Sam Blease

10-20 mark, depends what teams do in this draft. There are more KPP's in this draft and therefore teams will want to grab a quality midfielder early as they are rarer this year, would not surprise me to see him go to Adelaide at pick10

i still think there are very solid mids in this draft. Rich, Swift, Deboer, Hill, Walters, Robinson, Ziebell, Blease, Banner, Zaharakis, J.Blight, Shuey, Boradbent, Okeffe, Hartlett, Allwright, Klemke, Ash Smith, Hanneberry, Strauss.

Im just saying maybe his tyres have been pumped up a little, but dare i sayi it from the nab carnival he looked to be one of the best midfielders. Although his TAC form wasnt to good this year.

He had an avg of 17 disposals, 42% of his wonderful kicks were ineffective.

Where are you getting that info from mate?

Stolen from Colin Wisbey:

"His '08 disposal counts (chronologically) were:

That's TAC, U18 Champs, trials."

164 over 12 games or 13.66 average.

The 7 games in the TAC Cup this year he averaged 17 touches a game with 60% kicking efficiency, 73% handballing efficiency and 64% disposal efficiency overall.

From the TAC Cup website.

Just to put into perspective the kicking efficiency against some of the best kicks in Victoria:

According to TAC Cup site Ziebell kicks with 56% eff :eek:, Sidebottom 68% eff, Hurley 69% eff, Smith 64% eff, Strauss 63% eff

Just to put into perspective the kicking efficiency against some of the best kicks in Victoria:

According to TAC Cup site Ziebell kicks with 56% eff :eek:, Sidebottom 68% eff, Hurley 69% eff, Smith 64% eff, Strauss 63% eff

Blease's strengths are meant to be his speed and skill by foot. These categories put him so highly rated and touted.

Ziebell kicking eff wouldnt take much notice of he is a clearance player and whacks it onto his boot at of the stoppages in which quite a few, would go to the opposition.

Im supirsed hes above 50%.

Would be surprised if Blease doesn't go 1st round. Great pace and super contest - set up Vic Metro in a brilliant 1st quarter against WA in the U18's Final.

“Jason McCartney” Sam Blease
DOB: 2/5/90
State league: VIC
Club: Eastern Ranges

JM: Sammy has exceptional speed. He was with our AIS-AFL Academy this year and I think what he achieved with his footy this year was quite remarkable considering he had no preparation coming in. He had minor surgery on both his hips – one in December and one in January – so he had no continuity in his training, but was very diligent with the way he went about it.
His first game for the year was actually when we were in South Africa and what was great was that he didn't miss a beat. His capacity to run the lines was remarkable, he can run really hard at top pace, and he used the ball really well. He backed that up in the second match over there where he was one of our better players.

He sets high standards for himself; he was disappointed with his third game when we came back to Perth, but that's to be expected when you have no pre-season.
What really stood out for me, in a strong Vic Metro side in the final of the under-18 championships, was a passage of play that I think would have just had recruiters drooling. He ran down a Western Australian player between wing and half-back at top speed, the ball spilled free, another player gathered the loose ball and then handballed on to Blease who had run to just forward of the wing and drilled the goal running inside 50. The defensive chase, tackle and recovery and then to be able to get on the end and finish was special.

I think he'll be a first or high second-round pick

Could this Explain his lack of disposal throughout the year?

Blease's strengths are meant to be his speed and skill by foot. These categories put him so highly rated and touted.

Ziebell kicking eff wouldnt take much notice of he is a clearance player and whacks it onto his boot at of the stoppages in which quite a few, would go to the opposition.

Im supirsed hes above 50%.
News to me.

I say he is Favourite to be a Pie at Pick 11.

Video of Blease:

[YOUTUBE]GWVXBOSG1BM[/YOUTUBE]

There will be better players than Blease at pick 9. We need mids with an inside capacity. I rate Blease a 15 to 25 pick.

We have already got some flashy type ball carriers and all of them are better users of the ball than Blease.

Thanks mate. That's fair enough.

Personally, from what little I've seen of Blease on youtube and bigpond, and from what I've read about him, he sounds like he'd be a really good fit for the Eagles. We need a pacey, outside mid, IMO, and I was just making sure there wasn't something I'd missed with him.

Hope he's there at 18 or 20.

Thanks mate. That's fair enough.

Personally, from what little I've seen of Blease on youtube and bigpond, and from what I've read about him, he sounds like he'd be a really good fit for the Eagles. We need a pacey, outside mid, IMO, and I was just making sure there wasn't something I'd missed with him.

Hope he's there at 18 or 20.

Could there be at 18 but I doubt he would drop that far, I reckon Pies and Saints would be Keen on Blease