Restricted Free Agent Sam Walsh

One of the biggest names entering free agency next year is the former number 1 pick Sam Walsh

If blues bottom out does he leave?

I doubt he leaves now that the blues have the cap space to pay him the big money

I would love Richmond to go after Walsh as he would be perfect for our list need on a wing and leadership
7 years at $9 mil would be a nice offer

I doubt he leaves now that the blues have the cap space to pay him the big money

I would love Richmond to go after Walsh as he would be perfect for our list need on a wing and leadership
7 years at $9 mil would be a nice offer
I could see him chasing success

But not to go to another team on the bottom

I could see him chasing success

But not to go to another team on the bottom
I reckon he'll just take the cash. Who needs to play in September when you can earn almost $2m p.a, and knock off a month early. You can be in Croatia or Brazil or you can be still working. Yeah dunno, for a silly medal that means nothing to 7bn people.

I reckon you're kidding yourself if you think premierships matter to players these days.

I reckon he'll just take the cash. Who needs to play in September when you can earn almost $2m p.a, and knock off a month early. You can be in Croatia or Brazil or you can be still working. Yeah dunno, for a silly medal that means nothing to 7bn people.

I reckon you're kidding yourself if you think premierships matter to players these days.
Is that the logical conclusion people come to after a lifetime of watching North?

Grim

Is that the logical conclusion people come to after a lifetime of watching North?

Grim
I don't know if it's logical, but rational perhaps.

Look at NWM...

Would you be surprised if Nicky takes the cash and runs to Tassie?

... just for the record, Norf made prelims or better in every one of my teenage years. When footy was at its most important to me, we were great except for 2nd half of the GF in 1998, injuries ****ed us in 1997, and cheating umpires/poor kicking ruined our chances in 1994 (as you probably know if you're 40+).

The good times are on the horizon, only a football-illiterate would disagree.

As you very well know, your team reaches a point where you just have too much talent to continue to be shit. That's almost us. 2027 likely to be the last year of this nightmare. Well nightmare for those who have sat through it, not so much for me as I missed most of it since 2021 being o/s.

Reckon he only goes to Geelong if he leaves.

Walsh, Bailey, Holmes would arguably be the best big 3 in the league.

We will definitely come hard. But id be surprised if he left Carlton money and the captaincy should be enough for him to stay.

Are there any concerns with Walsh’s body holding up?

Hes a real pro in the way he looks after himself. I just worry that back injuries like knees with no cartilage can be very degenerative. But then again Allen still got offered a long term deal.
Id say it wont stop teams offering him 6 years on really good money. But if Carlton matched it might be enough to make teams walk im not sure you would want to risk trading lots of picks for him on top of the contract.

Are there any concerns with Walsh’s body holding up?
Always, but as Pure_Ownage said above, it's not for any lack of preparation or professionalism. He'd do everything to get himself right, just a matter of his human limitations and anything degenerative.

Hes a real pro in the way he looks after himself. I just worry that back injuries like knees with no cartilage can be very degenerative. But then again Allen still got offered a long term deal.
Id say it wont stop teams offering him 6 years on really good money. But if Carlton matched it might be enough to make teams walk im not sure you would want to risk trading lots of picks for him on top of the contract.

Depending on how bad his back is, I'd want Brisbane to take a punt on him if Bailey leaves and Neale retires. We back our medicos in with the players they've managed to get back on the park (McCarthy, Adams, Daniher, Answorth, etc.), hence why we've taken a punt on Allen.

We'd also walk away if Carlton asked for the world.

Depending on how bad his back is, I'd want Brisbane to take a punt on him if Bailey leaves and Neale retires. We back our medicos in with the players they've managed to get back on the park (McCarthy, Adams, Daniher, Answorth, etc.), hence why we've taken a punt on Allen.

We'd also walk away if Carlton asked for the world.
I think the one thing you could just about guarantee is that should Walsh decide to leave Carlton will absolutely ask for the world in return.

Considering Brisbane’s likely ladder position I’d be staggered if they were able to put together an acceptable offer

I think the one thing you could just about guarantee is that should Walsh decide to leave Carlton will absolutely ask for the world in return.

Considering Brisbane’s likely ladder position I’d be staggered if they were able to put together an acceptable offer

Doesn't seem to stop Geelong offering unreasonable offers and getting their man.

OOC all depends on if the player wants out.

Ah chee didn't work put too well for the Lions demanding overs.

There are other posters on the Brisbane board that are more aware of our draft hand than I (I'm more of a trade chad), but players who generally want to leave, leave. You don't want to end up like the Bulldogs with Dunkley, you take what you can get. Otherwise, the trade/draft landscape has seen a few players (in the past couple of years) opt to go to the rookie draft when their contact expires.

With him being OOC at the end of the year, if he wanted to badly leave, it'd happen.

For him to want to leave that badly though, it depends on the future of Vossey. If he somehow saves his job (which I don't think you have the list to do), then Walsh may be out.

You'd also want to account for the likelihood that a trade would net no better return than compo