No Oppo Supporters Sam Mitchell traded

• Thread starter Thread starter bindas12

Except for this part:
"A second or third round selection – the Eagles currently have picks No. 33 and 51 – appear the most likely after West Coast's general manager of football, Craig Vozzo, told NAB AFL Trade Radio pick No.12 was off the table" Vozzo also didn't expect Brown or Mackenzie to be squeezed out of the club to accommodate the trade.
Except for this part:
"A second or third round selection – the Eagles currently have picks No. 33 and 51 – appear the most likely after West Coast's general manager of football, Craig Vozzo, told NAB AFL Trade Radio pick No.12 was off the table" Vozzo also didn't expect Brown or Mackenzie to be squeezed out of the club to accommodate the trade.

Pick 33 will be good for the Hawks. Mitchell with his soft tissue issues would only have given the Hawks around 15 games in 2017 and would have most likely retired without any ongoing draft benefit for the Hawks.

Now you have pick 33. Luke Parker was drafted at pick 40. You make find another Parker at 33.

Pick 33 will be good for the Hawks. Mitchell with his soft tissue issues would only have given the Hawks around 15 games in 2017 and would have most likely retired without any ongoing draft benefit for the Hawks.

Now you have pick 33. Luke Parker was drafted at pick 40. You make find another Parker at 33.

Hasn't he only had like one hamstring injury in his 15 years? o_O. Anyway, he's extremely durable. Would have played all games bar maybe one for rest next season IMO.

I don't normally get too invested in players coming and going but I've felt slightly ill all day upon hearing this news. Mitchell is the guy that I've most enjoyed watching week in, week out for well over a decade. I just can't imagine him playing for those pricks and no doubt dominating for another year or two.
It's f|_|cking bulls#it

Tend to agree with Anthony Hudson's thoughts on this.

“I was stunned when I was listening to him explain the Clarkson discussion, and as he said you could have knocked him over with a feather.

“It was great for him to get out and explain the whole situation, but I’m still struggling to terms a bit with the logic of it from a Hawthorn point of view if they’re coming and want to win it.

“I don’t know why you wouldn’t want to have Mitchell and O’Meara in that midfield… they obviously feel they want to look after him and they can cope without him next year.”

Hawk 787
Don't worry too much about it, a lot of us can say we are clued into families. I once played footy ( poorly ) with Sammy's brother in law. EFM effective freight management.
A couple of other ex AFL players have worked in the company.

No worries bumps. Obviously I'm not privy to relationships you have or you have with other posters.
Let's leave aside who knows who and disrespectful posts to all sides of family's and the inner workings of hawthorn, but here's one public point to ponder.......
Smith born in 2010
The twins 2011, so sure in 2-5 years Mitch will return to coach before high school for the kids, let's forget what age that starts to fit people's timelines.

As for ex AFL players not once have I used my information to big note myself here, given the amount of ex AFL people playing or coaching in my local league here in albury, least of all my local coach of north albury in Acker.
But like I said I don't hide behind user names, I'm not privy to any relationships on here but maybe we could leave the personal attacks hidden within code aside and look at things how they are?

Barret is literal exploding with joy atm on trade radio.

(edit) ...and trying to make much more of this than is there.

Flog!!

I only wish that Sam Mitchell had some connection with the Tom Mitchell trade.

I would love Sam Mitchell at the Swans. The 2nd quarter that San Mitchell played in the 2014 GF was the best quarter of football I've ever seen from an AFL player.

I wonder if Harley and Horse are asking each other:

"Why did the Hawks not bring this idea to us.

Barret is literal exploding with joy atm on trade radio.
Well, that would be messy. ;)

As for Sammy, I am still shocked. It's taken all this time for sound to come out of my stunned mouth. If any payer knows his place in the Club it is Sam. I thought he was certainly to be a one-club man. Hearing his explanation for moving, I can see the logic. But, it doesn't make it easier to hear. Sam Mitchell, Premiership Captain, four-time Premiership player, five-time Crimmins Medallist. 307 games in the Brown & Gold. Tough as boiled leather. Wow, I still can't believe that it has probably come to an end. While I was one of the large crowd celebrating his win on Saturday night, I am sad that we Hawks will have no opportunity to say farewell as he is chaired from the ground at the end of his last game for Hawthorn. Obviously there is no room for romance in the modern game. :'(

I only wish that Sam Mitchell had some connection with the Tom Mitchell trade.

I would love Sam Mitchell at the Swans. The 2nd quarter that San Mitchell played in the 2014 GF was the best quarter of football I've ever seen from an AFL player.

I wonder if Harley and Horse are asking each other:

"Why did the Hawks not bring this idea to us.

Well bad luck, mate: we are swapping Sammy for Luke Schoey.
One Best & Fairest for another.

What can you offer?

Consider this, it also takes WC out of contention for offering picks and contracts to Mitchell or O'Meara.

Both have nominated Hawthorn, but if WC offer their first and higher pay, it could complicate any trade. This way, Hawthorn can negotiate without a competitor being used to leverage, better picks.

I like the cut of this guy's jib.

Yeh and he will go into the Hall of Fame as a Hawthorn AND West Coast player.

Joke
It's not ideal, but as Plough just said on trade radio, Derm played for Syd/Col but I don't see him as any less "Hawthorn" myself.

I'm still shattered at the thought of Sam in Yellow and Blue though...

Graham Wright says Sam Mitchell trade has no impact on JOM and TOM trades.
Damien Barrett (after listening to audio) says that Mitchell trade has impact on JOM and TOM.
This guys is a moron
He's constantly tried to find the click bait spin on it through the entire interview.
And not getting it.

It's not ideal, but as Plough just said on trade radio, Derm played for Syd/Col but I don't see him as any less "Hawthorn" myself.

I'm still shattered at the thought of Sam in Yellow and Blue though...

Shattered!!!!!

I want to vomit - I loathe the eagles

They got 12 months of good grace with Simmo and that was a struggle

Graham Wright says Sam Mitchell trade has no impact on JOM and TOM trades.
Damien Barrett (after listening to audio) says that Mitchell trade has impact on JOM and TOM.
This guys is a moron

Can we get some crowdfunding together to pay for Leppitsch's legal bills and get a crowd of fans to hold Barrett and let Leppa at him. I honestly don't condone violence towards other humans - but thankfully Barrett doesn't fit that category.

Hey! We like you :(

qeA0jZAlsCHAI.gif

If we're going to have so many opposition posters circlejerking in here can we at least remove the "no opposition supporters" tag

Consider this, it also takes WC out of contention for offering picks and contracts to Mitchell or O'Meara.

Both have nominated Hawthorn, but if WC offer their first and higher pay, it could complicate any trade. This way, Hawthorn can negotiate without a competitor being used to leverage, better picks.
Please don't take this as me baiting you or anything like that as it's not my intent, but sorry, WC were not a potential competitor for either JOM or T Mitchell. You guys run a fantastic club (now) and are right up there in Premiership calculations with or without Sammy, but for JOM and T Mitchell, I'd be more concerned with Essendon and Carlton respectively.

Both players want to come to the Hawks, or if not the Hawks then Victoria, so it wouldn't matter what picks WC offered and other Melbourne based clubs could offer the same money as WC. As things stand, the player still has to agree to the trade and you guys know that other than certain exceptions such as this or WA Born and Bred players, the tyranny of distance that is Perth is not appealing to players, especially coming from 2 clubs that already had to travel a lot and how much that takes out of their body.

Again, not having a crack at you or WC, just firmly don't believe they would be in the running for either player. just my opinion though...