News Sam Docherty - Another ACL :((

They do what's called a hybrid now, synthetic ligament and hamstring tendon. Don't do the straight LARS anymore. I had one done a couple of years ago, was back jogging after eight weeks although they still recommend at least 9 months rehab.

Good for tradies etc who need to get back to work. With footy players its more about having that stability while the hammy ligament takes hold so you can start rehabing quicker, building muscle sooner etc.
thanks alot, b72 - I had a feeling I hadn't heard the lars term used for a while - wonder what input russell might have to his options if any

Can we cover him? Of course we can but we would be much better with him in our side for many reasons. Let him be back fully fit for our charge to the finals in 2020
he was going to be like a first round draft pick adding cream to our fully baked pie..........

It's the medico's fault obviously, how dare they allow Doc to run!! .. and let's sack SOS for not having the foresight to anticipate this happening.

**** there are some dickheads here...

It's the medico's fault obviously, how dare they allow Doc to run!! .. and let's sack SOS for not having the foresight to anticipate this happening.

**** their are some dickheads here...
I just don't know why our medics and trainers ,coaches dont just let our guys walk around Ikon and sign stuff for fans !!
An injury free pre season..:oops:

InfantilePalatableDore-max-1mb.gif

Anyhow, feelings of pain/empathy for Doc and sheer anger of rage and anger the frustration and unfairness of it all, the club and playing cannot (and won't imho) fall into panic/sky is falling mode.

We coped a whole season without Docherty (not very well, but we did) but Bolton, Cripps and rest of the leadership need to try stay as stoic and upbeat for the upcoming season.
I don't worry about other external things beyond our control (like the pick swap with The Crows).

I don't think season 2019 is a write off, not by any chalk, got factor in a healthy Paddy Cripps doing a preseason, Paddy Wow and LOB seasoned and ready to fire in their sophomore season's, return of Zac Fisher, more improvement and maturity from Charlie and Harry, and more physical and fit bodies under a preseason regime, plus our boom recruits, esp Sammy Walsh.

It hurts losing Doc, we just got to believe that the club (coaches and player) is in a better position to cope his absence this time around. Think a bit of faith in the club right now wouldn't go astray (can understand why many feel the need to vent though)

All the best Sammo .... you must be bloody gutted mate. At least you can still exert your leaderships skills and mentor the new blokes. I'de be lying if I said I wasn't looking forward to you flying the flag as co-captain this year for the mighty baggers.

#JustALittleSad

Having that mature elite player & leader supporting our young talented defence was a big plus. His ability to support Weitering Marchbank Willo Macreadie even Jones would have been huge in 2019
the way he was talking about the thing he was loving most was being back playing the game he loved..........

Terrible news, really feel for Doc. Yesterday I read the article about him and was pretty pumped to see him back at it next year. Hope he can make a full recovery and get back to his best footy ASAP.

The footy gods must really hate us [emoji22]

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

I think it’s best for Sam to now focus on possible off field aspirations ... I’d like to see him go into a coaching role ... possibly looking after the midfield where we are still deficient ... if and when he gets back on the field that would be a bonus ... but the reality is he would’ve been 3-4 years out of the game ... I’d like to see Williamson assume his role long term with interim assistance from the likes of Newman ...

thanks alot, b72 - I had a feeling I hadn't heard the lars term used for a while - wonder what input russell might have to his options if any

It's pretty much traditional or the hybrid these days. I've got a traditional in the right and a hybrid in the left.

The traditional was what they call a double bundle (a hamstring tendon folded once then once again) which is very strong and is about 7 years old now.

Been playing vets footy for most of that time and touch word both knees are holding up well.

I'm part of a long term study so they can gather data and develop a history etc.

6FE89874-5077-4DD6-9877-3EA556509676.gif

Hope you are doing OK Doc. I’d been looking forward to you being back on the field. Guess we can look forward to you training up your replacement/s, leading off field and getting ready for 2020.

Here he is ..... right on queue!

And here you are right on queue...

The club's medical staff have been disastrous all year, that's a fact (I'm guessing they're welcome here). They sent players out there this year when they were clearly not fully recovered. So give me one good reason to think otherwise re Doc's rehabilitation program?

Would we be heaping too much pressure on Stocker to become Doc Mach II?
Be interesting how they go forth with which procedure/rehab time.
Gutted for him & the club.
Get well, get well soon, we want you to get well.

News Sam Docherty - Another ACL :((