somewhere in the middle. If he could just get his averages up to 18 disposals and a goal per game, I'd be happy with that output from Darcy.
Ive long said that forward pocket would be one of the toughest spots to play, true wing would be close second.

Some days it just doesnt come out to your wing, you still need to gut run to cover outlets. Ed Langdon toiled away running 20kms a game for 5 kicks, especially early in your career couple of quiet weeks leads to confidence going down etc etc.

He seems pretty resilient and obviously has all the physical attributes.

Training Saints preseason 2026