Discussion Saintsational

..... or humour some self aggrandising fool who thinks they know more than the entire staff of the club.

I wont miss that knowall for a moment. A troll and a baiter is all he is. Think he actually may have a personality disorder.

Anyway Nexus_helen is over there now as citywest, still advocating we get rid of any player with any experience. So you can tell from the quality of that poster what the joint has turned into.

What is bizarre is you see the combative posters from SS on here and they act like contrite school children with their hats on their laps. This place is a bit classier but it can be a little boring chatting only with the ra-ra brigade. Sometime you just want to pull up some idiot ripping into our players and point out their lack of credibility or humour some self aggrandising fool who thinks they know more than the entire staff of the club.
CJ should be rested.

It's disturbing how many posters are over here. I got on here every time SS forgot to pay their hosting fees and I find myself on here more and more these days. You aren't the same with out your laughing waffle avatar...bring it over.

I still post on both BF and SS, not as much now though.

As others have said, most forums have their place in the footy world, BF is different to SS. I believe there are still a lot of good posters on both boards.
Don't know about Saints BF board overtaking SS, there's just not the same amount of traffic I don't think.

We should be all on these forums for the same reason - to support the St Kilda FC.

i still post on SS everynow and then but cant stand the crap flung by some posters. P66 and BigMart bitch fest gets annoying.

i prefer it here over everywhere else. i think mainly because of the moderation that takes place. the mods deserve serious credit for making it what it is. kildonan and squizz do an excellent job.

it can get a bit heated in here. ive often crossed the line but the mods arent scared to tell you that you have and to pull your head in.

its a good place!!!

I sincerly apologise for any vitriol I may have directed toward you:)

Hey Joff... how are ya buddy? Can only imagine how bad it is now that the Libs are in power. It was all good fun with you... united behind the common enemy (I think they call it) - or in his case... the common enema.

It's a bit more laid back on here. Kind of reform school for social media parasites like me. :D

Anyway, I hope all is well with you and your family. Don't be a stranger round here. Your insights are always welcome from this fella.

Sounds like P66 has gone down hill of late.

Anyways, as far as this place goes, yes the mods are great and have pulled me into line when required, so I guess there is some decent peer pressure on all of us to behave.

If you wanna talk footy then you play by the rules... pretty simple.

I signed up to both, don't post much but like to be able to comment whenever the urge gets me, however I had to change some details on my SS account in December and it locked me out stating an admin needed to approve the changes and re-register my nic......I'm still waiting..... such is life.... at least I can still catch up on all things saints wherever I am.

Maybe I should start posting more lol

i think it will, i have always been on SS first and BF 2nd but latley SS has turned into a snip off. still a heap of top posters there but a small few hammer it. I like P66 as makes the place fun. goes crazy at times but enjoy 90% of his posts.

I think bF wins as it's structured convo with out the chest beating. Lately i have been coming here alot more.

Hey Joff... how are ya buddy? Can only imagine how bad it is now that the Libs are in power. It was all good fun with you... united behind the common enemy (I think they call it) - or in his case... the common enema.

It's a bit more laid back on here. Kind of reform school for social media parasites like me. :D

Anyway, I hope all is well with you and your family. Don't be a stranger round here. Your insights are always welcome from this fella.

Sounds like P66 has gone down hill of late.

Anyways, as far as this place goes, yes the mods are great and have pulled me into line when required, so I guess there is some decent peer pressure on all of us to behave.

If you wanna talk footy then you play by the rules... pretty simple.

G'day mate.

Hilarious that you mention that someone who obviously lurks here, has lifted my first post in this thread, posted it on SS and is calling for a lifetime ban

lol.

What does he think me saying I am not posting over there again is?

VDS, used to post solely on bigfooty many moons ago, but then had many friends who posted over at SS. Now most of them have had enough of the garbage.

I know this forum is a bit less frequented but at least i wont get stalked by posters trying to prove that Hickey is a gumby, or Cripps is an outside softie, or MacEvoy was the worst trade in history etc, really it becomes so tiresome.

Have dealt with Kildonan and Fred for many years and find them reasonable.

Anyway if i want some argy bargy can always go over to the general footy forum:D

I was a member of SS for many years, but I eventually quit when several posters inferred the world would be a better place without me, and one or two PMd me and told me to just go and off myself.

