• Thread starter Thread starter Gogeelong

He meant it.

Lyon and Brayshaw knew he meant it.

It was an abhorrent thing to say.

For those excusing it as a storm in a teacup I'd say:

1. Do you really think saying it would be good to ejaculate on this woman is accepatable or appropriate? She was making a significant statement about a serious footy issue (A Tassie team in the AFL), backed up with a major PR campaign and $4m, and all Newman can do is get his rocks off on the fact that she is attractive and thus a target for his slimy gutter humour.
If she were your wife, or mother, or daughter would you think it was funny? Because she is someone's wife/mother/daughter.

2. This is not an isolated incident but rather yet another example of his crude, derogatory, arrogant and condescending attitude, towards anyone he doesn't know or "respect" and towards women in particular.
It has been going on for years and Channel 9 and the viewing public just keep accepting and excusing it.

I accept the response that I don't have to watch it. More often than not I don't because I find him so detestable, but every time I do put it on, there he is again, doing or saying something stupid, embarrassing, obnoxious or disgusting.
I do not find him the slightest bit funny. Obviously many people do, but a growing number clearly don't.

Newman is way past his use-by-date. He is an anachronism, a dinosaur of a former politically incorrect age when you could rip into whoever you wanted to with impunity. Just like the bullies of old who used position and fear to intimidate those who were different to them, Newman is a bully.
The constant attacks on Jason Dunstall are another example of his lack of true wit or humour or human decency. Newman was a good player. Dunstall was a champion who won several premierships and kicked over 1000 goals. He should not be subjected to these ridiculous and offensive on-going attacks and channel 9 should not be a party to it.

Sorry, I went on a bit there but I have had a problem with him for years and can't believe he is still getting away with the same old crap.
I know plenty of people will disagree with me but for what its worth that's my opinion.:o

Billy Brownless was better, not least because he doesn't take himself seriously. :D

He meant it.

1. Do you really think saying it would be good to ejaculate on this woman is accepatable or appropriate? She was making a significant statement about a serious footy issue (A Tassie team in the AFL), backed up with a major PR campaign and $4m, and all Newman can do is get his rocks off on the fact that she is attractive and thus a target for his slimy gutter humour.
If she were your wife, or mother, or daughter would you think it was funny? Because she is someone's wife/mother/daughter.

2. This is not an isolated incident but rather yet another example of his crude, derogatory, arrogant and condescending attitude, towards anyone he doesn't know or "respect" and towards women in particular.
It has been going on for years and Channel 9 and the viewing public just keep accepting and excusing it.

I accept the response that I don't have to watch it. More often than not I don't because I find him so detestable, but every time I do put it on, there he is again, doing or saying something stupid, embarrassing, obnoxious or disgusting.
I do not find him the slightest bit funny. Obviously many people do, but a growing number clearly don't.

Newman is way past his use-by-date. He is an anachronism, a dinosaur of a former politically incorrect age when you could rip into whoever you wanted to with impunity. Just like the bullies of old who used position and fear to intimidate those who were different to them, Newman is a bully.
The constant attacks on Jason Dunstall are another example of his lack of true wit or humour or human decency. Newman was a good player. Dunstall was a champion who won several premierships and kicked over 1000 goals. He should not be subjected to these ridiculous and offensive on-going attacks and channel 9 should not be a party to it.

Sorry, I went on a bit there but I have had a problem with him for years and can't believe he is still getting away with the same old crap.
I know plenty of people will disagree with me but for what its worth that's my opinion.:o

Billy Brownless was better, not least because he doesn't take himself seriously. :D

Spot on - Very well said!

He meant it.

Hahahahaha Cn9 wins again.....all the sam haters even tune back in.....you have to admit that you do still want to watch the show.....

Sam gets in these stupid moods sometimes and he does some dumb things. I love the Footy Show but Sams antics, although most of the time funny, are starting to wear thin..... Bring back Billy.

So presumedly you would be happy to have someone make a joke about ejaculating over your daughter (if you have one)??

Call me conservative, but I wouldn't.

The fact is that most people tune into the footy show to hear about the weeks news in footy - not some has been making purile remarks every second show.
i actually genuinely believe that he wasn't being dirty or disgusting, all he did was unknowingly construct his sentence in a way that made people think he was being dirty. I believe this is how he was trying to say it " Worthy of coming on (the show).... her ". Geez the media are a pain in the a**e. Already they are the judge and jury on this trivial issue when they don't fully understand what happened and are going by what everyone has been saying. I say to the people having a sook get the hell over it, It is a light hearted program meant for people who actually have a sense of humour, if you don't like it then don't watch it and stop ruining it for everyone else.

If you genuinely believe that, then I have a bridge I would like to sell you....

He meant it.

lighten up

caro will come out and tell him he is rooted

by the way did eddie want to bone someone

let's move on

I was more offended by what Bronwyn Bishop said in the paper about the (low) level of intelligence of The Footy Show viewers.

Sam should be gwoone for good.

It will be interesting to see if 'the network' can pull it off though.
No I am not referring to any TV station.

Just heard that the Tas Minister Paula W. has been rushed to hospital. I hope she is OK.

Is that the scamper of ambulance chasers I hear, on their way to bankrupt GTV Nine?

Sam cannot possibly survive this. Nor should he.

(I haven't seen this rubbish show for a very long time.)

she has just got a divorce

not the first and not the last chick to crack under that pressure

by the way she is a pollie, way too soft if you ask me

Not sure I agree about the peter serafinowicz show, but peep show is brilliant.

cmon, the humour in serafinowicz is out there, just give it a chance jimboy.

michael 6 is comedy gold.

who wants to win 100 pound?

o news is pure satirical gold.

maybe it is just eastern european humour.

Was good to see Sammy back to his best last night..... For thos how didnt catch the show...there was an apology to the lady in Tasmainia...and lots of well wishing.....i got sick of the show once the collingwood lovefest started....... they pretty much turned the show into a collingwood midseason review......

Lots of backpedalling did you mean? :rolleyes:

Meh, I didnt see it. Has taken about 15 years, but finally looks like I wont be going back to TFS... dont know why really, but I'm over it. (Screening TAR in the middle of it, didnt help matters).