No Oppo Supporters Sam Mitchell traded

• Thread starter Thread starter bindas12

Like many Hawk posters I have no issue at all with the club's decision to rebuild. Its the player they've chosen I big have a problem with.

Sam Mitchell should've finished his career a Hawk. No ifs, no buts, no groping rationalizations, Sam belongs in OUR colors. Full stop, end of story. :'(
Totally get it. End of the day they left it to Sam to decide so can't do anything but wish him well and hope he comes back soon when Clarko is ready to hand over the reins.

I definitely wish him well but anyone who is rationalising this by thinking he will come back to coach us may be disappointed. Not saying he won't but there is a lot of water to go under the bridge before that scenario eventuates. I actually am not convinced he will make a good senior coach (Sam has many great qualities, is very smart and has a great footy brain but I see him ultimately putting these to use in other areas).

Interesting how the editors have gone with this one. Every picture of Mitchell is of a sad, forlorn man who looks rather perplexed and unsure.
If ever the real truth is told, it will be an interesting story. Has "The Hard Way" got a third episode in store?

So very sad, why oh why does it have to come to this.
Good luck champ, will not get to see your farewell tour in the brown and gold.

Thanks for the quick reply! Bummer on (1) for someone like Roughy, I don't like some suggestions I've heard about delisting him but I suppose that is the pragmatic response if you have (say) $600k per year sitting on your cap not playing.

Sorry to interrupt during what must be a difficult time for some. Delisting Roughead would not get his salary out of your cap. You would still need to pay out his contract.

Respectfully disagree. Mitch is an icon. Whilst I wish him well, I don't believe they left it for Sam to decide. They effectively made the decision for him by giving him a garbage ultimatum, under the guise of landing a coaching role. The reality is they need the salary cap space. The choice would have been an easy and logical one for him, his family & with the best interests of the club at heart. Despite what Mythbusters reckon, you can't polish a turd. JOM better deliver. Heaven help us if his knee blows out .... again!

Draft picks, didn't specify which ones. However, talk of some reshuffle of draft picks - lets hope 12 for 23 ;)

Basil Zempilas could hardly contain himself, finally blew his lid when he announced Hill had left. Said the "Hawthorn exodus continues" go **** yourself Bas.
Reported 4th rounder here..

Like many Hawk posters I have no issue at all with the club's decision to rebuild. Its the player they've chosen I big have a problem with.

Sam Mitchell should've finished his career a Hawk. No ifs, no buts, no groping rationalizations, Sam belongs in OUR colors. Full stop, end of story. :'(
Sorry mate BUT I think Mitch has a say in what direction his career takes. If you respect him as a player & a person then respect his choices. He's certainly done enough for the club & the fans to be owed that.

Here endeth the lesson.

WCE picks are 12, 34, 52, 70, 88 and 106.

Anything over the 2nd round means it's a scam and we are just off-loading him.

What we get from WCE is almost immaterial, the savings on our cap is what is required. Although, that does mean that we planned pretty poorly in signing all 4 of our aging stars...

In hindsight, it's totally illogical. Mitch was the standout player you would definitely hang on to. Pretty difficult to argue with that. It appears as if the club made some very poor decisions this year and this is the aftermath. Perhaps he was the only one with any real value as I'm not convinced any other club would want the others who all appear to have slowed down. The puff piece story about a coaching career was sold to us in order to justify such an unjustifiable decision.

I don't subscribe to the "in Clarko we trust" or "GW is a genius" theory. I think we genuinely made some very poor decisions & it will eat at me the next time we play the Eagles. Time will telll! Still feel that Sam is this year's sacrificial lamb.

What we get from WCE is almost immaterial, the savings on our cap is what is required. Although, that does mean that we planned pretty poorly in signing all 4 of our aging stars...

Nope, Wrighty said it's not about cap space. Yet to hear a reasonable explanation for this bizarre move.

Missed that, in that case it makes no sense at all. Sam could walk into any coaching job he wanted, any year he wanted and if it's pick 50+ we might not even use it. Ok, seems I've caught up ;-)

So ended up letting our best player go for a swap of draft pics.... yup,, fantastic work guys.. lets blindly keep backing them in without ever questioning the sanity of blatantly obvious wrong decisions...FFS... this has been a crappy season.. and already looking like a worse post season...all we now need is another tough fixture for 2017 from AFL to ensure we're no chance next year

In hindsight, it's totally illogical. Mitch was the standout player you would definitely hang on to. Pretty difficult to argue with that. It appears as if the club made some very poor decisions this year and this is the aftermath. Perhaps he was the only one with any real value as I'm not convinced any other club would want the others who all appear to have slowed down. The puff piece story about a coaching career was sold to us in order to justify such an unjustifiable decision.

I don't subscribe to the "in Clarko we trust" or "GW is a genius" theory. I think we genuinely made some very poor decisions & it will eat at me the next time we play the Eagles. Time will telll! Still feel that Sam is this year's sacrificial lamb.

Hope you are wrong but you make some sense. If he wasn't our best player this might make some sense...