News Sam Docherty - Another ACL :((

Hearing Doc in an earlier press conference (before reinjuring his knee) he said that he got himself into a position where he could’ve played towards the end of the season but the MC opted not to take any risk.

I’m sure Doc will have the same grit and determination, but wonder whether he will push hard to play in the back end of the season (depending on what surgery he decides to have).

Provided he is 100%, I hope we go get to see him play in 2019 even if it is one game in the VFL.

hmmm. 2 knees in a row. it's like having 2 kids. 1+1 doesn't = 2. it equals about 5.
Is a real solid jab to the guts. Takes a while to stand back up and get your breath.

Suddenly my crow mates are popping up on the text line with some strange messages and quirky knee/Dr references.
At first I'm thinking they'll all back on the whoopo weed than it dawned on me.... eff me with a fish fork.
Thought it was a joke. Slowly click onto the AFL site with one eye closed and my head turned slightly.

My crow buddy ol' pals here are back slapping and cheering as they think we're bottom for sure now.

Jacob Weitering I'm looking straight at you mate. I'm laser eyeing and burning a hole thru your head.
Cometh the hour cometh the man.
Bolts needs to get the defensive group in a room and play 'ecstasy of gold' by Ennio Morricone.

A phone call needs to be made to Collingwood's Tyson Goldsack as to how he recovered quicker than expected. Hopefully there will be a chance Doc comes back this year as did Goldsack and he played ok through the season's end.

I know we're all in the bad moods at the moment, but flexibility with player additions has changed and hopefully the club makes the right decision to find the right current replacement if it's out there. God, it sucks though.

Goldsack's wasn't a bad one. We don't know the extent of Sam's damage yet
Yes we do. It’s the same injury as last year. A ruptured ACL.

Goldsack suffered a partial tear.

I’m not sure that makes any difference?
Jimmae MrPlow

A phone call needs to be made to Collingwood's Tyson Goldsack as to how he recovered quicker than expected. Hopefully there will be a chance Doc comes back this year as did Goldsack and he played ok through the season's end.

I know we're all in the bad moods at the moment, but flexibility with player additions has changed and hopefully the club makes the right decision to find the right current replacement if it's out there. God, it sucks though.
didnt he do the LARS surgery which is like less than half the time?

I understand that many dont do it because of quality etc but considering the circumstances of missing two full years in a row ( which is so much more detrimental on so many levels- and his 1st as captain), would'nt it be worth considering.

based on what we've seen with Goldsack and others (someone at sydney a few yrs back-malceski?) he could be back playing seniors mid season if succuessful.

thoughts?

Yes, his girlfriend posted a video/story on Instagram on the weekend showing Sam jumping up and down on someone’s trampoline and falling and laughing it off. I remember at the time when I saw it thinking oh Sam, should you be mucking around doing this...

When I was rehabing my second recon I was on the tramp with my daughter one day jumping for a bit. Didn't land poorly or anything but two days after the knee was sore as and very swollen, took about 10 days to settle down.

Haven't jumped on a tramp since.

been said before, wasnt a full tear only partial one, no clue why the media spun it out like he fully ruptured it

Goldsack did a quad graft instead of a hamstring graft.
Results in a stronger and more stable ACL graft. This what i think they will do this time.

in regards to Partial tears surgery, I cant find anything on whether they do a different surgery but from i can see its a full knee reconstruction if you elect to have surgery. ACL cannot be stitched together.

When I was rehabing my second recon I was on the tramp with my daughter one day jumping for a bit. Didn't land poorly or anything but two days after the knee was sore as and very swollen, took about 10 days to settle down.

Not that damn trampoline again. :straining:
He said tramp, not trampoline.

Big difference, especially if you are the tramp he and his daughter are jumping on.

Can we get a carbon fibre ACL graft or something.. come on science .. step up and deliver !

No it doesn't ruin ANY future prospects! With all due respect, who gives a **** what prospective player we might have received in the 1st round of the 2019 draft? We have had 4 ******* years of picking up top talent. When does it end??? This was a bold move by SOS and the gang. It was a sign to us supporters, the club and the wider AFL community that we aren't playing in 2019 for any draft picks. We are playing to win- we are moving on from our rebuild. So whether we finish last or 1st next year, who cares what pick we get from the crows??? I'm not interested in picking up any more elite number 1 picks. We have them in spades. Get the kids we have right and ready to go for 2019 and beyond.

In regards to Doc, i'm still bloody shattered for him, the club and us supporters. We really didn't need something like this, but we've recruited to cover for him so I don't see it being the huge issue most will make it out to be. It is shocking for Doc more so than our performances on field... We will be fine because we HAVE to be fine and move on from this.
These are all nice warm fuzzys to say, but if we finish last and Crows make a good fist of it it becomes a brutal trade. Of course like I said you cant predict what may happen and the injury is super unfortunate for Doc first and the club 2nd, and you can say 1 player doesnt make a club, but they still have a massive impact. Not forgetting hes a captain (lucky we chose two).

It is still Stocker + pick 18 versus pick 1 on its own, even at its worst case scenario for us.

The further both clubs are away from that scenario, the better the deal for us.

ACLs are devastating. I know I feel like the Pies have had more than our fair share. Although the real fair share would be 0 across all clubs because no one deserves an ACL.

People have been saying Goldsack had a partial tear. That was incorrect reporting by the media. He suffered a full tear but was back in 6 months.

The two things that I've read he did differently to most reconstructions was he did a massive training load before the surgery. And they used a quad tendon rather than a hamstring.

Its unlikely Docherty will be back in 6 months because Goldsack took risks due to his age and the team's position. But he could play AFL footy next year.

ACLs are devastating. I know I feel like the Pies have had more than our fair share. Although the real fair share would be 0 across all clubs because no one deserves an ACL.

People have been saying Goldsack had a partial tear. That was incorrect reporting by the media. He suffered a full tear but was back in 6 months.

The two things that I've read he did differently to most reconstructions was he did a massive training load before the surgery. And they used a quad tendon rather than a hamstring.

Its unlikely Docherty will be back in 6 months because Goldsack took risks due to his age and the team's position. But he could play AFL footy next year.

Thanks for the clarification :)

Can we get a carbon fibre ACL graft or something.. come on science .. step up and deliver !

I think they use polyester for the artificial ligaments these days. No wonder they tear I've torn my polyester shirts heaps of times.

Silly scientists.

Seriously though, the pressure we put the knees under during sport is ridiculous.

Goldsack did a quad graft instead of a hamstring graft.
Results in a stronger and more stable ACL graft. This what i think they will do this time.

in regards to Partial tears surgery, I cant find anything on whether they do a different surgery but from i can see its a full knee reconstruction if you elect to have surgery. ACL cannot be stitched together.

Partial tears are generally treated conservatively ie they allow time to heal naturally. Surgeons won't cut a partially torn ACL so they can then reconstruct (unless it is all but torn completely through)

News Sam Docherty - Another ACL :((