Sam Mitchell - 300 Games

Congrats to Sam Mitchell on an incredible career. I reckon the absolute peak of his playing powers came in last year's finals series where he accumulated the most possessions by any player ever in a finals campaign. He played four unbelievable games in a row in a performance akin to the series Gary Ablett Snr put together in 1989. There can be no higher praise than that!

Mitchell>Hodge>Crawf.

Hawthorn top five (no order) IMO.
Lethal - Dunstall - Mitchell - Hudson - Scott.
I've been watching and supporting Hawthorn since the 70's.......
It's objective, but for mine:
1: Matthews
2: Hudson
3: Dunstall
4: Knights
5: Mitchell

Hodge, Platten, Kel Moore next in line

Nope. How many great games has he played against the Swans.

Woohoo! He won a flag against us! I'm sure you're flicking through your spank bank looking for more pictures to post. He lost one too remember.

You're a knob mate.

Pi$$ off you COLA clown.

You're a knob mate.

Pi$$ off you COLA clown.

You honestly bumped the thread on a Friday night just for that? Wow.

You realise I don't play for the Swans right? Your mates post pictures of Swans players after a loss to make.... some point I guess.... and I'm the knob? Tell your story walking champ.

Worst 300 gamer ever :D

Jokes jokes, congratulations Sam, I still remember way back when you were lighting up the VFL and winning the Liston medal and many wondered when your time would come. In turn you have never let the Hawks down and I hope in return your side does the same for you and chairs you off with a win Sunday :)

Mitchell has been a gun and deserves all the plaudits but I think comments like possibly the greatest hawk of all time, and up there along side Leigh Matthews prove that when in the moment we get carried away.

In 10, 15 or 20 years will Hawk supporters really rate him along side Matthews, Dunstall, Hudson, Platten etc etc.

He will be rated highly but IMO not a patch on some of the names above. Personally I rate Hodge higher and Crawf atleast the equal of Mitchell.
I agree that Matthews is a league ahead, but opinions are always quite subjective. I rate Hodge higher too and both him and Mitch above Platten and Crawf, both of whom I still rate quite highly.

Easily the best player I've seen play for the club in my lifetime.

Will go down as an all time great and one of the best midfielders to play the game.

His first half against Geelong in the 2013 prelim was a sight to behold. The rest of the team were completely overawed and he alone kept us in it. If he wasn't there that night, I shudder to think how the next 3 years would have gone.

Mitchell has been a gun and deserves all the plaudits but I think comments like possibly the greatest hawk of all time, and up there along side Leigh Matthews prove that when in the moment we get carried away.

In 10, 15 or 20 years will Hawk supporters really rate him along side Matthews, Dunstall, Hudson, Platten etc etc.

I think most Hawks have those 3 in a league of their own.

Having been old enough to watch both Platten and Mitchell all the way through their careers, I wouldn't have any qualms putting Mitchell before Platten, and Hodge.

If others don't put him at least level with Platten, I can only agree with the idea that he is still under-rated by the majority

No doubt.
Call me an old-fashioned kind of footy fan, but hair pulling, and punching in the throat, aren't the first words that come to mind when someone says the word "champion" to me. If we're going to sing Mitchell's numerous brilliant footballing attributes on the event of his 300-game milestone, it's good to know exactly what his track record comprises.

Couldn't run out of sight on a dark night but blessed with footy smarts that few possess. Has hurt Geelong, and every team, on numerous occasions with his decision making ability, cool head and accurate disposal on either side. Can never understand why teams don't try and play a hard tag on him. Although I'm not Hawthorn's greatest admirer (there's a surprise), it's hard to begrudge him the success that he's had.

Sam Mitchell - 300 Games