That was it for me, never gone back, never wanted to.
I remember that episode Ric. It was shameful and I was very sad to see you leave the place. I never knew that was the reason you left. I often remeber the wonderful story you told of getting to meet your hero Nicky. Anyhow, glad that you are getting your Saints-fix here. Many of us are making the switch these days.

I'm not going to bag SS as I have practically lived there for a few years and I love the place. It's a lot of fun mostly and I've only had a real issue with one or two… who many have had problems with.

It is in a "bit" of a hole at the moment, which is to be expected with no new members are allowed for a very long time. It took me a couple of years and a few attempts to join too - not sure why that has been made difficult.

I probably need a breather from SS… hope to contribute positively here in the meantime, I'm enjoying the tech upgrade that BF offers.

gazrat is chuffed with the respect.
... thanx M (?)

environmental encouragement helped !
:)

there were many hearty laughs 'n much evil(ish) banter enjoyed in earlier days.
she's a sad ol girl now.

Best thing about this place is very few take themselves too seriously. I've had plenty of heated discussions with posters here but you can talk with the same person 5 mins later in another thread and it's as if nothing happened. None of this silly holding grudges stuff, we all move on pretty quickly. And obviously the current and former mods have done a great job.

Actually I lied.. The best thing about this place is the alert system. Once that was brought in I haven't been a regular anywhere else.

gazrat is chuffed with the respect.
... thanx M (?)

environmental encouragement helped !
:)

there were many hearty laughs 'n much evil(ish) banter enjoyed in earlier days.
she's a sad ol girl now.

What can I say? I have seen the light... and reached a new level of enlightenment since those days. Much better place these days.

BTW: How is the old no-nothing nuffie dingbat togger toggling nob jockey clueless cabbage (aka Andrew) doing these days?

I remember that episode Ric. It was shameful and I was very sad to see you leave the place. I never knew that was the reason you left. I often remeber the wonderful story you told of getting to meet your hero Nicky. Anyhow, glad that you are getting your Saints-fix here. Many of us are making the switch these days.

Couldn't honestly remember what happened until somebody pulled out the thread at SS. Suffice to say two sides to every story, but who cares, years ago now.

I honestly feel if one feels aggrieved at a forum you dont announce it on the forum but do what Ric did and just leave.

I can honestly feel the atmosphere on this forum as much lighter and less confrontational. I know one certain aggro poster lurks over here, but would not have the gonads to post the type of garbage he continues to post over at that other forum. Wouldn't last two minutes.

What I like about over here is that there is more than one dictator on the boards. If you feel that you have been unfairly treated, you will get a hearing. Not so over the other place nowdays with the new sheriff in town.

As gaz called it, a tired old girl. Interesting how BF is much older (by about 5 years) but seems fresher than any other fan forum I have seen.

As someone mentioned the Alerts is a great function and really adds to the experience. During the summer the Ashes test threads on the cricket forum were great fun and many posters keeping the thread going with the Alerts really adding to the experience of watching the test while posting.

Couldn't honestly remember what happened until somebody pulled out the thread at SS. Suffice to say two sides to every story, but who cares, years ago now.

I honestly feel if one feels aggrieved at a forum you dont announce it on the forum but do what Ric did and just leave.

I remember it pretty well, I had an opinion on a certain topic (it's irrelevant what it was now) that I articulated probably a little more aggressively and emotively than was necessary. No doubt a certain amount of the backlash was warranted and maybe even deserved, but I draw the line at being told I was of no use to society and to "go and jump in front of a train" by multiple people. That is bullying and I won't have it, not now and not then, not ever.

I wrote a farewell post and that was it. Ironically I ran into a few of the posters responsible later on, who acted like nothing had happened at all which made it worse. Have even stopped sitting anywhere near the Wing now as well.

Best thing about this place is very few take themselves too seriously. I've had plenty of heated discussions with posters here but you can talk with the same person 5 mins later in another thread and it's as if nothing happened. None of this silly holding grudges stuff, we all move on pretty quickly. And obviously the current and former mods have done a great job.

Actually I lied.. The best thing about this place is the alert system. Once that was brought in I haven't been a regular anywhere else.

this

Discussion Saintsational